GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2

Dry Grip 91%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 90%
Wear 74%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 93%

The GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Car

Show All

Tyre review data from 11 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 92,710 miles driven.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (190/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 8,500 spirited miles
Loving using this tyres.. Using as daily cars in weekdays, and using it for a drag race car in weekend,, always gives the best performance.. In dry condition the grip is amazing.. Make you feel brave for a late braking near the chicane of circuit..
118 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2014   
Given 83% while driving a Datsun 180B (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
more quiet and stable than the yokohama advans I changed from...
35 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (245/40 R18 W) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
This is my 2nd daily set already. Ran these on a race-prepped Honda Integra DC2, and a Honda Civic EG for an 8 and 6 hour endurance race respectively. We ran the race flat out and still have 60-70% tread left.

Also have a set on my Mazda 3 as my daily which i regularly track as well.

Running on 245/40/18
Good:
- RE11 levels of grip
- cheap
- good feedback at the limit
- hard sidewall
- CRAZY CHEAP

Bad
- Noisy on the highway
- average performance on the wet
- aquaplanes easily
26 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2017   
Have you driven on the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 >

Latest GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 1,000 spirited miles
Running in an Evo3 with 400whp. Dry grip is the party piece for this tire. Definitely still a road tire that can go on track. The dry grip is high. Easily measuring up to Advans, Toyo's or Michelins Pilot Sports. All of which I've had. It will need heat to achieve full grip. On the road, you need to be aware of this. Cold, the brake distances are much longer. But once up to temp, they do stop quite well. Wet handling is not as bad as others might make it to be. But it will aquaplane and you need to be alert. This is not too surprising as the pattern design looks more sport tire than road tire. The blocks are quite big and the grooves are not very deep. These are the same reason it handles well, grips well, good in transitions, the side-walls are stiff. Wear is a let down though. I noticed spirited driving will wear it down quicker than the Advans, Michelins. But for the price--it is a good choice.
4 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2020   
Given 86% while driving a Honda Jazz (195/50 R15) on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
so much better than achilles 123s, i was using 123s and this tyres are so much less noisy and much comfortable than 123s for daily driven car.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 20, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 1.4 TSI 160 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
They've got an impressive grip on dry tarmac with quite a good feedback through the steering wheel. You can tell what the tyres are doing, whether understeering or oversteering. They're cheap compare to similar tyres from Michelin PS4 or Bridgestone Potenza S007. The wet weather performance isn't that great, but when they do aquaplane, the tyres will give you plenty of warning and quite controllable. However, if you use these tyres in tarmac with a lot of dust or gravel, they will be very slippery. Golf with only around 200hp was lighting up its traction control because the tyres couldn't get much grip. If you use these on the track, you need to give them some temperature as they're slippery when cold, but when the temp had come up to their operating window, they're quite sticky. Track use, they will last longer than PS4, more durable. Road use, they will have uneven wear and the middle part of the groves cave in (probably because of pressure or maybe the tyres couldn't get enough temp into it) and they will start cracking after 3 years. Don't expect much from comfort because they have stiff sidewall and you could lean on the grip of the tyre when the condition is right.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 19, 2020   
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 106 s16 (195/50 R15 W) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Used them in my daily 106 s16, from everyday use to spirited country road driving they perform very well considering their track oriented character! Wet handling was unexpectedly good, something that was bothering me when i mounted them. Of course hydroplaning is not their best and attention is needed especially with lightweight vehicles.
Their downside is that they wont last long like a normal tire, in everyday use but thats not enough for not buying them again!
4 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2019   
Given 86% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 10 average miles
Comparable to the rest tyres in their price,are the best by far!
15 - tyre reviewed on November 26, 2017   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda 3 2014 (245/40 R18 W) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
This is my 2nd daily set already. Ran these on a race-prepped Honda Integra DC2, and a Honda Civic EG for an 8 and 6 hour endurance race respectively. We ran the race flat out and still have 60-70% tread left.

Also have a set on my Mazda 3 as my daily which i regularly track as well.

Running on 245/40/18
Good:
- RE11 levels of grip
- cheap
- good feedback at the limit
- hard sidewall
- CRAZY CHEAP

Bad
- Noisy on the highway
- average performance on the wet
- aquaplanes easily
26 - tyre reviewed on August 16, 2017   
Given 79% while driving a Nissan 350z (245/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 24,000 spirited miles
I am an avid autocrosser and stumbled on these tires through a recommendation from one of my racing cohorts. The price was right and worth taking a chance on. I race for points with Kumho V710s but wanted a good street tire I could play with at other club's events without frying my slicks. These are certainly no race tire, but the performance is impressive none the less. Predictable, excellent braking manners, love big slip angles, and can handle a ton of heat before getting slippery. Wet traction is a little lacking but it is a performance tire. For a 200 treadwear tire, they last for a very long time. I plan on buying these again.
14 - tyre reviewed on April 12, 2016   
Given 83% while driving a Datsun 180B (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
more quiet and stable than the yokohama advans I changed from...
35 - tyre reviewed on March 22, 2016   
Given 84% while driving a Toyota MK1 MR2 NA (195/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Got a pair of these on the front of my AW11 MR2 cost $220 NZD fitted and balanced. i rate these grip wise similar to Potenza re11's and to be honest the suspension was finding it's limits before the Tyre did. under steer slowly rolls on predictability and grip is maintained in under steer situation's

15 - tyre reviewed on February 2, 2016   

See all 10 customer reviews of the GT Radial CHAMPIRO SX2 (newest first) >>