Toyo R1R

The Toyo R1R is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 95%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 92%
Handling 90%
Wear 60%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 91%

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 173,925 miles driven.

The R1R is ranked 8th of 32 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Toyo R1R

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/45 R16 83W   F C 73  

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo R1R. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
195/50 R15 £135.19 - £139.80 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 1 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Toyo R1R Reviews

Given 87% while driving a Subaru Impreza (205/50 R16) on track for 100 spirited miles
Just done track day at cadwell,The grip was beyond my exspectations,they would not let go! even when we had a heavy shower and almost everyone who stayed out spun or had serious dramas the R1Rs remained planted, A braver or better driver could have pushed much harder.used T1Rs befor,no comparison.
Helpful 82 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2011
Given 84% while driving a Suzuki swift sport (205/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 65 spirited miles
After having two sets of these magnificent tyres on my modified swift sport , I would recommend them 100%.Both on road and track they perform impressively good, even on wet conditions.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2016
Given 76% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Hello,
Did choose these tires based on reviews written here.
They're fitted to my only car, Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 with Q2 limited slip differential. Chose them because they offer best performance (Grip, Feedback, Handling) for not that much money. Didn't want to pay premium just for the pretty name on the side wall, so I took four of these.
Immediately I've noticed an improvement in my car's handling, now I can take corners at higher speeds and I always can tell where is the limit of grip in each situation. The off the line acceleration also improved, ASR practically never interrupts, the tires dig in the asphalt very well indeed.
At first, I was worried because of the semi-slick pattern of the thread, that maybe I'll have some hard time in the wet. And yet, for my relief, they give plenty of confidence even in the most showering weather.
The only drawback is the noise. They are a bit noisy. If you're looking for silence in your car, look elsewhere.
I've switched front to back at 6,000 miles, so that rear tires will have plenty of thread (the Alfa is FWD).
I drive fast and hard most of the time, but I think I can squeeze 18,000-20,000 miles from them.
This is my mid-life review of the Toyo R1R.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 4, 2016
Have you driven on the Toyo R1R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo R1R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo R1R >

Latest Toyo R1R Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Lotus Elise (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
I use the R1R's for summer street tire and occasional track sessions. Great summer tire, works in wet and dry on the streets. Very balanced feel. On track this tire performs very well. Prefers a little heat which is easily attained. Very predictable!
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Mitsubishi mirage dohc (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
These tyres are AMAZING. They transformed my humble little nana mobile into a complete weapon. Combined with a decent suspension these handle really well and don't let go. The road noise can get a bit much especially as my car is stripped out down to the bones. Even in a really light weight car they hold in in the wet unless it's absolutely pouring down. The front have only just started to show wear and the rear still look brand new (typical front wheel drive) Its a shame they are hard to come by now days I'd definitely like another full set. I haven't run any other high performance tyre on my car and I'd rather not, I think I'll just stick with these.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on July 2, 2019
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 76% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (205/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
Dry grip is amazing . Always wanted a tyre with such performance. It grips so well that pushes my suspension to the limits . regular suspension can not handle this amount of grip .
On wet , performs better that expected . i was afraid that it will fail on wet ( wet but not full of water ) surfaces but handles quite good .
On totally rainy and full of water roads just can not cope with the amount of water and aquaplans a lot so better just avoid driving it on extreme rainy days or take extra care when you have to ...
Another con is the wear. The thread was doing good till i made one track day ( about an hour of track driving ) . The rear ( RWD car ) tyres lost most of their compound and now are at their end of their life ( almost )
Overall ...i enjoyed this tyre a lot , usually when go out on the country side on mount road .
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2015
Given 80% while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,500 spirited miles
these tyres have really impressed me. They have so much grip and are great value for money. They have transformed the clio into a weapon. Everything i have thrown at these tyres they have done and done it well. Good tyres in the dry and the wet inspiring confidence in all driving conditions. I would highly recommend them.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2014
Given 81% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
These tyres have now been on the car for around 9,500 miles. The tread depth on the front tyres are just below 3mm, the rears are on 4mm.

Dry grip has remained good throughout their life. Grip in soaking wet conditions has also been adequate, as long as the tyre pressures are correct (as with any tyre). Damp conditions do not pose a problem at all – turn in may not feel as sharp, but there is still plenty of grip for spirited driving.

A recent trip to Scotland showed that these tyres are similar to any other summer tyres in snowy conditions. At slow speeds on a few centimetres of fresh snow, you have enough grip to keep moving. In snow that was about 5 inches deep, they did have some trouble gripping to get us underway again, but eventually we did get moving in the right direction. Traction up an untreated hill with sheet ice was not great, causing a hasty retreat. The tyres gave us sufficient grip on the way back down to keep the speed low and keep the car out of the hedge!

I’ve found that these tyres have become slightly noisier as the tread has worn away. Not an issue for me, as I didn’t buy them for refinement. I didn’t notice any increased fuel consumption with these tyres over the previous Michelin Pilot Sport 3s that were on the car before.

I would definitely buy these tyres again for a performance road car.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 27, 2013
Given 77% while driving a Subaru sti Type RA (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tyres are on a light weight modified Subaru Impreza, 1200kgs & 317bhp.
I really cant fault them, I cant get them to squeal or lose traction on public roads!
Combined with the Subaru AWD these tyres are the icing on the cake, I haven't yet found a car that can stay with us on the twisties.
A few weeks back we were on a club meet in torrential rain and were generally misbehaving and making lots of noise, I swear the transmission will break before the tyres lose traction.
Driving sensibly on public roads they inspire confidence and give good feed back without white lining. I Cant really comment on road noise as the car is a bit of an animal.
In the wet on the road: No issues, big rooster tails and leave dry lines on the road. Longevity? Wouldn't like to say I've done 2000 hard miles on them and they look like new.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2013
Given 97% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
FANTASTIC tires great grip and feel on the steering wheel without any oversteer understeer on exit of twists Even at full throttle, very good braking "passes" very smooth their 192hp from rx8 very smooth cornering, without sharp reactions even in the limit and with electronic devices of eights off. finally feels like driving on the "rails" in size 225/40 / 18, and I'll definitely buy two . WET not even try.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 25, 2013
Given 80% while driving a Renault Clio RS200 (215/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
I use these every day going back and fore to work 70miles a day they wear fast but not as bad as I thought they would, brilliant in the dry and really good in the wet can't fault them at all. Did a track day in these as well went with 6mm on the front and 5mm on the rear after I swooped them over, they didn't miss a beat! Heated up well and they just kept gripping and gripping and I still have enough meat on then for a few thousand miles yet
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2013
Given 83% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
I have been running these tyres for the past few months on my Focus ST. Dry grip on the road is fantatstic -the car turns in instantly, there is no squirming under hard braking and the traction control system seems to have no work to do when accelerating! I expected wet grip to be scary, but I was wrong. On a number of occassions I have been on the motorway during some pretty heavy downpours and the car has remained confidence inspiring. However, I still treat large amounts of standing water with great respect, as I would on any tyre.

I have taken the car for a few laps around Silverstone. Grip was fantastic when the track was damp. However, they did seem to overheat after three laps when the track was dry.

I haven't tried them in the recent snow - the car has stayed on the drive for the duration!

Wear has not been too bad thus far - 2mm have gone in the time it has taken to cover 5000 miles.

I can recommend these tyres for anyone who is looking for extra grip in the dry, with the odd light trackday thrown in too.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on January 24, 2013
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 306 GTI6 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
I have these tires on my Peugeot S16 (167HP) on roads are spectacular, with excellent grip, no tire probe before has the grip of these, the trouble is that they are very sensitive and therefore suffer on bumps, but to go to high speed they are the best
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2012
Given 74% while driving a Chevrolet ss (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 2,000 spirited miles
310 turbo hp on a front wheel drive car was tough to get the power to the ground. i tried 3 other tire brands and then i found the toyo R1R. these tires are super grippy, you can almost push your fingernail onto the rubber but man do they grip! Finally i found a tire that could actually put the power to the groud. these tires amazingly stick to the corners and dont squeal and complain when pushing them hard but will softly let you know when you are getting to the limits. now they are quite noisy between 50 and 70 mph but start to quiet down after 1000 miles. don,t expect to buy these for mileage as their softness will wear out pretty quick but for driving enjoyment with the ultimate grip i recommend these!
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2012
Given 87% while driving a Mercedes Benz C63 AMG (255/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Just went from standard Pirelli pzeros to these. I feel really bad having purchased pzeros before. These toyos crap all over them!
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2012