Kumho Ecsta PS91

Benefiting from the company’s enviable motorsport achievements, PS91 is aimed squarely at supercars and such mouth-wateringly quick passenger saloons as BMW M cars, Mercedes-Benz AMG models and Audi RS ones. The entire range is Y or (Y) rated and offered in sizes from 18 to 20 inches in diameter. The focus is on maximum grip and braking performance in the dry, combined with outstanding feel in all conditions.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 77%
Wear 59%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 68%

Tyre review data from 36 tyre reviews averaging 74% over 285,810 miles driven.

The Ecsta PS91 is ranked 20th of 30 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Very quick on first dry handling lap, with good steering feel and car balance.
  • Negative - Tyre overheated very quickly in both dry and wet handling, which changed the balance to high levels of oversteer. Very poor wet braking. Average levels of comfort.
  • Overall - The Kumho PS91 initially felt like a strong tyre with good steering and balance, but this soon changed as the tyre heated up, resulting in instability and low levels of grip.
    Conditionally Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Sports Cars Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, short braking distances on dry roads, well priced
  • Negative - Low lateral stability and strong understeer on wet roads, slow response to steering and relatively poor grip on dry surfaces, increased rolling resistance
  • Overall - Satisfactory
View Full Test >>

2017 Motor Mag UHP Tyre Test - 4th of 9 tyres

View Full Test >>

2019 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2017 Motor Mag UHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 7th: 2017 Auto Bild Sports Cars Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 7th: 2017 Sport Auto UHP and Track Day Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 7th: 2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 10th: 2015 AZ 225/40 R18 Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecsta PS91

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Ecsta PS91. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    225/40 R18 £87.00 - £93.10 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 £116.71 - £125.70 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    235/35 R19 £102.59 - £116.12 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/35 R20 £140.00 - £140.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 £115.69 - £130.12 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    285/30 R19 £152.89 - £176.42 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 48 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Kumho Ecsta PS91 Reviews

    Given 97% while driving a Vauxhall Astra VXR (245/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Replaced Pirelli P Zero k1 tyrew with the Kumhos. I am realy happy that i made the change. The tyre is better on dry and wet in lower temperatures that the p zero. The p zero is slightly better in wet on warm days, but the kumho has a little bigger level of grip at dry, and does not need that high temperatures. Allso the tyre is realy good when puahed hard, doesent lose the grip level by heating up, the level ia going higher and higher. Perfect for everyday and fast road curve driving. Not tested on the race track, but it should perform ok for a street tyre. The stif sidewall is allso a good thing, much stiffer than p zero. I can highly recommend that tyre, they car has more overall grip than with p zero. Wear looks also ok for now.
    Helpful 93 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2016
    Given 81% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    2/3rds of the price of a premium pilot sport comparison and 8-9/10ths of the performance. Provided you're not trying to be Nigel Mansell on the public highways I see no reason to buy any different. A good upgrade from the ku39's.
    Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2017
    Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 17,000 spirited miles
    Very impressed at the overall performance of the tyre and consider it very good value for money.
    Confidence inspiring and good feedback.
    Only issue would be the wear & tear, which I feel could be better.
    Definitely recommended and would buy again.
    Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2018
    Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta PS91 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta PS91? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Kumho Ecsta PS91 >

    Latest Kumho Ecsta PS91 Reviews

    Given 53% while driving a BMW 320D (255/30 R19) on mostly motorways for 7,000 easy going miles
    Fitted this Kumho Ecsta ps91 on rear axle of my 2010 e90 2.0D Fitted in end of April 2021, taken off in start of October 2021, driven 12 000Km, and they are spent to the end, bald.... Wear is absolute disaster....
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2021
    Given 64% while driving a Audi Audi a5 2008 2.7 (Remapped) (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
    4 new tyres fitted. Fronts needed replacing after 16,000 miles.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021
    Want your tyres to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 34% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    At first i was very impressed with the design and the similarities between Michelin PS4 and PS91. Dry grip was very good but that s the only good thing about this tyre. Sidewall - the stiffness is incredible, you can barely fit them on the rims. Confort - it laks confort, you can feel every bump, big or small, terrible. After 2 years of moderate use 8000k km each summer visible cracks between treads appeared, with is very dangerous thing. On wet they are very slippery, i lost control a couple of times. So then i went for Michelin PS4 and Vredestein Ultrac Vorti which i think is the best tire i had ever had on my Audi A6
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2021
    Given 80% while driving a BMW X3 3.0dA (275/40 R19) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
    InI tried kumho ps91. The tread life is very short. I put on my BMW X3. 8 months later I hv to change. My wife drive very careful with kids. I m a bit dissatisfied
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2020
    Given 76% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Boxster 987. Came with these tyres on but one of the rears had a screw in it so replaced both rears about 6000 miles back. grip has been excellent in both wet & dry, but then again, I never push n the wet. Mostly daily driving with occasional fast B-roads, my rears are nearly done after 6000 miles. I'm not sure if that's my driving style or the compound of the rubber. Either way that's a bit dosappointing in terms of wear.
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2020
    Volkswagen (255/40 R20) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    Initially I was very pleased with these tyres. They handled much better than the pirelli tyres that came on the car and overall made the car much more stable in corners. Fitted to the fronts when the rears were nearly at the end of their life, I have now found myself replacing all 4 at the same time. Well, this would be the case if tyres hadn't split along sidewalls rending them useless.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2020
    Given 61% while driving a Audi 2.7 TDi S Line Saloon (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Seemed like a great value midrange tyre initially, but wore out very quickly. All 4 where put on with in a month of each other and only last 12.000s on the front. Maybe 30% left on rears. , while the fronts needed replacing. So I've replaced them all for Dunlop sportmax GTs. Only £10 more per tyre.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2020
    Given 50% while driving a Mazda RX8 (245/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Good : -great levels of grip in the dry. -great road feed back. Average : -wear (around 8'000km in the rear) Bad : -really not linear at the limits, in the dry and even worse in the wet. Really not a confidence inspiring tyre. When it goes, it goes. -price, for the price in my size you can have goodyear asymmetric5 for cheaper, and michelin ps4 for only a litle bit more money. I personnaly do not recommend this tyre.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2020
    Given 45% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    Dry grip was good. In general the tyre was comfortable. Wet grip was scary a lot of aquaplaning when I went into any amount of water.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2020
    Given 63% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (255/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    Tyre is good for grip and handling dry or wet on the rear of a red lexus. Wear though is really poor lasted 6k at best and this was not a hard life
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2019
    Given 90% while driving a Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    best tyre for the price, the grip is there dry or wet, very balanced tyre , the wear is average but they are cheap, overall you get a premium tyre for lesss money
    Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2019
    Given 61% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
    Will start by saying these tyres wear quickly on heavy cars!! I have a BMW 320d M Sport and I have done 5,000 miles / 8 months on these tyres and they are now 4mm tread left. So I am expecting these tyres to last up to 10,000 miles :-(

    Overall these are good tyres for grip both wet and dry and smooth running. Some things they are not good for are very hard sidewalls so you have to pump the type up to around 36psi to get decent roll on them. Also I was not impressed with the fuel eco on them as they are F grade.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2019