Nexen N Fera SU1

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Nexen N Fera Sport SU2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 78%
Wear 76%
Comfort 82%
Buy again 74%

Tyre review data from 117 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 1,118,111 miles driven.

The N Fera SU1 is ranked 58th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - With the exception of economy, the complete absence of positive aspects - you expect more from the tyre of this brand. The longest braking distance on dry and wet surfaces, poor wet handling, low comfort.
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout - 22nd of 43 tyres

View Full Test >>

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 14th of 50 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
195/45 R15 78W   E B 68  
195/45 R16 84W XL   E B 69  
205/45 R16 87W XL   C B 72  
215/45 R16 90V XL   E B 69  
225/45 R16 93W XL   C B 69  
185/50 R16 81V XL   E A 70  
225/50 R16 96W XL   C C 72  
185/55 R16 83V   E B 70  
195/55 R16 91V XL   C B 70  
205/55 R16 94W XL   C A 72  
215/55 R16 97W XL   C B 72  
225/55 R16 95W   C B 71  
205/40 R17 84W XL   E B 72  
215/40 R17 87W XL   E B 72  
235/40 R17 94W XL   C B 72  
245/40 R17 95W XL   C B 72  
245/40 R17 95Y XL   C B 68  
255/40 R17 94W   C B 72  
275/40 R17 98W   E B 70  
205/45 R17 88W XL   C B 72  
205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 68  
225/45 R17 94Y XL   C A 69  
235/45 R17 97W XL   C B 72  
235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 68  
245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 69  
205/50 R17 93W XL   E B 71  
215/50 R17 95W XL   C C 72  
215/50 R17 95V XL   E B 68  
225/50 R17 98W XL   C B 72  
225/50 R17 98Y XL   C B 70  
225/50 R17 98V XL   C A 71  
235/50 R17 100W XL   C B 70  
205/55 R17 95Y XL   E B 67  
215/55 R17 98W XL   C B 72  
225/55 R17 97V   C B 69  
225/55 R17 101W XL   C B 71  
235/55 R17 103W XL   C A 71  
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E B 72  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E B 72  
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C B 72  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   C B 72  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   C B 70  
275/35 R18 99W XL   C B 70  
215/40 R18 89Y XL   C B 72  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   C B 72  
245/40 R18 97Y XL   C B 72  
255/40 R18 99Y XL   C B 72  
215/45 R18 93W XL   C B 69  
225/45 R18 95Y XL   C C 72  
225/45 R18 95V XL   F A 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C B 72  
245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 72  
255/45 R18 103Y XL   C B 72  
235/50 R18 101W XL   C B 72  
245/50 R18 104W XL   C B 72  
265/30 R19 93Y XL   C B 70  
275/30 R19 96Y XL   C B 72  
225/35 R19 88Y XL   C B 72  
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C B 72  
245/35 R19 93Y XL   C B 69  
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 69  
255/35 R19 96W XL   C C 72  
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 69  
225/40 R19 93Y XL   C B 69  
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C B 70  
245/40 R19 98Y XL   C B 72  
255/40 R19 100Y XL   C A 69  
275/40 R19 105Y XL   B A 70  
225/45 R19 96W XL   C B 70  
245/45 R19 102Y XL   C B 72  
255/45 R19 104Y XL   C A 69  
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 68  
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C B 72  
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E B 69  
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 69  
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C B 69  
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C B 68  
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71  
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 72  
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C B 71  

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N Fera SU1

2018-01-16 - Are these standard tread or directional?

The Nexen N Fera SU1 is an asymmetric tread design, not directional.


2019-05-10 - Are these tyres suitable for my 2012 VW T5 Campervan (275x40x20)?

As long as you can find the N Fera SU1 in the correct size and load rating for your vehicle, there's no reason you shouldn't use the tyre.


2020-05-04 - are these tyres run flat?

I'm not sure whether Nexen offer any runflat sizes of the SU1.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


N Fera SU1 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R16 £73.49 - £78.70 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £88.39 - £114.60 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £75.00 - £152.20 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £66.39 - £77.20 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £87.39 - £98.00 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R19 £103.69 - £126.90 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R18 £104.99 - £121.00 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 92 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nexen N Fera SU1 Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Audi A6 3.0 TFSI quattro (255/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I was quite suspicious of the Nexens before buying, but the seller did a good job convincing me. I had bought several tires from him before so I trusted his opinion. Switched from Michelin Pilot Sport 2 to these.

A few thousand km after I'm really happy with them. Quieter than the PS2, better dry and wet grip. Perhaps the progressiveness is a bit worse than on the PS2, but it is hard to estimate well as it would need a track day, too scary to find the limit in normal traffic!
752 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2016   
Given 30% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 320 (275/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
These tyres come with 7mm tread. They are excellent until theyre down to 5mm. Then they become death traps. I noticed most good reviews on here are after relatively short mileage. Dont risk it.
77 - tyre reviewed on January 26, 2018   
Given 95% while driving a BMW 318 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 1 easy going miles
I purchased the Next SU1 tyres having come from Bridgestone Performance Tyres which grip really well, but were considered noisy.

I am driving a BMW 3 Series on 18 Inch Alloys and once I swapped the Bridgestone for the Nexen Tyres I immediately could feel a significant difference in comfort and a reduction in noise.

I am incredibly impressed by the Nexen Tyres as I had never heard of the brand before, but once the Tyre Mechanic convinced me that it was of good quality and manufactured in Korea, I decided to try.

The Nexen Tyres are much more comfortable on the road, and glides over the road and uneven surfaces much better than my previous Bridgestone Potenzas. The Nexens are also much more quieter. Considering that they are also significantly cheaper than the popular brands, I will be sticking to Nexens from now on and swear by them for a good daily driver car's tyres! I am not sure of the performance of them as i do not drive my car hard.

45 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2018   
Have you driven on the Nexen N Fera SU1 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N Fera SU1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nexen N Fera SU1 >

Latest Nexen N Fera SU1 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a Kia Motors Optima (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 32,000 average miles
I replaced 2 of them after 2 years and all 4 together now (after 4 years). I was happy with them, cannot complain, replaced them only because it was recommended by the Kia (after servicing) to do this within the next few months and I wanted a nice change, It is unbelievable how long they last, I had these tyres without any issues the last 4 years! (2 of them), but time to try a different now.
3 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2022   
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B7 (225/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 19,000 average miles
Nice tire, first year of use is pleasing, wet as well, afterwards it's more for dry weather, in rain you need to be more cautious as they are stable in turns but lack grip in braking and accelerating. After 19000 miles they were with 3-4 mm of tread - I changed it due safety reasons. I recomend tires if you get it as low as I got them - cca 60 € for a pcs.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 14, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 74% while driving a Fiat Bravo mk1 JTD (195/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I couldn't fit the tyres in the back axle due to a weird feeling on turn-in, it felt like I was a going to have a sudden snap oversteer. In the front they felt vague, not very noisy or rigid in terms of comfort. The grip was okay, albeit never fitted UHP tyres to this car so I won't put them down on this aspect. Tyre wear was good, expected to last +6000 miles but I sold the car.
1 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2022   
Land Rover Discovery Sport (235/55 R19) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Absolutely brilliant tyres for road handling and comfort. Could last a bit longer but not willing to compromise safe feeling and confidence for an extra few miles. Will be buying them again.
4 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a BMW 520i (225/55 R16) on for 50,000 miles
I own among other vehicles a BMW e39 520i wearing the NEXEN N FERA SU1 for almost 5 years now. I am an experience driver, careful but also enjoying fast steady driving in highways. NEXEN tyres proved to be surprisingly reliable, comfort not noisy and they performed just like premium brands the car sit on the past 20 years of it's live. My Tyre shop owner suggested these tyres prompting me to go for it without any doubt considering back then the deal as a very clever one. Cheap and trustworthy. He showed confidence to suggest that NEXEN will be a respectable player in the market for the years to come. As of today that proved to be the truth indeed. Dry, wet, cornering and above all the wear are nothing less than "super". Nowadays though the brand turned to be much more expensive which is a disappointing development. I recommend though these tyres without any concern. i put them on my other BMW520D E60 a couple of days ago expecting them to be as good as they should. Perfect tyres
2 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (255/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Use them on my lwb vw kombi and can't fault them in wet or dry
1 - tyre reviewed on November 2, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Kia Motors Ceed 1.6LS (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 33,000 average miles
This is an end of life review. I decided to have it swapped out at 53000km after almost 3 years fitted on my car. The noise level is the biggest reason I decided to change the tyre even though the depth still have a good 2.5mm left. Braking distance has also become longer at this high mileage. The wet grip is still very good with little aquaplanning. Nexen has decided not to continue this tyre anymore.
13 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2021   
Given 40% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 14,000 average miles
Those tyres came on 2021 Skoda Scala and I was happy enough with the grip. Had the car from new with new tyres. Mainly driven on the motorway and after driving 13,000km I noticed that the tyres are starting to split everywhere and chunk are starting to fall off them. It's like they just started to disintegrate by themselves. Plenty of grip left on them but they are splitting and I am now afraid to drive on them as they might blow out at speed. Will have to change them now. Will never go near them again.
10 - tyre reviewed on August 15, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a BMW E36 328i saloon (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 5,000 spirited miles
I use the N'Fera SU1 to replace my Dayton DT30 and the N'Fera SU1 is much better in every aspect. When i drive it for spirited drives and highway runs it does a very good job on keeping the noise down. Once the tyres are warm it grips in corners very well, better than Dayton DT30. In the rain it disperse water quickly compared to DT30...how is that..well from dry to suddenly entering a rain curtain that is just pouring, it didn't change the way the tyres react to those rainfall compared from Dayton DT30 that would fight on the tyres to disperse water at 120kmh. Not kidding.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2021   
Given 73% while driving a Vauxhall Astra 1.9 cdti 150hp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Good dry grip as long as you are on a nice road surface and cant really fault the wet grip. Definitely not racing slicks but for your money it doesnt get alot better unless you go for some high end expensive tyres like ps4’s. Pretty average for road noise as I haven’t really noticed any difference. Feedback seems good but its hard to tell exactly how much of an improvement it was with the numb boat like steering you get in an astra. Would definitely recommend if you want some good reasonably priced rubber.
3 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2021   
Given 46% while driving a Audi A3 (225/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
Four members of our family have bought this tyre and all have experienced a side wall complete blow out whilst the tyres have a lot of tread left on them.
37 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/45 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Good tyre if you do not push it to far
8 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2021