Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer extreme performance tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R (5) 93% 77% 95% 88% 85% 88%
Bridgestone Potenza RE11 (9) 98% 83% 90% 89% 77% 74%
Dunlop Direzza Sport Z1 Star Spec (6) 92% 83% 88% 88% 77% 82%
Bridgestone Battlax Racing Street RS10 (3) 100% 45% 100% 100% 60% 97%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070 (16) 96% 71% 94% 89% 79% 66%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Toyo R1R (28) 95% 81% 92% 90% 59% 70%
Bridgestone RE11A (4) 90% 85% 83% 88% 70% 80%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (14) 87% 75% 85% 89% 83% 63%
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (13) 91% 62% 82% 88% 73% 70%
Maxxis Victra VR1 (3) 87% 80% 73% 80% 77% 80%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (11) 98% 79% 82% 91% 54% 43%
Kumho Ecsta XS KU36 (10) 91% 74% 84% 84% 74% 62%
Hankook Ventus RS2 Z212 (13) 91% 61% 82% 80% 74% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza RE070r (4) 95% 68% 88% 90% 65% 48%
Bridgestone Potenza RE01R (4) 90% 83% 80% 80% 73% 60%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD07 (8) 88% 76% 83% 84% 64% 63%
Nankang NS2R (50) 89% 67% 83% 84% 72% 55%
Bridgestone Potenza RE001 (41) 87% 72% 77% 80% 71% 64%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (36) 86% 77% 79% 77% 59% 74%
Kumho Ecsta V720 (6) 95% 55% 88% 95% 50% 50%
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 (14) 80% 73% 75% 64% 69% 73%
Nexen N Fera SUR4 (6) 93% 44% 87% 88% 52% 52%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx GT (62) 86% 67% 76% 72% 68% 68%
Continental ContiForceContact (3) 87% 73% 70% 80% 50% 57%
Nitto NT05 (7) 87% 63% 81% 83% 57% 39%
Pirelli PZero Corsa System (11) 81% 57% 78% 76% 48% 56%
Dunlop SP Sport 600 DSST (9) 93% 62% 72% 80% 56% 29%
Pirelli P Zero Corsa (3) 80% 60% 73% 80% 37% 63%

Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres with no reviews

BFGoodrich G Force Rival S, BFGoodrich G Force Rival S 1.5, BFGoodrich gForce Rival, Bridgestone Potenza RE070R RFT, Cooper RS3 RS, Dunlop Direzza ZIII, Giti GitiSport GTR3, Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222, Kumho Ecsta V730, Nexen N Fera SUR4G, Nitto NT555R, Nitto NT555RII, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Asimmetrico, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Asimmetrico 2, Pirelli P Zero Corsa Direzionale, Vredestein Ultrac Vorti R Plus, Yokohama A022, Yokohama ADVAN APEX V601

Passenger Car Summer Extreme Performance Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Hankook Ventus RS4 rated 77% while driving a Mazda MX5
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Good bang for the buck. Not the best peak grip but all-around reliable on track. Takes a while to heat up for autocross. Steering isnt as crisp as Super 200's or 100TW track tires.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-13 16:24:21
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R rated 91% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-13 06:49:42
Maxxis Victra VR1 rated 73% while driving a BMW Z3
Driving on track for 150 spirited miles
I bought these tires as old stock manufactured 4-5 years ago. Available from Maxxis direct for just $59.95 per tire. That's less than half the price of most 200TW tires. Are they any good? Despite being 4-5 years old, they compare favorably to 200TW tires of that era. I have lap times in equivalent cars that show the performance is about the same as an NT05, RE11A, RT615K, etc. No, they aren't nearly as fast as the new autocross-focused tires. However, they are a good budget 200TW endurance tire. On track, I like a loud tire for audible feedback. These are sort of quiet even when pushed hard. That's the only downside. I haven't tried them in the rain.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 22:47:12
Hankook Ventus RS4 rated 77% while driving a Toyota 86 GT
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Lasted about 7 track days, plus about 7k daily miles
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 20:57:50
Dunlop Direzza ZIII rated 76% while driving a Subaru BRZ
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
An excellent 200tw alternative if you want a good do-everything tire. The tire won't win competitions without compromising wear, but if you have seasons in your region, the Dunlop handles consistently well in the wet and high grip in the dry with a linear fall-off of grip in high speed cornering. You'll have consistent times until the start to grease up and then you just do a cool-down lap or two and you're ready for another attempt at your PB. It's not a good AutoX tire (unless you're in some place consistently hot like California or Mediterranean because it takes too long to heat up, get to temperature. Its a fun, inexpensive (relatively) tire for learning on that will get you ready for a faster tire like the Falken RT660 or Yokohama AO52 or Nankang AR1. Wear isn't bad either if you have a good alignment and flip/rotate tires regularly.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 16:22:57
Hankook Ventus RS4 rated 79% while driving a Subaru BRZ
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
When I ran the Hankook RS4's, they were an expensive compromise tire for summer and HPDE events. You sacrifice some cost for excellent (but not the best grip) and the best wear in the class. I swapped to set of wheels/tires with RE71R's for Competitive AutoX. I wanted track tires that can last 2 seasons of HPDE or around 7 trackdays a season to save money while I learn and hone my skills. For Lucky Dog endurance racing in the States, this is the tire used because they wear like iron. I got 3 seasons of HPDE, and summer driving on them until they aged out and I gave them to a friend who still uses them on his ****box E36 318i. Because of how long they heat up, they are not the tire for AutoX unless it's a long course that is more than a minute and a half. When I took it out, even on a 80 degree day, it took 3 session to get to temp, and was sliding around until then. It takes 2 laps to get them to temp on a circuit. The grip is 80% of what RE71R's can be so you won't be getting the max potential out that you car without a faster (more wearing) tire, but they last once their heated up. You can turn lap after lap consistently, with little greasing which can be rectified with a cool down lap. They like heat and high pressures (compared to Falked RT660/ discontinued RE71R). Also a smaller width tire is better than a wider one if you want to enjoys nice progressive slip and lateral grip going in and out of corners. As with any 200tw tire, noise and comfort are tertiary. But they are a fun tire to drive on when you know its going to be dry and you want to canyon carve at 10/10ths. I would avoid rain at all costs in this car. On the track they are okay, but on the street if you run into any body of water you're going sideways. Compared to 200tw tires from Falken, Dunlop, and Yokohama, RS4 tires are the worst in the rain.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 14:51:55
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R rated 71% while driving a Subaru BRZ
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Its a shame these are discontinued but the Bridgestone's were the Autocross tire for several years because of their fast heat up and grip. They were replaced in 2020 by the Yokohama A052 and the cheaper Falken RT660 which did everything short of copyright infringement when competing against the RE71R. The tire is a 200TW slick, very sticky and great for autocross or hitting PB's on a circuit. For a tire of this type, noise and comfort are tertiary to the grip. Driving to and from track on these tires is not recommended because of it, but also excess wear, heat cycling risk, and picking up rocks and tossing them along side the car because these are sticky. Like any 200tw tire, they are nail and screw magnets. Compared to similar tires, you'll be 2-3 seconds faster than a similar size tire from Hankook (RS4), Dunlop (Z3), or Falken (615) which all wear better, perform better in the wet (except for RS4), but lack that fast heat and grip.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 14:36:50
Kumho Ecsta PS91 rated 53% while driving a BMW 320D
Driving on mostly motorways for 7000 easy going miles
Fitted this Kumho Ecsta ps91 on rear axle of my 2010 e90 2.0D Fitted in end of April 2021, taken off in start of October 2021, driven 12 000Km, and they are spent to the end, bald.... Wear is absolute disaster....
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-06 07:46:06
GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 rated 72% while driving a Mazda Mazda Miata
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
These are my first 200tw tires, and they're eye opening. On the street, these things are nuts. If you're sliding these on the street, you're driving way too fast. They just seem to grip. I've also run these in a few autocross events. I think they could use more grip here, as always. I think they're a little off of "real" 200tw tires, but I also don't have any experience driving with them so not 100% sure. In the wet, the champiros are pretty good so long as they stay in contact with the ground. With other all seasons and mild summer tires in light rain I could easily break traction in aggressive street driving. The Champiros don't have this issue at all. Full throttle in first and second is rock solid. However, they do seem to hydroplane easier. So watch out for standing water. I haven't driven in a wet autocross or track day so I cannot rate that aspect. Wear seems fine so far. I've put a couple thousand miles and ~5 autocross events and they seem to take it well. I payed $80 a tire (pre tax and install), so for the price I'm very happy. I do want to try other tires in this 200tw category so I probably won't personally buy these again. But if you're looking for the next level up from street tires or a cheap way to get into the street autocross classes, go for it.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-02 02:23:11
Pirelli P Zero Corsa rated 69% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia QF
Driving on mostly country roads for 9000 spirited miles
Got 9000mls out of rear on Guilia QF. Fantastic dry grip and v predictable. Scary in wet on water logged roads.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-30 15:54:29
Dunlop Direzza DZ102 rated 42% while driving a Volkswagen polo 1.4cc 16V
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
I had previously dunlop LM704 195/45/16. Was highly disappointed with dunlop, was planning to get michelin ps4. It would lose grip on normal cruising in the rain, my little 1.6 16v would let the tyres even scrabble in 3rd gear if I had launch the car. Upgrade to 17inch wheels with dizerra dz102 the comfort levels much better, the grip is unreal, I could not break them loose, not even in the rain. They handle quite well. For the price Its a no brainer. Its quieter than falken ecorun 914s on rougher roads. I will buy them again! Even cornering at speeds on wet roads, its the same speeds I do on dry roads and I still cannot believe the way they grip.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-13 08:52:36
Nankang NS2R rated 77% while driving a Lotus Elan M100
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Replaced a set of Toyo TR1's with these, the 205's are actually 215 wide. They look good too. Much stiffer sidewall giving better turn in and much more direct steering. They don't roll over onto the sidewall either, so the tread stays in contact with the road with no squealing. Dry handling on road or track is excellent with solid feel, good turn in and they hold on well when loaded. Straight line and corner braking performance is very good, solid and confidence inspiring. They will progressively understeer at the limit under power, but that's 200hp in a fwd car. If they do lose traction, they recover easily. Surprisingly good on wet road and track, but they won't cope with much standing water. They're probably quite high rolling resistance, being a sport oriented tyre. Low noise levels as long as you don't drive along the cats eyes. Relatively hard ride due to the firm sidewalls. They appear to be wearing ok. I don't expect too much due to the occasional track day. They are a relatively inexpensive road/track tyre. Excellent for the price and I'd buy again for the Lotus, but not for my daily.
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-12 19:20:32
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre