Pirelli P Zero PZ4

The Pirelli P Zero (PZ4) is the latest update to the iconic P Zero sports car tyre.

This tyre replaced the Pirelli P Zero.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 84%
Wear 57%
Comfort 76%
Buy again 67%

Tyre review data from 19 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 154,527 miles driven.

The P Zero PZ4 is ranked 30th of 62 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 15 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing handling qualities on wet and dry roads, high grip, precise steering behavior, short dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Higher rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test - 3rd of 10 tyres

  • Overall - The Pirelli PZero PZ4 has a strong balance wet handling performance, propelling it to third overall.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test - 4th of 14 tyres

  • Positive - Dynamic handling with an excellent performance in the dry and wet, low levels of noise, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning performance.
  • Overall - The Pirelli P Zero PZ4 is a rare tyre that seems to blend good grip in the dry and wet, sporty handling, low rolling resistance and good levels of comfort. IF this tyre had slightly better aquaplaning resistance it would have been in the top group.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

Questions and Answers for the Pirelli P Zero PZ4

2019-10-09 - I find there is a lot of information on Continental, Goodyear and Michelin, but not as much on Pirelli. My understanding is that the P Zero PZ4 goes up against the Continental Premium Contact 6, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 5, and Michelin PS4. Recent tests fare the PZ4 well, although the general opinion on the internet is that Pirellis are to be avoided. However sometimes tests include higher performance variants such as the ExtremeContact, Sport Contact 6, F1 Poleposition or PS4S. At the same time the Premium Contact 6 in smaller sizes goes against Premium Touring tyres. I guess I am just confused by the classification. What is Pirelli take on these higher performance tyres (PS4S, PSS, Sport Contact 6, ExtremeContact, F1 Poleposition) ? P Zero Corsa? A video inclusive of these tyres would be interesting to compare the PZ4. Thanks

The PZ4 is intended to compete with the likes of the PS4S and CSC6. It works very well in OE fitment especially in the larger sizes, but the aftermarket versions were quite soft on the sidewall initially. This might have been updated recently as it's started to test a lot better more recently.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


P Zero PZ4 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £80.10 - £231.10 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £131.00 - £164.39 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 8 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

SEAT (225/40 R18 W) on for 0 miles
Really good !
Replace very very good Yokohama V105 one year old.
To try them out.
First-class comfort (top) + rolling silence
A little above the Yoko on the dry,
In the rain, they are incredible ! Well above all that I have tried :
Dunlop RT, PS3, Yoko V105, Hankook V12 K110.
No idea about wear again ... The +:
- Braking (this is a big highlight)
- Motricity
- Handling
They are equipped with protections of the rims although the option is not specified (in France).
The sides are stiffer than the PS3 for example. The precision is much better.
In short, conquered...
Remains to be seen at mid-wear behavior ... exotic productions are often very disappointing after 40/50% wear ...
Although cheaper than Michelin Super Sport for overall performance not so far away ... Probably in terms of PS4 performance for lower price...
155 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2017   
Given 63% while driving a Mercedes Benz A35 AMG 4MATIC (235/35 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 1,200 spirited miles
Pros - High level of grip in the dry with direct/precise steering feel. Neutral balance. Impressive braking in dry/wet. Cons - Average aquaplaning resistance, it can bite when travelling at medium speeds even in a straight line by losing straight line controllability. Harsh ride. High wear. Overall - Very good tyre especially in the dry. Would like to see the wet aquaplaning resistance improved.
27 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2020   
Given 53% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,427 average miles
Was offered these in comparison to my initial choice of 2nd set of PS4 which these supposedly handles just as well and have lower noise.
1.5yrs with 20k KM (12427.424 miles) milage and they are worn and due for a change.
26 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2018   
Have you driven on the Pirelli P Zero PZ4 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P Zero PZ4? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P Zero PZ4 >

Latest Pirelli P Zero PZ4 Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk7 Sportwagen Alltrack 1.8TSI (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
My golf is lowered with kW coilovers and with Pirelli p zero pz4 tyres. I had Michelin ps4 s before so i tried the pirellis now and What a diffrence. More grip in dry and a Hugh diffrence in the Wet. Aquaplaning happend to often in higher speeds with the ps4 s. P zero feels more stable in latheral forces to. I highly recomend Pirelli
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021   
Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TDi 170 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Grip is absolutely incredible on these tyres with both dry and wet conditions however bare in mind they won’t last you all season even if you drive sensibly. Noise levels are great and only thing I’d say is that they are definitely not what’s considered comfortable tyre!
4 - tyre reviewed on February 8, 2021   
Want the best tyre for real world driving? Watch this!
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 (220/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
These are the grippiest road tyres I've ever had. Amazing handling and braking distances both in dry and wet conditions. I just love how they hold the car on the road. Steering feedback is superb too. This amount of grip has its price though, it only lasted roughly 14k miles and I only have around 2.5-3 mm left so time for a new set. I also love that the outer rims protrude nicely and protect the alloy wheels well – on a 8 x 18" alloy, that is. The other minor negative is that aquaplaning performance is not exemplar, but I've learnt to go more careful around big puddles than usual. I don't believe this is a major weakness though, I am extremely happy with them and will keep buying the same set for this car.
4 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2020   
Given 93% while driving a Volvo S80 D3 163 Comfort chassis (modified) (245/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I bought these tyres to replace old Nexen tyres fitted by the previous owner of my car. All of a sudden, the car changed. The tyres were actually able to transfer the torque (400nm) to the ground without any spin like the old ones. Wet or dry, it gives a much quicker acceleration and confidence. I was totally unable to find the limits of these tyres as of today but being a FWD car that is not sporty by any means, this is no surprise. I have Koni Special Active fitted, as well as upgraded rear sway bar, bushings, endlinks and that kind of stuff and I can guarantee that the PZ4 is the right tyre to have for a dynamic driving. No loss of traction, no DSTC warning. Same for the braking as I have upgraded disks and pads, stopping distance is unbelievable.

The main reason why I bought them in the first place is their quietness (69db) and low rolling resistance for low consumption but the overall performances are exceptional. I am truely satisfied with this purchase and it was a pain to change for winter tyres when the time came !
10 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2020   
Given 91% while driving a Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
I've had these tyres for quite a while now and I'm still happy with them. Dry grip and braking cannot be faulted, it just grips and grips. So far I've experienced the best steering feel in this category too. Wet handling is also remarkable, wet braking is exemplar in hot conditions. It quickly deteriorates as it gets colder however, so you may want to look elsewhere if you plan to limp through the winter with them here in the UK. As a collateral feature to its grip levels, one has to factor in their shorter than average life, they certainly don't last long.
7 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,000 miles
Good grip dry and wet, very good steering feedback, decent noise level for a low profile performance tyre
9 - tyre reviewed on November 13, 2019   
Given 73% while driving a Skoda Superb 2.0Tdi DSG6 170hp (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
Last year I had a bulge in the sidewall of my p0 tyre. Tyre was replaced with the same. Now I have p0's on my front both with small sidewall bulges. I know I hit a couple of pot holes over the last couple of months but 3 bulges??? Needless to say I won't be buying p0's again.
0 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2019   
Given 81% while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.5 GT Wagon (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Main differentiator to the other tyres in its class is the ride quality and stable feel at high speed especially around steering center, the comfort and acceptable road noise level. Other strengths are dry grip, braking, steering response, although not the best in class. This is a very nice tyre for spirited driving in covering long distances on major roads, or for using low profile sizes. Aquaplaning performance is its biggest weakness for me. Wet handling does not inspire confidence, maybe due to the aquaplaning performance. Wears out rather quickly!
5 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2019   
Given 70% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (275/45 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 12,000 spirited miles
Good tire, but wear out too fast.
7 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2019   
Given 63% while driving a Audi A8L Quattro (255/45 R19 W) on mostly motorways for 11,000 average miles
I like grip with these tyres but they are made from chocolate. Utqg- mean tread wear is 220. With my Audi A8 L fronts after 10000 miles have 3,3mm. I never come across tyres like this. You get nexen nfera su1 40% less price and they do double mileage with similar performance and 69db compare to 73db.
Don't waste money and time on them
14 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2019   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Previous owner of potenza s001
This tire is much more quiet.. It's also a lot less bumpy. Road feedback has improved and handling on wet and dry is exceptional!! Would definitely recommend giving it a try. I've driven for about 6000 miles on a combination of roads and the tire wears out slowly.. I think it's gonna last for at least another 15K miles!!
11 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2018   
Given 92% while driving a Lamborghini Gallardo (355/25 R21) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These are the Lamborghini approved P Zeros on the Aventador S. Stunning tyre in wet and dry, great steering, loads of feedback. Also loads of noise.

Obviously all this goes with the nature of the car and I've not tried any other tyres on the S, but I don't see the need to change. Very impressive
10 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2018