Nexen N Fera SU1

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nexen N Fera Sport SU2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 78%
Wear 76%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 73%

Tyre review data from 105 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 858,111 miles driven.

The N Fera SU1 is ranked 51st of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - With the exception of economy, the complete absence of positive aspects - you expect more from the tyre of this brand. The longest braking distance on dry and wet surfaces, poor wet handling, low comfort.
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 22nd of 43 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Bild Top 15 Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Quiet pass-by noise, good price-performance ratio, good economy
  • Negative - Average handling and grip on dry and wet roads
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R15 78W   E B 68  
195/45 R16 84W XL   E B 69  
205/45 R16 87W XL   C B 72  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 69  
225/45 R16 93W XL   C B 69  
185/50 R16 81V XL   E A 70  
225/50 R16 96W XL   C C 72  
185/55 R16 83V   E B 70  
195/55 R16 91V XL   C B 70  
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 72  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C B 72  
225/55 R16 95W   C B 71  
205/40 R17 84W XL   E B 72  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E B 72  
235/40 R17 94W XL   C B 72  
245/40 R17 95W XL   C B 72  
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C B 68  
255/40 R17 94W   C B 72  
275/40 R17 98W   E B 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C B 72  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 68  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C B 72  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E B 71  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C C 72  
215/50 R17 95V XL   E B 68  
225/50 R17 98W XL   C B 72  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C B 70  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 71  
235/50 R17 100W XL   C B 70  
205/55 R17 95Y XL   E B 67  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 72  
225/55 R17 97V   C B 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C B 71  
235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 71  
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E B 72  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E B 72  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C B 72  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C B 72  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C B 70  
275/35 R18 99W XL   C B 70  
215/40 R18 89Y XL   C B 72  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C B 72  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 72  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C B 72  
215/45 R18 93W XL   C B 69  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C C 72  
225/45 R18 95V XL   F A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C B 72  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 72  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C B 72  
235/50 R18 101W XL   C B 72  
245/50 R18 104W XL   C B 72  
265/30 R19 93Y XL   C B 70  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C B 72  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C B 72  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C B 72  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C B 69  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R19 96W XL   C C 72  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 69  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C B 69  
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C B 70  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C B 72  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 69  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   B A 70  
225/45 R19 96W XL   C B 70  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C B 72  
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 69  
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 68  
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C B 72  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 69  
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 69  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C B 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C B 68  
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71  
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 72  
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C B 71  

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N Fera SU1

2018-01-16 - Are these standard tread or directional?

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is an asymmetric tread design, not directional.


2019-05-10 - Are these tyres suitable for my 2012 VW T5 Campervan (275x40x20)?

As long as you can find the N Fera SU1 in the correct size and load rating for your vehicle, there's no reason you shouldn't use the tyre.


2020-05-04 - are these tyres run flat?

I'm not sure whether Nexen offer any runflat sizes of the SU1.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


N Fera SU1 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R16 £69.00 - £72.00 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £60.58 - £77.00 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £80.40 - £132.70 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R19 £85.70 - £131.10 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £100.60 - £129.29 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £88.50 - £104.99 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nexen N Fera SU1 Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TFSI quattro (255/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I was quite suspicious of the Nexens before buying, but the seller did a good job convincing me. I had bought several tires from him before so I trusted his opinion. Switched from Michelin Pilot Sport 2 to these.

A few thousand km after I'm really happy with them. Quieter than the PS2, better dry and wet grip. Perhaps the progressiveness is a bit worse than on the PS2, but it is hard to estimate well as it would need a track day, too scary to find the limit in normal traffic!
727 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2016   
Given 30% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 320 (275/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
These tyres come with 7mm tread. They are excellent until theyre down to 5mm. Then they become death traps. I noticed most good reviews on here are after relatively short mileage. Dont risk it.
62 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2018   
Given 95% while driving a BMW 318 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1 easy going miles
I purchased the Next SU1 tyres having come from Bridgestone Performance Tyres which grip really well, but were considered noisy.

I am driving a BMW 3 Series on 18 Inch Alloys and once I swapped the Bridgestone for the Nexen Tyres I immediately could feel a significant difference in comfort and a reduction in noise.

I am incredibly impressed by the Nexen Tyres as I had never heard of the brand before, but once the Tyre Mechanic convinced me that it was of good quality and manufactured in Korea, I decided to try.

The Nexen Tyres are much more comfortable on the road, and glides over the road and uneven surfaces much better than my previous Bridgestone Potenzas. The Nexens are also much more quieter. Considering that they are also significantly cheaper than the popular brands, I will be sticking to Nexens from now on and swear by them for a good daily driver car's tyres! I am not sure of the performance of them as i do not drive my car hard.

36 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2018   
Have you driven on the Nexen N Fera SU1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N Fera SU1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nexen N Fera SU1 >

Latest Nexen N Fera SU1 Reviews

Given 46% while driving a Audi A3 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Four members of our family have bought this tyre and all have experienced a side wall complete blow out whilst the tyres have a lot of tread left on them.
13 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Good tyre if you do not push it to far
3 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 96% while driving a Citro├źn c3 Picasso 1.6 diesel (205/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 30,000 miles
Superb
4 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2021   
Given 80% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Got these on my A4 2.0 TDI. Mostly highway miles, daily driver. After 35K kilometers there is 2.5mm and 2.0mm left on fronts, Around 6 on rear. Decided to replace them with Nexen SU'4. Was expecting a little less wear but it is not too bad also considering the lower price. I like how quiet they are but provide plenty grip in wet & dry even after all these miles. I was expecting poor performance at lower mm's but the performance decrease is very limited. Have had Vredestein Ultrac Vorti before which lasted longer and are more suitable for a sporty style of driving but were quite noisy and had tears in inner walls after 40k kilometers.. The NEXEN's are a very good alternative for A-brand tyres if you have a non-sporty driving style.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Acura RSX S Type (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Value for money, very quiet, good wet grip too
6 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2020   
Given 66% while driving a BMW F11 520d (245/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,200 spirited miles
Dry Grip: the grip level is not really hight, especially in braking. Wet Grip: feels safe on wet. Easy to control with an predictable behavior. Road feedback: you can notice quite early, wenn the tire loses grip. Street conditions are also good noticeable in the steering wheel. Handling: The behavior of the tire is very predictable. It is signalizing early if it loses grip. The front and rear is very balanced on my car (weight distribution f/r/ ~47/53) and the tyre handles very good with it. Especially in the wet. But the overall grip level is not on the level of an PS4. Wear: Im driving the tyre for 6 month and 10000km. Often i take curves hard and one time i was driving on fast mountain roads. So i wonder how slowly the tyres are wearing. Comfort: could be a little bit quieter for a touring tyre and a little bit less bumpy. But in total, you can live with it fairly well. Buy again: If you want a real UHP tyre and can spend a little bit more money, this is not the right tyre for you. If you will safe money and want a slowly wearing touring tyre which is good in the wet, this is the right tyre for you.
7 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2020   
Opel (205/45 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Tyre is predictable at the limit. Good dry and wet grip. Recomend it, it'sgood tyre for the money.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2020   
Given 40% while driving a Mitsubishi Colt (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 average miles
Driving a Mitsubishi Colt 1,3 these tyres makes a very noise loud. This is the only bad thing about this tire.
7 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Kia Motors (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 25,000 easy going miles
Tyres came together with Kia Cerato in Singapore. When it is new the grip is awesome. Now nearing 40,000KM the dry grip has dropped. The wet grip is very good. No aquaplanning at all even at 40K KM. Noise can be a issue when driving above 100km/hr. It's a pity Nexen stop producing this good tyre. At 40k KM i have about half of the thread left which is pretty good considered i drove mainly in city.
5 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a BMW 328i (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
i just fitted my front tyres with NEXEN N'FERA SU1. first difference compared to the useless DAYTON DT30, the grip for the front is just tremendous. on DT30, when i push my car for a 60kmh fast corner entry, it just understeer and shoots for the rails. But with the N'FERA, it changed it all...turn in entry same corner now, 80kmh! and does not understeer!! it just grips and say "FUCK OFF!" to that corner. Road noise is way quieter than the DT30 when new. also the N'FERA really shows its quality of a performance tyre.
5 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2020   
Given 98% while driving a Dacia Lodgy (195/55 R16 H) on track for 100 spirited miles
I drove on Nexen Nfera SU1 tyres on a very twisty racing circuit in my stock car (a stock Dacia Lodgy with 115hp), ya there weren't much horsepower but I can tell you, on dry tarmac these tyres had very good grip !
6 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a Mazda Mazda6 Sedan 175 (225/45 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 23,000 average miles
dry grip was really good and noise level is fairly low on comparison with Bridgestone Turanza 005 that came with the Mazda 6 Sport 175. Bit disappointed on wet condition, braking was OK but during high torque start the wheel spin was not unavoidable and even during dry condition during half way through its life time the wheel spin started to occur during launches. Another disappointment was tread life, I am very smooth driver in-spite off my above comments I rarely do those launch type of starts otherwise most of my driving is cursing and accelerating and braking fairly smooth. But the tire reached its 1.6mm limit around 23000 miles. Will not buy these tires again, will try some other brand and see how it works! Thanks for reading!
6 - tyre reviewed on June 8, 2020