Accelera PHI

The Accelera PHI is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 158 tyre reviews averaging 56% over 1,306,712 miles driven, and 3 tests with an average result of 21st.

Dry Grip 68%
Wet Grip 44%
Road Feedback 53%
Handling 52%
Wear 66%
Comfort 58%
Buy again 49%

The PHI is ranked 164th of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Accelera PHI R.

Tests Included

3

Best Result

8th

Worst Result

44th

Average Result

21st

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test
8th of 8 tyres
  • Low rolling resistance. Low noise.
  • Very poor wet grip, extremely long wet braking distances, poor dry grip.
  • The Accelera PHI was extremely low grip in all scenarios. Do not fit this tyre.
    Not Recommended
View Full Test >>
2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test
10th of 10 tyres
  • Finishing bottom of the table in nearly every test secured the Accelera its last place, however EVO noted it wasn't as bad as some of the other budgets tested in previous years. As is the norm with budget tyres, it was capable in the dry but lacked grip, composure and safety when the surface changed to wet.
View Full Test >>

2019 Tyre Tests

2014 Tyre Tests

2012 Tyre Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Accelera PHI

Questions and Answers for the Accelera PHI

2016-06-26 - Are the Accelera PHI tyres run flat?

We're not currently aware of a runflat version of the Accelera PHI tyre.


2016-08-24 - What side is the front of the tire?

The PHI will have "outside" written on the outside, or front, of the tyre.


2016-10-17 - What is the estimated mileage for the Accelera PHI 225/45 R18? I have a Kia Soul Exclaim (2011) and am looking for four new tires

The mileage of the Accelera PHI depends largely on your car and driving style. It's best to look at other reviews posted to match your driving style and vehicle.


2021-05-03 - I recently purchased a 2019 Nissan Sentra equiped wiht 205 55r16 accelera tires. Approaching 70 miles p/h the care experiences a significant and uncomfortable vibration. Do you have some suggestion to make for this issue?, could it have something to do with the tires itself?

There is a chance the tyre could be out of shape, but it's more likely to be a wheel out of balance. I would suggest getting the wheels balanced at a local tyre garage, and while they're balancing the wheels they can also inspect the tyres.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
235/40 R19 £80.38 - £90.48 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R18 £86.16 - £97.31 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 38 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Accelera PHI Reviews

Mercedes Benz (225/50 R16) on track for 5 spirited miles
I have now purchased and destroyed 12 of these tires in the same 16" size as I use them for rallycross in Texas. These tires normally last 18-20 laps and are great before they come apart. You pay a good price for a tire that lasts only as long as you want it to. Now, I also run the 651 Sport and those also wore down fast at the track a little too fast. I do run Toyo Prox R888R and those seem to last a little bit longer, but are 3x the price!
I have no idea how these tires work on public roads, but I have done drift and rally with them and will continue to....
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2023
Given 63% while driving a Audi (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I bought these online as i had a discount code, and my car had brand new acceleras on the front tyres already so bought a matching rear set. I had just bought the car, and it needed some rears, so instead of going for premium which would have been 4 times the price per tyre at this size, i bought these, as i didn't fully trust the car at the time, and didn't want to spend £1k on tyres just yet. I've had good experiences with budgets before, so not afraid to try them. In the dry they are absolutely fine, a little noisy, ride is quite firm on the tyres, but i don't mind that. The tyres state all season on the side, although most reviews treat them as a summer tyre, and the tread pattern looks like a traditional summer tyre to me.
Wet weather performance is where this tyre struggles, wet weather braking being the only noticeable downside, initial bite in the wet upon braking is not very strong, and just takes that little longer than you'd expect. So factor that in.
As i mentioned the ride is firm on these tyres, and the grip not the highest, so that would suggest that the tyres are of a very hard compound which should last a long time.
For the money they're good, and for most applications i would say they're fine. They look and feel like a very robust tyre aimed at longevity rather than peak grip, i think the bad reviews here are by FWD hatchbacks that drive them hard, which is just not what they're for.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 23, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Opel insignia (245/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20 average miles
The varied reviews on the this tyre are insane. Some calling them dangerous to the best tyre ever driven on to date. My review is based on driving at legal speeds. Average 80 to 120kph.
On my Irish dry roads, the car handles well and confortable giving good feed back steering through the corners and braking. In heavy rain, I slowed down and again the tyres are fine. On greasy wet main roads, the tyres were giddy accelerating away from lights, fighting for grip as I put my foot down. So if you don't want spin - don't race! Once I adjusted my driving style to the tyres, they were acceptable.
In summary, my view is that once these tyres are that driven legally, they are good for the money on a family car driving safely. Its like the Top Gear corner Follow Through - different cars and drivers can go at different speeds. (Bring back the old Guys!) But if I had the money and did my research and wanted to enjoy the full potential of my car and all its power, I would go for the drivers tyre- Michelin Pilot Sport 4. If I want to maximise fuel economy and long life I'd drive on the Michelin Primacy 3. Both the same price, but different handling qualities. In my view, Mid range brands are just made to suit peoples budgets.
Helpful 157 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2016
Have you driven on the Accelera PHI tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera PHI? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Accelera PHI >

Latest Accelera PHI Reviews

Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz (245/30 R20) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
I'm not sure what everyone is complaining about... These tyres work fine.. My car is RWD 270 bhp... No problems... The funny thing is, the Phi's are on the front, I have an even lesser Accelera tyre on the back and yet I have no issues, the car is controlled, grips well and the feedback is good. From a stopped launch to pulling quickly out of a side road, I've not had any issues. I haven't had any understeer from the fronts, they communicate well. In the wet and in icy conditions again, no traction issues. They are stable on the motorway no wandering or instability.

The only thing to note is the road noise is a little higher than you'd expect but not a big issue and the ride is a little harsh although I'd expect that from any tyre with a 30 profile.

I paid £74 per tyre + fitting (£22 per tyre), so £182 for two, fitted.... A Michelin of the same size would set me back over £280, per tyre, fitted! I'm not expecting these budget tyres to grip like a Michelin or similar premium brand and neither should anyone else. I'll save the £380+ for two tyres thanks.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2024
Given 32% while driving a SEAT 1.4 TSI (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
These are the worst tyres I've driven on in recent years. They were fitted to a seat ibiza my son bought after just passing his test, the dealer thinking he was doing a good turn supplying the car with 2 new front tyres. On the front the car understeerd like it was on ice, I genuinely thought I was on a diesel spill the first time I went round a wet roundabout. Awful wet grip and dangerously so for a new driver just coming into winter when the road will mostly be wet. As the car had decent branded tyres on the back I thought I'd swap them round even though mixing tyres on the driven end of the car is not a great idea, one avon and one toyo were swapped to the front and the accelera tyres on the back. Now the car had good traction on the front but even at moderate speeds the lift off oversteer was unpredictable and sudden and a less experienced driver would be all over the place and probably off the road backwards. I had to shell out nearly £170 for 2 decent tyres for him as he didn't have the money to get new ones right away. I could not of slept at night knowing my son was driving on these death trap tyres.
Just to be clear, I've driven hundreds of cars over 40 years and I would say I'm a hard but not stupid driver, I've had everything from v6 capris to gtr's, I know how to control a car and I can say without question these tyres are a false economy, spend the extra 30 quid or whatever on decent tyres and save yourself an insurance claim. I read someone's review saying if you drive slow enough they're fine. Well you could argue that if you drive completely slick tyres in the rain you'll be fine if you go slow enough. The problem is things happen that are beyond your control, you may need to stop in a hurry for whatever reason and If the car in front of you is on decent rubber and you're on these, trust me, you're hitting the back of them or going off the road.
DONT BUY!!!
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 10% while driving a Hyundai Creta SX (245/55 R18) on track for 4,000 easy going miles
One of the worst tyre which i hv seen frm my age 17 to 37 years , in just 3600 km my car tyre got slapped and bcm a healthy airy shapeshop vendor or Retialer or Tyre Showroom Owner said this s out of warranty because this s Cinese tyre but on this ISI maark is there, no warranty guarranty , i hv 6 cars so i will not prefer this tyre to anyone
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2023
Given 79% while driving a BMW 335i (265/30 R19) on mostly motorways for 145 miles
I have only 145 miles on these tires but I had comfort while driving and road noise was little to none.I pushed them to triple digits in the dry and wet and they felt solid.Other than a slight vibration which I suspect wheel balancing could be better, but the tires are decent for the price.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2023
Given 53% while driving a BMW m2 (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
You can find a lot of reviews online about these tyres, and most of them extremely criticize the performance in various conditions. I switched to Acceleras due to the fact I'll be changing wheels from 19'' stock to 18'' APEX SM-10. As the rear tyres were running low, I decided to spend £70 per tyre instead of £300+ for Michelins when I'll need to replace them in 6 months anyway to accommodate the wheel change. Considering that I still use Cup2's at the front axle, the Acceleras deal with everyday driving ok. The dry grip is about 30-40% lower than Michelin's depending on the surface of the road, it doesn't bother me as I'm used to cars that feel a bit more alive and most people will not notice the difference until you need to pull out from the side road or get on the busy roundabout. Motorway - is a bit sketchy, the car does not feel as solid or planted at speed when changing lanes, and I'm not talking about going supersonic... that from 60mph+. Definitely will not be able to switch lanes aggressively or the back will swing around you. Wet grip - now this is really subjective, as we all do different driving. Personally, I use my car every day and commute from M25 J16 to M1 J10. M25 in the rain is sometimes scary and I'm sooo grateful I kept the Cup2's at the front. The Acceleras like to skid a bit when going over paddles, same in town, the car will struggle to accelerate even in a higher gear. I'll bring one example, I was overtaking on M25, going 60mph, 6th gear, put my foot down to overtake, and the rear goes. That's partially due to the M2's torque but you get the point... Had a chance to use them during my latest road trip to the lake district, snowy/icy road is definitely something you MUST avoid if using these tyres. I was sliding at 3-5 miles per hour with no throttle applied. Managed to get to the top of the Honister Pass, but trust me when I say a little bit of poo came out... The tyre is fairly controllable at the limit and beyond, just be aware - you'll get to the limit much much sooner than you think, you can push it a bit, not as much as you would with a £300+ tyre but this characteristic lets you have some fun at lower speeds, and you'll not feel sorry shredding this budget rubber as they're soo cheap to replace. In terms of wear, they cope quite well, used them for around 5 months (10 000miles of commuting including 2 road trips to Lake District) and the latest MOT shows around 5.2mm. I can't speak for comfort or noise as having good or bad tyres in the car with bucket seats, roll-cage etc doesn't make much of a difference. In a conclusion, It's difficult to say if I would recommend them to anyone, but I'm sure they have some application. Highly depends on what is your car and what is your driving style etc. I can't say anything negative as I knew they will not provide as much grip in various conditions, they just worked for me and saved me money. If you have a slower car, and you drive from A to B I think this tyre would work well for you. Not going to wear as much and the price is great for what it is. Just be aware of the conditions on the road, wet grip, and most likely massively increased braking distance. For anyone else, more powerful cars, or someone who likes to drive their car a bit more aggressively - please don't buy it unless you have a valid reason behind it... if you need to save money, or just would like to slide a bit on the track without spending a lot on tyres, go for it. But everyday use will affect the performance of your car by a significant margin and you will need to be aware of the conditions on the road at all times.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on January 6, 2023
Given 23% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
I really am not sure what the people giving positive reviews of these tyres are thinking, but I had four brand new ones for the dealer. I have zero confidence in these tyres to deal with anything other than the most mundane driving. Straight line at 30 miles an hour in the dry, you'll be fine. I have found in the wet under even the slightest acceleration the front end is squirming around, cross a road marking or white line and they seem to just aquaplain over it, even if it's dry. When alone in the car I decided to test them out, you need to know what your tyres can get you out of and within 1 minute had managed to get the back end out, accelerating out of bend at 10mph. Having just come out of a 2018 C-Class coupe, so far I am not enjoying the BMW driving experience and I can only think this is down to the tyres, shockingly bad. With the winter coming up I will be switching these up for something more reliable. Regardless of the drivers saying 'don't race' as if that's a way to make the tyres safe - I don't race - you need to know that if you need to accelerate away quickly, brake sharply or need to get yourself out of danger another way, that the tyres are going to let you down. Zero confidence in these to do that.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2022
Given 30% while driving a BMW 320D xDrive Gran Turismo (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These were on the car when I bought it. I do NOT recommend these tyres. Not great in dry weather and downright dangerous in the wet (which is quite often in the UK!) Cant get new tyres quick enough
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2022
Given 19% while driving a BMW 530D M sport (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
DON'T buy these tyres. Worst experience ever - not worth it. Dangerous in wet and zero comfort.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
Given 44% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 2.0TDi 170 (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
These were fitted by dealer prior to picking up car as the existing ones failed mot for tread depth. Obviously the dealer went for the cheapest he could get.... Dry performance is ok BUT these tyres are downright dangerous in the wet! Spin up when accelerating in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th on a damp road, even when feathering the throttle. Slow speeds on damp roundabouts will see the front understeering terribly. Spend all the time driving in the wet as if driving on ice. Simply dangerous!! So now I'm having to fork out circa £600 for better quality tyres despite the current set only having about 5K on them. Never had a tyre, budget, intermediate or premium that is this bad... AVOID!!!
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2021
Given 27% while driving a Porsche 986 2.7 (265/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
I had these tyres on the rear of my 2.7 Boxster when i bought it, And contrary to the smug reviewers re lack of talent plus I'll never understand owning a premium car and putting on budget tyres The back end coming round on you at 20 mph on a damp, not wet, but damp roundabout has nothing to do with talent, and all to do with shockingly bad & dangerous tyres, and not that great in the dry to be honest. There was no date code on these, so they could have been quite old, they still had 4mm tread, I believe they may have been updated now so I have no experience of this new compound, but safe to say, if you have these older tyres, get rid asap before they cause you an injury or worse. Now on trusty PS4's like my last car which I went though 3 sets with many miles of great grip in all weathers.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2021
Given 41% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 2,000 easy going miles
Initially I was impressed, that didn’t last long. Wear is average at best and dry grip will never compete with a premium brand but it’s satisfactory. Wet grip however is a different story. If you drive with your kids in the car you don’t want these tires, wet stopping distance is horrendous. And the final straw was when my car developed a lot of wheel wobble the investigation found one of my tires after less than 2000 miles (3000km) was out of shape meaning the wheel could not be balanced and vibration unavoidable. Fuel economy was aldosterone down around 10%. I’m now back on Michelin all round and the car is transformed.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Tesla Model 3 Performance (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
After 25k with the factory Michelin PS4s (very good tyre eight until the end but chuffing pricey) I switched to acceleras after a good experience on my previous car, an E61 530d. The tyres last a long time and contrary to opinion do not throw the car into a ditch. I suspect this has more to do with driver talent and awareness of risk. Their wet performance is certainly not as good as a premium tyre but then I increase my spacing in the wet. Within days of the new set of tyres we had a bit of snow. Although not a winter tyre (it has all season written on the sidewall) and moderate braking/acceleration could break traction, they we fine and the tyres combined with all wheel drive allowed me to gently make progress up hills when others where spearing off the road. The public road is not a race track and I wonder what many are asking of their tyres. Personally I'd go for the acceleras and invest the saving in an advanced course. Better observation will significantly out break the better premium tyre. As an example a famous motor industry presenter wrote off his pride and joy 911. The blame was apparently with the idiot that chose a bend to make a three point turn however track driving techniques don't require you to be able to stop within the distance you can see. Stories aside, these tyres look good, perform adequately and at £41 a corner, they are awesome
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2021