Porsche Cayman Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Porsche Cayman.

Do you Drive a Porsche Cayman? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cayman better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (88) 94% 90% 87% 89% 86% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (10) 90% 80% 81% 85% 92% 87%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (134) 95% 85% 89% 86% 82% 82%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (158) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Pirelli P Zero (126) 85% 71% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Nexen N7000 (6) 63% 48% 53% 53% 73% 52%

Porsche Cayman Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Sport given 87% (265-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Handled and rode very well. Still have half tread after a dozen track days but heat cycled out after about 10. Good value but will flat spot after sitting especially in colder temperatures. Needed rebalancing a few times
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-07 19:13:33
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 96% (265-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Just buy them. Wet grip is nearly as good as dry grip. Quieter than I thought they would be. The car feels awesome compared with the ditchfinders the previous owner had fitted. I will be fitting these to all of my cars in the future. I've driven my Cayman over 100 miles in the snow with these on and only had one slide which is unbelievable for a tyre that offers this sort of dry performance.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-06 11:31:03
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 87% (265-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These are the tyres thaty were fitted when I have bought my 2009 Cayman, so they were just about half worn. I was very, very surprised by their exceptional handling and grip. Comfort is good, considering the low sidewall and road feedback is very good. The wear seems quite high, expecially considering that the car is quite light (1300kg) and not a lot of power (265hp). Overall, I think these are the best road tyres that I ever had, but considering their price, I would not buy them, as there are very similar performing tyres for a third less (Hankook S1 evo 2).
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-11 13:06:00
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 94% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli’s P zero Rossos , improvement in the dry. Very good tyre. Would recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-24 15:36:05
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 46% (265-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
These P-Zero N1’s came with the car. Dry handling is excellent. Unfortunately grip in any other conditions is just terrible. I have 3mm left on the rears yet even in light rain they just don’t grip. Traction control light flashing like mad on mild acceleration, the back slides out all over the place, thankfully the Porsche run an experience day at Silverstone which teaches you all about handling the car safely, not something I had planned to use quite so frequently. Anyway replacement tyres now ordered I will not be going back to Pirelli.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-04 20:44:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 58% (205-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 350 spirited miles
Replaced 7 year old Michelin PS2's with Goodyear Eagle F1 assym
Right away they felt funny, and after 300 km started troubleshooting.
They felt like i was driving on a flat tire.
even though they were already pumped more then the PS2s and porsches user manual requres.

lower pressure made it worse and highier pressure somehow made a bit of a difference, but at 1 bar over the normal pressure it no longer improved.

After 500 km I got so fed up with the way my car drove, and how it pretty much made me seasick .. there was a delay on steer in and changing direction in a turn felt wobbeley in the back when the Michelins did not have this issue

Replaced them with new Michelin PS2's at 550 km. Goodyear even came to check out the tires, took em with me and reported back they were 'in spec'.. So it's not a production fault , but a poor tire design and spec.
And they sent em back.. now i'm stuck with 4 useless Goodyear tires..
Maybe I can sell em off the next time there is a strike somewhere and the union people need something to burn.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-11 14:09:04
Writing about the Nexen N7000 given 30% (265-35-19-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles

These tyres may be black and round, but it's about all they have in common with other brands. But I suspect the material they're mad of is closer to bakelite than actual rubber.

Dry grip is okay-ish, if you don't push too hard, wet grip is positively terrifying. What's worse, the tyres let go with almost no warning.

The 35 section tyres on 19" wheels that I have are harsh and noisy, making trips on less than perfect road surfaces an unpleasant chore.

On the positive side, they're last a long time. Which is a shame, because I'm getting rid of them after only 6,500km.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-20 00:43:53
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 87% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Best tyres for Porsche Cayman
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-05 17:01:18
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 57% (265-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Good tyres in every respect except wear - unbelievably they have only lasted 5,000 miles on genuine easy going driving by my wife despite the make ! Given how costly they are to buy I will not buy again.I have also put 4 PS2's on my VW Phaeton and,again, they are down to the wear bar after only 8,000 miles.That is,frankly ridiculous !
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-23 10:12:27
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 97% (255-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 12000 spirited miles
The only thing I didn't like was the price, otherwise an epic tyre
tyre reviewed on 2010-03-14 11:05:54
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre