Volkswagen Transporter Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Transporter.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Transporter? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Transporter better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Hankook Ventus ST (19) 89% 84% 84% 84% 92% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Michelin Primacy 4 (133) 86% 82% 75% 78% 82% 86%
Maxxis Trepador M8060 (1) 90% 80% 70% 90% 80% 60%
Kumho Road Venture MT KL71 (7) 86% 84% 82% 59% 93% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (283) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (58) 84% 78% 76% 77% 77% 81%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (122) 84% 77% 75% 78% 74% 82%
Falken Wildpeak WP AT01 (5) 88% 64% 80% 70% 67% 84%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (114) 87% 83% 76% 77% 57% 78%
Toyo H09 (4) 75% 73% 67% 55% 75% 85%
Nokian WR C3 (1) 80% 80% 60% 70% 70% 50%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Jinyu YU63 (52) 78% 62% 67% 66% 72% 72%
Dunlop SP Sport 01 (124) 78% 67% 71% 69% 69% 65%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Goodyear EfficientGrip (135) 77% 68% 62% 60% 70% 70%
Hifly HF805 (55) 74% 60% 64% 63% 54% 63%
Landsail LS988 (37) 76% 52% 59% 54% 72% 66%
Accelera PHI 2 (11) 72% 53% 58% 56% 68% 63%
Joyroad VAN RX5 (1) 60% 15% 40% 45% 100% 60%
Continental ContiVanContact 200 (8) 73% 60% 69% 73% 30% 64%
Accelera PHI (152) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (136) 70% 47% 57% 55% 69% 48%
Insa Turbo DAKAR (3) 77% 70% 45% 30% 60% 57%
Hankook Ventus K104 (11) 68% 42% 50% 44% 55% 61%
Roadstone Roadian HP (8) 59% 49% 50% 51% 60% 53%
Infinity INF100 (4) 55% 33% 43% 40% 63% 53%
Minerva minerva F105 (16) 59% 41% 47% 38% 53% 48%
Haida HD921 (37) 59% 40% 46% 45% 50% 38%
Fullrun HP199 (78) 48% 28% 32% 33% 54% 27%
Sunny SN3800 (63) 50% 29% 30% 29% 44% 28%
Powertrac CityRacing (6) 28% 17% 22% 25% 15% 30%

Volkswagen Transporter Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 53% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Great tyre for comfort and ride but complete rubbish for wear - I got less than 25,000km out of a set and will not go there again at the price Rubbish Michelin
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-18 07:19:49
Writing about the Powertrac CityRacing given 10% (255-35-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 easy going miles
I had the same issue as the reviewer above. All 4 tyres have large bubbles on the inside wall. My van dealer has gone back to the manufacturer and they have denied responsibility. I am now looking at taking this to legal as the tyres had only done 10k miles. Avoid this brand like the plague, they are a danger to road users.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-14 20:06:08
Writing about the Insa Turbo DAKAR given 87% (235-60-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 average miles
T bought these tyres for my 91 vw t3 syncro.. my old tyres were a pair of nankang ft9.. On the road they are a bit noisy.. but i dont mind.. im driving a 4x4 and not a family car. On semi wet terrain they stick to the ground really good and even in 2x2 mode i didn't got stuck. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zx40Rwd7HpQ&ab_channel=J.F.K.O this is a video from my last time driving in terrain.
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-14 09:05:33
Writing about the Haida HD921 given 29% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 easy going miles
I hate, hate, hate these tyres. I’ve never known a tyre to make so much noise. The handling is all over the place. Whoever at Camper King decided to bundle these with a £55k conversion, instead of adding an extra £250 for at least a mid-tier brand, is an idiot.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-25 15:28:04
Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 64% (215-65-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
These were factory fitted to my new 2016 T6 LWB van. Which has been custom converted to a camper. When the tyres were new all good. As they wore on the front mainly on the edges and scalloped. Then on , I have kept the front pressure up like around 51psi as per tyre sticker. Wear has evened out at no loss to performance in my opinion. I'm over 60 and driven heavy vehicles most of my life on Australia. This is my first van. So I mostly do highway running and touring. I don't throw it onto corners and stick to speed limits mostly. Its a wide tyre and designed for the tar. As I like to head off onto the gravel and find a grassy campsite. I have just replaced the tyres with Maxxis MCV3+ which seems to be a bit more aggressive for unsealed surfaces. Anyway, my Contivan 200 were recently replaced at 70,600km. Probably had about 5000 left in them. I doubt , I would buy them again. But ok , did the job on the tar in all conditions Yet, nothing to write home about. Lasted well though.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-10 08:24:19
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SU1 given 81% (255-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
Use them on my lwb vw kombi and can't fault them in wet or dry
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-02 19:40:00
Writing about the Roadstone Roadian HP given 80% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
I have these tyres on my VW T5.1, they were on when I bought it. Considering I`m running 20`s the ride is surprisingly good. Even the North Wales potholes are taken in their stride....most of the time. I`ve had no grip issues so far (not used in snow or ice yet and probably never will). As for road noise....I think some people need better door rubbers as I think they are perfectly fine. I`ve definately had noisier tyres on some cars. They seem to be wearing ok too.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-14 11:22:01
Writing about the Nokian WR C3 given 71% (215-60-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 easy going miles
Not as good as the old WRC. The old had 12 mm start thread the WRC 3 just 9 mm. Its def. more noisy than the old one. Performance ist perfect! Ice, Snow in the Alps no problem.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-20 22:04:55
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 47% (255-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
These came fitted new to our Transporter camper conversion. Rears have worn well but the fronts are dreadful, we have covered 7,000 miles (thanks Covid!) and the fronts are now on the wear bar, but only in the middle of the tread pattern. The outer bars still have life in them. Pressures and tracking have all been checked so they must just be not great tyres. Will not be replacing like for like..
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-30 15:25:43
Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 41% (215-60-17-T)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Factory fitted from new on my 69 plate Transporter kombi. This is my fourth Transporter over a period of approximately 12 years and I can honestly say these continental tyres are the worst I've had. Tread wear is totally unacceptable. The outer edges of the front tyres look almost bald at 13000 miles but with 6mm depth still to go. Any incline start in the wet causes the front wheels to spin. When I had the vehicle back from my local VW dealer with what I thought was a droning wheel bearing noise, I was informed that the rear tyre edges are suffering from 'stepping' which is causing the noise. I personally feel this tyre design is faulty and not fit for purpose. I am currently looking at alternative brands because they are that bad, even though there is possibly another year's use in them.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-06 08:26:56
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 85% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
I am running these tyres on a 204 ps vw t6 transporter with lowered suspension, it is a working vehicle fully loaded weight wise. Having read the tyre reviews I was expecting the worst but no,I have nothing so far negative to say about them. Grip is not an issue, handling and feedback, wear and comfort in a working truck well you are not going to achieve this at all. So yes I will buy again and be happy to do so, absolute bargain.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-14 00:06:00
Writing about the Continental ContiVanContact 200 given 43% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
These tyres were fitted as standard on my vw t6 and when new were a great tyre on wet or dry road conditions,i have now covered 20k and can honestly say these are now dangerous they seem to have a flaw whereas they wear heavily on the outer edge,mine and other transporter drivers,with the heavy downpours we have been experiencing lately ive now found the wheels slipping on the wet upward stretches on Exeter to Launceston rd A30,needless to say they are all being changed tommorow,wont be buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-01 23:07:42
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre