Pirelli P Zero Runflat

The Pirelli P Zero Runflat is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 41 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 408,432 miles driven.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 74%
Wear 58%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 57%

The P Zero Runflat is ranked 59th of 77 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Pirelli P Zero Runflat

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli P Zero Runflat

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli P Zero Runflat

2017-03-13 - Recently there has been a new Pirelli P Zero launched with specific requirements for different car manufacturers. Has the P Zero Runflat OE for BMW cars also been upgraded to the new Pirelli tyre with the latest technology? So if I buy a new Pirelli runflat for my BMW I will be buying the latest tyre technology?

We're unsure on how many of the runflat sizes have been updated, but tyre dealers are referring to the new P Zero as the PZ4, so if you specify this version of the tyre they should know you want the updated model and advise accordingly.


2017-03-21 - Is it advisaible to have 3 Pirelli P7 runflats and one P zero on nearside rear

No, it is never advisable to mix a runflat and non-runflat tyre across the same axle.


2019-09-10 - Having read all the reviews about this PZero RFT, I am confused if I should go for the PZero or Bridgestone S001 RFT!! Please advise 218 D MSport

There's very little objective runflat testing done in the world sadly, though if it's the new PZ4 in runflat I would think about that. Also check out Bridgestone DriveGuard.


2021-11-20 - How resistant are Pirelli P0 run flat tires against punctures ? Will they resist if they receive a bullet ?

It is unlikely any runflat tyre would stop a bullet, other than those specifically designed for armoured cars.


2022-06-08 - Does this tyre have an built in rim protector?

Rim protection can vary on size, so it's best to check directly with Pirelli.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Pirelli P Zero Runflat Reviews

Given 83% while driving a BMW 130i M (205/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I have tried various Run Flats and Normal tyres over the years, and i am very satisfied with these RF P Zero's. Feels great and has totally transformed the way the car feels. I feel the tyre technology has come on so much over the years. I'm very happy with the level of grip, and feel just as good as when I ran the normal P Zeros.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Nissan 350z (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
So actually I have mine just on the fronts with non run flats in the rear and when I did that I had no clue the fronts were run flats. They felt so good on my 350z and turn in was amazing. The way so little input can change my direction it felt telepathic. So yeah they’re pretty good doubt you’ll even notice any tradeoff
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Nissan 350z (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
So actually I have mine just on the fronts with non run flats in the rear and when I did that I had no clue the fronts were run flats. They felt so good on my 350z and turn in was amazing. The way so little input can change my direction it felt telepathic. So yeah they’re pretty good doubt you’ll even notice any tradeoff
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2023
Have you driven on the Pirelli P Zero Runflat tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P Zero Runflat? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P Zero Runflat >

Latest Pirelli P Zero Runflat Reviews

Given 56% while driving a Porsche Cayman (205/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 1 spirited miles
Tyre wall is weak
I have had bad experience with P Zero tyres that fitted to Porsche Cayman718, BMW 630i GT, Mini Cooper S JCW, Mercedes C 350e.
While my replace with a French tyre have worked wonderfully
Distributor in Thailand was so bad
Have not returned my inquiries at all.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2024
Given 59% while driving a BMW 520d Sport (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 19,000 average miles
Having had to replace my tyres for the THIRD time after 91,000km - that’s only 56,500 miles - or 19,000 miles per set - I don’t see these tyres as value for money - particularly as I don’t drive hard.
I’d have expected to get up to 25,000 miles on a set of Run Flats.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 57% while driving a BMW X5 (315/35 R21) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
This is second set of Pirelli tires that I have owned. Pirelli tires (in my opinion) are awful. Last pair would not balance or hold balance after the dealer replaced all 4 tires and performed multiple balance, now I have my second set that came with my 2022 BMW and the tires are bad after 30K miles of mild driving mix of highway and city. 4 tires and they have all different wear levels. How is that even possible. Will never by Pirelli's again. The brand is awful. I would pay more for Michelin. I road race motorcycles as well and my friends that run Pirelli's only run the once, they they flip to Michelin. I do not know how Pirelli is still in business as they have an inferior product (IMHO).
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2022
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz W213 E300 (245/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 11,200 average miles
Have been driving my car for 3 years and this is the first tire change. The W213 E300 AMG line is factory fitted with 245/35/R20 in the front and 275/30/R20 at the back. These combination is probably not the best fit for a luxury sedan model as the large wheels on runflats give poor comfort. You literally can feel the grits, bumps and the ruts on the roads. It is not noisy though but just not comfortable ride. In terms of road grip in dry and wet is acceptable, except that the car tends to understeer a bit in tight corners. The car comes with adapative suspension and therefore I can feel the compensation as it happens. My biggest issue is its wear rate. Coupled by the thin side walls that tend to tear and buckle, Pirelli P Zero is just not hardy for use in this cars. More so considering that I am a reasonable drive and not one who does not drive his car to its limit. In fact, for a mere 11,000 miles, the tires have worn out its treads so quickly than any other comparable cars I have owned before. I have recently changed the tires with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmertric 3 and the feeling is very contrasting. The ride is smoother, slightly quieter but a lot more comfortable, and the grip is acceptable. The wet grip is better than the Pirelli's I had. It is slightly more expensive though but is worth the money. Not sure on the long run but will comment further when have had enough experience with them.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2022
Given 91% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 55,000 average miles
I have reviewed these previously, and at 55,000 these tyres are down to 2mm all round. Overall excellent tyres and have lasted ages on my car, albeit they were on the front of my BMW 520d but they will now be replaced with michellin ps4 run flats.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2021
Given 54% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (275/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 6,400 average miles
These came as factory fitted MOE runflat tyres on the rear axle. Car had 20" 245/35r20 PZ4 runflats in front and 275/30r20 runflats P Zero (all MOE) for RWD w213. I Replaced these tyres and wheels at 10600km. I've driven 8600km of that mileage. The tyres wore like rubber bands on the 20" wheels. Unlike the 245/35 PZ4s, these do not have sound deadening foam and overall tyre noise is louder in the cabin from the rear axle. Ride comfort is 7/10 on highways due to air suspension. On chip seal, speed humps, potholed roads ride comfort is 4/10 - very abrupt jarring transmitted to cabin due to tyre profile and rims. Wet grip in cold (5'C) and damp country highways was 6/10 at 110km/h speeds - with some side slip noticeable. Dry grip was 8/10 most of the time but with occasional rear traction slips at highway speeds in curves. This combination of tyres and rims is quite poor for a luxury sedan and compliant rides.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2021
Given 91% while driving a BMW 520d M Sport (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 47,000 average miles
I purchased my car with had covered 33,000 miles and the BMW dealer fitted these tyres all round, I have now covered 80,000 miles and these tyres are down to 4mm and wearing evenly, so they have covered 47,000 miles and are still only down to 4mm this is insane. I think they will do around 60,000 miles when they finally get to below 2mm and as they have a treadwear rating of 220 and are AA rated that is some going. The dry and wet handling has been excellent, and yes as they are on the front of a rear wheel driven car and the real driving is done at the rears I did not expect 50,000 miles out of them after 2 years and still 4mm. Overall excellent value for money and excellent tyres.
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2021
Given 79% while driving a BMW 335d (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
They were fitted on my F30 335d xdrive when I bought it. BMW approved with star. Great tires with good enough wear for mine spirited driving. Had only one scary aquaplaning moment on motorway at high speeds, but that was in really heavy rain. Otherwise very good grip especially in dry. Only “downfall “ I have is that I hit deeper pothole and from tire split near the rim and had to replaced both front ones. Few months later while driving on motorway and changing lanes my rear tires got cut on the Cat eyes reflectors . But still car stayed stable and I kept driving for another 60 km with no air at 100km/h. I’m on my second set of Pirelli’s and they’re my num1 choice, especially for bmw with factory msport suspension, they make car handle beautifully.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2021
Mercedes Benz 220 cdi advantgarde (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 1 average miles
My first set on my E220 lasted 12,000 miles, tyres were shredded and split around on the inner wall, told it was down to bad tyre pressures !!!!!! I would have been notified via app and dashboard if they were and regular manual checks. Installed another set and the same happened again.....despite me laying under the car to keep checking and more frequent checks with tyre gauge. So 12,000 miles out of each set. Mercedes just checked the second set after 1,000 miles and say 7mm front and 6mm rear, so 30% down on rear already. Anyone Elsa had this problem ?
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2021
BMW (255/35 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
2020. Good grip when dry. Poor in wet. Try something else.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2021
Given 50% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (275/35 R19 N) on mostly town for 10 easy going miles
Very noisy and uncomfortable. I only got 10,000 miles on my new Merc on the rear tyres. Front still 70% good. NOT an aggressive driver. 80 years of age.!!!. Changed all 4 to ordinary tyres. The best decision ever. I now appreciate the finer qualities of my new E220 AMG.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2020
Given 63% while driving a BMW 318D (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
This is the first pirelli and first runflat that i’ve driven on. Dry grip is perfect, progresive, you can really feel the road, you get the feedback. But then, this tyre is a nightmare on wet roads, especially on faster roads with lot of standing water. Had a couple of really scary moments. I have them on my bmw 318d rwd (my2020) for about 5000 km, the wear is ok, but would not consider buying then ever again. Summary- dry handling perfect, wet handling disaster.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2020