BMW E46 M3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW E46 M3.

Do you Drive a BMW E46 M3? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a E46 M3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Alpin 4 (26) 92% 95% 93% 95% 93% 91%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (134) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (51) 95% 82% 91% 92% 67% 74%
Michelin Power Cup Evo (2) 85% 70% 85% 85% 70% 85%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (18) 87% 73% 85% 89% 86% 63%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (88) 91% 87% 82% 83% 53% 77%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (12) 94% 65% 89% 89% 47% 61%
Nankang AR 1 (35) 91% 45% 84% 88% 71% 66%
Falken FK452 (211) 82% 72% 75% 73% 69% 73%
Nexen N8000 (80) 79% 74% 69% 66% 69% 79%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (42) 82% 72% 76% 75% 55% 72%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (57) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Accelera PHI 2 (12) 71% 49% 54% 52% 65% 62%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%

BMW E46 M3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 80% (245-45-17-)
Driving on track for 999 spirited miles
They wear like iron. Best bang for the buck for track days. Mine lasts almost 20 days, which is four times longer than RE71R that I used to use. Not as grippy but quite consistent and take heat reasonably well.
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-26 20:21:42
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
A great tyre. They replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport on my E46 M3, which were also fantastic. I hope the PS5s come out soon. My tyre sizes were 255/35/r19 and 224/40/r19
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 08:42:37
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza 03G given 77% (295-40-18-)
Driving on track for 100 spirited miles
In the words of Tina Turner these tyres are simply the best. Very impressed, ideal track Tyre, a different league to the Toyos. Once you’ve tried them you’ll never buy anything else.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-29 01:11:46
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 90% (245-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 400 spirited miles
When it came to replacing the tyres on my CSL wheels, everyone recommended I change to PS4S (recently bought the car and had some very old, dried out Achilles tyres on them). And I was tempted to. But I remember watching one of Jonathan’s videos and remember him saying how good the F1SS was. I tried to watch every video I could find on the F1SS and eventually I ordered a set. These tyres have blown my mind. I mainly do weekend runs on mountain passes/touge style roads and the occasional trackday. Because of our hot African climate, I wasn’t too worried about the cold/wet performance as it doesn’t really get below 8’C here in winter, and even then I don’t do much driving in anything but my daily driver. The F1SS are very quick to warm up and when they do, they really stick. Initial turn-in feels great, and steering feedback through corners is amazing. The rears seem to never run out of grip and even after pushing them on a fast, technical mountain pass, they just keep up. Road noise seems fairly non-existent. They have a normal amount of noise on the freeway, but overall I find it a quiet tyre. I also don’t find them too stiff, they seem pretty comfortable considering the car is lowered. I have done one session of “spirited” driving in the wet, but didn’t push very hard. I didn’t feel like I was running out of grip at any stage though, I remember being impressed and thinking they shouldn’t feel this good in the wet. So far, very good! I’ve done about 6 or 7 demanding drives since fitting them and really love the way they feel and grip, especially compared to the MPS4S I’ve felt on other cars. If they last well with my driving style, I won’t hesitate to put these on other cars as well. It also makes me very excited for the next generation of these tyres.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-21 13:01:29
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 75% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
So, I came to these from a PS4, which were hugely impressive. Initially, the goodyear disappointed me in the rain, but I think that speaks more about the PS4 that I came from. Then I tried the F1SS. For the road, it's almost scary how much cornering grip these tyres offer in the dry. I've had to recalibrate my cornering speed accordingly. They have held up well on track too. I dropped about 8/10PSI F/R and they stayed together well, but dropped off significantly on a wet track. Overall, I prefer these to the PS4 because the track aspect just nudges it ahead for me. If it was road only, I'd go for a PS4, or a PS4S if I could get it in my size.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-11 16:19:59
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 87% (265-35-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2700 miles
I used rs4 on my turbocharged e46 m3 for road use as daily driver and for hill climb racing and in my opinion it’s the best performance tyre for wet and dry conditions for the money
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-22 18:29:11
Writing about the Michelin Power Cup Evo given 81% (275-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
Very capable tyre that suit’s both my driving style and the e46 m3 chassis and the only tyres I have used that are better than the cup 2 evo are the pz4 Pirelli pzero and the pilot sport 4s. Pz4 is the best in the wet and the 4s are slightly better in a mixture of wet and dry conditions. The wear of the pz4 is the biggest downfall being twice as bad as the 4s
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-06 13:07:33
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza 03G given 88% (265-45-18-)
Driving on track for 250 spirited miles
I have used these on a supercharger BMW M3 track car and they are simply in a different league to anything else I have used before. We up to temperature in dry conditions they are superb, confidence inspiring and a close to a full slick race tyre as I have found. I wouldn’t buy anything else right now.
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-15 23:06:49
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given NAN% (265-30-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Just had 4 PS4S fitted and what a difference! It’s transformed the car and even feels like it could be daily’d now. So much quieter, smoother and grippy through bends over the ContiSportContact 5’s I’ve had on since owning. Worth every penny.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-28 13:21:25
Writing about the Accelera PHI given 59% (225-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-29 05:37:24
Writing about the Accelera PHI 2 given NAN% (275-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
Absolutely lethal in the wet. Some idiot fitted these to my M3 when I bought it. Warning people do not fit these to a car with anything above average power they nearly killed me on a few occasions. Couldn’t wait to get them off for a premium brand.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-17 12:38:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 99% (225-40-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
After having an interesting time with the Falken FK452s on the front of my M3 I fitted these not expecting to see much of a difference. How wrong I was.

The difference with these tyres was surprising! They grip hard! As soon as I took the first roundabout I knew the tyres felt much more communicative. The dry grip is superb as far as UHP tyres go, with this greatness not stopping in the wet. Somehow they just grip and girip in the wet!

These have now done 13,000 on the front of my M3, where I've also done a couple of trackdays on it too. The tyres still have plenty of meat left on them. I'd say around 5mm.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-02 21:29:44
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre