Nexen N8000

The Nexen N8000 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 66%
Wear 68%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 78 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 552,842 miles driven.

The N8000 is ranked 81st of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - A strong all all-rounder with a balanced performance on wet and dry conditions.├é┬áStable running, short braking distances, excellent ride comfort and low noise
  • Negative - Average rolling resistance. Subjectively a little numb
View Full Test >>

2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test - 17th of 18 tyres

  • Positive - Particularly strong in the wet
  • Negative - Very high wear
View Full Test >>

2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test - 11th of 45 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/50 R16 91W XL   C C 74  
235/40 R17 94W XL   E C 74 10.00kgs
235/65 R17 104H   C C 74  
235/60 R18 103H   C C 74  
225/35 R20 90Y XL   F C 74  

Questions and Answers for the Nexen N8000

2016-03-26 - Just put 4 n8000 on my audi a4. Why are they so noisey is that normal????

While the Nexen N8000 hasn't been featured in a test in recent years, in one test in 2013 is was particularly recommended as a quiet tyre (details can be found here. Depending on just how noisy the new tyre is, we'd suggest getting your alignment checked to ensure even wear, or checking the pressures.
One thing worth noting is that a lot of noise comes from tread pattern, so all other things being equal, a tyre with more tread depth will be noisier.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


N8000 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £100.50 - £103.30 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £77.90 - £80.10 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 23 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Nexen N8000 Reviews

Given 78% while driving a SEAT Leon FR Plus (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
Bought these to replace my ps3s, which were amazing in wet and dry conditions, however budget constraints meant had to replace with something cheaper. Initially for the first 500 miles or so they were awful, then after dropping my tyre pressure and they had worn in, they have started to perform well, pretty grippy in wet and dry conditions, can confidently hit bends at similar speeds with ps3s on, will probably try something else but for the money well worth it, far better than other budget brands hands down! Give them a try if you're on a budget, you don't b disappointed.
118 - tyre reviewed on March 28, 2016   
MINI Cooper (205/45 R17) on mostly town for 15 easy going miles
Not recommended
35 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2019   
Mercedes Benz C36 AMG (275/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Just bought a C63 AMG WITH THEM ON .275/30/19 AT THE BACK AND 255/30/19 IN THE FRONT . HOPE THEY ARE GOOD BECAUSE IN NEW ZEALAND IT RAINS A LOT .
30 - tyre reviewed on June 22, 2018   
Have you driven on the Nexen N8000 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Nexen N8000? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Nexen N8000 >

Latest Nexen N8000 Reviews

Given 58% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
On a Fiesta ST 1.5 ecoboost 200 bhp when brought. The car with 12000 miles on it and the garage had changed the front tyres as they were worn. Changed from standard fit Michelin Sports SP4s to these Nexen n8000s. So how did I find / like them over 500 miles Got the car and went out in the dry for a get to know you better quick drive. initial thoughts Nexens have come along way. good grip no issues on dry country B roads. Thought to myself think I must reset my thoughts on where Nexens are in my tyre catalogue. However 2 days later went out with my better half on a wet day (drizzle not downpour) and wow white line shimmy, understeer at no cornering speed. wheelspin with no real accelerator. night and day to their dry performance. Just changed to standard fit Michelin SP4s after 500 miles and so much better. Not recommended if you are a spirited driver, think they would be Ok on a very low power commuter type car (Fiesta 1.0 as example).
0 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2021   
Given 43% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (265/30 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 8,000 spirited miles
I had a sudden burst to my Falken FK510 tyres and it was a late evening. The only nearby workshop with 265/30/19 ready stock is Nexen N8000. Tried them on for 6 months, what I can tell is that this is a budget non-performance tyre. Dry grip is subpar. I have no confidence to go fast in corner like I used to with Bridgestone, Falken FK510 and Continental CSC6. Again, I understand this is a budget tyre but I didn't expect the dry grip to be this bad. Wet grip on the other hand, it is not too bad. So far no aquaplaning in the past 6 months. My advice is to go for a better tyre if budget is not an issue for you. Avoid this tyre at all cost if driving feel and safety at highspeed is your concern.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen CC (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Casings failed with large circumferential cracks. Very lucky not to have gone bang replaced with Goodyears all round, consider these to be poor budget tyres that suffered dangerous structural failures
4 - tyre reviewed on March 13, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Replaced my goodyears on the eos, the nexen tires a very comfortable at the price, 10 % less precise when handling, but great grip, no noise tires for a vw Eos!
3 - tyre reviewed on March 1, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a MG 6 (225/45 R18 W) on mostly town for 600 spirited miles
Brought these to replace similar tyres , for the price I can't complain , I've not done enough miles to really comment on wear ect . But over all a good tyre .
10 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 3 series (255/30 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Bought nexen because this is my secondary summer setup for this car and did not want to spend alot of money.
Tyres are very nice suprise, specially for money they cost.
Dry grip is excelent, super quiet, low rolling resistance.
Wet grip is ok, not bad but not specially good either.
Probably will buy again...
24 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Having fitted Nexen N8000 R18 92Y tyres to my newly acquired Skoda Octavia VRS TDI hatchback they were nearly new. Driving on them mixed style for 20 000 miles (32 000km) I must say the are very good all-rounders. Honestly, being fun of Michelins (driven on my previous cars on Michelin primacy, cross climate and pilot sport3-which truly transformed my car to entirely different level) Nexens do not reach quite the level of Michelins. However, the Nexen N8000 is really dependable tire (HP true work horse) which will not let you down in any situation, from driving in the town (pot holes and kerb parking), through the Grossglockner pass (4 persons in the car and multiple passes) to the German autobahn (nearly empty car) with speeds in corners about 125MP/H (200km/h) and once I saw on dash board in down hill 160MP/H (258 KM/H)!!! They never let me down and offer very good blend of longevity, performance and fun. They are bargain for the price, and there is still a good few thousands miles left in the tread. Ideally I would get Michlelin Pilot sports 3 or 4 these days for my car. But I wouldn't feel bad at all to go for Nexen N8000 again If I would be a few quid short ;) Definitely would get them again as an alternative to the ultimate tyre :)
12 - tyre reviewed on February 1, 2019   
Given 57% while driving a MINI Cooper (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
very good hold on the first year, after this noticeable weakness...
23 - tyre reviewed on December 25, 2018   
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 320 Coupe (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 42,000 spirited miles
I had these fitted on my 2005 CLK 320 with 218 HP. I rotated them left/right every 10,000 kilometers. They lasted me 68,000 kilometers and I was very happy with their dry and wet performance. They endured some nasty potholes without any trouble. Very good tires for $90 each for 225/45R17.

I fitted them in the rear as well and rotated them every 10,000 km. They now have 52,000 km and they need replacement. Same performance. They cost $100 each for 245/40R17.

If they are in your budget, definitely buy them!
1 - tyre reviewed on December 18, 2018   
Given 74% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The tyres have done a few thousand miles . They are very good I the wet especially going through deepest puddles with ne steering pull. Impressive. Handling is fine surprisingly.I expected a lot poorer results frankly. I am used to company cars fitted with the usual premium tyres so it has come as a pleasant surprise how good these are. They had been fitted to the MX5 by the previous owner 2000 miles ago. I had decided to dump them as soon as I had the car and get some Contis .But the more I use them the more I am thinking I would be chucking away a perfectly good tyre. There is a lot of snobbery in tyre ownership and normally I would not have put these on my car. I would have been wrong .I drive quickly, when safe, on country roads so I have given these tyres a fair test not just on motorway miles.
2 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Passat Estate 2.0 TDI (170) (235/45 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Fitted these to my 2012 VW Passat 2.0 TDI 170 Estate (remapped to 210BHP) on an Eibach suspension. They replaced the standard Pirelli Cinturato that were on it.

After 16000 miles of 'spirited' driving they are half worn (down to 4.5 / 5 mm) - swapped around at 11,000 miles.
The grip is excellent both in the wet and dry, and tyre noise - no different from the Pirelli's. Good feedback from the tyres and fuel economy no different from the Pirelli's.

An excellent all round tyre in my opinion and they cost less than half the price of the Pirelli's - absolute bargain. For anyone considering these i would definitely recommend.
3 - tyre reviewed on October 9, 2017   
Given 33% while driving a BMW 530D (275/30 R19) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
These tyres are no good. Failed MOT first year due to inside wall defaults. Company might say they are good but believe me don't buy and the tyres wont last. Tried resolving with the company I brought them with and nexen company " Stapleton's (Tyre Services) Ltd, , Erdington, Birmingham, B24 9QP" but no joy. Beware!!!
23 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2017