Porsche Cayman Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Porsche Cayman.

Do you Drive a Porsche Cayman? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Cayman better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3R (3) 97% 75% 97% 97% 70% 90%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (120) 93% 89% 86% 88% 83% 86%
Continental ExtremeContact Sport (13) 92% 83% 83% 81% 88% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (154) 94% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (142) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (70) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 75%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (291) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Kumho Ecsta PS91 (38) 84% 75% 77% 76% 58% 73%
Pirelli P Zero (140) 85% 70% 77% 73% 60% 65%
Nexen N7000 (7) 64% 49% 56% 54% 76% 49%

Porsche Cayman Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS91 given 71% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3700 spirited miles
Used them on my Cayman from new to legal thread thickness. Definitely NOT a UHP tyre from a grip perspective, as you can easily overheat it on a normal twisty mountain road. When warmed-up the grip is almost ok, steering feeling is also good, but when pushing after a while you loose confidence, feeling and grip. Tested once on track and it is absolutely the wrong tyre, as soon becoming unpredictable (spinning at same speed, same corner at second lap). You can buy it for a normal everiday usage of the car, if in you size this is the Kumho offer, as this is a very cheap tyre. Avoid it for sporty road or track usage.
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-25 11:03:00
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 90% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1200 spirited miles
By far this is the best tyre I've ever owned, so far. I drove my Cayman only on mountain twisty roads, as that was my "sunday car" and fitting those tyres completely changed my car. With Potenza Sport you get a semi-slick tyre looking like a "normal" UHP everyday tyre which you can run silently on a motorway or enjoy in the worst (or best) racing scenario. I couldn't believe such a sporty (steering feeling is amazing), grippy (no matter whether tyre is cold, warm or overheated, it GRIPS!) and yet comfortable tyre coud exist on earth!
tyre reviewed on 2022-09-25 10:55:29
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3R given 98% (-40-18-)
Driving on track for 300 spirited miles
2015 Porsche Cayman GTS. Manual Transmission x73 suspension. 245 40 18 front 265 40 18 rear. Having been a Porsche racer and DE driver/instructor for 30 years now, I can assess tires with an eye to what works. My stock tires were Pirelli P Zero Porsche NO tires that I drove on the track. Not so great. Went to NT01s. Ok, but not so good. Gave the 01s away and put on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Supercar 3R. Wow! Started concerned because the newest 3Rs that I could get from TireRack were made July 2020 and October 2019. In terms of age, they were almost done. Had them heat cycled and gave it a go. These tires never stepped wrong, stepped out or gave me any issues that were of concern. I have raced on Hoosier slicks, R6's, R7's Goodyear bias, Toyo RA1s BFG R1s over the years as well as instructed in all sorts of cars with all sort of tires. So far, nothing beats these tires on the track. Driving conservatively at Buttonwillow and I was turning 2:12s. No where near the limits of the car or myself. Love the car too much to push it to it's limits, but the tires did great. After 10 heat cycles, they showed little wear. Keep in mind that these tires are almost past their age limits. Now, I need to find a set that are freshly made and not 3 years old. Goodyear needs to make more sizes than they have now. It would be nice to get some 20" tires that are closer to the stock size needed. My car is a manual and I would use the power to rotate the car on tight corners. Stuck like glue. In the twisties, was able to take tighter lines than I would typically take. I had not anticipated driving my car home on the road. Lent my trailer to a friend so that he could get his broken car home. 210 miles on 2 lane and 4 lanes of Hwy101 to get home. They were quiet and ran great. It is essential to watch the air pressure. Start with 28 in the morning and bleed them down to 34/35. take it slowly for the first 2 laps of consecutive sessions until the pressures come up. Bleed them down if over 35 at the end of the session. Add air before you leave the track, whether it is to go to a hotel or home. Start the process all over the next day.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-29 01:48:49
Writing about the Continental ExtremeContact Sport given 87% (265-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Handled and rode very well. Still have half tread after a dozen track days but heat cycled out after about 10. Good value but will flat spot after sitting especially in colder temperatures. Needed rebalancing a few times
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-07 19:13:33
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 96% (265-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Just buy them. Wet grip is nearly as good as dry grip. Quieter than I thought they would be. The car feels awesome compared with the ditchfinders the previous owner had fitted. I will be fitting these to all of my cars in the future. I've driven my Cayman over 100 miles in the snow with these on and only had one slide which is unbelievable for a tyre that offers this sort of dry performance.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-06 11:31:03
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Super Sport given 87% (265-35-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These are the tyres thaty were fitted when I have bought my 2009 Cayman, so they were just about half worn. I was very, very surprised by their exceptional handling and grip. Comfort is good, considering the low sidewall and road feedback is very good. The wear seems quite high, expecially considering that the car is quite light (1300kg) and not a lot of power (265hp). Overall, I think these are the best road tyres that I ever had, but considering their price, I would not buy them, as there are very similar performing tyres for a third less (Hankook S1 evo 2).
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-11 13:06:00
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 94% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Replaced Pirelli’s P zero Rossos , improvement in the dry. Very good tyre. Would recommend.
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-24 16:36:05
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 46% (265-45-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
These P-Zero N1’s came with the car. Dry handling is excellent. Unfortunately grip in any other conditions is just terrible. I have 3mm left on the rears yet even in light rain they just don’t grip. Traction control light flashing like mad on mild acceleration, the back slides out all over the place, thankfully the Porsche run an experience day at Silverstone which teaches you all about handling the car safely, not something I had planned to use quite so frequently. Anyway replacement tyres now ordered I will not be going back to Pirelli.
tyre reviewed on 2018-01-04 20:44:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 58% (205-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 350 spirited miles
Replaced 7 year old Michelin PS2's with Goodyear Eagle F1 assym
Right away they felt funny, and after 300 km started troubleshooting.
They felt like i was driving on a flat tire.
even though they were already pumped more then the PS2s and porsches user manual requres.

lower pressure made it worse and highier pressure somehow made a bit of a difference, but at 1 bar over the normal pressure it no longer improved.

After 500 km I got so fed up with the way my car drove, and how it pretty much made me seasick .. there was a delay on steer in and changing direction in a turn felt wobbeley in the back when the Michelins did not have this issue

Replaced them with new Michelin PS2's at 550 km. Goodyear even came to check out the tires, took em with me and reported back they were 'in spec'.. So it's not a production fault , but a poor tire design and spec.
And they sent em back.. now i'm stuck with 4 useless Goodyear tires..
Maybe I can sell em off the next time there is a strike somewhere and the union people need something to burn.
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-11 14:09:04
Writing about the Nexen N7000 given 30% (265-35-19-R)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4 spirited miles

These tyres may be black and round, but it's about all they have in common with other brands. But I suspect the material they're mad of is closer to bakelite than actual rubber.

Dry grip is okay-ish, if you don't push too hard, wet grip is positively terrifying. What's worse, the tyres let go with almost no warning.

The 35 section tyres on 19" wheels that I have are harsh and noisy, making trips on less than perfect road surfaces an unpleasant chore.

On the positive side, they're last a long time. Which is a shame, because I'm getting rid of them after only 6,500km.
tyre reviewed on 2015-04-20 01:43:53
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 87% (265-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Best tyres for Porsche Cayman
tyre reviewed on 2014-07-05 18:01:18
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 given 57% (265-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 easy going miles
Good tyres in every respect except wear - unbelievably they have only lasted 5,000 miles on genuine easy going driving by my wife despite the make ! Given how costly they are to buy I will not buy again.I have also put 4 PS2's on my VW Phaeton and,again, they are down to the wear bar after only 8,000 miles.That is,frankly ridiculous !
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-23 11:12:27
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre