Hankook Ventus RS4

The Hankook Ventus RS4 is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 75%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 89%
Wear 83%
Comfort 63%
Buy again 88%

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 44,263 miles driven.

The Ventus RS4 is ranked 9th of 29 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Track Day 200TW Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Very good heat management with very low wear, good steering response, rounded grip circles, enjoyable tyre to drive.
  • Negative - Not the fastest single lap performance on test.
  • Overall - The Hankook Ventus RS4 was an enjoyable tyre to drive with good steering response and progressive handling, and while it wasn't the fastest tyre over a single lap, it's heat management and predicted wear were impressive. With nearly 7mm starting tread depth, it would be an excellent option for endurance racing.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Ventus RS4
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Ventus RS4. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus RS4 Reviews

Given 91% while driving a BMW E92 M3 (265/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3 spirited miles
Overall impression
I've used them for 2 autocross/gymkhana sessions and 1 race day. In terms of outright performance, it is up there with the likes of RE71R. It is nearly 40% off the price of RE71R where I live, you can surely guess my future purchase decision.
Dry grip
Like many extreme performance tires, you do need to know an optimal cold pressure and put enough heat into it in order to feel the grip. RS4s are quite resistant to heat, and lateral grip is one of a kind as it does have a thick sidewall. Grip was consistent over two hours of moderately paced race day.
Wet grip
Wet grip is phenomenal and will save you from 100km/h+ to dead stop in a very short distance without locking up the tyres. It quickly regains grip from an oversteer in 3rd gear as long as you sensibly modulate throttle. Just make sure you have enough tire pressure as tires will not heat up to an optimal temperature on a cold wet surface.
Wear
What impressed me most was the tire wear as I've done enough donuts during the autocross sections and race day was essentially a 2-hour endurance race. Tyres still show over 90% of life left. However, it should be noted that ambient temperature was around 10~20.
Comfort
It will have road noise (like your hub bearing is gone) but it isn't as bad as RS-RR I've briefly used. Moderate to loud music volume will hide them.
78 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2018   
Mitsubishi (265/35 R18) on for 60 spirited miles
1 star because compared to the RS3 they are too narrow for a 9.5" rim. They fit like a 255. I dont have any rim protection now. Waste of money.
38 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2019   
Given 92% while driving a Peugeot (205/45 R16) on mostly motorways for 5,000 miles
I used it on my satria neo cps r3, it was extremely good in the wet and even better in the dry. Gives good feedback on corners, definitely confident on turns. Low treadwear, I didn't get to test them out for more than a year since I sold off the car.
20 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2018   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus RS4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus RS4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus RS4 >

Latest Hankook Ventus RS4 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Good bang for the buck. Not the best peak grip but all-around reliable on track. Takes a while to heat up for autocross. Steering isnt as crisp as Super 200's or 100TW track tires.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 13, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Toyota 86 GT (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Lasted about 7 track days, plus about 7k daily miles
0 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 79% while driving a Subaru BRZ (225/45 R17) on track for 5,000 spirited miles
When I ran the Hankook RS4's, they were an expensive compromise tire for summer and HPDE events. You sacrifice some cost for excellent (but not the best grip) and the best wear in the class. I swapped to set of wheels/tires with RE71R's for Competitive AutoX. I wanted track tires that can last 2 seasons of HPDE or around 7 trackdays a season to save money while I learn and hone my skills. For Lucky Dog endurance racing in the States, this is the tire used because they wear like iron. I got 3 seasons of HPDE, and summer driving on them until they aged out and I gave them to a friend who still uses them on his ****box E36 318i. Because of how long they heat up, they are not the tire for AutoX unless it's a long course that is more than a minute and a half. When I took it out, even on a 80 degree day, it took 3 session to get to temp, and was sliding around until then. It takes 2 laps to get them to temp on a circuit. The grip is 80% of what RE71R's can be so you won't be getting the max potential out that you car without a faster (more wearing) tire, but they last once their heated up. You can turn lap after lap consistently, with little greasing which can be rectified with a cool down lap. They like heat and high pressures (compared to Falked RT660/ discontinued RE71R). Also a smaller width tire is better than a wider one if you want to enjoys nice progressive slip and lateral grip going in and out of corners. As with any 200tw tire, noise and comfort are tertiary. But they are a fun tire to drive on when you know its going to be dry and you want to canyon carve at 10/10ths. I would avoid rain at all costs in this car. On the track they are okay, but on the street if you run into any body of water you're going sideways. Compared to 200tw tires from Falken, Dunlop, and Yokohama, RS4 tires are the worst in the rain.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Given 77% while driving a Porsche 944 (/45 R17) on track for 0 spirited miles
Alot of teams in the US runs these tires purely for wear resistence. Alot of teams will run these about 4-5 weekends whcih consists of fri. practice amongst 4 drivers, sat 8 hrs, sun 8 hrs of racing. These tires get abused !!! Ran these on 2002 BMW 330 and 1989 Porsche 944. On the 944 I would THRASH these tires I mean it. Just abuse them. When my 2 hours stint was done, id get out and look at the tires, very little to no wear. These tires will LAST !!! Although toa point. They heat cycle out after about the 4th race weekend. I will also say that they are not great in the ran. Ran a really older set in the rain at Watkins glen and I was super sketched. Also ran a newer set and they just were not that great. a GREAT endurance ran tire we use is the COnti extreme contact. TOOONS of corner grip which inspires confidence while dancing around competitiors. With all that said, Its a great tire, tons of grip, thrash the hell out of them and get half a dozen Race days. Would recommed, just get a dedicated rain tire for the wet days.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 26, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Renault 12 (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Been through a few sets of these and love them. Have also used Yokohama AD08R, Pilot Sport Cup 2 and a couple of others but I recon the Hankooks are the best bang for buck road / track tyre. Not as much outright grip as a semi slick (e.g. Nankang AR1) but not far off - and perfectly acceptable as a road tyre as long as you don't try anything silly in the wet.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Renault 12 (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Been through a few sets of these and love them. Have also used Yokohama AD08R, Pilot Sport Cup 2 and a couple of others but I recon the Hankooks are the best bang for buck road / track tyre. Not as much outright grip as a semi slick (e.g. Nankang AR1) but not far off - and perfectly acceptable as a road tyre as long as you don't try anything silly in the wet.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (265/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,700 miles
I used rs4 on my turbocharged e46 m3 for road use as daily driver and for hill climb racing and in my opinion it’s the best performance tyre for wet and dry conditions for the money
3 - tyre reviewed on November 23, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Mitsubishi RVR Hyper Sports Gear R (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These tyres are the Swiss army knife of UHP summer tyres. The small deficit in grip they give up to tyres like the RE71R and Direzza ZIII in the dry, they more than make up for in treadlife and cost. Locally to me these tyres are roughly half the cost of the RE71R, but they wear like rocks. I have approx. 8000 hard AWD kilometers on these tyres including track days and fast road driving and they still look as good as new with zero reduction in grip. They're very easy to get up to pace on, with plenty of grip from the word go even when stone cold, and they don't tend to fall on their face after a few hard laps either, maintaining a steady level of grip throughout a session. Even in the wet they're very confidence inspiring, showing surprising resistance to hydroplaning and being very progressive and communicative in their transition from grip to slip.
1 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2020   
Given 81% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (245/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Using the RS4 at first was sceptical, as I've previously used ad08r and rs3 which were both great tyres too back then. To my surprise, the RS4 has really outperform many others in its class in almost every way possible. Driving on Karak highway at 210+kmh with these gives you confidence and superb steering feedback. Definitely addicted to it and will 💯 buy again
4 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2020   
Given 94% while driving a BMW M3 e46 (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,500 spirited miles
I initially purchased a set of these tyres years ago when I just started HPDE. Soon afterwards I decided to try other tyres to see how they compared, including the Yokohoma Advan AD08R, Federal RS-RR, Hankook RS3, and Sailun R01.

From experience the Hankook RS4s outperform all of them. Turn in response is very fast, but also very sensitive so it can be slightly difficult for new inexperienced drivers to place the car. Once gotten used to however it becomes very predictable and this no longer becomes and issue. The tyres have high lateral grip and the car remains very composed when on the limit, especially during high speed corners. The edge of grip is also quite easy to find and allows you to easily push it without any issues.

Wet grip is surprisingly amazing for an Extreme performance 200TW tyre. Dont expect it to grip like PS4s but they exceed the wet grip levels of the other tyres in this catagory.

Theres one thing that cannot be argued and its that these tyres wear like iron. They are far better than the old Hankook RS3s, which were already great. They havent show any signs of overheating during spirited drives or track driving and grip does not fall off as they wear, so they make for an amazing HPDE/Endurance racing tyre where you would be doing several sessions. Reviews by other users support this claim and rave about their wear characteristics.

Unless theres another tyre out there that has the same handling characteristics, along with extremely low wear, I will be staying with these tyres. This tyre dominated the Time Attack event here in NSW Australia, with the majority using them over the Federal RSRR and AD08R. The winner, also using RS4s was only half a second off his best time, which was done on Advan A050 Semislicks (60TW)

15 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2019