Kumho Ecsta PS91

Benefiting from the company’s enviable motorsport achievements, PS91 is aimed squarely at supercars and such mouth-wateringly quick passenger saloons as BMW M cars, Mercedes-Benz AMG models and Audi RS ones. The entire range is Y or (Y) rated and offered in sizes from 18 to 20 inches in diameter. The focus is on maximum grip and braking performance in the dry, combined with outstanding feel in all conditions.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 77%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 78%
Wear 61%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 71%

Tyre review data from 34 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 262,810 miles driven.

The Ecsta PS91 is ranked 17th of 26 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 7th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Very quick on first dry handling lap, with good steering feel and car balance.
  • Negative - Tyre overheated very quickly in both dry and wet handling, which changed the balance to high levels of oversteer. Very poor wet braking. Average levels of comfort.
  • Overall - The Kumho PS91 initially felt like a strong tyre with good steering and balance, but this soon changed as the tyre heated up, resulting in instability and low levels of grip.
    Conditionally Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2017 Sport Auto UHP and Track Day Test - 7th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Acceptable handling on dry surfaces (although nervous behavior), good resistance to aquaplaning
  • Negative - Poor grip in the wet, low comfort
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended
View Full Test >>

2017 Auto Bild Sports Cars Tyre Test - 7th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning, short braking distances on dry roads, well priced
  • Negative - Low lateral stability and strong understeer on wet roads, slow response to steering and relatively poor grip on dry surfaces, increased rolling resistance
  • Overall - Satisfactory
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Kumho Ecsta PS91
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Kumho Ecsta PS91. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Ecsta PS91 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £75.00 - £100.59 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £94.00 - £109.48 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R20 £118.00 - £141.86 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £107.60 - £128.18 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/40 R18 £123.40 - £144.64 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
285/30 R19 £134.10 - £166.21 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 47 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Kumho Ecsta PS91 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Vauxhall Astra VXR (245/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli P Zero k1 tyrew with the Kumhos. I am realy happy that i made the change. The tyre is better on dry and wet in lower temperatures that the p zero. The p zero is slightly better in wet on warm days, but the kumho has a little bigger level of grip at dry, and does not need that high temperatures. Allso the tyre is realy good when puahed hard, doesent lose the grip level by heating up, the level ia going higher and higher. Perfect for everyday and fast road curve driving. Not tested on the race track, but it should perform ok for a street tyre. The stif sidewall is allso a good thing, much stiffer than p zero. I can highly recommend that tyre, they car has more overall grip than with p zero. Wear looks also ok for now.
87 - tyre reviewed on October 1, 2016   
Given 81% while driving a BMW E46 M3 (255/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
2/3rds of the price of a premium pilot sport comparison and 8-9/10ths of the performance. Provided you're not trying to be Nigel Mansell on the public highways I see no reason to buy any different. A good upgrade from the ku39's.
29 - tyre reviewed on August 4, 2017   
Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 17,000 spirited miles
Very impressed at the overall performance of the tyre and consider it very good value for money.
Confidence inspiring and good feedback.
Only issue would be the wear & tear, which I feel could be better.
Definitely recommended and would buy again.
20 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2018   
Have you driven on the Kumho Ecsta PS91 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Kumho Ecsta PS91? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Kumho Ecsta PS91 >

Latest Kumho Ecsta PS91 Reviews

Given 34% while driving a Audi A6 2.0 TDI (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
At first i was very impressed with the design and the similarities between Michelin PS4 and PS91. Dry grip was very good but that s the only good thing about this tyre. Sidewall - the stiffness is incredible, you can barely fit them on the rims. Confort - it laks confort, you can feel every bump, big or small, terrible. After 2 years of moderate use 8000k km each summer visible cracks between treads appeared, with is very dangerous thing. On wet they are very slippery, i lost control a couple of times. So then i went for Michelin PS4 and Vredestein Ultrac Vorti which i think is the best tire i had ever had on my Audi A6
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2021   
Given 80% while driving a BMW X3 3.0dA (275/40 R19) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
InI tried kumho ps91. The tread life is very short. I put on my BMW X3. 8 months later I hv to change. My wife drive very careful with kids. I m a bit dissatisfied
0 - tyre reviewed on December 15, 2020   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 76% while driving a Porsche BOXSTER 2.7 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Boxster 987. Came with these tyres on but one of the rears had a screw in it so replaced both rears about 6000 miles back. grip has been excellent in both wet & dry, but then again, I never push n the wet. Mostly daily driving with occasional fast B-roads, my rears are nearly done after 6000 miles. I'm not sure if that's my driving style or the compound of the rubber. Either way that's a bit dosappointing in terms of wear.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2020   
Volkswagen (255/40 R20) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Initially I was very pleased with these tyres. They handled much better than the pirelli tyres that came on the car and overall made the car much more stable in corners. Fitted to the fronts when the rears were nearly at the end of their life, I have now found myself replacing all 4 at the same time. Well, this would be the case if tyres hadn't split along sidewalls rending them useless.
6 - tyre reviewed on July 15, 2020   
Given 61% while driving a Audi 2.7 TDi S Line Saloon (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Seemed like a great value midrange tyre initially, but wore out very quickly. All 4 where put on with in a month of each other and only last 12.000s on the front. Maybe 30% left on rears. , while the fronts needed replacing. So I've replaced them all for Dunlop sportmax GTs. Only £10 more per tyre.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2020   
Given 50% while driving a Mazda RX8 (245/35 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Good : -great levels of grip in the dry. -great road feed back. Average : -wear (around 8'000km in the rear) Bad : -really not linear at the limits, in the dry and even worse in the wet. Really not a confidence inspiring tyre. When it goes, it goes. -price, for the price in my size you can have goodyear asymmetric5 for cheaper, and michelin ps4 for only a litle bit more money. I personnaly do not recommend this tyre.
1 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2020   
Given 45% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Dry grip was good. In general the tyre was comfortable. Wet grip was scary a lot of aquaplaning when I went into any amount of water.
3 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2020   
Given 63% while driving a Lexus IS250 RWD (255/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Tyre is good for grip and handling dry or wet on the rear of a red lexus. Wear though is really poor lasted 6k at best and this was not a hard life
1 - tyre reviewed on October 26, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Ford Mondeo Mk3 1.8 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
best tyre for the price, the grip is there dry or wet, very balanced tyre , the wear is average but they are cheap, overall you get a premium tyre for lesss money
0 - tyre reviewed on September 26, 2019   
Given 61% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/45 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
Will start by saying these tyres wear quickly on heavy cars!! I have a BMW 320d M Sport and I have done 5,000 miles / 8 months on these tyres and they are now 4mm tread left. So I am expecting these tyres to last up to 10,000 miles :-(

Overall these are good tyres for grip both wet and dry and smooth running. Some things they are not good for are very hard sidewalls so you have to pump the type up to around 36psi to get decent roll on them. Also I was not impressed with the fuel eco on them as they are F grade.
1 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2019   
BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Absolutely terrible tyres had them on my 330i lasted 50000 miles I drive sensible & only do 20 miles a day, worst tyre I’ve experienced never again
8 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2019   
Given 87% while driving a Kia Motors (225/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 2,500 average miles
I had these tyres on now for just over 6 months after swapping out the ES32 ecos that came with my car and quickly noticed a difference on the way back. Steering weight was slightly heavier, more responsive while turning and more steering feedback. While driving hard I haven't heard any tyre squeal and grip is more than enough both in the dry and wet. While cruising around town it's reasonably quiet and comfortable for this class of tyre. Wear seems to be good so far and I can still see the tread's flag decals on the rears. I would definitely buy these again especially considering they are much more affordable than premium brands while having similar performance.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2019