BMW E46 M3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW E46 M3.

Do you Drive a BMW E46 M3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a E46 M3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (21) 92% 96% 95% 96% 94% 93%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (27) 97% 90% 95% 97% 75% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (88) 94% 90% 87% 89% 86% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Michelin Power Cup Evo (2) 85% 70% 85% 85% 70% 85%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (14) 87% 75% 85% 89% 83% 63%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (69) 92% 88% 86% 84% 54% 79%
Nankang AR 1 (27) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (36) 86% 77% 79% 77% 59% 74%
Falken FK452 (210) 82% 73% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (8) 91% 63% 86% 86% 39% 57%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Accelera PHI 2 (8) 74% 61% 63% 63% 67% 61%
Accelera PHI (148) 69% 45% 54% 53% 67% 59%

BMW E46 M3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 75% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
So, I came to these from a PS4, which were hugely impressive. Initially, the goodyear disappointed me in the rain, but I think that speaks more about the PS4 that I came from. Then I tried the F1SS. For the road, it's almost scary how much cornering grip these tyres offer in the dry. I've had to recalibrate my cornering speed accordingly. They have held up well on track too. I dropped about 8/10PSI F/R and they stayed together well, but dropped off significantly on a wet track. Overall, I prefer these to the PS4 because the track aspect just nudges it ahead for me. If it was road only, I'd go for a PS4, or a PS4S if I could get it in my size.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 22:19:59
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 87% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2700 miles
I used rs4 on my turbocharged e46 m3 for road use as daily driver and for hill climb racing and in my opinion it’s the best performance tyre for wet and dry conditions for the money
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-23 01:29:11
Writing about the Michelin Power Cup Evo given 81% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Very capable tyre that suit’s both my driving style and the e46 m3 chassis and the only tyres I have used that are better than the cup 2 evo are the pz4 Pirelli pzero and the pilot sport 4s. Pz4 is the best in the wet and the 4s are slightly better in a mixture of wet and dry conditions. The wear of the pz4 is the biggest downfall being twice as bad as the 4s
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-06 19:07:33
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza 03G given 88% (265-45-18-)
Driving on track for 250 spirited miles
I have used these on a supercharger BMW M3 track car and they are simply in a different league to anything else I have used before. We up to temperature in dry conditions they are superb, confidence inspiring and a close to a full slick race tyre as I have found. I wouldn’t buy anything else right now.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-16 06:06:49
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given NAN% (265-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Just had 4 PS4S fitted and what a difference! It’s transformed the car and even feels like it could be daily’d now. So much quieter, smoother and grippy through bends over the ContiSportContact 5’s I’ve had on since owning. Worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-28 20:21:25
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 59% (225-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-29 11:37:24
Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given NAN% (275-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Absolutely lethal in the wet. Some idiot fitted these to my M3 when I bought it. Warning people do not fit these to a car with anything above average power they nearly killed me on a few occasions. Couldn’t wait to get them off for a premium brand.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-17 19:38:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 99% (225-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
After having an interesting time with the Falken FK452s on the front of my M3 I fitted these not expecting to see much of a difference. How wrong I was.

The difference with these tyres was surprising! They grip hard! As soon as I took the first roundabout I knew the tyres felt much more communicative. The dry grip is superb as far as UHP tyres go, with this greatness not stopping in the wet. Somehow they just grip and girip in the wet!

These have now done 13,000 on the front of my M3, where I've also done a couple of trackdays on it too. The tyres still have plenty of meat left on them. I'd say around 5mm.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-03 03:29:44
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 86% (255-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 average miles
just bought some Accelera PHI tyres and are having them fitted today, after reading reviews I thought o no a noisy poor quality tyre that does,nt handle in the wet. Not good if fitting to an E46 M3. this is the first set of tyres that I shall be fitting to the car in the 5 years of ownership of it.
My current tyres hit the 1.6 wear indicator about 3 months ago so really do need changing.
checked my tyres yesterday to see what I have and low and behold i,m already running Accelera PHI and some Kendels on the front
I am more than happy to have these tyres on the car again and I found that the only time I get the bad road noise is when I hit the concrete section of the M25 which is not often.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-04 09:14:00
Writing about the Falken FK452 given 60% (225-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 average miles
These came on my M3. I've not had Falkens for a long time but here it goes.

Pros?
-They are reasonable in price
-Drifters will like you ; it's a known brand in those circles
-Dry grip is actually pretty good

Cons?
-Wet braking is bad on these! I on occasions did say a silent prayer if someone brake suddenly in front of me in the wet!
-The wear was strange ; they wore the shoulders first, despite the tyre pressures and toe being fine. The Michelin PS4S that have replaced them have been fine.
tyre reviewed on 2017-10-23 00:22:30
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 81% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
2/3rds of the price of a premium pilot sport comparison and 8-9/10ths of the performance. Provided you're not trying to be Nigel Mansell on the public highways I see no reason to buy any different. A good upgrade from the ku39's.
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-04 22:53:24
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 83% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-08-04 22:49:07
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre