Pirelli P Zero PZ4

The Pirelli P Zero (PZ4) is the latest update to the iconic P Zero sports car tyre.

This tyre replaced the Pirelli P Zero.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 79%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 82%
Wear 63%
Comfort 72%
Buy again 69%

Tyre review data from 58 tyre reviews averaging 77% over 518,347 miles driven.

The P Zero PZ4 is ranked 38th of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 AZ UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - Once again the Pirelli P Zero, this time in the PZ4 S.C. version, can establish itself at the forefront with its dynamic talents and its meticulously balanced steering characteristics. Level on points with Goodyear.
View Full Test >>

2023 AutoBild Sports Car Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 13 tyres

  • Positive - The P Zero PZ4 has excellent handling qualities on both dry and wet roads, good aquaplaning properties, precise steering behavior, balanced dynamic balance, high level of grip, short wet and dry braking distances, quiet passing noise.
  • Negative - Increased rolling resistance, average comfort.
  • Overall - Exemplary.
View Full Test >>

2023 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 3rd of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

2019-10-09 - I find there is a lot of information on Continental, Goodyear and Michelin, but not as much on Pirelli. My understanding is that the P Zero PZ4 goes up against the Continental Premium Contact 6, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 5, and Michelin PS4. Recent tests fare the PZ4 well, although the general opinion on the internet is that Pirellis are to be avoided. However sometimes tests include higher performance variants such as the ExtremeContact, Sport Contact 6, F1 Poleposition or PS4S. At the same time the Premium Contact 6 in smaller sizes goes against Premium Touring tyres. I guess I am just confused by the classification. What is Pirelli take on these higher performance tyres (PS4S, PSS, Sport Contact 6, ExtremeContact, F1 Poleposition) ? P Zero Corsa? A video inclusive of these tyres would be interesting to compare the PZ4. Thanks

The PZ4 is intended to compete with the likes of the PS4S and CSC6. It works very well in OE fitment especially in the larger sizes, but the aftermarket versions were quite soft on the sidewall initially. This might have been updated recently as it's started to test a lot better more recently.


2022-12-27 - Hello! I’m looking to replace the tyres on my 2006 E85 Z4M. It’s currently outfitted with Continental SportContact5 in the front and Continental SportContact in the rear. These last ones are pretty old, which is why I want to fit the car with a new set. Question is: which ones? I’m running the OEM 225/45/18 and 255/40/18 on the car. It’s only used as a fun/weekend car and is not driven during winter or in the rain if we can avoid it. in this size, I have the feeling there is not as much choice as for bigger wheels. My shortlist consists of Bridgestone Potenza Sport, Pirelli PZ4 Sports Car and Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersport. The car is not used on track, only for roadtrips, fun drives on public roads and cruising. Max mileage per year is 5000 kilometers. From this point of view, what would you recommend for us? Thanks a lot!

All good options! I'm a big fan of the F1 SuperSport but it's perhaps not the most rounded tyre as it gives up a bit in the wet. The Bridgestone is a great fun tyre but the wear seems to be really high. The PZ4 is very well rounded! As the Z4M is a great chassis I'd probably fit the Goodyear!


2023-01-06 - Hi,

Love the site. I’ve a new UK M5 and I read online that I’ve “lost the tyre lottery” by finding I have Pirelli P Zero PZ4’s fitted as opposed to the Michelin PS4.

Both are going to be OE versions - I can’t find a proper review of the two.

If you have time I’d really appreciate your thoughts - should I stick with the Pirelli’s or is the difference that much that I should stomach the cost of swapping out for Michelins? Do you have thoughts on the key differences?

The car won’t be tracked, wear isn’t that important but I do enjoy the performance of the car and want to be secure on the knowledge that I won’t find out the hard way that I have the wrong tyre.

Thank you,

Greg

There are tests with the PZ4 and PS4S in on the site, such as here. In aftermarket there is generally a small difference where the PS4S has the advantage, but it's nothing worth getting upset about. As far as I'm aware, no one has actually back to back tested the OE versions of the PZ4 and PS4S however if BMW signed them both off the OE program, they should have similar levels of performance.

Michelin certainly make some of the best tyres in the world, but the internet seems to put them on a pedestal. If I was in your position, I would run the PZ4 until they're worn out, change to the PS4S and see how you feel about them. Just remember there will be difference in performances between a worn tyre and new.


2023-10-15 - Hi, I need to change my summer tires on my 2019 C class and on my shortlist are these PZ4 and the Goodyear f1 asymmetric 6, the only thing is that the PZ4 are OEM - MO while goodyears are not what would you think is the better option ? would the pz4 oem be better than the retail goodyears 6 ?

It really depends what Mercedes tuned for, usually the OE versions have lower rolling resistance at the expense of wet grip which makes the aftermarket versions a more rounded product, however the OE version will likely be slightly better tuned for the C classes weight and power balance.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

SEAT (225/40 R18 W) on for 0 miles
Really good !
Replace very very good Yokohama V105 one year old.
To try them out.
First-class comfort (top) + rolling silence
A little above the Yoko on the dry,
In the rain, they are incredible ! Well above all that I have tried :
Dunlop RT, PS3, Yoko V105, Hankook V12 K110.
No idea about wear again ... The +:
- Braking (this is a big highlight)
- Motricity
- Handling
They are equipped with protections of the rims although the option is not specified (in France).
The sides are stiffer than the PS3 for example. The precision is much better.
In short, conquered...
Remains to be seen at mid-wear behavior ... exotic productions are often very disappointing after 40/50% wear ...
Although cheaper than Michelin Super Sport for overall performance not so far away ... Probably in terms of PS4 performance for lower price...
Helpful 256 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2017
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,427 average miles
Was offered these in comparison to my initial choice of 2nd set of PS4 which these supposedly handles just as well and have lower noise.
1.5yrs with 20k KM (12427.424 miles) milage and they are worn and due for a change.
Helpful 135 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2018
Given 90% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback 2.0 TDI (8PA) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I have been a happy Michelin user for more than 400k km but, after a bad experience with a set of PS4 (high vibration), decided to try some other tyre. I was looking for a sport tyre with an OE spec and found a good price for the PZ4. It is important to note that, to the best of my knowledge, the specs of this tyre may vary significantly from size to size. My thoughts are only applicable to 225/45/17 94Y(*). Dry performance is flawless, high level of grip and very good feedback and handling. In this regard, I would put them over the PS4 and a little bit under the PS2(N3). Surprisingly, the PZ4 is really silent and comfy, which is also a plus for motorway and long trips. I have not driven in heavy rain conditions yet, but no complaint so far on light rain. The tyres look as new after 5000 km. However, I am not expecting them to last as long as the PS4.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2022
Have you driven on the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P Zero PZ4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P Zero PZ4 >

Latest Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Toyota GR86 (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Great on dry roads or track, with great resistance to heat on track for a road tyre.
Excellent feed-back on steering!
They are a bit sketchy on wet cold roads.
I did a pretty long track day with them and around 5'000km on the road, they have around 5'000km left.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2024
Given 69% while driving a Audi 2.0tdi 140 sline sportback (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
This review builds on an initial review I did a year ago. When new, dry performance is flawless, high level of grip and very good feedback and handling. In this regard, I would put them over the PS4 and a little bit under the PS2(N3). Surprisingly, the PZ4 is really silent and comfy, which is also a plus for motorway and long trips. On rain they are acceptable. Unfortunately, I think performance decreases significantly as they wear: very slippery on wet (not even rain) and noisy. OK on dry. Lasted about 40 thousand km.
Will not buy again. Moved to Bridgestone Potenza Sport, which, IMO, performs better in any regard.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 66% while driving a Jaguar F Pace R Dynamic P400 (265/40 R22) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Good tyre, Grips well especially in the dry and dry braking is GOOD. But at 30,000km this set is just about toast - and as they aren't cheap I'll be looking for something to last a bit longer.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on February 27, 2024
Given 50% while driving a BMW M340I X Drive (255/35 R19) on for 0 miles
Got PZ4 RFT on a new M340i LCI. It's love-hate relationship so far. Above average in the dry, but lacking grip at the limit. Very poor in the wet, car is tail happy even at low speeds. Comfort is fine, not very noisy.
They are ok, but my previous PS4 (not S) were more linear and predictable in all situations, especially in the wet and cold. Could drive them at 2 degrees C with no problem at all.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2023
Given 81% while driving a Hyundai i20N (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Good predictability in the dry, I didn't particularly dare in the wet, the front tires wear out quite quickly, especially if you use the car properly.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on August 29, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 2.0 JTS (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Even on the track, they were predictable and sticky, not the same as a semi-slick of course but in its class one of if not the best.
Noted I have the Sport with the Tyre protection
A great-performance tyre and a good allrounder, Perfect for the sporty daily driver

Aquaplaning resistance is the only thing I'm not so fond of.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2023
Given 81% while driving a SEAT Ibiza 1.0 TSI 115 (215/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
Good tyre, especially in comparison to the standard fit Turanza. No cons so far. Good bang for the buck on this size.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen (235/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
Amazing summer tires, dry grip is incredible, displaces water very well. BAD for snow (lol)
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on August 1, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Dodge Charger SRT (305/35 R20) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Used them tp replace the all seasons on the front axle, driven fpr around 3.000km, they grip very good on dry tarmac, i did not drive in the wet except when the roads were a bit damp, but they were confident enought, and did not get any surprises.
They do very well on heavy braking, and are comfortable enought. So far no wear on them but not really driven that much. I drive the car on street , in a spirited manner. Sp far very happy with them, once the Pzero allseasons on the other axle will wear, i will also use Pzero pz4 as i am satisfied woth them.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2023
Given 76% while driving a Alfa Romeo Stelvio 2.9T V6 Quadrifoglio (285/40 R20) on mostly country roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Much better than I thought. Wet excellent dry fine. I would try something else next time as when wear down to 4mm they are noisy. Sidewalls are ok softish load rating. Car is Stelvio QF so powerful heavyish. I don’t do track so want same grip but more refinement.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2023
Given 57% while driving a Tesla Model S (245/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Good tyre in a warm weather (over 15c). It is dangerous when worn down to 3mm and less on a wet in cold weather. It is aquaplaning like crazy.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on April 15, 2023
Given 70% while driving a Porsche TAYCAN (305/30 R21) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
OEM tyre for the Taycan GTS. Quite a ride I had with these tyres. The Taycan is nothing to play with. It is a 600hp, 2,3 tone, elecric beast with instant torque. This NF0 version of the PZ4 can really hold its own ground against this car. Dry performance is excellent, you can pretty much do whatever you want to do. Traction is great, balance is great, steering is delightful even when you push really hard. Really love it. My only complaint is that it is a bit clumsy when it begins to slide. You get used to it through, it is not something really scary. Wet perfomance is equally good. A click below dry performance but very good overall. Comfort is kind of average, same goes for noise, it is actually a bit noisy. I really liked this tyre, until...I decided to try dry drifting. The tyre was literally torn to pieces after 4-5 minutes (not consecutive). Half the tyre was gone after this very short session. It really cannot handle it and I am quite surprised that it is approved by Porsche for OEM. Did the same thing with different tyre setup and it was just fine (considering the weight of the car). I bought a second pair right after and tried wet drifting this time. Same thing! Much less this time, but a few tyre blocks were once again detached. I now have a weird love and hate relatiosnhip with this tyre. Will not buy them again, even though I admire what they can do.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2023