Michelin Energy XM2

The Michelin Energy XM2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 50 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 913,550 miles driven.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 74%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 74%
Wear 86%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 70%

First On MarketJune 2011
Wheel Size15 - 16"
Width185 - 205mm
Profile55 - 60
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)67 - 68
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Energy XM2 is ranked 67th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy X2 Plus.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Energy XM2

SizeFuelWetNoise
15 inch
185/60R15 84 HDC68
16 inch
205/60R16 92 VCB67
205/55R16 91 VCB67
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin Energy XM2 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Energy XM2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Michelin Energy XM2 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Honda CRV (215/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
these tyres are quite worth the price for the qualities it has. economy wise abit of improvement hardly noticable. comfort is very good at first when new nearly no noise but now after awhile starting to get noisier. grip levels are good but its fitted on an suv so yea.. tread wear still very good even though this car has been known to eat tyres because of its small width and heavy weight.
Helpful 350 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016
Given 64% while driving a Chevrolet Lacetti (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 1,500 easy going miles
It is very noisy and hard... when compared to my previous bridgestone ecopia 300 and continental cc6. Makes your steering wheel feels bumpy and harsh. Not comfortable at all.. very disappointed.Will stay away from these for sure. From an experienced skillful driver of 40 years. Michelin XM2plus is really an over rated tyre. It is like riding on non-pneumatic tyres. Takes uneven road surfaces very badly. The worst by far!
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on June 19, 2023
Given 93% while driving a (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
Replacing my saga R3 so call "performance" car. Equip with ATLAS A350 thailand tyre. After about 1 year change the tyre to MX2+. cabin noice drop noticeable. Wet handling and breaking improve tremendously. And really improve on comfort...
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2022
Have you driven on the Michelin Energy XM2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy XM2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Energy XM2 >

Latest Michelin Energy XM2 Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Nissan Grand Livina (in Asia only) (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 20,000 average miles
Good grip compare to stock from original when car are new. noise level compartible to cc6 & no worry of soft side wall.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Nissan Cube (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
Reliably for all sorts of dry, frosty and wet roads with comfort. I could easily get an extra 50 klms per tank on distance so the tyres saved me on fuel as well.

With weight added, the sidewalls stayed true to their form both low and Hiway speeds.

I've had theses tyres for six years and so happy with them.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 89% while driving a Proton saga flx (185/60 R14) on a combination of roads for 60,000 average miles
Better than cc6,better braking grip on dry / wet, best for daily use,previous set last for 100k km around 12-14 months,only 1 small problem, its noisy, the only thing good about cc6 when compare to xm2+ is cc6 are much quiet,thats all. Overall tyre performance,of course xm2+
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 82% while driving a Mitsubishi magna (205/65 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
Had four years and done 16,000 kms. Still looking new. Very quiet with nice road feel and feedback. About to fit 1" larger diameter wheels and will definitely be fitting another set of these.
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on April 29, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Renault Logan (225/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I drove these tyres more than 7000 km , on dry, wet and even snowy roads ! Guess what I am surprised by its performance and comfort.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Estima Type X (215/60 R16) on mostly town for 90,000 average miles
Low noise, smooth ride, low resistance, long lasting. The tyres looked worn out towards its end of life but was still performing well, though the noise level increases (which is expected). I have used Michelin XM, XM2 and just installed 4 brand new XM2+. Highly recommended for those looking for affordable, safe and comfortable tyres.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 4,600 easy going miles
on a 1330cc honda fit 2013 ..good dry grip.no issues in the wet, comfort is ok and noise level is ok also..i have already put 75000km on this tyre and it still like new but i am not an aggressive driver. i am not hard on the brakes, i rarely do above 100km on highway, i use 75% city and 25% highway and i often carry 4 passengers...but it is very expensive now
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 6,500 average miles
Not bad at all , very good dry and wet grip, road feedback is good, have them for 10k kilos still like new, however they are a little noisy and squeaky especially in summer day. They're not that eco tiers they rate c , but not bad at all.
Helpful 42 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021
Given 53% while driving a Honda City (185/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Just change my Honda city gm6 new set of XM2 plus at RM180 per pcs. Previouly Gooduear GT3 is overall better then this, In dry or wet condition. Only good thing is more confort and silent, others is underperforming as my opinion.
Helpful 62 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 xt (185/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Been on the car almost 9 years. Wow!
Helpful 57 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2020
Toyota (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Short intro: toyota Mark X is a JDM toyota basically a Lexus IS250, same power, chassis, handling dynamics, so on... So its stock wheels are ONLY 16 inch makes no sense.
I bought these new when I was just getting into cars, there I only knew michelin is the best tyre manufacturer but I didnt knew tyres have models! Hence I settled for these, instead of michelin PS3 PS4 which are the best ones.

Region: tropical Asian, only sun and rain.

Dry grip and brake were excellent when new, and still quite good now near their end of life. Dry cornering is also pretty confident.
Wet grip and brake was only good when new, but it is getting scarier nearing their end of life.
When wet, it is easy to skid during U-turns or sharp turns, it is fun when I do it on purpose but dangerous as I had unwanted slips when carrying my family for a couple of times.

Handling is okay, consistent throughout all its life.
Road noise gets progressively louder and more obnoxious a long its life.
Comfort is good, wear is excellent consider I've done 40km/25mil in 2 years.

Overall, wouldn't get these again, good for economy cars (city cars, grocery getters), but not on a heavy RWD sedan

Bought new set of 18X8.5 wheels and are going Hankook V12 Evo2 next.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2019
Given 80% while driving a BMW 325i (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Review for Michelin Energy XM2 size 185/65/R15 on a 1994 BMW 325i sedan
I find these tyres almost perfect for average daily driving
high comfort and low road noise
impressive tire wear (22500 miles so far and plenty of tread left)
impressive braking performance during emergency stop situations
just dont exect UHP handling and grip levels, these are real world daily tyres
my only concern are the soft sidewalls in potholes, had to replace one
I would buy them again...
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2019