Accelera PHI

Dry Grip 69%
Wet Grip 46%
Road Feedback 54%
Handling 53%
Wear 67%
Comfort 59%
Buy again 51%

The Accelera PHI is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre has been replaced by the Accelera PHI R

Show All

Tyre review data from 144 tyre reviews averaging 57% over 1,275,262 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Low rolling resistance. Low noise.
  • Negative - Very poor wet grip, extremely long wet braking distances, poor dry grip.
  • Overall - The Accelera PHI was extremely low grip in all scenarios. Do not fit this tyre.
    Not Recommended

2014 Auto Bild 50 Summer Tyre Shootout - 44th of 50 tyres

2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Finishing bottom of the table in nearly every test secured the Accelera its last place, however EVO noted it wasn't as bad as some of the other budgets tested in previous years. As is the norm with budget tyres, it was capable in the dry but lacked grip, composure and safety when the surface changed to wet.
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/55 R15 88V   F E 74 8.50kgs
195/45 R16 84W   E C 72 7.00kgs
235/60 R16 104W   E C 72 12.00kgs
235/55 R17 103W   E C 72 11.00kgs
255/35 R18 94Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
265/35 R18 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
215/40 R18 89Y   E C 72 9.00kgs
225/40 R18 92Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
245/40 R18 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
255/40 R18 99Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
235/45 R18 98Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
255/30 R19 91Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
265/30 R19 93Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/35 R19 93Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
265/35 R19 98Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
225/40 R19 93Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
235/40 R19 96Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
245/40 R19 98Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
255/40 R19 100Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/45 R19 102Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
225/30 R20 85Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
255/30 R20 92Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
225/35 R20 93Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
235/35 R20 92Y   E C 72 10.00kgs
245/35 R20 95Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/45 R20 103Y   E C 72 13.00kgs
255/30 R21 95W   E C 72 11.00kgs
255/30 R22 95Y   E C 72 11.00kgs
245/35 R22 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs

Questions and Answers for the Accelera PHI

2016-06-26 - Are the Accelera PHI tyres run flat?

We're not currently aware of a runflat version of the Accelera PHI tyre.


2016-08-24 - What side is the front of the tire?

The PHI will have "outside" written on the outside, or front, of the tyre.


2016-10-18 - What is the estimated mileage for the Accelera PHI 225/45 R18? I have a Kia Soul Exclaim (2011) and am looking for four new tires

The mileage of the Accelera PHI depends largely on your car and driving style. It's best to look at other reviews posted to match your driving style and vehicle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £45.00 - £45.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £49.00 - £49.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R19 £55.00 - £55.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 34 tyre sizes - View all.

Top Accelera PHI Review

Given 67% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
The varied reviews on the this tyre are insane. Some calling them dangerous to the best tyre ever driven on to date. My review is based on driving at legal speeds. Average 80 to 120kph.
On my Irish dry roads, the car handles well and confortable giving good feed back steering through the corners and braking. In heavy rain, I slowed down and again the tyres are fine. On greasy wet main roads, the tyres were giddy accelerating away from lights, fighting for grip as I put my foot down. So if you don't want spin - don't race! Once I adjusted my driving style to the tyres, they were acceptable.
In summary, my view is that once these tyres are that driven legally, they are good for the money on a family car driving safely. Its like the Top Gear corner Follow Through - different cars and drivers can go at different speeds. (Bring back the old Guys!) But if I had the money and did my research and wanted to enjoy the full potential of my car and all its power, I would go for the drivers tyre- Michelin Pilot Sport 4. If I want to maximise fuel economy and long life I'd drive on the Michelin Primacy 3. Both the same price, but different handling qualities. In my view, Mid range brands are just made to suit peoples budgets.
111 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2016   

Latest Accelera PHI Reviews

Have you driven on the Accelera PHI tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera PHI? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Accelera PHI >>

Mercedes Benz (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Absolutely abysmal tyres. Complete trap in dry or wet. I purchased a Mercedes CLS with these already fitted. Someone obviously didn't value their life or their passengers! Don't scrimp on tyres or safety folks! It's the first and last thing between you and the tarmac! First found out how bad these were with a wet road, sleet conditions doing 70 with kick down. The rear end gave way and car veered left,then right - just managed to correct and regain control or Have No doubt I would be mincemeat. First thing I did was take this off and put Michelin Pilots on!
0 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Hyundai elantra (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
It is satisfactory among tires of similar price range. I think the Indonesian tire quality is good. Road noise is less than that of Michelin and Continental.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2020   
Trying to pick the very best winter tyre? Watch this!
Given 85% while driving a Volkswagen Transporter (255/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I am running these tyres on a 204 ps vw t6 transporter with lowered suspension, it is a working vehicle fully loaded weight wise. Having read the tyre reviews I was expecting the worst but no,I have nothing so far negative to say about them. Grip is not an issue, handling and feedback, wear and comfort in a working truck well you are not going to achieve this at all. So yes I will buy again and be happy to do so, absolute bargain.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
good tire for the price one of the best budget tires i had on my mk7
5 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2020   
Given 43% while driving a BMW 320d msport coupe (265/30 R19 W) on mostly town for 3,500 average miles
These tyres provide very little grip in both dry and wet. I have very little confidence in them as I have slid multiple times at very low speeds. The grip in wet weather is particularly bad. So much so that my DTC light occasional blinks when moving from a standstill. That being said, they have a fairly comfortable ride and aren't too noisy.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 7, 2020   

See all 138 customer reviews of the Accelera PHI (newest first) >>