Volkswagen Transporter Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Transporter.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Transporter? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Transporter better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus ST (21) 89% 84% 84% 85% 92% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (177) 89% 86% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Maxxis Trepador M8060 (1) 90% 80% 70% 90% 80% 60%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77%
Michelin Primacy 4 (157) 85% 81% 74% 77% 82% 83%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (61) 84% 77% 76% 76% 76% 81%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (128) 84% 76% 76% 78% 74% 82%
Imperial Ecosport 2 (7) 82% 71% 71% 69% 87% 82%
Falken Wildpeak WP AT01 (5) 88% 64% 80% 70% 67% 84%
Infinity Ecomax (33) 78% 73% 72% 67% 77% 78%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (116) 87% 82% 76% 77% 58% 78%
Toyo H09 (4) 75% 73% 67% 55% 75% 85%
Nokian WR C3 (1) 80% 80% 60% 70% 70% 50%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Jinyu YU63 (52) 78% 62% 67% 66% 72% 72%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Nankang AS1 (18) 78% 60% 68% 62% 71% 71%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (139) 77% 68% 63% 61% 71% 71%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Hifly HF805 (58) 75% 61% 64% 64% 54% 63%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
Accelera PHI 2 (12) 71% 49% 54% 52% 65% 62%
Joyroad VAN RX5 (1) 60% 15% 40% 45% 100% 60%
Continental ContiVanContact 200 (8) 73% 60% 69% 73% 30% 64%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
Insa Turbo DAKAR (3) 77% 70% 45% 30% 60% 57%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Roadstone Roadian HP (8) 59% 49% 50% 51% 60% 53%
Infinity INF100 (4) 55% 33% 43% 40% 63% 53%
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48%
Haida HD921 (37) 59% 40% 46% 45% 50% 38%
Powertrac CityRacing (10) 40% 33% 36% 38% 34% 41%
Fullrun HP199 (79) 48% 28% 32% 33% 53% 27%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%

Volkswagen Transporter Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Nankang AS1 given 89% (255-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 18000 spirited miles
Installed on an always fully laden LWB VW T6 Transporter with lowered uprated suspension.
I am stunned at how well they have lasted and only one puncture and that was a nail, the van is driven off road onsite during the day. I use these rims and tyres between March and October and then switch to winter rims and tyres.
Only slight weakness is during torrential rain, but that probably says more about me than the tyres; I will certainly buy again shortly.
tyre reviewed on 2024-04-10 16:50:28
Writing about the Powertrac CityRacing given 39% (225-35-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Started having an issue with judder from nearside front on a long trip to South coast, thought I had wheel balance issue.
Took it into a local garage on my return only to find huge bulges on the inside edge of tyre, could have been nasty at 70mph plus!!!
Bought this VW Transporter with these crappy Powertrac Cityracing tyres from a V.W. dealership in Leeds which I am a little surprised about.
Having tyres changed immediately and will try sending an invoice to the V.W. dealership to cover the cost.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-14 08:16:12
Writing about the Imperial Ecosport 2 given 97% (235-55-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15500 easy going miles
I wanted to try cheap tires once and find out the difference between the previous ones that belong to a higher price class (Bridgestone Turanza ER300). I drive a passenger van VW Transporter T6, mostly three people ride in the vehicle. The van is driven mostly on the highway at a speed of 100-120km/h (60-75mph). A few times I drove a little faster in the rain through corners and the car held the road as it should. I bought the tires in May and have done 25,000km (15,500miles) to date. The tire still has a 5mm profile, consumption compared to the Bridgestone Turanza is 0.3 liters per 100km higher. After these kilometers, the tire still behaves well. To summarize: definitely a good purchase for people who don't go wild on the roads and I recommend it myself.
tyre reviewed on 2023-11-14 04:41:46
Writing about the Infinity Ecomax given 92% (255-40-20-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
Ignore all the people on here talking as if you have to put Pirelli’s on every vehicle known to man. Your tyre choice is relative to your individual circumstances; vehicle type, speed, usage, type etc. I’ve had 4 of these fitted to my VW Transporter Kombi. I like most are looking for a decent enough tyre that doesn’t break the bank.

Let me tell you that these don’t disappoint. First of all these things are QUIET. Seriously on a T28 running 255/40/20 I would expect some road nice, but these are so quiet it was pleasantly surprising. Dry grip is fine, no issues on windy country roads razzing around in the van. Not had a very wet day to test yet but from the 2022 and 2023 tests I’m not expecting issues.

Don’t hesitate buying these.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-09 13:59:37
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 53% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Great tyre for comfort and ride but complete rubbish for wear - I got less than 25,000km out of a set and will not go there again at the price Rubbish Michelin
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-18 00:19:49
Writing about the Powertrac CityRacing given 10% (255-35-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 easy going miles
I had the same issue as the reviewer above. All 4 tyres have large bubbles on the inside wall. My van dealer has gone back to the manufacturer and they have denied responsibility. I am now looking at taking this to legal as the tyres had only done 10k miles. Avoid this brand like the plague, they are a danger to road users.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-14 13:06:08
Writing about the Insa Turbo DAKAR given 87% (235-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
T bought these tyres for my 91 vw t3 syncro.. my old tyres were a pair of nankang ft9.. On the road they are a bit noisy.. but i dont mind.. im driving a 4x4 and not a family car. On semi wet terrain they stick to the ground really good and even in 2x2 mode i didn't got stuck. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zx40Rwd7HpQ&ab_channel=J.F.K.O this is a video from my last time driving in terrain.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-14 02:05:33
Writing about the Haida HD921 given 29% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 easy going miles
I hate, hate, hate these tyres. I’ve never known a tyre to make so much noise. The handling is all over the place. Whoever at Camper King decided to bundle these with a £55k conversion, instead of adding an extra £250 for at least a mid-tier brand, is an idiot.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-25 08:28:04
Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 64% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
These were factory fitted to my new 2016 T6 LWB van. Which has been custom converted to a camper. When the tyres were new all good. As they wore on the front mainly on the edges and scalloped. Then on , I have kept the front pressure up like around 51psi as per tyre sticker. Wear has evened out at no loss to performance in my opinion. I'm over 60 and driven heavy vehicles most of my life on Australia. This is my first van. So I mostly do highway running and touring. I don't throw it onto corners and stick to speed limits mostly. Its a wide tyre and designed for the tar. As I like to head off onto the gravel and find a grassy campsite. I have just replaced the tyres with Maxxis MCV3+ which seems to be a bit more aggressive for unsealed surfaces. Anyway, my Contivan 200 were recently replaced at 70,600km. Probably had about 5000 left in them. I doubt , I would buy them again. But ok , did the job on the tar in all conditions Yet, nothing to write home about. Lasted well though.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-10 01:24:19
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 81% (255-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Use them on my lwb vw kombi and can't fault them in wet or dry
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-02 13:40:00
Writing about the Roadstone Roadian HP given 80% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I have these tyres on my VW T5.1, they were on when I bought it. Considering I`m running 20`s the ride is surprisingly good. Even the North Wales potholes are taken in their stride....most of the time. I`ve had no grip issues so far (not used in snow or ice yet and probably never will). As for road noise....I think some people need better door rubbers as I think they are perfectly fine. I`ve definately had noisier tyres on some cars. They seem to be wearing ok too.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-14 04:22:01
Writing about the Nokian WR C3 given 71% (215-60-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 easy going miles
Not as good as the old WRC. The old had 12 mm start thread the WRC 3 just 9 mm. Its def. more noisy than the old one. Performance ist perfect! Ice, Snow in the Alps no problem.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-20 15:04:55
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre