Vauxhall Astra VXR Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Vauxhall Astra VXR.

Do you Drive a Vauxhall Astra VXR? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Astra VXR better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (107) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (6) 92% 78% 92% 86% 86% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (135) 95% 85% 89% 86% 83% 82%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Falken Azenis FK510 (123) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Avon ZZ5 (92) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (140) 91% 88% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport (41) 92% 82% 86% 81% 73% 75%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (280) 84% 92% 78% 78% 64% 83%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (74) 92% 87% 85% 82% 54% 78%
Kumho Ecsta KU31 (164) 83% 75% 77% 75% 72% 74%
Nankang NS2R (51) 90% 67% 83% 85% 72% 56%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (36) 86% 77% 79% 77% 59% 74%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (154) 83% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Firestone Firehawk SZ90 (24) 77% 69% 75% 71% 71% 61%
Barum Bravuris (19) 79% 57% 63% 64% 65% 68%
Triangle TR968 (68) 54% 32% 40% 38% 61% 38%

Vauxhall Astra VXR Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Firestone Firehawk SZ90 given 79% (235-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-24 05:16:35
Writing about the Triangle TR968 given 23% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Horrendous tyres. In the wet they are just purely dangerous, huge amounts of understeer, very poor stopping distances and a feeling of complete lack of control. In the dry, when pushed even slightly they squeal, grip, again is poor. These tyres came fitted to a used car, and though nearly new, I was quick to get rid of them in favour of Falken FK510’s.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-09 08:36:28
Writing about the Avon ZZ5 given 86% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-01 13:20:30
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given NAN% (235-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Car handles much better with 4 of these would 100% recommend. Definitely worth the money so much comfort with these and handling definitely improved
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-21 23:13:38
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 73% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 15000 spirited miles
Amazing on dry conditions, the grip and handling are amazing, on wet conditions are awful. Extremely tough ride, amazing life time.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-14 01:26:36
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R given 87% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
Great tyre I have always used the vorti so when the r came out I had to stick a set on. Great road feedback and superb grip in the dry and wet grip more than enough to challenge compettiters. Even on my front wheel drive astra vxr with 300bhp they grip when pulling away hard and cornering. Due another set now seen about 12000miles out of a set of fronts which I think is great.
Love these tyres so much I have put them on my other car too. You won't be disappointed.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-21 09:30:18
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 89% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-17 10:31:18
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 97% (245-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli P Zero k1 tyrew with the Kumhos. I am realy happy that i made the change. The tyre is better on dry and wet in lower temperatures that the p zero. The p zero is slightly better in wet on warm days, but the kumho has a little bigger level of grip at dry, and does not need that high temperatures. Allso the tyre is realy good when puahed hard, doesent lose the grip level by heating up, the level ia going higher and higher. Perfect for everyday and fast road curve driving. Not tested on the race track, but it should perform ok for a street tyre. The stif sidewall is allso a good thing, much stiffer than p zero. I can highly recommend that tyre, they car has more overall grip than with p zero. Wear looks also ok for now.
tyre reviewed on 2016-10-01 09:14:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 57% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
Didn't enjoy these tyres at all, found them very temperature dependant (when the tyres were cool they had much lower grip than when warm). Also found that they'd let go much sooner than other tyres I'd tried on my car. In the wet they were far too easy to spin, especially at junctions when you're turning.

Also found that they caused body roll, my previous tyres were much stiffer sidewall (Michelin are XL tyres). The body roll meant I never had confidence in these tyres that I had in previous tyres. Never lost grip on a corner, probably because they never felt like I could really push them.

Road noise was good, had the tyres on for 5,000 miles and weren't 1/4 warn, so life seems good. Didn't notice any MPG change.

For the money I paid, these were a huge dissapointment. I'd of been better off getting something with a stiffer sidewall.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-05 15:15:34
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 90% (245-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Changed to these from Pirelli PZero's. The difference is night & day. So much more confidence in the wet and practically eliminated understeer in the wet which speaks volumes when putting 300hp through the front wheels. Got a great deal from Formula 1 who beat every other tyre price, just don't let them do your wheel alignment.
tyre reviewed on 2014-12-29 22:02:08
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport given 90% (235-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
having used high performance tyres for over 28yrs I can honestly say as a road tyre, the Michelin Pilot Sport is one of the best I've tried. It has fantastic dry grip, very good wet grip. Only downside is that because it is quite a soft compound, it won't last as long as some other cheaper harder compound brands, but what you lose inuk rage, you more than make up for in dry grip level. I'll be trying the michelin pilot sport cup + tyres next as they are more track focussed.

Well worth the money.
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-05 21:52:17
Writing about the Vredestein Ultrac Vorti given 93% (225-45-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2014-10-02 20:57:09
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre