Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer extreme performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (6) 92% 78% 92% 86% 86% 86%
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74%
Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec (6) 92% 83% 88% 88% 77% 82%
Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 (3) 100% 45% 100% 100% 60% 97%
Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601 (4) 93% 80% 93% 93% 63% 87%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Toyo R1R (29) 95% 81% 92% 90% 60% 71%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (17) 88% 75% 86% 89% 85% 63%
Bridgestone RE11A (4) 90% 85% 83% 88% 70% 80%
Maxxis Victra VR1 (3) 87% 80% 73% 80% 77% 80%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (13) 98% 80% 85% 93% 53% 40%
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36 (10) 91% 74% 84% 84% 74% 62%
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 (13) 91% 61% 82% 80% 74% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza RE01R (4) 90% 83% 80% 80% 73% 60%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070r (4) 95% 68% 88% 90% 65% 48%
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (17) 88% 63% 82% 88% 69% 65%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (9) 87% 76% 82% 82% 65% 63%
Nankang NS2R (54) 89% 66% 83% 85% 72% 56%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (42) 87% 72% 78% 80% 70% 63%
Nexen N Fera SUR4G (4) 93% 88% 58% 83% 53% 47%
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (16) 81% 74% 75% 66% 67% 74%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (38) 84% 75% 77% 76% 58% 73%
Nexen N Fera SUR4 (6) 93% 44% 87% 88% 52% 52%
Pirelli P Zero Corsa Asimmetrico 2 (3) 100% 40% 93% 97% 27% 77%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (9) 93% 53% 85% 93% 47% 43%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (68) 86% 66% 76% 72% 67% 68%
Continental ContiForceContact (3) 87% 73% 70% 80% 50% 57%
Pirelli P Zero Corsa (6) 88% 55% 83% 83% 50% 60%
Nitto NT05 (8) 84% 63% 83% 84% 59% 43%
Pirelli PZero Corsa System (11) 81% 57% 78% 76% 48% 56%
Dunlop SP Sport 600 DSST (10) 91% 63% 73% 79% 60% 32%

Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres with no reviews

BFGoodrich G Force Rival S, BFGoodrich G Force Rival S 1.5, BFGoodrich gForce Rival, Bridgestone Potenza RE070R RFT, Cooper RS3 RS, Dunlop Direzza ZIII, Giti GitiSport GTR3, Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222, Kumho Ecsta V730, Nitto NT555R, Nitto NT555RII, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Asimmetrico, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Direzionale, Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R Plus, Yokohama A022

Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT rated 86% while driving a BMW 640 d gran coupe
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 average miles
I bought my bmw 640d GC with 34,985 miles on it and thrt had 7mm all round. As of todays review 10.01.23 the car is on 50,800 miles and thr tyres are down to 5mm all round. Now thats 1mm of wear per 7,500 miles which is excellent. They are runflat and the wear rate is amazing. I will probably get 20,000 miles and more out of these and so far thet are excellent.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-10 16:00:04
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT rated 46% while driving a Jaguar XJ (X351) SWB 3.0d
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Had these as OE fit on a Jaguar XJ, and while they were fine in the dry the car was like Bambi on ice in the wet, huge slides available at will which is fun but not really safe. Threw them in the bin with most of the life left in them. I can see why the supercharged Jaguars have a reputation for randomly spinning out in the rain with these as OE fit.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-02 23:53:21
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 rated 74% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD
Driving on a combination of roads for 12500 average miles
These are really good price/performance wise. Grip on both dry and wet is pretty decent for a budget UHP, while being VERY comfortable for the category and price. They are really quiet and the ride is comparable to a decent touring tire while being more grippy as stated. Sidewall and thread look really nice. The downside is they wear pretty fast, at least in my application. 12.500 miles in they seem to be past the half of their threadlife, wich is weird since they are rated 460 Threadwear, wich is pretty high for a UHP Summer, think they might have another 10k miles in them. Can't really be mad about it since they are less than half the price of more "premium" tires like the PS5 while still being a brand name. If you can get a deal on them factoring their shorter life I would recommend them.
tyre reviewed on 2023-01-02 23:17:52
Kumho Ecsta V720 rated 59% while driving a
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Just a grippy set of tyre,recommended to me by a friend, was sceptical about it due to the price of it but WOW, it just keeps on giving. Would buy again but it wear alittle too fast, and the road noise is high,if you don’t enjoy road noise then definitely not the tyre for you. I would say try it once, no regrets
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-30 13:21:36
Nankang NS2R rated 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla AE101
Driving on mostly town for 10000 spirited miles
Replaced my worn out yoko type s with these and they perform very well, I have a converted Corolla ae101 chassis with 3sgte engine installed 260hp stock. Braking is really good too and cornering on these gives me huge amounts of grip at high speed cornering, without an inch of slip, have my car on coilovers but still these are the best tires I have installed on it yet, very happy with them and was not too pricy either
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-17 16:14:56
Hankook Ventus RS4 rated 94% while driving a Acura Integra Type R
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
I’m my use of these tyres, they are extremely grippy, handle amazingly, are a little noisy but nothing loud per say. I have put then through copious testing and can say they are the perfect tyre for FWD light cars (as my Honda Integra Type R only weighs 1006kg)
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-10 04:16:49
Nexen N Fera SUR4G rated 79% while driving a Subaru 2011 Impreza WRX STI
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
Very good Tyre Try before 220km on raining day I only use this Tyre on my car
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-06 13:21:27
Hankook Ventus RS4 rated 71% while driving a Honda S2000
Driving on mostly town for 20000 spirited miles
Rs4 gives amazing grip but only in the most ideal conditions. Getting temp into these tyres is quite difficult, but once warmed up they grip very well. The grip is predictable but certainly not the best. Works very well in sunny weather. Cooler weather or rain makes it more difficult. Speaking of rain, this is not an all season kind of tyre so can't expect the best traction from this set. The sidewall is stiff and gives great response and feedback, but high road noise as an unfortunate compromise. The stiffness does compound if you run a higher spring rate or high dampening but can be OK as an all season however not recommended. Wear on the tyre is very good, long lasting with this harder compound. Don't expect comfort but this is a good track or weekend mountain carving tyre.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-11 08:18:16
Kumho Ecsta PS91 rated 23% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 miles
Put them on my Golf R after reading some good reviews. The tread depth seemed a little shallow so i checked it with a digital depth guage. 5.66mm on the inside grove for a brand new tyre this is a rip off. Checked with Kuhmo and they said the new tread depth should be 7.1mm. returned them and swaped them for Dunlop. Kuhmo what a rip off. I will never trust them again and encourage others to check their new tread depth before putting them on the car.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-12 02:01:45
Nankang NS2R rated 74% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
There will be better tyres out there without doubt. But as a track-orientated road tyre at a reasonable price these are great and I would definitely buy them again.

The dry grip and handling is good, although the difference from more traditional road-orientated tread patterned tyres wasn't as much as I expected. For example, comparing them to the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, if I'm fairly near the limit on the F1A3 with plenty of tyre squeal, on the NS2R I can match lap times with little or no squeal - it's still toward the upper end of their limits but with just a bit more margin.

The wet performance is surprisingly good in my experience (although i have read some negative comments from other people about this). I did a track day at the Nordschleife in the wet. Grip and handling was nice and predictable (although I don't think I took them near near the limits as I do in the dry, due to lack of experience in the wet and fear of putting my car in a wall or barrier!). Aquaplaning didn't seem to be an issue at all, even at 120mph in a straight line in very wet conditions!

Tyre wear is very good indeed, considering the use (mostly track driving and often fairly near the limits of grip). At least, it is when run at appropriate pressures and staying off the more vicious kerbs!

In the dry the NS2R is noisy in the cabin, which doesn't matter if its primarily a track tyre but might be more of a concern to some people for road use. It is also difficult to balance on the wheel, which may be due to poorer quality control than more premium tyre brands, leading to uneven weight distribution? To help with that, make sure the yellow dot on the side wall is aligned with the valve.

I'm planning to try the AR1 next, for dry conditions, with the F1A3 as wet backup. But if you're in the market for a decent track-oriented all-rounder at a reasonable price, I think the NS2R is worth considering.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-02 12:39:55
Kumho Ecsta PS91 rated 71% while driving a Porsche Cayman
Driving on mostly country roads for 3700 spirited miles
Used them on my Cayman from new to legal thread thickness. Definitely NOT a UHP tyre from a grip perspective, as you can easily overheat it on a normal twisty mountain road. When warmed-up the grip is almost ok, steering feeling is also good, but when pushing after a while you loose confidence, feeling and grip. Tested once on track and it is absolutely the wrong tyre, as soon becoming unpredictable (spinning at same speed, same corner at second lap). You can buy it for a normal everiday usage of the car, if in you size this is the Kumho offer, as this is a very cheap tyre. Avoid it for sporty road or track usage.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-25 11:03:00
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 rated 74% while driving a Toyota 2022 GR86
Driving on track for 7500 average miles
I bought these as novice track tires, I have done 3 track days with them. I have also been using them for daily driving and a couple road trips this summer. Overall I cannot recommend these enough to other people who are also new to track driving. They aren't really fast tires and don't have the most grip, but they do an amazing job communicating to you exactly when the car is going to break loose. They squeal really loudly when you're driving at the limit of your grip and have nice wide slip angles. They are also pretty durable, I can definitely get several more track days out of them. As far as daily driving goes, they're totally fine. They aren't wearing fast, especially when compared to grippier track tires, and the comfort is also fine. They're perfectly safe to drive in the rain as long as you're driving like a normal person.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-23 01:24:30
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre