Pirelli P Zero PZ4

The Pirelli P Zero (PZ4) is the latest update to the iconic P Zero sports car tyre.

This tyre replaced the Pirelli P Zero.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 84%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 87%
Wear 63%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 72%

Tyre review data from 26 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 229,327 miles driven.

The P Zero PZ4 is ranked 25th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Dynamic handling with an excellent performance in the dry and wet, low levels of noise.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning performance.
  • Overall - The Pirelli P Zero PZ4 is a rare tyre that seems to blend good grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, low rolling resistance and good levels of comfort. IF this tyre had slightly better aquaplaning resistance it would have been in the top group.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing handling qualities on wet and dry roads, high grip, precise steering behavior, short dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Higher rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Pirelli PZero PZ4 has a strong balance wet handling performance, propelling it to third overall.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

2019-10-09 - I find there is a lot of information on Continental, Goodyear and Michelin, but not as much on Pirelli. My understanding is that the P Zero PZ4 goes up against the Continental Premium Contact 6, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 5, and Michelin PS4. Recent tests fare the PZ4 well, although the general opinion on the internet is that Pirellis are to be avoided. However sometimes tests include higher performance variants such as the ExtremeContact, Sport Contact 6, F1 Poleposition or PS4S. At the same time the Premium Contact 6 in smaller sizes goes against Premium Touring tyres. I guess I am just confused by the classification. What is Pirelli take on these higher performance tyres (PS4S, PSS, Sport Contact 6, ExtremeContact, F1 Poleposition) ? P Zero Corsa? A video inclusive of these tyres would be interesting to compare the PZ4. Thanks

The PZ4 is intended to compete with the likes of the PS4S and CSC6. It works very well in OE fitment especially in the larger sizes, but the aftermarket versions were quite soft on the sidewall initially. This might have been updated recently as it's started to test a lot better more recently.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


P Zero PZ4 Prices

Size Price Range  
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

SEAT (225/40 R18 W) on for 0 miles
Really good !
Replace very very good Yokohama V105 one year old.
To try them out.
First-class comfort (top) + rolling silence
A little above the Yoko on the dry,
In the rain, they are incredible ! Well above all that I have tried :
Dunlop RT, PS3, Yoko V105, Hankook V12 K110.
No idea about wear again ... The +:
- Braking (this is a big highlight)
- Motricity
- Handling
They are equipped with protections of the rims although the option is not specified (in France).
The sides are stiffer than the PS3 for example. The precision is much better.
In short, conquered...
Remains to be seen at mid-wear behavior ... exotic productions are often very disappointing after 40/50% wear ...
Although cheaper than Michelin Super Sport for overall performance not so far away ... Probably in terms of PS4 performance for lower price...
169 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2017   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,427 average miles
Was offered these in comparison to my initial choice of 2nd set of PS4 which these supposedly handles just as well and have lower noise.
1.5yrs with 20k KM (12427.424 miles) milage and they are worn and due for a change.
48 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018   
Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz A35 AMG 4MATIC (235/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 1,200 spirited miles
Pros - High level of grip in the dry with direct/precise steering feel. Neutral balance. Impressive braking in dry/wet. Cons - Average aquaplaning resistance, it can bite when travelling at medium speeds even in a straight line by losing straight line controllability. Harsh ride. High wear. Overall - Very good tyre especially in the dry. Would like to see the wet aquaplaning resistance improved.
34 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2020   
Have you driven on the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P Zero PZ4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P Zero PZ4 >

Latest Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

Given 88% while driving a Renault Grand Scenic (245/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Excellent is the word. I use before Pirelli C7, Goodyear F1A2, Kumho PS91... On my new Renault Grand Scenic came with an odd size 195/55/R20 tyres.. not much choices of tyres to choose from. Decided to change away the rims to Wedssport SA25R with new PZ4 245/45/R20. P Zero model is well known of providing very good handling and grip. This is right and true about it! Grippy tyres! Comfort is there, not so bad for a UHP tyres. Durability, unknown yet... Too early to say anything. Dry condition is like the whole car sticks onto the ground. Wet condition, no sweat!
1 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2021   
Given 71% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (245/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 6,300 average miles
Car had 20" 245/35r20 runflats in front and 275/30r20 runflats (all MOE) for RWD w213 came with these factory fitted MOE runflat tyres. Replaced these tyres and wheels at 10600km. I've driven 8600km of that mileage. The tyres wore like rubber bands on the 20" wheels. Steering as a result is very precise in both wet and dry. 245/30s had sound deadening foam and overall tyre noise is quiet in the cabin (but just wee bit louder than the 18" PS4 tyres I replaced them with). Ride comfort is 8/10 on highways due to air suspension. On chip seal, speed humps, potholed roads ride comfort is 5/10 - very abrupt jarring transmitted to cabin due to tyre profile and rims. Wet grip in cold (5'C) and damp country highways was 7/10 at 110km/h speeds - some slip noticeable. Dry grip 8/10 most of the time but with occasional rear traction slips at highway speeds in curves. This combination of tyres and rims is quite poor for a luxury sedan and compliant rides.
0 - tyre reviewed on June 13, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 3,500 spirited miles
Very sporty tyre. Replaced my goodyear asymetric 5 with these. And my car feels more alive on these tyres. Suits the car more italian tyre on a italian car. Very big rim protection. And Nice looking sidewall.
4 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
Scores above can be up or down, it is not that important for normal daily drive as us my car 99%. I quess that for my type of driving almost any tire will do. What is very very very noticeable is road noise variation depending on outside temperature. Between 7-12 degrees C they are very noisy. Between 12-18 degrees they are ok, and above 18 degrees C they are quiet as an owl. Yes it is so on other brands, but it is not noticable that much. So, if you live in Australia best choice for you , but if you are in Norway buy something else. For us mid europeans they are ok for most of the year.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a Volvo V70 R AWD (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
The grip and precision of this tyre is excellent in all conditions, dry and wet. The road feedback is very good and makes this tyre easy to drive close to the limit on normal roads, providing good information. Around the on-centre the response is tight and precise. The weight of the steering correlates very well with the lateral response and the effort build-up is nice and smooth. I find it very progressive when driving over the limit, which is surprising given the amount of mechanical grip available. Comfort is also suprisingly good, with low impact noise (numb noise) and well controlled wheel shake and vibrations. Wear is the only negative aspect of this tyre, as right now with 6000km the fronts are well past mid-life and their performance on straight ahead is much worse, with a larger response deadband and less progressive lateral response generation. Would recommend because of the performance, but idk if I'd buy again knowing they'll probably last 10kkm or so. Maybe wear on a lighter car would be better.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7 Sportwagen Alltrack 1.8TSI (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
My golf is lowered with kW coilovers and with Pirelli p zero pz4 tyres. I had Michelin ps4 s before so i tried the pirellis now and What a diffrence. More grip in dry and a Hugh diffrence in the Wet. Aquaplaning happend to often in higher speeds with the ps4 s. P zero feels more stable in latheral forces to. I highly recomend Pirelli
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TDi 170 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Grip is absolutely incredible on these tyres with both dry and wet conditions however bare in mind they won’t last you all season even if you drive sensibly. Noise levels are great and only thing I’d say is that they are definitely not what’s considered comfortable tyre!
4 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 (220/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
These are the grippiest road tyres I've ever had. Amazing handling and braking distances both in dry and wet conditions. I just love how they hold the car on the road. Steering feedback is superb too. This amount of grip has its price though, it only lasted roughly 14k miles and I only have around 2.5-3 mm left so time for a new set. I also love that the outer rims protrude nicely and protect the alloy wheels well – on a 8 x 18" alloy, that is. The other minor negative is that aquaplaning performance is not exemplar, but I've learnt to go more careful around big puddles than usual. I don't believe this is a major weakness though, I am extremely happy with them and will keep buying the same set for this car.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Volvo S80 D3 163 Comfort chassis (modified) (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres to replace old Nexen tyres fitted by the previous owner of my car. All of a sudden, the car changed. The tyres were actually able to transfer the torque (400nm) to the ground without any spin like the old ones. Wet or dry, it gives a much quicker acceleration and confidence. I was totally unable to find the limits of these tyres as of today but being a FWD car that is not sporty by any means, this is no surprise. I have Koni Special Active fitted, as well as upgraded rear sway bar, bushings, endlinks and that kind of stuff and I can guarantee that the PZ4 is the right tyre to have for a dynamic driving. No loss of traction, no DSTC warning. Same for the braking as I have upgraded disks and pads, stopping distance is unbelievable.

The main reason why I bought them in the first place is their quietness (69db) and low rolling resistance for low consumption but the overall performances are exceptional. I am truely satisfied with this purchase and it was a pain to change for winter tyres when the time came !
11 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've had these tyres for quite a while now and I'm still happy with them. Dry grip and braking cannot be faulted, it just grips and grips. So far I've experienced the best steering feel in this category too. Wet handling is also remarkable, wet braking is exemplar in hot conditions. It quickly deteriorates as it gets colder however, so you may want to look elsewhere if you plan to limp through the winter with them here in the UK. As a collateral feature to its grip levels, one has to factor in their shorter than average life, they certainly don't last long.
7 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,000 miles
Good grip dry and wet, very good steering feedback, decent noise level for a low profile performance tyre
10 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Skoda Superb 2.0Tdi DSG6 170hp (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Last year I had a bulge in the sidewall of my p0 tyre. Tyre was replaced with the same. Now I have p0's on my front both with small sidewall bulges. I know I hit a couple of pot holes over the last couple of months but 3 bulges??? Needless to say I won't be buying p0's again.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2019