Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 177 tyre reviews averaging 83% over 1,620,893 miles driven, and 23 tests with an average result of 4th.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 82%
Wear 80%
Comfort 87%
Buy again 79%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size17 - 22"
Width205 - 305mm
Profile30 - 55
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)68 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is ranked 17th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 and this tyre has been replaced by the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5.

Tests Included

23

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

8th

Average Result

4th

Latest Tyre Test Results

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 VS Asymmetric 3 VS Continental PremiumContact 6 - In depth test
3rd of 3 tyres
  • Shortest dry braking.
  • The replacement Asymmetric 5 improves this tyre in nearly all areas.
View Full Test >>
2018 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test
5th of 11 tyres
  • Good handling in the dry and wet, very safe handling balance.
  • Relatively long wet braking.
  • Recommended.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
17 inch
205/50R17 89 VBA70
215/45R17 91 W XLCB71
225/45R17 94 Y XLAB70
225/45R17 91 WCB71
215/45R17 91 W XLCB71
225/45R17 91 WBA70
205/50R17 89 VBA70
225/50R17 98 Y XLBB69
225/45R17 94 Y XLAB70
225/50R17 98 Y XLBB69
225/45R17 91 WBA70
225/45R17 91 WCB71
225/45R17 94 Y XLAB70
225/45R17 94 Y XLAB70
18 inch
245/45R18 96 WAB69
245/45R18 96 WAB69
225/40R18 92 Y XLAB70
225/40R18 92 Y XLAB70
245/45R18 96 WAB69
245/45R18 96 WAB69
245/45R18 96 WAB69
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB71
245/40R18 93 HBA71
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
225/40R18 92 Y XLAB70
225/40R18 92 Y XLAB70
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
245/45R18 100 Y XLAB70
245/45R18 96 WBB70
245/45R18 100 Y XLCB71
245/45R18 96 WBB70
245/45R18 100 W XLBB71
245/45R18 96 WBB70
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA69
245/40R18 93 HBA71
245/45R18 100 W XLBB71
245/45R18 100 Y XLBA69
20 inch
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB72
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB72
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB72
245/35R20 95 Y XLCB72
255/45R20 101 VBA72
255/45R20 101 VBA72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 >>

Questions and Answers for the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3

2016-03-24 - Is it true that asymmetric 3 has a smaller rim protection than asymmetric 2?

Just as an update to this question, we have been in contact with Goodyear regarding the rim protection on the Asymmetric 3 and the answer should be with us shortly!


2016-03-24 - When can we expect a test with the pilot sport 4, sport contact 6 and the asymmetric 3?

You're unlikely to see the Sport Contact 6 in a test with the Pilot Sport 4 due to the sizes they're made in, the Continental rivals the Pilot Super Sport.
The best test so far this year is the GTU test, however that missed the Michelin.


2016-04-27 - Is it true the side wall height has increased on the 3 vs the 2?

As with all Goodyear tyres, the Asymmetric 3 is within ETRTO (European Tyre & Rim Technical Organisation) guidelines, which does allow for a small variation on side wall height. Whether the size increases or decreases can depend on the size.


2016-04-26 - Will the 3 be N rated for Porsche, Cayman GTS specifically, like the 2?

A reply from Goodyear - We continuously work with OEM partners to develop OE Marked versions of the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, the tyre is currently approved on the Jaguar XF (J Marked) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (MO Marked). The tire will only be N rated if we gain an approval on a Porsche platform.


2016-05-06 - is the goodyear F1 AS3 directional

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is an asymmetric tyre, not directional


2016-05-30 - What does 94y and 98y mean and what is the differance

The 94 and 98 are the load ratings for the Asymmetric 3 tyre. 94 means each tyre is rated to carry 670 kgs, and 98 750 kgs. As a rule of thumb, the high load rating tyre will create slightly more noise, have a slightly harder ride, but will offer a more sporty steering feel.


2016-09-03 - I have Swift Sport 1.6 and I would like to replace my tires with either Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 or Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric. They are similar but I can't decide. Could you help me ?

Both the latest Dunlop and the Goodyear are extremely similar tyres, you'll be happy with either. We would always side with the Goodyear as we feel longer term the availability would be better.


2016-08-27 - I am about to purchase either Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance or this Asymmetric 3. I think the Efficientgrip is the older design yet has the better fuel efficiency and same wet braking distance. I am surprised by this. It is also cheaper by £10 from Blackcircles. Does the labeling stay consistent such that you can compare older tyer designs against new ones. Why would you buy the Asymmetric 3 over the Efficientgrip? I drive a 2010 Ford Focus 2.0l diesel and do about 22000 miles per year.

The label tests do stay constant. Wet braking is only one performance quality of a tyre, and while it's entirely possible the F1 Asymmetric 3 and EG Performance to have the same wet braking grade, the Asymmetric 3 will have a better balance of overall qualities when you account for wet handling, aquaplaning, dry braking, dry handling etc.


2016-09-16 - I have Lotus Elise s2 sport 135. Its never used on track just occassional road use. Following a blow out on a rear Bridgestone pirenza I am considering replacement tyres with the Goodyear eagle F1 Assyimetric 3. What is your opinion

Sadly we've not yet driven on the Asymmetric 3! One thing to watch out for is that replacing just the rear tyres with the Goodyears could give the car a curious rear-steering feel due to the difference in sidewall strengths between the hard Bridgestone tyres, and the softer Goodyears.


2016-10-16 - I've had the Goodyear asym 2's on my old bmw z4 which were a superb drive although did have to change them fairly often. Now I've got a Toyota gt86 and considering the Goodyear asym 3, Michelin pilot sport 4, or the kumho ku39's? Any advice between them?

The F1 A3 and MPS4 are very closely matched. We've not yet driven them back to back, but would say the F1 A3 would have the slight edge in comfort, and the MPS4 the edge in sporty handling.


2017-01-24 - Where are the Goodyear asy 3 tyres made ?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is made in a variety of locations depending on the size and market.


2017-03-18 - Hello, tell me when choosing tires efficientgrip performance and asymmetric 3 for durability what will be better?

Unfortunately no one has done the test to compare wear data. The treadwear rating of each tyre should give you an indication of which will perform better.


2017-06-07 - I am about to renew the front tyres on my 2014 Ford Focus st. The car came with Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 tyres. Should I stick with those or go for the Asymmetric 3 tyres.

The Asymmetric 3 is the natural replacement for the Asymmetric 2 so it would make sense to upgrade to the new and improved model.


2018-01-04 - Are these run flat tyres?

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 has a runflat option in certain sizes.


2018-03-28 - I have Honda Civic 1.8 8th gen on 225/40/R18 XL. Bridgestone Potenza on front, Michelin PS3 rear. Rears due for replacement soon. I want to improve ride comfort, Thinking of putting Potenzas on rear and new Goodyear Asymmetrical 3 or Pirelli P Zero PS4 on front. Which of these tyres would give best comfort? Is there much difference as far as comfort is concerned between them? Would handling be significantly affected by having stiffer walled Potenzas on the rear, requiring all tyres to be replaced

Personally I would go for the A3, put them on the rear and wear through whatever is left as quickly as possible on the front so I can have 4 matching tyres.


2018-12-27 - Hi I'm from Australia and have a BMW F20 125i M Sport on 18 " Bridgestone Potenza RFT that need replacing- I'm thinking of changing to non-RFT (plus repair kit) due to NVH/ride issues (especially on our roads) 1. My local tyre place suggests non-RF Goodyear Eagle F1 AS3- as first line on the drivers door sill plate reads '225/40 R 18 92 M&S XL' and according to him the G/Ys are only ones rated as 'extra load'. Do you think this is the best tyre to reduce NVH and improve ride (I don't mind the trade-off) 2. Another dealer stated that the XL isn't as important as the '92' load rating which opens the options to range of other tyres e.g. Pirelli P Zeros; Continentals; Michelin PSS. Is this correct, and if so which would you choose if the priority is to reduce NVH and improve ride? Many thanks Andrew

Your dealer is correct, the 92 is the important part, not XL. Many people switch from the runflats to the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 and speak extremely positive of the improvements they bring.


2019-03-21 - Looking at getting some 215/45/17s for my car. Some websites show XL rated on the 91Y tyres some don't. Are they all XL tyres or are some not?

I believe they are all XL in that load and speed rating, however it's worth double checking you're not looking at OE versions of the tyre.


2019-04-29 - Buying the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (J) XL 245/40R19 replacing Bridgestone Potenza RE05A which replaced Bridgestone Turanza T001. This is in Australia for my Holden Calais VF V Sedan. (1) Is the Goodyear a good replacement? (2) Is Asymmetric 3 the same tyre as Asymmetric 3 (J) XL.

Yes, it's a great replacement. The J version of the tyre is likely the Jaguar OE specific version of the tyre, so try and get one that isn't OE marked.


2020-02-04 - I am in a dilemma because I need tires in the size 245/45 R18 100Y XL and the label scores of the asymm 3 B/A/68 are better than the scores of the asymm 5 C/A/72 but in your and in other reviews the asymm 5 performs better. Are these scores biased or false? In what results should I trust?

Wet braking is only one aspect of a tyres performance, and the EU label tests are done under a very specific condition. The Asymmetric 5 is an improvement over the three in many ways, you can see more information here.


2019-11-26 - What are these tyres like in snow and icy conditions, thank you.

The Asymmetric 3 is a summer tyre, and as such will have a very poor level of grip in snow and ice compared to all season and winter tyres.


2020-03-11 - what tyre should I use for my Audi Q5 2009 3.0TDI with 255/45R20 rims? The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 255/45 R20 101V spec or the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 SUV 255/45 R20 105 W XL spec?

I would probably select the SUV version of the tyre for the increased sidewall strength for the relatively heavy Audi Q5.


2020-07-28 - Can anyone tell me the difference between the Good Year F1 AS3 245/35/20 95Y * Moe and the 245/35/20 95Y *Moe REV1 ?

Unfortunately it is rarely public knowledge what changes are made to update OE tyres, but it's usually as an OE requirement for a newer vehicle that uses the same tyre size.


2022-04-08 - I have a BMW X5 f15 model, I like the Goodyear and eagle f1 and the Michelin latitude sport. The Michelin is design for SUV’s, the Goodyear does not say it is but by looking at the reviews it is as good. Which one should I choose? Are both star rated by BMW?

Unfortuantely we've not seen these tested against each other, and the fact they are both * marked makes it even more complicated. We suggest checking out an owners forum to see what people prefer.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
215/45 R17 £93.99 - £135.56 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £87.22 - £112.99 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £80.10 - £106.87 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £149.00 - £192.99 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 51 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Given 63% while driving a Volvo C30 T5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I previously had the asymmetric 2's whilst my car runs about 280bhp and 450nm of torque and i hardly ever got any wheel spin with them. On the other hand with asymmetric 3's i get a lot more wheel spin so i would definitely not buy them again and I'd stick to tglhe previous ones..
Helpful 856 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2016
Given 90% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 34,000 average miles
I am maximally satisfied with these tyres.
They simply fit to my car and driving style perfectly. After 34000 miles there is still 3mm left. Dry handling gets better once they warm up and in wet conditions they do just as good. Quiet and comfortable as well.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2023
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 32 average miles
I'm on my second one set of these run flat tyres now. First set... front did 32000, rear 24000. Great wear and grip compared to a previous Pirelli set. Great tyres and fabulous mileage for a large car.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2024
Have you driven on the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 >

Latest Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a BMW (275/30 R20) on mostly town for 3,000 easy going miles
Rim protection edges are a great feature but the most impressive aspect of the tyre is how soft the ride is especially on 20" run flats. Excellent dry grip and handling yet low wear is a great technical achievement. Iv had pireli p4 and Brighstones previously. The lower road noise is noticeable and appreciated. Maybe there's even better options out there, i dont know any, but these tyres suit the bmw 530e wonderfully.
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2024
Given 70% while driving a Vauxhall Insignia CDTI SRI 160 (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,500 spirited miles
Initially the tyres were decent on both dry and wet roads however after only 9500 miles they're down to 3mm which for the price is dissaponting..The performance dropped off significantly when under 5mm. By which I mean they have never been dangerous just lost their controlled grip... Don't think I'd buy them again due to lack of value for money and low mileage.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 83% while driving a Infiniti G35 2008 (225/55 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Hi,

Good tyres for the price. Those are the least problematic to balance from all my previous tyres (dunlop rt2 - worn 80% in 15-20k miles , GY efficient grip, Toyo sport - the worst to balance).
When used in regular commute and highways the are perfect. Handling is good in wet and dry conditions. when pushed to max, they keep the pace, but it is clear that the stiffness is missing a bit in corners (when pushing to the limit).
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Opel Vectra C GTS (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
This beast has been a very good companion for the last 4 years! I really struggle to find any sort of major weakness. I'd definitely recommend these!
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2023
Given 80% while driving a SEAT Cupra Formentor 2022 (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
These tires came with my Cupra Formentor as OEM tires. They handle well in dry conditions, they are predictable, they have good grip and they provide reasonable feedback. Additionally, they run really silent and smooth on my car. The comfort is good. They are only a bit weak in wet.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on March 31, 2023
Given 56% while driving a BMW 640d (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
This review relates to Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 ROF * (BMW) and specifically 245/35/R20. I have had a couple of sets of Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3s over the years (not ROFs) and I have been pleased with them, but this was my first outing fitting a full set of ROF to my BMW640D Coupe (275/30/R20 to the rear) in October 2019. Shortly after fitting them, I retired, so I am only now covering some 6,000 miles a year. In October 2021 after 12,000 miles, the car failed its MOT as the nearside front tyre had developed "a bulge, caused by separation or partial failure of its structure". I replaced the tyre with a new Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 ROF *. Less than 12 months later the car developed a "judder", which initially every "expert" put down to an issue with the rear of the car. After extensive investigations (and cost), by 2 reputable wheel specialists and BMW it transpires that the issue relates to the 2 front tyres having lost "their integrity" (the alloy wheels were found to be in "remarkably good condition for BMW wheels"). One of the wheel specialists and BMW were able to balance the wheels (with the addition of a significant number of weights at differing points on the inner and outer edges of the wheels) , but this has lasted less than 2 months and the judder has returned with "a vengence", the only option is to replace the tyres. I have approached Goodyear, but they have not as yet to acknowledge my email. Amazingly the rear tryes have been fine (down to approx. 4mm after 18,000 miles), apart from the bone jarring and the "skip and jump" every time they hit a bump in the road - but that is no different to the originally fitted Dunlop Sport Maxx!
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/50 R17) on mostly town for 9 average miles
Front pair fully-worn only after 5,000km (3,100 miles), disappointing. Otherwise it was good in terms of drive feeling, not much understeering, a bit aquaplanning though. The other pair last for 10,000km (6,200 miles) in the rear, then another 5,000km (3,100 miles) after rotated to the front, still have over 3mm tread when disposed, no idea why this pair (bought at the same time as the last pair) aged much better. The outlook (design) - forget it, sides too soft and looks really dumb since new. That is the other reason I chose PS4 / PS5 (which also have less aquaplanning) but no more F1Ax.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Volvo V60 Cross Country (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 11 average miles
All other things being equal, I was looking for the quietest tyre I could find. Various sources claimed between 68 and 70db, so I bought them. Grip in all weathers was fine, and comfort and feed back were good. However, I've covered about 11,000 miles since they went on and the tread is just shy of the wear bars. I could probably get 12,000 if I pushed it, but a change in the next 500 miles (and before Winter) is likely. I like what I know and would happily buy again IF I thought I could get 15-18k out of them...
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 15, 2022
Given 99% while driving a BMW 530d F11 (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 40 average miles
Purchased in 2018 the Goodyear Asymmmetric 3 Run Flats for my BMW 5 series touring, I am just replacing them now having covered 40,000 miles which is really excellent, they were much quieter than the Goodyear Excellence tyres previously fitted and gave better road handling and improved grip overall. They also wore evenly unlike the previous Goodyear Excellence standard fit tyres, so highly recommended.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2022
Given 51% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
Handle okay, and they’re a good balance between comfort and response most of the time. They were replacing Potenzas that I couldn’t get on with so haven’t got strong competition. The wet grip isn’t bad either. They will slip a bit on greasy and wet surfaces though, but generally it’s clear where their limit is. The wear is diabolical, in a 200ps+ car. I’m getting about 10,000 miles out of them on the driven wheels, and a lot of that is steady commuting miles.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 5, 2022
Given 66% while driving a Skoda (235/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 10,000 average miles
I've got mixed bag experience with this tyre. It lacks a little bit of road feedback and precision. Grip on dry is avarage, especially at temperatures around 10C. It was not a problem to have a wheelspin when pulling from red lights (190HP 320NM FWD), which is marginable experience with my winter tyres (Michellin Pilot Alpin 5). But my main concern is tyre noise. On good asphalt it's really quiet tyre. But on concrete or rough asphalt it just drove me mad. It produces howling sound and driving through concrete slabs connections is very noticeable with clicking sound. Mainly for noise reason i wouldn't recommend this tyre anyone. This summer season I switched to Michellin Primacy 4+, from the first drives it feels more direct and a lot quieter, especially on concrete.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
Given 73% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia 2.2 160hp (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
225/45/r18 front, 255/40/r18 rear, both Runflat On the dry, I feel like they can push more than I would want, very good grip. With wet weather, they don't give me 100% safety feeling. They grip ok, but you feel like you are always on the edge. Also, aquaplaning is noticeable on highway. All the wet problems may be because they are RF... but I probably would try another tyre next, and 100% will be non RF After 26000km, I have left 3.5-4.5mm on the front and 3.5-4mm on the rear
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on February 13, 2022