Volkswagen Transporter Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Transporter.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Transporter? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Transporter better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus ST (17) 88% 83% 85% 84% 94% 88%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (152) 89% 88% 83% 82% 81% 88%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (43) 87% 84% 81% 81% 79% 83%
Maxxis Trepador M8060 (1) 90% 80% 70% 90% 80% 60%
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (270) 83% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Falken Wildpeak WP AT01 (5) 88% 64% 80% 70% 67% 84%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (109) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79%
Toyo H09 (4) 75% 73% 67% 55% 75% 85%
Jinyu YU63 (49) 79% 65% 69% 67% 75% 74%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (227) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Accelera PHI 2 (6) 78% 68% 68% 68% 70% 68%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (120) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Wanli S1063 (78) 75% 59% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (124) 77% 67% 61% 59% 70% 71%
Hifly HF805 (49) 78% 63% 67% 67% 54% 67%
Landsail LS988 (36) 75% 51% 58% 53% 71% 66%
Joyroad VAN RX5 (1) 60% 15% 40% 45% 100% 60%
Accelera PHI (145) 69% 46% 54% 53% 67% 59%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (129) 70% 48% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Continental ContiVanContact 200 (5) 74% 58% 68% 74% 20% 54%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Infinity INF100 (4) 55% 33% 43% 40% 63% 53%
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48%
Haida HD921 (33) 59% 42% 47% 46% 49% 38%
Fullrun HP199 (75) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Volkswagen Transporter Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 41% (215-60-17-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Factory fitted from new on my 69 plate Transporter kombi. This is my fourth Transporter over a period of approximately 12 years and I can honestly say these continental tyres are the worst I've had. Tread wear is totally unacceptable. The outer edges of the front tyres look almost bald at 13000 miles but with 6mm depth still to go. Any incline start in the wet causes the front wheels to spin. When I had the vehicle back from my local VW dealer with what I thought was a droning wheel bearing noise, I was informed that the rear tyre edges are suffering from 'stepping' which is causing the noise. I personally feel this tyre design is faulty and not fit for purpose. I am currently looking at alternative brands because they are that bad, even though there is possibly another year's use in them.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-06 08:26:56
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 85% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I am running these tyres on a 204 ps vw t6 transporter with lowered suspension, it is a working vehicle fully loaded weight wise. Having read the tyre reviews I was expecting the worst but no,I have nothing so far negative to say about them. Grip is not an issue, handling and feedback, wear and comfort in a working truck well you are not going to achieve this at all. So yes I will buy again and be happy to do so, absolute bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-14 00:06:00
Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
These tyres were fitted as standard on my vw t6 and when new were a great tyre on wet or dry road conditions,i have now covered 20k and can honestly say these are now dangerous they seem to have a flaw whereas they wear heavily on the outer edge,mine and other transporter drivers,with the heavy downpours we have been experiencing lately ive now found the wheels slipping on the wet upward stretches on Exeter to Launceston rd A30,needless to say they are all being changed tommorow,wont be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-01 22:07:42
Writing about the Sunny SN3800 given NAN% (255-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 easy going miles
Horrendous tyres! We have replaced just about every component on the van, wheel bearings, drive shafts, all to try and cure the horrendous noise coming from under the van to no avail. Once there was nothing left to replace we tried another set of tyres and found our problem. We also found a bulge in the wall. They handle ok both in wet and dry, a bit sluggish, but even if they gave a perfect ride we would still bin them.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-22 21:17:18
Writing about the Joyroad VAN RX5 given 60% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
you must not mix these tyres with another brand such as these on the rear and another make on the front. they are "very" slippery in the wet. they are very hard wearing but lethal in the wet if you do not drive sensibly.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-14 20:25:48
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip given 60% (255-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Bought 4 of these tyres in late October last year. I've used them in most weather conditions and they worked fine, nothing special at all just sound tyres with decent grip. It's now late March and I have done about 5,000 miles on these tyres and they have worn quite badly. I've had 20,000 miles out of a set of tyres before now. Sadly I don't think I'll even get another 5,000 out of these. I've rated the wear at 3 because it may very well be that they're not ideal for my type of vehicle, but I would still expect far better wear from higher end tyres (I paid £120 plus tax per tyre including fitting & tracking). The tyres had decent amounts of tread when new and were economic and comfortable for a while. Now that they are wearing lower they are becoming noiser, hence the lower comfort rating. I personally wouldn't buy these tyres again and wouldn't recommend them to anybody thinking of having them fitted to a Van, Pickup or larger vehicle.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-26 17:30:14
Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given 80% (275-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 average miles
These were already fitted on our 2018 T6 VW Transporter camper
Usually only go for premium brands on our vehicles but pleasantly suprised by these and will definitely consider buying them again
Especially at around £70 each for size 275-35-20 XL 102Y
Recommended
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-16 19:51:59
Writing about the Haida HD921 given 45% (275-40-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Very cheap new tyres that were fitted on the vehicle that I recently bought. The front tyres have completed less than 10,000 miles in 10 months on my VW T6 and they are almost down to the wear limit indicators. The road noise is awful and as they wear down the more of a whining noise can be heard. I would not recommend them and will be fitting Pirelli, Michelin, Good year or Bridgestone next time. You get what you pay for but these are budget tyres on a high level.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-24 13:24:28
Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 66% (205-65-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 40000 spirited miles
Verry good on dry and wet road but wear is huge. 35.000km and they have just a 1mm of profile. I switched rims rear to front and front back so i could made to 35000km.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-26 12:29:28
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given NAN% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 miles
I use these on a VW T5 9 seater and will continue to use them.

They give a fair grip in the wet and are awesome in the dry. They are a summer tyre with M&S (mud and snow) markings and they reacted well - we didn't get stuck when others did.

Road noise is minimal. They wear out just as fast as the Continentals I had before and are just as grippy.

The van is a heavy weight and these tyres have proven their worth.
tyre reviewed on 2019-03-30 12:39:29
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 5 given 32% (235-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 9000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres hoping they would last longer than a cheaper brand.How wrong I was. I paid £256 for 2 front tyres, then about 3 months later I put one on the back . The two fronts were wearing unevenly and were totally worn out in less than 9000 miles. I sent them back to continental , of course they said they found nothing wrong them, they didn’t offer me anything for the awful tyres. The one on the back is completely the same now , uneven wear and totally worn out .
I will never use continental tyres again , So much for being a quality tyre , they are ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH .
DO NOT BUY THESE TYRES .
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-02 17:18:21
Writing about the Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 given 84% (255-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 easy going miles
I bought these tyres for my VW Van when I replaced the wheels with alloys in the summer and have been pleasantly surprised by them.
They handle very well in both the wet and dry - additionally, I drove in heavy snow when the "Beast from the East" arrived. They handled superbly, even up a steep slope where all manner of cars had been abandoned. I did get some wheel spin (front wheel drove VW Transporter van) but they got me home through really treachorous conditions.
They have lasted around 12,000 miles but are now ready to be replaced as I am cautious when it comes to tyre wear but could probably go another couple of thousand miles.
I will probably buy these again rather than a different budget tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-05 12:52:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre