Accelera PHI R

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 53%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 76%
Wear 73%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 56%

The Accelera PHI R is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

This tyre replaced the Accelera PHI

Show All

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 111,894 miles driven.

Latest Group Test Results

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 49th of 49 tyres

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E C 72 9.00kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E C 72 11.00kgs
205/40 R18 86Y   F E 74 9.00kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E C 72 11.00kgs
245/45 R18 100Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
235/50 R18 101Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
255/35 R19 96Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
255/35 R20 97Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
245/40 R20 99Y   E C 72 12.00kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Accelera PHI R. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


 
Size Price Range  
205/40 R17 £40.00 - £41.03 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/45 R17 £43.90 - £45.00 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £51.00 - £53.33 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £50.00 - £52.93 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R18 £52.00 - £52.21 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Accelera PHI R Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Peugeot 405 (205/60 R14 H) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
these are the best tires for my budget
Comfortable, good handling, good dry grip, and i cant hear any noise, and surely buy again.
73 - tyre reviewed on July 4, 2018   
Given 91% while driving a Subaru Forester sti (225/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
fitted on Subaru Forester SF5 turbo...

great balance all rounder....

for the price range...nothing will beat this tyre...

very good quality...superior to any cheap unknown china made tyre...

drive with confident..never have any air pressure loss or leaks or blow out...

definately the tyre to go in on budget and still thinking about safety...
16 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2018   
Given 40% while driving a Jaguar XF (255/35 R20 W) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Terrible grip in the wet. OK in the dry. Will not buy again.
15 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2018   
Have you driven on the Accelera PHI R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Accelera PHI R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Accelera PHI R >

Latest Accelera PHI R Reviews

Given 100% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2 average miles
I recently purchased four Accelera Phi R 205/40 R17 tires for my 2012 Mini Cooper S, and have driven on them now for about 2,000 miles. I decided to make the switch from the expensive, original run-flat OEM tires and thought I would experiment with a non-run-flat, off-brand, budget tire. The total cost for the four tires with professional installation, road hazard warranty, and an alignment was less than $425 US. This is a bargain compared to run-flat or even non-run flat brand name tires. I also purchased a spare tire that I obtained from a Mini Cooper non-S from a local junkyard at about the same time for less than $20 since the Mini Cooper S does not come with a spare tire, and the non-S does. The first thing I noticed is that the ride is quieter and less harsh. I do have a sport package trim so a harsh ride is unavoidable. I am used to this since my last vehicle was an E90 BMW with a sport package, and the ride is similar. I will trade a smooth ride for a better handling vehicle in this scenario. They handle great on dry terrain and surprised me in the first rainstorm. I do not understand how people are claiming they have no traction in the rain. I experienced no hydroplaning issues accelerating and stopping quickly on them was no problem. Perhaps when I put more miles on them they will lose their wet grip. I cannot recommend if I would buy these again in the future since I have not had them for very long, but so far so good.
3 - tyre reviewed on December 13, 2020   
Given 69% while driving a (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These tyres came fitted to the car and are brand new. would never buy budget tyres out of choice as had a bad experience with an old mx5 fitted with autogrip tyres. Was thinking i would have to get them changed asap but so far they have surprised me and performed well . In the dry they grip well with plenty of feedback and no issues . They are quite noisy tyres but not uncomfortable. Surprised by their ability in the wet thought they would be scrabbling for grip and understeering but no They seem well planted and so far not had any scary experiences either in heavy rain or when the roads are greasy. Weirdly they are marked as all season tyres - Not sure if they will be staying on as if the car handles this well with budget tyres i imagine it would be even better with premium rubber fitted but for the price they seem a bargin.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 47% while driving a Nissan 200sx (235/45 R17) on mostly town for 500 average miles
These tyres cane on my car when I purchased it and worked fine in the dry nothing special but on wet roads they have little to no traction and would slip out very easily
3 - tyre reviewed on November 5, 2020   
Given 53% while driving a Ford S Max (235/45 R18) on for 3,000 miles
An ok tyre for road feedback, its happy to munch up the miles and gives me a good drive in dry conditions. Now any orher conditions other than hot and very dry roads these tyres are simply awful. Ive covered a few thousend miles and have had enough of the very dangerous feelings when in wet or cold conditions. Ive seen shoping trollies doing less understeer than these tyres fitted to my smax 2.0 tdci. I wont ever purchess again (accelera are ditch finders) overall rating an honest 5/10.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Chrysler Grand Voyager (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
I can't figure out why some other reviewers have such problems with these tyres, after 5 years on them ( 2 pairs of fronts) I have had absolutely no scary moments at all. Dry or wet. Even deep water on the motorway has never caused aquaplaning. This could of course be helped by the fact it is a 2.1 ton car, so plenty of weight on them!! And yes that's right I don't drive it like I did our Impreza. That has long since gone after twins arrived!. But it does get driven normally, not tootled about like you can kick your hat around faster. It handles perfectly well at any speed, and has on many occasions embarrassed people who reckoned they were going to dust the old people carrier - then they went backwards on the twisty bits and particularly a long fast curved motorway slip road near us. At 65mph, they come alongside thinking they'll pass, then they hit the brakes while I just carry on round. Really funny. Under extreme braking in the wet they have NEVER locked up, just as well or on one occasion the other car that pulled out would have lost the fight with 2100kg of American steel. For the money they are brilliant. I'm sure on different cars they will perform differently. We now have a 3.0 H6 Subaru Outback as well. I've pit them on that too. 4000 miles on and very very happy with how they work on it. I will replace them as they wear out. Same again, why change? On both cars.
3 - tyre reviewed on July 31, 2020   
Given 65% while driving a Mazda CX 3 (215/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 350 average miles
Pretty good for a budget tyres. Comfort & silence. However, still early to judge. Only been using about 500 km. But my 1st impression for these tyres are not bad.
10 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
This Tyre is making a very good job
2 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
Very good tire for the mid price
2 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2020   
Skoda (205/45 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 2 easy going miles
My Skoda Fabia 1.9tdi was bought second hand eight months ago and came with these tyres fitted to the front.
I thought they were ok. However, I recently noticed some cracks begining to appear in the sidewalls and decided to keep an eye on them. A short while after, while carrying out a front brake inspection, I was shocked to find a deep crack all the way around the inner sidewall of one of the tyres. The other tyre just had a small (3cm long) crack in the outer sidewall. Strangely, I am unable to find a date stamp on them, but from what I can see in the cars service history, I believe they were fitted in 2017. 4mm of tread remain so in theory there should have been plenty of life left in them. Although only one tyre was badly affected I felt I couldn't risk the other tyre failing, so have had both tyres replaced with a different make. Coincidently, the tyre fitter said he had exactly the same problem with these tyres on his own vehicle after just a year. The company refunded his money.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2019   

See all 14 customer reviews of the Accelera PHI R (newest first) >>