Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer extreme performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74%
Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec (6) 92% 83% 88% 88% 77% 82%
Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 (3) 100% 45% 100% 100% 60% 97%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (8) 90% 76% 92% 85% 85% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 (12) 93% 82% 88% 89% 67% 77%
Toyo R1R (30) 95% 81% 91% 90% 60% 70%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (18) 87% 73% 85% 89% 86% 63%
Bridgestone RE11A (4) 90% 85% 83% 88% 70% 80%
Maxxis Victra VR1 (3) 87% 80% 73% 80% 77% 80%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (13) 98% 80% 85% 93% 53% 40%
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36 (10) 91% 74% 84% 84% 74% 62%
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 (13) 91% 61% 82% 80% 74% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza RE01R (4) 90% 83% 80% 80% 73% 60%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070r (4) 95% 68% 88% 90% 65% 48%
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (18) 88% 64% 81% 87% 69% 65%
Kumho Ecsta V730 (4) 93% 53% 80% 85% 70% 65%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (9) 87% 76% 82% 82% 65% 63%
Nankang NS2R (58) 89% 66% 82% 84% 72% 56%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (17) 82% 74% 75% 68% 67% 73%
Nexen N Fera SUR4G (5) 94% 84% 60% 83% 46% 48%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (11) 93% 54% 83% 94% 50% 45%
Nexen N Fera SUR4 (6) 93% 44% 87% 88% 52% 52%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (40) 83% 73% 76% 75% 56% 72%
Pirelli P Zero Corsa Asimmetrico 2 (3) 100% 40% 93% 97% 27% 77%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (70) 86% 67% 76% 72% 66% 68%
Continental ContiForceContact (3) 87% 73% 70% 80% 50% 57%
Pirelli P Zero Corsa (6) 88% 55% 83% 83% 50% 60%
Nitto NT05 (8) 84% 63% 83% 84% 59% 43%
Pirelli PZero Corsa System (11) 81% 57% 78% 76% 48% 56%
Dunlop SP Sport 600 DSST (10) 91% 63% 73% 79% 60% 32%

Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres with no reviews

BFGoodrich G Force Rival S, BFGoodrich G Force Rival S 1.5, BFGoodrich gForce Rival, Bridgestone Potenza RE070R RFT, Cooper RS3 RS, Dunlop Direzza ZIII, Giti GitiSport GTR3, Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222, Nitto NT555R, Nitto NT555RII, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Asimmetrico, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Direzionale, Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R Plus, Yokohama A022

Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Nexen N Fera SUR4G rated 65% while driving a Subaru 2006 impreza wrx STI
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
Used 3 sets of these over 6 events on a small track. Grip is insane but so is tyre wear. Cheaper than the RS4 in my country by almost 20%
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-26 09:55:34
Kumho Ecsta PS91 rated 60% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
After 12 months and 15,000 miles of aggressive use on my RWD 2 ton saloon, I've come the the conclusion that:

Due to hard sidewalls and compound it is quite firm, you will feel the ruts in the road.

Dry use is fine, sticks to the road very well - especially when warmed up - no major complaints in dry weather (which isn't very often in the UK).

Wet/greasy use is different story, on the rear wheels of my 300+bhp diesel barge it is quite skittish. Accelerating off roundabouts - even at a normal pace - you feel little-to-no reassurance that the back-end won't try to kick itself out.

Take the above information as you will, but I won't be buying these tyres again for a daily runner.
However, I definitely would do if it was for a track car only used in summer.
tyre reviewed on 2024-03-01 13:05:27
Kumho Ecsta V730 rated 73% while driving a
Driving on track for 200 spirited miles
test on sunny afternoon at Sepang Circuit, track surface temperature over 40 °C. Dry grip is very good; the tire was progressive during the limit and can endure 3–4 hot laps before starting to lose grip due to overheating. Wear is just okay. Tires pricing are quite good, at least 30–40% cheaper than the competitors like the AD09 or RS4 or Z3. Loud tire rolling noise on rough road surfaces. I have no idea about its wet grip, never drive it in the rain. But from what I saw on the tire tread, it focused on dry only, not wet, damp maybe ok.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-29 02:52:36
Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 rated 83% while driving a Audi A5
Driving on mostly town for 122 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-21 06:58:35
Nankang NS2R rated 77% while driving a Toyota Supra
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
315/30R18 (200tw) on the rear and 265/35R18 (180tw) on the front. 600 WHP Toyota Supra. I was pleasantly surprised with these tyres. I wasn't expecting much given the price tag but they have performed better than expected. Started them at 40psi all around but have since dropped to 35psi on the front and 32 psi on the rear, this seems to be their happy spot for my car (1550kg) on good roads. I initially just got them to make sure I could fit a 315 on the rear (rims are 18x11) but I did also want to see if they were going to be a viable tyre that I could thrash on. They take abuse very well and are lasting way better than expected. Downsides are the road noise and comfort which is to be expected. The straight line grip is NOT as good as I hoped for given the massive 315 in the rear, but lateral grip is good. When they do lose traction I found it to be quite predictable and very user friendly. These would suit an endurance event, drifting or even daily driving as long as you don't mind the high noise levels at highway speeds. I have not used them in the cold as I live in a very warm climate in Australia. The guys from Apex use them a lot on the Nürburgring for their cars, if it's good enough for them then I would say they are decent tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2024-01-14 00:01:44
Kumho Ecsta V730 rated 83% while driving a
Driving on for 0 miles
First time buying these couple of years ago and match with Ultralegerra wheels 18x9 +35 offset it was perfect not too out bit to In sits perfectly on the fenders front and back , now forward to 2022 brand new Lexus GS I have brought another set with a new wheels 18x9 Enkie cause the Advan is out of stock so I can’t wait any longer ,I did purchase then Enkie PF01 18x9 all around , it sits perfectly without any tire lips sticking out now ,I do have Bridgestone WS 60 sits a bit stretch but well everyone likes it , I even had a guy ask me how it’s done , I said simple 18x9 with 245/40/18 Bridgestone snow tire , looks sexy, I can say , so Kumho V730 can go up to 165 mph if you have enough power yes this is the tire , track days or daily , the more the tires heats up the more grippy , just be careful doing 80 mph on wet corner roads it might not be the same outcome , but dry yes it can do 100- on corners like you’re on rail , AAA I personally Recommend this than other pricey brand first , Thank you for you’re time,
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-23 06:06:27
Toyo R1R rated 74% while driving a Lotus
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
Bought these as a ‘wet’ set of track tyres, to use in colder and damp conditions when my Avon ZZR’s looked too slick. I’ve now made my car road legal and have been using them almost all the time - I’m very pleasantly surprised by the road and track performance.

They give good steering feedback and the sidewalls have a nice feel to them - they’re predictable and there’s nothing weird going on when cornering hard. I have a lot of confidence in them, even when there’s damp patches on the road. They don’t seem to take much warming up - the grip seems to be there from cold.

Downsides - on track they’ll overheat after 5 laps or so. They seem to peak in performance about 3 laps in, whereas in dry conditions my ZZR’s feel like they can carry on as long as I like. But you’d never push them this hard on a road, so it won’t be a problem for many.

I’d describe these as a good ‘fast road’ summer tyre, capable of dealing with light rain and damp conditions too. But be aware of the overheating if you go on track and push them in warm conditions. That’s not a criticism at all; all tyres are a compromise and these are just quite soft, which makes them decent in the cold and wet but also not perfect for long summer trackdays.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-22 00:40:22
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT rated 37% while driving a Audi TT S
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 average miles
These tyres were fitted to my Audi TTS Roadster . I purchased the car 2nd hand in Feb 2023 and these were the tyres fitted. I found the ride very harsh and would get a pronounced shimmy . Turn in felt very slow. I checked the manufacture date on the tyres and found they were from early 2018. They were very dry and cracked on the shoulders, they felt almost brittle . I just didnt have any confidence in them. During heavy braking ABS seemed to cut in earlier than i would have thought they should.
I have replaced all 4 tyres now with Goodyear eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 and the difference is night and day
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-13 22:46:29
Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 rated 84% while driving a Honda Civic FK7 Sport
Driving on mostly motorways for 18000 spirited miles
Started using a set of this Yokohama Advan APEX since late last year.
Dry Grip and the handling feedback is just great and sticky! Taking out of the corner is easy, gripped and gives you so much confidence. I like the road feedback, superb on dry surface (at a speed of 165 km/h) and also good on a wet surface (at a speed 120 km/h). Sometimes a bit struggle with traction (slightly on a higher-side of speed) but manageable. Basically the wet grip is just better than other normal UHP tires but a bit lower than those Michelin PS4 / Continental CSC7.
On a comfort side, I guess due to a stiff sidewall, it makes the road feedback better but like me, I prefer feedback over comfort.
Tire wear, I've been running close to 30,000KM on my Honda Civic FK7 Sport and the tread left approximately 35% left.
Overall, I love this tires, a bit cheaper than a set of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (which is the set that I am using before I change it to this Advan APEX) and also I would buy again. Love the grip and also love the sidewall design too ;-)
tyre reviewed on 2023-10-12 08:24:34
Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 rated 77% while driving a Audi S4
Driving on a combination of roads for 900 miles
Bought these for a B8 Audi S4 Avant (mildly tuned, ECU; 404PS) as a replacement for the no-longer-in-stock Goodyear Eagle F1 Sport, and they've been a pleasant surprise.

They're not the quietest (Michelin, Pirelli and Dunlop UHPs have better NVH) but easily superior to Toyo Proxes, Nankangs and GT Radials for highway rides. They are comfy, however; and predictable. Wear could be a concern for the spirited driver.

Precise feedback (for an audi), excellent grip and a completely predictable performance profile. Just great for hot hatches and sub 400bhp cars. Reason being they're a bit too lively in slick and wet conditions due to it's racy design.

Still, one of the better tyres in it's price range
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-30 17:47:54
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT rated 85% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
This is an initial impressions review of the Sport Maxx GT on my Golf GTI so unable to comment on wear. Will focus mainly on performance and feel during warm weather driving.

Dry grip is very good. No complaints whatsover. Slightly better than the Falken FK510, another popular UHP summer tyre. The tyres turn well without much understeer and the car darts into corners. Feedback is perhaps not the best but the tyres are predictable and placing the car is easy.

Wet grip is very good as well. Drove on these tyres through a tropical storm and they felt planted and never hydroplaned even with puddles all over the roads. Of course, this is dependent on driving sensibly. Drive like a hooligan in the rain and you’ll crash regardless of whatever tyres you fit.

Comfort and noise level is decent. The tyre isn’t harsh over bumps and noise level is acceptable by UHP standards. If this is your priority, get touring tyres instead!

Overall, very good first impressions when fitted on a FWD hot hatch. Price wise, it undercuts all the big brands by quite some margin. Does everything reasonably well, at least in warm climates.
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-07 15:16:44
Kumho Ecsta V720 rated 81% while driving a Lotus Elise
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2023-09-05 11:14:29
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre