Nexen N8000

The Nexen N8000 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 80 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 578,842 miles driven, and 8 tests with an average result of 11th.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 69%
Handling 66%
Wear 69%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 69%

First On MarketMarch 2017
Wheel Size16 - 20"
Width195 - 275mm
Profile30 - 60
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripB - D
Noise (dB)67 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The N8000 is ranked 84th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Tests Included

8

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

17th

Average Result

11th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test
3rd of 8 tyres
  • A strong all all-rounder with a balanced performance on wet and dry conditions.├é┬áStable running, short braking distances, excellent ride comfort and low noise
  • Average rolling resistance. Subjectively a little numb
View Full Test >>
2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test
17th of 18 tyres
  • Particularly strong in the wet
  • Very high wear
View Full Test >>
2012 European Summer Tyre Test - 205/55 R16
14th of 14 tyres
  • Good in the wet.
  • High fuel consumption, highest wear.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
18 inch
235/60R18 103 HCD69
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Nexen N8000 >>

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N8000

2016-03-26 - Just put 4 n8000 on my audi a4. Why are they so noisey is that normal????

While the Nexen N8000 hasn't been featured in a test in recent years, in one test in 2013 is was particularly recommended as a quiet tyre (details can be found here. Depending on just how noisy the new tyre is, we'd suggest getting your alignment checked to ensure even wear, or checking the pressures.
One thing worth noting is that a lot of noise comes from tread pattern, so all other things being equal, a tyre with more tread depth will be noisier.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
Available in 6 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nexen N8000 Reviews

Given 78% while driving a SEAT Leon FR Plus (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Bought these to replace my ps3s, which were amazing in wet and dry conditions, however budget constraints meant had to replace with something cheaper. Initially for the first 500 miles or so they were awful, then after dropping my tyre pressure and they had worn in, they have started to perform well, pretty grippy in wet and dry conditions, can confidently hit bends at similar speeds with ps3s on, will probably try something else but for the money well worth it, far better than other budget brands hands down! Give them a try if you're on a budget, you don't b disappointed.
Helpful 158 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2016
MINI Cooper (205/45 R17) on mostly town for 15 easy going miles
Not recommended
Helpful 80 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2019
Mercedes Benz C36 AMG (275/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Just bought a C63 AMG WITH THEM ON .275/30/19 AT THE BACK AND 255/30/19 IN THE FRONT . HOPE THEY ARE GOOD BECAUSE IN NEW ZEALAND IT RAINS A LOT .
Helpful 75 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2018
Have you driven on the Nexen N8000 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N8000? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nexen N8000 >

Latest Nexen N8000 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Hyundai Santa Fe (235/65 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Brought my New Santa Fe in 2016 and still running the Nexen tyre N8000 series still running 96000 kM
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 6, 2024
Given 74% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 26,000 spirited miles
Had this tyre fitted to the front of a bmw 325i sport on 18in alloys for 26000miles and 4 years no complaints would use again only changed because of cracking from age.
Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 58% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
On a Fiesta ST 1.5 ecoboost 200 bhp when brought. The car with 12000 miles on it and the garage had changed the front tyres as they were worn. Changed from standard fit Michelin Sports SP4s to these Nexen n8000s. So how did I find / like them over 500 miles Got the car and went out in the dry for a get to know you better quick drive. initial thoughts Nexens have come along way. good grip no issues on dry country B roads. Thought to myself think I must reset my thoughts on where Nexens are in my tyre catalogue. However 2 days later went out with my better half on a wet day (drizzle not downpour) and wow white line shimmy, understeer at no cornering speed. wheelspin with no real accelerator. night and day to their dry performance. Just changed to standard fit Michelin SP4s after 500 miles and so much better. Not recommended if you are a spirited driver, think they would be Ok on a very low power commuter type car (Fiesta 1.0 as example).
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2021
Given 43% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (265/30 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 8,000 spirited miles
I had a sudden burst to my Falken FK510 tyres and it was a late evening. The only nearby workshop with 265/30/19 ready stock is Nexen N8000. Tried them on for 6 months, what I can tell is that this is a budget non-performance tyre. Dry grip is subpar. I have no confidence to go fast in corner like I used to with Bridgestone, Falken FK510 and Continental CSC6. Again, I understand this is a budget tyre but I didn't expect the dry grip to be this bad. Wet grip on the other hand, it is not too bad. So far no aquaplaning in the past 6 months. My advice is to go for a better tyre if budget is not an issue for you. Avoid this tyre at all cost if driving feel and safety at highspeed is your concern.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 9, 2020
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen CC (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Casings failed with large circumferential cracks. Very lucky not to have gone bang replaced with Goodyears all round, consider these to be poor budget tyres that suffered dangerous structural failures
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2020
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Replaced my goodyears on the eos, the nexen tires a very comfortable at the price, 10 % less precise when handling, but great grip, no noise tires for a vw Eos!
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2020
Given 90% while driving a MG 6 (225/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 600 spirited miles
Brought these to replace similar tyres , for the price I can't complain , I've not done enough miles to really comment on wear ect . But over all a good tyre .
Helpful 47 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2019
Given 79% while driving a BMW 3 series (255/30 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Bought nexen because this is my secondary summer setup for this car and did not want to spend alot of money.
Tyres are very nice suprise, specially for money they cost.
Dry grip is excelent, super quiet, low rolling resistance.
Wet grip is ok, not bad but not specially good either.
Probably will buy again...
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019
Given 79% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Having fitted Nexen N8000 R18 92Y tyres to my newly acquired Skoda Octavia VRS TDI hatchback they were nearly new. Driving on them mixed style for 20 000 miles (32 000km) I must say the are very good all-rounders. Honestly, being fun of Michelins (driven on my previous cars on Michelin primacy, cross climate and pilot sport3-which truly transformed my car to entirely different level) Nexens do not reach quite the level of Michelins. However, the Nexen N8000 is really dependable tire (HP true work horse) which will not let you down in any situation, from driving in the town (pot holes and kerb parking), through the Grossglockner pass (4 persons in the car and multiple passes) to the German autobahn (nearly empty car) with speeds in corners about 125MP/H (200km/h) and once I saw on dash board in down hill 160MP/H (258 KM/H)!!! They never let me down and offer very good blend of longevity, performance and fun. They are bargain for the price, and there is still a good few thousands miles left in the tread. Ideally I would get Michlelin Pilot sports 3 or 4 these days for my car. But I wouldn't feel bad at all to go for Nexen N8000 again If I would be a few quid short ;) Definitely would get them again as an alternative to the ultimate tyre :)
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2019
Given 57% while driving a MINI Cooper (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
very good hold on the first year, after this noticeable weakness...
Helpful 59 - tyre reviewed on December 25, 2018
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 320 Coupe (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 42,000 spirited miles
I had these fitted on my 2005 CLK 320 with 218 HP. I rotated them left/right every 10,000 kilometers. They lasted me 68,000 kilometers and I was very happy with their dry and wet performance. They endured some nasty potholes without any trouble. Very good tires for $90 each for 225/45R17.

I fitted them in the rear as well and rotated them every 10,000 km. They now have 52,000 km and they need replacement. Same performance. They cost $100 each for 245/40R17.

If they are in your budget, definitely buy them!
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2018
Given 74% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The tyres have done a few thousand miles . They are very good I the wet especially going through deepest puddles with ne steering pull. Impressive. Handling is fine surprisingly.I expected a lot poorer results frankly. I am used to company cars fitted with the usual premium tyres so it has come as a pleasant surprise how good these are. They had been fitted to the MX5 by the previous owner 2000 miles ago. I had decided to dump them as soon as I had the car and get some Contis .But the more I use them the more I am thinking I would be chucking away a perfectly good tyre. There is a lot of snobbery in tyre ownership and normally I would not have put these on my car. I would have been wrong .I drive quickly, when safe, on country roads so I have given these tyres a fair test not just on motorway miles.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2018