Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 85%
Wear 80%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 84%

Tyre review data from 398 tyre reviews averaging 86% over 3,813,437 miles driven.

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is ranked 13th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet handling, good comfort.
  • Negative - Average braking.
  • Overall - Conditionally Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tyre Test - 2nd of 8 tyres

  • Positive - Sporty handling with stable cornering and a good steering response, short wet and dry braking, good levels of comfort.
  • Negative - Average dry handling.
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Bild Performance Tyre Test - 3rd of 7 tyres

  • Positive - Very balanced tyres, short braking distances on wet and dry roads, low rolling resistance
  • Negative - None mentioned
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
0/0 R0 0         8.97kgs
0/0 R0 0         11.57kgs
0/0 R0 0         12.09kgs
0/0 R0 0         10.40kgs
205/45 R16 83Y XL   E A 70 7.95kgs
225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 69 9.96kgs
205/40 R17 84Y XL   E A 70 9.06kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   C A 70 10.33kgs
255/40 R17 94Y XL   E A 70 11.34kgs
205/45 R17 88Y XL   E A 70 9.28kgs
225/45 R17 91V   B B 68 8.83kgs
245/35 R18 88Y XL *RSC E C 70 11.76kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   C A 70 10.29kgs
255/35 R18 90Y XL   E A 68 12.10kgs
285/35 R18 97Y XL MO E A 71 12.68kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL MOEXTENDED C A 67 11.49kgs
225/40 R18 88Y XL *RSC E B 69 10.22kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL MOEXTENDED C A 67 11.48kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E C 72 11.49kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E C 72 11.47kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL MO C B 71 11.78kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   C A 71 11.60kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   E A 69 9.43kgs
225/45 R18 91Y XL   E A 69 9.58kgs
225/45 R18 91Y   E A 69 9.65kgs
235/45 R18 94Y XL N0 E A 68 10.04kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   C A 69 10.60kgs
235/45 R18 94Y N0 E C 68 10.07kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   B B 69 12.29kgs
265/45 R18 101Y XL N0 E A 69 12.45kgs
275/45 R18 103Y XL N0 C B 69 13.10kgs
235/50 R18 101W XL   C A 70 12.47kgs
235/50 R18 97V AO C B 71 11.29kgs
245/50 R18 100Y XL N0 C B 70 11.93kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 70 10.71kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.68kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 11.72kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 72 12.85kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E B 72 13.76kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 69 9.86kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MOEXTENDED C A 71 12.17kgs
255/35 R19 92Y XL *RSC E B 65 12.52kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 71 12.38kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL N0 ISI E B 70 13.02kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL N0 E C 70 13.02kgs
285/35 R19 99Y XL   E A 71 13.40kgs
295/35 R19 100Y XL N0 E A 71 13.24kgs
295/35 R19 100Y XL N0 E A 71 13.24kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL MOEXTENDED C B 68 11.20kgs
225/40 R19 89Y XL *RSC E B 68 10.75kgs
235/40 R19 92Y N0 E B 68 10.11kgs
235/40 R19 92Y XL N0 E A 68 10.11kgs
235/40 R19 92Y   E B 68 10.16kgs
235/40 R19 92Y XL N0 E A 68 10.11kgs
265/40 R19 98Y XL N0 E A 70 11.10kgs
265/40 R19 98Y XL N0 E A 70 11.10kgs
275/40 R19 101Y XL   E A 71 13.47kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 72 11.91kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 70 10.22kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 70 10.72kgs
235/35 R20 88Y XL N0 F A 67 9.90kgs
235/35 R20 88Y N0 F A 67 10.06kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   C A 71 11.54kgs
265/35 R20 95Y XL N0 F A 70 11.21kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 71 13.25kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL MOEXTENDED C A 69 15.40kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL MOEXTENDED C A 69 14.52kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL MOEXTENDED C A 69 14.24kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL AO E B 70 12.85kgs

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2

2016-04-29 - Hi, can you tell me on average how long or how many miles this Tyre should last for please? Thank you

Mileage entirely depends on vehicle type, power, driving style and road conditions! We have reports of the Asymmetric 2 lasting anywhere between 5,000 and 50,000 miles, but on an average high torque diesel vehicle like an Audi A4, we'd expect the fronts to last somewhere around 20,000 miles and rears towards 35,000 miles.


2018-05-19 - I am looking for a replacement set of tyres for a 2006 jaguar xjr. I have had Hankook Ventus V12's which were a great tyre but soft sidewalls. Nexen N1000 have been a great compromise but they pick up punctures easily so I am getting rid of them. Problem is the cost of medium range tyres has exploded over the past 6 years and there is little difference between a nexen Su1, dunlop maxx 050+ and goodyear AS3. One of the tyre shops hates Goodyear product and says they are inferior quality despite the high test scores. I heard the AS2 is a better tyre than the AS3 because it has a stronger sidewall. So what is the best choice of tyre if i don't want to spend crazy money on Michelin.

I wonder why the tyre retailer you've spoken to dislikes Goodyear products, given the hundreds of independent objective tests they've been featured in prove them wrong. Your best bet is to watch this tyre recommendation video.


2019-12-30 - According to the National Tyre Service these tyres should only be fitted to Porsches. Is that correct? I have an Audi Q5. Thanks Chris

No, there is a porsche specific N version of the tyre, but the standard one can fit any vehicle.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £94.09 - £114.07 (22 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Audi A3 TDI SLine Quattro 181bhp (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 26,000 spirited miles
I fitted these tyres in 225/40/18/y spec to my new shape 2013 Audi A3 TDI quattro 181bhp which has been chipped up to 230bhp. the stock tyres were Contintental Sportcontact 3 - which I found were loud on many surfaces and in the wet completely unpredictable. these tyres lasted to 16,000 and returned about 42mpg.

I have now done 10k on the Eagle F1 assymetric 2's and have noticed a not insignificant rise to 46mpg and can say without a doubt on pothole and uneven roads the supple, compliant and confidence inspriring feel of this tyre has turned an already confident car into an absolute dream! hands down if you have an Audi Quattro (2013 onward) this is definitely the only tyre you will ever want to be considering placing on your vehicle. i dont know about other cars but for the A3 this tyre absolutely nails it and suits the character of the car.
120 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2015   
Given 63% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Drove them for around 30,000 miles.
Too expensive for what offering. They should bear the name Mediocre year F8...
The wear is terrible. Need to be to motorway for half an hour dricing more than 120km/h to start warming up. For town wet cruises close to dangerous.
28 - tyre reviewed on August 22, 2018   
Given 97% while driving a BMW Z4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,500 average miles
had run flats on when purchased . Horrendous ride ,extreme road noise . Have 19 inch M.Sport wheels and suspension .These tyres have transformed ride . Decreased noise and handling predictability.
23 - tyre reviewed on April 22, 2017   
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 Reviews

Given 63% while driving a BMW 530i (225/55 R16) on mostly town for 700 average miles
Having completed a lot of research I settled on these tyres. I was happy with the price and how they felt on the car. Feedback, handling and comfort are all good. Unfortunately the two front tyres are faulty and have lost their shape causing wheel wobble over 60mph. They lasted less than 800 miles & less than eight months.
2 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2021   
Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz E550, 4matic, airmatic (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
The noise and harshness distracts my driving experience. I took them off after 12,000 miles
2 - tyre reviewed on April 30, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Subaru Legacy 3.0R Spec.B 6MT Sedan (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
Great tyre. Sporty enough for a UHP segment, great confindence on wet surface.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2021   
Given 67% while driving a BMW 335d (225/40 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
AVOID THE RUN FLATS LIKE THE PLAGUE These are awesome, well priced tyres and I would buy the non run flats with no hesitation at all. Good dry and wet grip and impressive braking performance. However, the run flats bulge at just the sight of a small pothole or bump in the road, they are truly terrible and I'm convinced they only sell so many of these because people are constantly replacing them. I've had 3 of these bulge after hitting potholes in just the past 3 months of owning my car, one of which was only 1000 miles old having been previously replaced. The BMW F3X owners club share the same frustrations. RFT's = Avoid Normal Reinforced Tyres = Highly Reccomend
0 - tyre reviewed on January 31, 2021   
Given 92% while driving a Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Fitted these at the start of 2020, switching from Michelin's. What can I say? These are by far one of the best tyres I've had on a small SUV! Top notch dry performance & superb wet performance. Progressive on the limit in the wet & give great feedback on greasy surfaces.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 1, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a (225/40 R18) on for 12,000 miles
This are wonderful tires,it may cost alot but its worth it. I try driving fast on a wet road and i was actually scared to go any more faster because these tires dosent seems to let go in the wet very amazing. Try going round corner fast also there were no sign its limit was reached and so squealing sound etc that the tire is about to let go and i guess this is because of its stiff material goodyear used to construct its side wall. Amazing tires,this tires provide you the info wats is doing on the road all the time surfaces and wat and how you should drive accordingly to it.
2 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a BMW (225/45 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 6,000 spirited miles
Best tyre I ever had on my BMW E93 325i. I bought them because my car has different tyres in front and back (225/45/17 and difficult to find 255/40/17) and I had enough with the slippery Michelin Primacy. The Goodyears were a surprise: extremely quiet and comfortable, grip well in both wet and dry and the road feedback is more than OK. In addition the MPG is better than the Michelins. Definitely a winner.
4 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2020   
Given 70% while driving a Audi TT MK2 TFSI (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
These came fitted to my TT MK2 TFSI when I bought it, so i can't compare these to other tyres but have covered 5k on them so hopefully the information is helpful to others with cars of similar power and drive. Dry and wet lateral grip is reassuring, braking is also good. Power transfer: At stock power and dry tarmac the car would grip in 2nd gear at full throttle. Since then I've had the car mapped 258hp 282lbft and and now they will struggle for traction in 3rd. Probably not the tyres fault as the car has a open diff but will try a different brand to find out. 245/40/18
1 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a BMW 320 d (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
I have had these tyres on my BMW 320d now for 6,000 miles / 6 Months. I am very impressed with the wear on these! My tyre pressure is 36PSI all round and I have very even wear all over the four tyres. The thread depth now after 6,000 miles is down to around 6mm. These are wearing nicely and they are a very nice tyre to drive on! Definitely recommend these on your car! Would I buy again? 110% I would!
7 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz C230 Kompressor Sport (245/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Best tire i had 10/10
5 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2019   
Given 56% while driving a Mazda Mazda 3 2,5 sports individual (240/40 R18 W) on mostly town for 28,000 average miles
After 45 000 the Tyre on the inside was cracked all around. The outside of the Tyre was perfect. Tread left was 7mm. This to me was unacceptable my dodge tyre set is Parkour pk07 tyres and they are exactly the same size as they were purchased 4 months earlier 59000 Tread left 6mm but no cracks no defects.
10 - tyre reviewed on October 15, 2019   
Given 70% while driving a Ford Kuga (235/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,600 spirited miles
I've had these fitted for around 2000km, so not a long time. I've been very happy with their grip and handling in the dry and wet. (I bought them in 235/55R17 as a more comfortable "touring" tyre for long trips- my other wheels are 19" with 255/40R19 ContiSportContact 6 tyres- they're very noisy on coarse road surfaces and the wheel rim is very easy to kerb as they've got a pathetic rim protector strip.)

Back to the Asymmetric 2, in 235/55R17 they give a quieter ride but with the safe grip and handling I desire.

I haven't scored them high in "Buy Again" as I'm about to have two replaced under warranty. They've both developed lumps/ depressions in the sidewalls. A bit of searching showed up another person with a BMW who reported "lumpy sidewalls" as a problem too. A third tyre has a very small lump as well, I'll be keeping an eye on it. (If you're checking for lumps do it by running a finger around the sidewall.)
2 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2019