Nankang NS2R

The Nankang NS2R is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 84%
Wear 72%
Comfort 56%
Buy again 78%

Tyre review data from 58 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 203,671 miles driven.

The NS2R is ranked 20th of 33 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Nankang NS2R

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0          
0/0 R0 0          
175/50 R13 72V   X X    
175/50 R13 72V          
185/60 R13 84V XL   F B 71  
185/60 R13 84V XL   B F 71  
185/60 R13 84V XL   B E 71  
185/60 R14 86V XL   F B 71  
185/60 R14 86V XL   B E 71  
165/50 R15 73V   X X    
165/50 R15 73V          
195/50 R15 82W   F B 71  
195/50 R15 86 XL   B F 71  
195/50 R15 86W XL   F B 71  
195/50 R15 86W XL   B E 71  
205/50 R15 89W XL   B E 71  
195/55 R15 89W XL   F B 71  
195/55 R15 89W XL   B E 71  
195/55 R15 89W XL   B F 71  
195/55 R15 85W   G B 71  
195/55 R15 85W   G B 71  
195/45 R16 84V   B F 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   F B 71  
205/45 R16 87W XL   E B 71  
225/45 R16 93W XL   B E 71  
225/45 R16 89W   F B 71  
225/45 R16 89W   B F 71  
195/50 R16 88W XL   B E 71  
205/55 R16 91W   F B 71  
205/55 R16 94W XL   B E 71  
205/55 R16 91W   F B 71  
205/40 R17 84W XL   B E 71  
235/40 R17 94W XL   F B 72  
235/40 R17 94W XL   F B 72 10.00kgs
235/40 R17 94W XL   B E 72  
255/40 R17 94W   F B 73  
255/40 R17 98W XL   B E 73  
255/40 R17 98W XL   F B 73  
195/45 R17 85Y XL   B E 71  
205/45 R17 88W XL   B E 71  
215/45 R17 91W XL   F B 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   F B 71  
225/45 R17 94W XL   F B 71 10.00kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   F B 71  
235/45 R17 97W XL   F B 72  
235/45 R17 97W XL   B E 72  
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E B 71  
225/35 R18 87Y XL   E B 72  
255/35 R18 94Y XL   B E 73  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   F B 73  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   B F 73  
265/35 R18 97Y XL   B E 73  
285/35 R18 101Y XL   B E 74  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F B 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F B 71  
225/40 R18 92Y XL   F B 71  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   B E 72  
235/40 R18 95Y XL   F B 72  
245/40 R18 97W XL   E B 72  
215/45 R18 93W XL   B E 71  
225/45 R18 95W XL   B F 71  
235/45 R18 98Y XL   B F 72  
265/45 R18 101Y XL   B F 72  
305/30 R20 103Y XL   B E 75  
265/35 R20 99Y XL   B E 73  
285/35 R20 100Y   B E 74  
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E B 73  

Questions and Answers for the Nankang NS2R

2023-03-24 - I have using your tires “NS-2R(175/50R13 72V)” for researching Electrical Vehicle in University. Can I get some test data about “Cornering Stiffness”? Thank you so much.

Sorry, we don't have any data on this, I'd suggest reaching out to Nankang directly as they'd likely be happy to help.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nankang NS2R Reviews

Given 74% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Just a word on these on initial fitting. I had a set put on my spare set of wheels for a track day. They came with the releasing agent still on them and in the damp it was like driving on ice. Once this layer is gone (doesn't take much, a few miles maybe) then they grip really well. BUT - don't assume you can put them on a road car and drive in the wet without scuffing the releasing agent off of them first. Now to the tyres - I ran these on my mini over the winter and other than being a bit lacking grip in frosty conditions early in the morning, they coped fine, even in the wet. Stiff sidewalls and a very 'square' profile, and not the lightest of tyres either but semi-slicks/slicks aren't light anyway due to the stiffer construction. On the track they have been fine so far. 2 track days and 1000 miles or so on the road and I've taken 2mm off the fronts (car is 200bhp roughly). I'm sure with some more spirited track work I would expect them to last another 3-4 track days for me at least.
Helpful 188 - tyre reviewed on April 13, 2021
Given 93% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII 5SPD (265/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Super grip, Dry or Wet. I had this tire on my Evo8(700hp) and BMW M4.
Both cars are for daily and track. About 10,000 miles or more.
In short, NS-2R treadwear 120 is almost identical to AD-08. This is not what I feel, data says so. Lateral G; AD-08 1.3G, NS-2R 1.3G. Braking G; AD-08 0.8G, NS-2R 0.8G. Best Lap time also was very identical within 0.1s. Which means its drivebility is about the same too.
This is insane performance when you think of the price tag.
Mileage is also crazy. Almost not understandable. I don't understand why NS-2R goes more than 30~50% more than AD-08. Why doesn't the other tire companies make like Nankang does?
For the money, I'd give the best rating except comfort. But Hey, No sport tires are comfortable.
Helpful 351 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2016
Given 80% while driving a Mazda MX5 (195/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I've had these tyres on my NBFL miata for around 10000kms, I think theu are very great and awesome value for money. In the dry, with such a light car and not that much power (146hp), it's nearly impossible to get the car back end to slide event with the locked diff. Braking is the smae story, ABS is kicking in very late. I use the car for 80% road, 20% track mainly on the Nordschleife. They perform really well there too. Tyre pressure is something to take good look at because you will very quickly feel pressure increasing and grip reducing.
In the wet, it's another story. They work, I was able to drive 600km in the rain on the highway without too much worries but be prepared in the corners to counter steer. Maybe it's because my car doesn't have any stability or traction control, you have to be very careful, especially on road joints in corners where the car just "ungrips" from the road.
The wear is simply incredible, with such a light car and after 10000km of spirited driving and track use, they are only about 40% wear. This is awesome. I had som Kumho road tyre before that, at 10000km they were done.
Then, the usual, it's stiff which gives you great feedback through the steering wheel but you feel everything on the road, even the smallest rock (maybe my Bilstein suspension doesn't help either).
Concerning noise, of course you get a lot of noise, especially above 120kmh where you can distinctly hear tyre noise.
I would absolutely recommend them for someone who does some track driving, spirited road driving and mainly avoids wet condition.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2023
Have you driven on the Nankang NS2R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang NS2R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nankang NS2R >

Latest Nankang NS2R Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Toyota Supra (315/30 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
315/30R18 (200tw) on the rear and 265/35R18 (180tw) on the front. 600 WHP Toyota Supra. I was pleasantly surprised with these tyres. I wasn't expecting much given the price tag but they have performed better than expected. Started them at 40psi all around but have since dropped to 35psi on the front and 32 psi on the rear, this seems to be their happy spot for my car (1550kg) on good roads. I initially just got them to make sure I could fit a 315 on the rear (rims are 18x11) but I did also want to see if they were going to be a viable tyre that I could thrash on. They take abuse very well and are lasting way better than expected. Downsides are the road noise and comfort which is to be expected. The straight line grip is NOT as good as I hoped for given the massive 315 in the rear, but lateral grip is good. When they do lose traction I found it to be quite predictable and very user friendly. These would suit an endurance event, drifting or even daily driving as long as you don't mind the high noise levels at highway speeds. I have not used them in the cold as I live in a very warm climate in Australia. The guys from Apex use them a lot on the Nürburgring for their cars, if it's good enough for them then I would say they are decent tyres.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 14, 2024
Given 81% while driving a Mazda RX 8 231PS (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
The value for money on this tyre is a great price point and while a little noisy on the road, there is great feedback from the road when in twisty roads. Lots of grip when in dry conditions and it allows for a holding good speed round corners. When on the limit, the progression is a gradual with the rear end slowly slipping away and snapping back when releasing.
When in the wet, remembering these are semi-slicks afterall, you do need to tread a little lightly. However, I've driven these on the motorway in multiple significant downpours and not had an issue with not using the tyre or accelerating excessively.
I love the look of the square sidewall and the rim protector is an added bonus. I also can't complain about the wear being 13k in and them looking like new.
Overall, I've used these in a number of different roads, backroads, motorways and honestly they're a great tyre and I'll be purchasing a set for my RX-7 as well.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 47% while driving a Ford Focus ST 225 (2003 2007) (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Hi I would not recommend sr-2 I have had a set on my car 8 months Thay was made in 2021 like week 38 And all have bad cracking not safe not worth the money This is a review on the product not this company I will never buy again
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla AE101 (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
Replaced my worn out yoko type s with these and they perform very well, I have a converted Corolla ae101 chassis with 3sgte engine installed 260hp stock. Braking is really good too and cornering on these gives me huge amounts of grip at high speed cornering, without an inch of slip, have my car on coilovers but still these are the best tires I have installed on it yet, very happy with them and was not too pricy either
Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on December 17, 2022
Given 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17) on track for 0 spirited miles
There will be better tyres out there without doubt. But as a track-orientated road tyre at a reasonable price these are great and I would definitely buy them again.

The dry grip and handling is good, although the difference from more traditional road-orientated tread patterned tyres wasn't as much as I expected. For example, comparing them to the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, if I'm fairly near the limit on the F1A3 with plenty of tyre squeal, on the NS2R I can match lap times with little or no squeal - it's still toward the upper end of their limits but with just a bit more margin.

The wet performance is surprisingly good in my experience (although i have read some negative comments from other people about this). I did a track day at the Nordschleife in the wet. Grip and handling was nice and predictable (although I don't think I took them near near the limits as I do in the dry, due to lack of experience in the wet and fear of putting my car in a wall or barrier!). Aquaplaning didn't seem to be an issue at all, even at 120mph in a straight line in very wet conditions!

Tyre wear is very good indeed, considering the use (mostly track driving and often fairly near the limits of grip). At least, it is when run at appropriate pressures and staying off the more vicious kerbs!

In the dry the NS2R is noisy in the cabin, which doesn't matter if its primarily a track tyre but might be more of a concern to some people for road use. It is also difficult to balance on the wheel, which may be due to poorer quality control than more premium tyre brands, leading to uneven weight distribution? To help with that, make sure the yellow dot on the side wall is aligned with the valve.

I'm planning to try the AR1 next, for dry conditions, with the F1A3 as wet backup. But if you're in the market for a decent track-oriented all-rounder at a reasonable price, I think the NS2R is worth considering.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Nissan Silvia (195/55 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 spirited miles
I've ran one set of these just on the front wheels and currently run them on all 4. Pretty solid in the dry but you won't get the most out of them unless you get them hot.... You won't be getting them hot from road driving quite frankly. In the wet these tyres are quite dangerous. Very, very slippery and being semi-slick they like to hydroplane. Definitely exercise a lot of caution driving these in the wet, have to be very careful with acceleration around corners. These have nearly cost me my car after being the slightest bit too heavy on the throttle out of a very slippery corner. In short I only recommend these if you're looking for some cheaper tyres that you can take to the track and drive around on through the week. They probably won't reach their ideal temperature from spirited mountain driving, so basically don't bother with these tyres if you don't track your car at all. I don't think there's much to really compare these to at least around the smaller 195/55 R15 size I run, all other semi-slicks are more expensive and RE003's don't quite match the dry grip of these supposedly.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Ford Focus ST225 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 200 spirited miles
Genuinely shocked with these tyres! Fitted to my focus st225 on all corners, heard a few stories of them being rubbish but I went ahead and tried them anyway and I’m glad I did. They can be a bit sketchy until they’ve got some heat in them but once they’re warm they’re like glue! My car used to spin all way into 4th before but with these tyres, once they’re warm it just grips. So far I’ve drove them in dry and damp/slightly wet conditions and they’ve been brilliant. Not too much road noise, they’ve made my car feel more “connected” to the road and more confident in corners. Hard for me to comment on wear as I’ve not had them on long but once they’re due for replacing I’ll be using them again
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2021
Given 77% while driving a Lotus Elan M100 (205/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Toyo TR1's with these, the 205's are actually 215 wide. They look good too. Much stiffer sidewall giving better turn in and much more direct steering. They don't roll over onto the sidewall either, so the tread stays in contact with the road with no squealing. Dry handling on road or track is excellent with solid feel, good turn in and they hold on well when loaded. Straight line and corner braking performance is very good, solid and confidence inspiring. They will progressively understeer at the limit under power, but that's 200hp in a fwd car. If they do lose traction, they recover easily. Surprisingly good on wet road and track, but they won't cope with much standing water. They're probably quite high rolling resistance, being a sport oriented tyre. Low noise levels as long as you don't drive along the cats eyes. Relatively hard ride due to the firm sidewalls. They appear to be wearing ok. I don't expect too much due to the occasional track day. They are a relatively inexpensive road/track tyre. Excellent for the price and I'd buy again for the Lotus, but not for my daily.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz 320CDi (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
The tyres look great I have them on my cls Mercedes, I have no issues with handling in dry or wet, the reason I would be reluctant to buy these tyres again is the road noise, I’ve replaced front and rear bearings because I thought they had gone. Turns out it’s the tyres. I have to play radio really loud to drone out the noise while driving and braking
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on August 30, 2021
Given 66% while driving a Dodge Neon 2.0 (/45 R17) on track for 0 spirited miles
1998 Dodge Neon: Race day 2019 Road Atlanta. Temps. 328F and Snowing. Okay from the heading you should see that there is snow on the track. SNOW ON THE TRACK !!! I am writing this to some of those dim-whits that think than when some here say or that the company promotes that these are good in the wet, chances are that they MIGHT be pretty good in the wet ! Should you check your speed...YES. Its a Extreme summer performance tire ! Meaning its got compounds for the dry, with some elements and silcia mixed in to stick in the wet. How many here have performed actual racing on tires ? All just track day guys? When you're racing amongst race cars, all on different types of tires, some prepared for the wet, others not so prepared. The difference is a tire enstilling confidence for the driver that the car will stick in the corners and brake zones is what sets a tire apart from others. On these Nankang's we were running circles around the competition ! A dry track turned wet. I was in the Neon, when that wet started showing up, i turned on the heat and went for it abd pushed hard. Collected 15 positions in my drive time in a 2 day endurance race. It started snowing during my stint as well as into the other drivers on my team. Was the car slippery ? Yes..Yes it was. But what i was able to do is to predict that over steer, grab it, and get back on gas stronger than the competition. Alot of you guys here would say that this is a terrible rain tire due to your pure impression that you should be able to hold the same speeds as in the dry. Very few wet tires can actually do that. But you cant tell if youre doing any better or not than the competiton. John here in Tyre Review does a great job of determining wet tire characterisitics. Some of these reviewers however just puke their guts to say that this tire or that tire is just terrible or that they wrecked their car. Its hard to read some of these inputs and then put my reviews of the tire on here to share with others and thisnk, am I wrong or are they !?!? My impression. I like these tires. Are there better ones? Sure. I really really like the Conti Extreme Contact. Raced those at Road Atlanta as well in 2018. Cooooollld, Rainy. The 1989 Ford Mustang was running circles around the competiton. No Stock Mustang is supposed to do that in the wet BTW. We came prepared with these tires. TOOOOONS of cornering grip with the Contis. Did they slip ? SUUURE! But i was also going waaaay faster than the other cars. With that said, the Nankangs are a good cheap tire to try. Good dry, good wet, Good, cheap tire to try. Will review Khumo Ecsta V730 in 1989 Mustang coming shortly. Sorry for the rant Chaps (My Brits Friends).
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2021
Given 70% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I have these fitted to my 240 bhp Mk7 Fiesta ST, driven mainly on the road but with occasional track days. Had these tires fitted approx 1500-2000km ago, and so far I only have good things to say about them. They grip well in dry, better than other street tires that cost twice the price. Wet grip is pretty poor, but thats kinda what you expect from a semi slick. The tires can be a bit slippy under power when they're cold, but they're pretty easy to get up to temp and when they get up to temp they stick very well. Tire noise is pretty bad, but can be pretty easily drowned out with music. The NS2R's feel very predictable on their limit, and are easy to read. For reference I was running the harder 180tw version of the tire.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2021
Given 41% while driving a Mazda Mx5 2008 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
When you read online feedback (for anything, not just tyres) people tend to do it very early on, you do wonder how the product faired long term. Tyre was a 225/45/17 on a Mk3 MX5 so not a very heavy car. We never ran these in very hot conditions, both times about 15'c ambient. My experience of these is on the first time out on track they were fine, they take a couple of laps to warm up and the rear could step out until they were up to temp, but after that were ok. Second time out on track on a different date they were pretty useless. Just very little grip no matter how long we ran them. The suspension setup was the same, but we were softening the damping all day to try and find some grip. They're also very noisy on the road, not only normal tyre roar from having a lot of rubber and less groove, but also they make a throbbing noise like a bearing or the diff was on the way out. They are at least half the cost of any other track tyre out there and it shows, I won't be using them again.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2021