Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW

The Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW is a Touring Winter tyre designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 69%
Wear 87%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 74%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 100%

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 338,000 miles driven.

The Scorpion ICE plus SNOW is ranked 7th of 12 Winter Touring tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2011 Auto Bild 4x4 Winter Tyre Test - 4th of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Precise handling, great steering feel espeically in the wet, well balanced tyre.
  • Negative - Slightly poor aquaplaning results, average braking distances on snow.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW

2018-12-16 - hi can i use these tyers all year round

No it is not recommended to use a dedicated winter tyre like the Scorpion ICE&Snow year round.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Scorpion ICE plus SNOW Prices

Size Price Range  
255/55 R18 £136.70 - £140.00 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 4 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW Reviews

Given 65% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2.7 LTD (235/60 R18 R) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
I live in rural NE Scotland and have had my Pirelli Scorpion Snow and Ice Tyres fitted on my Jeep Cherokee 2.7 CRD Ltd Edition every year since 2011 in Novemeber as winter arrives and removed in April.
Winters have been quite mild the last few years so no great snow falls lying around for long periods of time, I would not say the tyres were really put to any test until Januuary 2nd 2015 when I was coming down quite a steep tarmaced road (in 4 WD) , no snow just ice which I did not really see until the vehicle took off on its own path and had I not hit a sign post which halted the Jeep before dropping into a small river ravine, I had no control whatsoever and was very lucky.
I now have no confidence in the Snow and Ice Pirellis doing what they were supposed to do ! Stop me from sliding on ice. There is plenty tread left on these tyres.
31 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2016   
Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
THIS IS THE SECOND SET .I USED THEM FIRST ON 16" RIMS ON MY MERC ML.CHANGED ML'S BUT THIS ONE HAS 17"RIMS AND THE TYRES FAIL HORRIBLY ON MUD OFF ROAD.MY IMPRESSION IS THAT THE 16"RIMS DEFINATELY COPED BETTER.HOWEVER THIS IS A VERY GOOD ALL TERRAIN ROAD TYRE
1 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2012   
Given 90% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3 (255/55 R19) on a combination of roads for 53,000 average miles
I normally do not write reviews for products I have used, but this time I thought these tyres deserved one. I have just changed back to the set of summer tyres and realised that these winter ones have done an amazing 52.695 miles in total in 10 winters! And they seem to have enough tread depth to last for at least another season next year... They have been great on long motorway journeys, twisty & snowy & icy country roads, city commuting, and the occasional (not too technical) off-road excursion. Fantastic on both ice & snow (we live near Munich, where there tends to be a lot of both during the winter months) and are not noticeably affected by very low (-20C) temperatures. We have a couple of times rescued other cars which had slid into a ditch on icy roads. To be fair, our driving style is not aggressive at all - but then again, our car is a rather heavy one - so I do not know how these tyres will feel on a sporty car. If you want a set of tyres that will perform very well in winter weather and will last for a long, long time, I can fully recommend these.
1 - tyre reviewed on April 24, 2018   
Have you driven on the Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW >

Latest Pirelli Scorpion ICE plus SNOW Reviews

Given 47% while driving a Honda CRV (215/65 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Had tyres on Honda CRV for 3 Scottish winters now , but sadly I'm underwhelmed.
I'd have expected more from a Premium brand like Pirelli.
Progressive grip l is non existent , wear on dry roads is rapid & unfortunatemy noisy.
Had next to no snow here in 3 years so didn't score them on that (nor ice.)
I had a set of Winter Yokohamea on.my is200 that were much better ..
Won't be buying again & will be switching to Cross Climates all round asap - can't go wrong - Colin
0 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Land Rover Freelander 2 (225/70 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Amazing winter tyres
Among my experiences:
I once drove without realising in a modest river bay (water was flowing only in summer) but was covered in snow and couldn't see it. After a couple of tries i managed to get out .Very good grip on snow and ice. Was able to go up a very slippery hill covered in ice (was about 20-25 degrees).
Also i had to rush someone to the hospital on a road with about 15-30 cm of snow for about 10km - the tyres behaved exemplary at over 100km/h
However... Snow breaking is average... Car would slip like on ice even though its just snow. Engine breaking recommended.
On mud the tyre is above average but not great.
Also, the tyre is very very soft so on dry roads doesn't behave as good, especially in tight turns. Other than that its very confortable.
I had it for 4 winters and could easily go though another one but two of the four tyres were penetrated by accident by some nails or something and they kept losing pressure every couple of days so I got rid of them.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 11, 2019   
Want the best performance tyre? Click here!
Given 93% while driving a Toyota Land cruiser prado (265/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Bought a set for my landcruiser 4 years ago to use from November to April.

These tyres are wonderful, my trips to the North of Sweden each year on unpaved uneven ice covered roads, has been made possible with very little drama by these tyres. On one road break I walked up the road to see how icy it really was, went flying onto my back. Crawled back to the car climbed aboard , and drove away as if the road had been sanded. The word ICE on tyre is not a marketing ploy.
Great tread life and as quiet as my Michelin summer tyres.
Will buy again without a second thought.


0 - tyre reviewed on November 4, 2014   
Given 89% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 40,000 spirited miles
Had these so many years I can't be sure, but I think it's about 4 or 5. Done 40+ thousand miles, and they are still leagal!!!
Even when the rear shocks seized up a couple of years ago these tyre still managed to perform.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 18, 2012   
Given 84% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 3 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 57,000 average miles
This is my first winter these Pirelli's on my LR3 in Ottawa Canada were we do get a lot of snow, and we can get it quickly. I like these tires, only problem is they are noisy on dry pavement, and they do wear quickly. I generally change them out in March for my Nokian summer tires.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 19, 2012   
Given 100% while driving a Land Rover Discovery Series 2 TD5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
Hi,
We have these fitted to our Land Rover Discovery 2 that regularly tows 3tons. We live in Italy 2000feet up on the Appennines and can experience 3+ft of snow during winter. There are areas/roads here that require you to have either snow chains or 'snow tyres' before you can proceed. From my research before i bought snow tyres, persuaded by my wife who objected rather too aggressively that she would refuse to get out in the snow and fit snow chains when needed, that these tyres were the most popular and now i know why. They're great. Snow tyres, we are told, are normally a soft compound and can wear considerably when on dry tarmac - see wet tyres on F1 cars - ours are wearing, as we speak, just as well as 'normal tyres'. We have done over 12k miles and i have yet to witness a reduction in tread depth.
PS; No i do not work for Pirelli.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2011   
Given 100% while driving a Land Rover Discovery Series 2 TD5 (255/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
I have these tyres on my Discovery II and they are awesome. They have done just over 25000 miles (they weren't new when I got them!) and there is still a few miles left! The grip is fantastic in all conditions including super slippy ice. I would recomend them all day long. My use is general road use on M, A & B roads including a fair bit of towing. They haven't even punctured on me, not bad considering their mileage.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2011   
Given 86% while driving a Toyota RAV4 (215/70 R16 T) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres for my RAV 4 3 years ago now and I'm very impressed with them. Tyre wear is excellent and they are still well above legal requirement, especially the back set. I'm only replacing the fronts this year to give me deeper snow traction. I have had these on the car all year round and they provide very good grip in all conditions. 80% my driving is on B class back roads which are often quite slippy and I've always felt in control. I do drive aggressively as I'm always running late and these tyres have got me there without any fuss. They give good feedback and any break away is progressive. Maybe they aren't for your car but they certainly are a sound choice on the RAV 4. I have nothing bad to say about these tyres.
0 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2010   
Given 77% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Sport (275/40 R20 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Best winter tyres I have used in eastern Europe, hard ride but can deal with extreme weather and poor roads. I tried Vredensteins but took them off after 2000 miles.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2010