BMW X5 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW X5.

Do you Drive a BMW X5? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a X5 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Altenzo Navigator (5) 94% 92% 96% 94% 94% 92%
Goodyear UltraGrip plus SUV (4) 90% 98% 85% 90% 95% 97%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (113) 93% 89% 87% 88% 85% 86%
Hankook Ventus ST (19) 89% 84% 84% 84% 92% 84%
Accelera Iota ST68 (8) 89% 80% 87% 73% 88% 84%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Toyo Proxes ST (13) 91% 87% 88% 73% 89% 85%
Maxxis HP M3 (4) 78% 83% 83% 78% 88% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV (11) 89% 88% 80% 87% 72% 75%
Nankang AS2 (5) 88% 90% 72% 76% 80% 86%
Michelin Latitude Diamaris (5) 95% 75% 58% 77% 85% 85%
Kinforest KF550 UHP (17) 72% 66% 69% 68% 66% 70%
Jinyu YU63 (52) 78% 62% 67% 66% 72% 72%
Continental Sport Contact 3 SSR Run flat (26) 82% 73% 71% 73% 70% 56%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (155) 80% 69% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Michelin Latitude tour HP (29) 79% 66% 66% 68% 73% 79%
Apollo Aspire 4G (9) 72% 57% 68% 66% 54% 63%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx ROF (10) 79% 69% 66% 59% 44% 65%
Zeta Azura (11) 70% 60% 65% 57% 50% 67%
Roadstone Roadian HP (8) 59% 49% 50% 51% 60% 53%

BMW X5 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Kinforest KF550 UHP given 49% (315-35-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 16000 easy going miles
I bought these tires for my X5 4.8is because the old tires were worn and there was a bulge. I didn’t splurge on premium tires because my intial intention was to flip the car and make money. Long story short, I ended keeping the car and stuck to the tires. About 25,000km, these tires were well worn to the legal limit. It performed well in the dry. Perform almost as well as a premium tires in dry but dangerous in the wet. The noise level was a little noisy but not too bad. The wet weather performance was apalling and disappointed in the tread life. I would not recommend this tires and would not buy again. There were quite expensive in the first place. I would instead try a different tires
tyre reviewed on 2022-07-13 04:17:55
Writing about the Nankang AS2 given 67% (275-40-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 spirited miles
feels good everywhere with high speed over 220 kmh the straightrun is not good enough, and i suspect it is because of the (soft) tyres
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-23 18:43:58
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 92% (275-40-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
Replaced the front tyres on my 2014 BMW X5 50i M-sport. Can't being to express what a huge difference this made. Absolutely blown away by the Michelin. Obviously would be a big change coming from Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport runflats. I was always annoyed by the amount of noise made by these, but even only replacing the fronts has cut the noise significantly. The rears are are still the old bridgestones at size 315/35/20, and just to demonstrate how much more grip the smaller Michelins have in dry, any corner I can load up the fronts progressively or snap steer and the rear just oversteers way before there is even any hint of the front Michelins losing grip. Prior to the Michelins it was understeer only unless you applied boatloads of power. No experience (yet) with wet, live in the middle east. Lastly the comfort levels are hugely improved. Obviously the change from a runflat might make the largest difference, but for a sport tyre comfort is really good. Would most certainly buy again(and will), by far the best tyre I've ever bought. Handling is excellent, immediate response and accuracy.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 14:47:31
Writing about the Apollo Aspire 4G given 10% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 114 easy going miles
Almost crashed multiple times in the rain because of the tyres
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-09 06:39:07
Writing about the Jinyu YU63 given 51% (315-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 average miles
Fitted to x5 I bought by garage and went in for service and mechanic laughed at me for having these fitted as on inspection the inner sidewall was delaminating and potentially causing a blowout with disastrous results. I hear these have a sidewall issue and indeed I feel lucky to have ditched them before they ditched me
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-08 22:37:24
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 67% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 37000 easy going miles
Easy driving on overall nice roads and it's now time to replace all four tires after 59,500 km. I've read a lot of reviews about rough driving on Run Flats but I bought mine from a friend and could not tell the difference since. I'm still contemplating whether to go Run Flats or normal. But I will not be buying these Dunlops again because of a few times I've slipped on conditions It should not have slipped. I would say grip is the weakest point of these tires based on my experience.
tyre reviewed on 2020-08-27 07:31:02
Writing about the Altenzo Navigator given 93% (315-35-20-W)
Driving on for 25000 miles
40.000km in City roads most. Wear is 50% that's fantastic for this size.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-09 21:29:49
Writing about the Accelera Iota ST68 given 78% (315-35-20-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-02-10 14:11:57
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 SUV given 96% (255-50-19-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-08-14 22:10:13
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip plus SUV given 95% (275-40-20-S)
Driving on mostly town for 100 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-30 21:17:07
Writing about the Zeta Azura given 73% (315-35-20-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
the zeta azura's are a great tire. value for money, served me well for the last 18 months. only down side is that they are very noisy especially on concreate motorways
tyre reviewed on 2018-05-18 14:10:21
Writing about the Maxxis HP M3 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 28000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-03-23 16:42:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre