Michelin Energy XM2

The Michelin Energy XM2 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Energy X2 Plus.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 80%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 72%
Handling 73%
Wear 85%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 70%

Tyre review data from 46 tyre reviews averaging 75% over 832,050 miles driven.

The Energy XM2 is ranked 74th of 137 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Michelin Energy XM2

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Michelin Energy XM2

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Michelin Energy XM2. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Michelin Energy XM2 Reviews

Given 64% while driving a Honda CRV (215/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
these tyres are quite worth the price for the qualities it has. economy wise abit of improvement hardly noticable. comfort is very good at first when new nearly no noise but now after awhile starting to get noisier. grip levels are good but its fitted on an suv so yea.. tread wear still very good even though this car has been known to eat tyres because of its small width and heavy weight.
Helpful 293 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2016
Given 86% while driving a Honda City (175/65 R14 R) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
Nice tyres. Using it over two years now. Even in bad roads it is durable.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2017
Given 93% while driving a Toyota (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 16 average miles
Another excellent product from Michelin. It is soft and comfortable. Very good touring Tyres. I have so far used them for approx 16,000Kms and still looks brand new. It seems like that these will go on forever, Extremely good investment. I was a hardcore Bridgestone Turanza fan. Couldn't find a set from the Bridgestone brand for my tire size requirement. Based on the positive reviews on the internet, I switched to Michelin . I will stay with this product for sure.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on January 25, 2018
Have you driven on the Michelin Energy XM2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy XM2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Energy XM2 >

Latest Michelin Energy XM2 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a (185/55 R15) on a combination of roads for 600 average miles
Replacing my saga R3 so call "performance" car. Equip with ATLAS A350 thailand tyre. After about 1 year change the tyre to MX2+. cabin noice drop noticeable. Wet handling and breaking improve tremendously. And really improve on comfort...
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2022
Given 82% while driving a Mitsubishi magna (205/65 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 easy going miles
Had four years and done 16,000 kms. Still looking new. Very quiet with nice road feel and feedback. About to fit 1" larger diameter wheels and will definitely be fitting another set of these.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2022
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 93% while driving a Renault Logan (225/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I drove these tyres more than 7000 km , on dry, wet and even snowy roads ! Guess what I am surprised by its performance and comfort.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Estima Type X (215/60 R16) on mostly town for 90,000 average miles
Low noise, smooth ride, low resistance, long lasting. The tyres looked worn out towards its end of life but was still performing well, though the noise level increases (which is expected). I have used Michelin XM, XM2 and just installed 4 brand new XM2+. Highly recommended for those looking for affordable, safe and comfortable tyres.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Honda Fit (Jazz) (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 4,600 easy going miles
on a 1330cc honda fit 2013 ..good dry grip.no issues in the wet, comfort is ok and noise level is ok also..i have already put 75000km on this tyre and it still like new but i am not an aggressive driver. i am not hard on the brakes, i rarely do above 100km on highway, i use 75% city and 25% highway and i often carry 4 passengers...but it is very expensive now
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 6,500 average miles
Not bad at all , very good dry and wet grip, road feedback is good, have them for 10k kilos still like new, however they are a little noisy and squeaky especially in summer day. They're not that eco tiers they rate c , but not bad at all.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on June 14, 2021
Given 53% while driving a Honda City (185/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Just change my Honda city gm6 new set of XM2 plus at RM180 per pcs. Previouly Gooduear GT3 is overall better then this, In dry or wet condition. Only good thing is more confort and silent, others is underperforming as my opinion.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 3, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 206 1.6 xt (185/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Been on the car almost 9 years. Wow!
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2020
Toyota (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 25 spirited miles
Short intro: toyota Mark X is a JDM toyota basically a Lexus IS250, same power, chassis, handling dynamics, so on... So its stock wheels are ONLY 16 inch makes no sense.
I bought these new when I was just getting into cars, there I only knew michelin is the best tyre manufacturer but I didnt knew tyres have models! Hence I settled for these, instead of michelin PS3 PS4 which are the best ones.

Region: tropical Asian, only sun and rain.

Dry grip and brake were excellent when new, and still quite good now near their end of life. Dry cornering is also pretty confident.
Wet grip and brake was only good when new, but it is getting scarier nearing their end of life.
When wet, it is easy to skid during U-turns or sharp turns, it is fun when I do it on purpose but dangerous as I had unwanted slips when carrying my family for a couple of times.

Handling is okay, consistent throughout all its life.
Road noise gets progressively louder and more obnoxious a long its life.
Comfort is good, wear is excellent consider I've done 40km/25mil in 2 years.

Overall, wouldn't get these again, good for economy cars (city cars, grocery getters), but not on a heavy RWD sedan

Bought new set of 18X8.5 wheels and are going Hankook V12 Evo2 next.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2019
Given 80% while driving a BMW 325i (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 22,000 average miles
Review for Michelin Energy XM2 size 185/65/R15 on a 1994 BMW 325i sedan
I find these tyres almost perfect for average daily driving
high comfort and low road noise
impressive tire wear (22500 miles so far and plenty of tread left)
impressive braking performance during emergency stop situations
just dont exect UHP handling and grip levels, these are real world daily tyres
my only concern are the soft sidewalls in potholes, had to replace one
I would buy them again...
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2019
Given 59% while driving a Toyota Mark X (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
First, toyota markx is a Jdm car, sedan 2.5 V6 Rwd, 212hp 260nm, so the oem wheels of 16X7.5 with 215/60R16 doesn't make sense

When i got the car i didnt know crap about specific tyre models, was thinking michelin is one of the best, hence settled for xm2.

*I live in tropical country, no snow but rains a lot

When dry, grip is alright, handling is good,not sure about road feedback but comfort was also good, tyre noise increases with mileage.
Not the most powerful car, but at roundabouts or U-turns, if i floor it the car would slip and do small drifts, but flooring it in a straight line never slips.

In wet, if driving defensively it'd be normal, never experienced aquaplaning or slides but, in turns, roundabouts, u turns, if go pass 30% throttle over 3k rpm the car will break loose, have not had an accident yet but it's not fun

Now bought a set of 18x8.5 wheels, looking at Hankook v12 235/50R18
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2019
Given 59% while driving a Toyota Mark X (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
First, toyota markx is a Jdm car, sedan 2.5 V6 Rwd, 212hp 260nm, so the oem wheels of 16X7.5 with 215/60R16 doesn't make sense

When i got the car i didnt know crap about specific tyre models, was thinking michelin is one of the best, hence settled for xm2.

*I live in tropical country, no snow but rains a lot

When dry, grip is alright, handling is good,not sure about road feedback but comfort was also good, tyre noise increases with mileage.
Not the most powerful car, but at roundabouts or U-turns, if i floor it the car would slip and do small drifts, but flooring it in a straight line never slips.

In wet, if driving defensively it'd be normal, never experienced aquaplaning or slides but, in turns, roundabouts, u turns, if go pass 30% throttle over 3k rpm the car will break loose, have not had an accident yet but it's not fun

Now bought a set of 18x8.5 wheels, looking at Hankook v12 235/50R18
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2019