Audi S3 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Audi S3 .

Do you Drive a Audi S3 ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a S3 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle Sport All Season (5) 98% 98% 94% 96% 92% 92%
Michelin Alpin A4 (52) 88% 95% 91% 87% 94% 93%
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (17) 91% 91% 87% 80% 84% 89%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (149) 93% 93% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Nokian Hakkapeliitta 8 (4) 83% 78% 85% 90% 90% 75%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (27) 97% 90% 95% 97% 75% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (88) 94% 90% 87% 89% 86% 86%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (107) 94% 85% 90% 89% 85% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (151) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (398) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (158) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Vredestein Wintrac 4 Extreme (44) 86% 89% 84% 78% 83% 88%
Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 (56) 88% 83% 80% 76% 86% 85%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (231) 91% 89% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Nokian WRG2 (72) 85% 87% 83% 80% 83% 85%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (12) 88% 89% 82% 85% 71% 75%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (105) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 78%
Avon WV7 (13) 82% 85% 83% 75% 80% 88%
Maxxis Victra Sport 5 (12) 88% 83% 82% 86% 61% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (16) 97% 59% 91% 93% 61% 74%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (70) 87% 81% 79% 78% 74% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (276) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (122) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Lassa Phenoma (18) 82% 79% 74% 67% 88% 79%
Minerva Emi Zero 4S (2) 75% 70% 65% 80% 80% 95%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (147) 84% 74% 74% 76% 72% 75%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Dunlop SP Winter Sport 3D (39) 81% 83% 79% 77% 75% 76%
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (91) 86% 81% 78% 78% 56% 73%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (198) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Nexen N8000 (78) 79% 74% 68% 66% 68% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Dunlop SP Sport Maxx (151) 80% 70% 70% 67% 64% 64%
Sunny SN3970 (45) 71% 49% 55% 54% 64% 55%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
BCT S800 (84) 51% 30% 38% 37% 61% 32%
Fullrun HP199 (77) 47% 27% 32% 32% 54% 27%

Audi S3 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 56% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
These tyres wear very quickly, they are average in most areas quite a high comfort level and good handling in the dry. Not amazing in wet weather and having worn so fast will not buy again. I'm replacing with goodyear eagle f1 or Bridgestone potenza.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-10 12:48:25
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle Sport All Season given 100% (235-45-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-06 21:38:39
Writing about the Dunlop SP Sport Maxx given 66% (225-45-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-15 07:27:26
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 77% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 700 average miles
Really very good all-rounders, have used many performance tyres but these are probably the best all-rounders.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-19 05:38:49
Writing about the Maxxis Victra Sport 5 given 88% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly town for 1500 average miles
Audi s3. These tyres were amazing in the rain. Fast corners, progressive break away, excellent braking. Very high confidence in wet conditions. They need to be properly inflated. OEM requires 39 psi front. Dry cornering is also excellent. Surprisingly rides softer/smoother than the Continentals on before. Not as sticky however when launching. In summary, fantastic road/track tire. Not ideal for drag strip use. Will buy again for sure.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-30 15:45:35
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 77% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
These are the 1st premium summer tyres I've run on my S3, so I haven't really got much to compare them to on that car. However on my mapped Yeti 170tdi 4x4 I've run factory fit Dunlop SP01 (OK) Goodyear Efficientgrip Performance (never again) then Continental Sportcontact 5s which were great & PremiumContact 6 which are absolutely ace tyres on that car. So for the S3 I didn't know whether to go PS4 or PC6, but after forum research & also because the PS4 are a newer design I went with the Michelin. Great wet grip & dry grip but having now refitted my winter Vredestein Wintrac Pros on the S3 what surprised me was the ride quality, quietness & steering feel are all slightly improved on the Wintrac Pros over the PS4, but I didn't notice the reverse when the PS4 went on new. So whether that's slight performance degrading already on the PS4 despite hardly any wear I'm not sure, I certainly wasn't expecting that. Dynamically they're good but subjectively only OK & I just put that down to the S3's general inertness, but the Wintrac Pros are definitely subjectively better than the PS4. Maybe I should have fitted the PremiumContact 6 instead.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-11 22:31:16
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 88% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 4000 spirited miles
Bought these last year for my then new-to-me Facelift Audi S3 to replace some General Tyres(!) summers that the dealers fitted before I bought the car. I was impressed with the Vredestein Wintrac Extremes I'd run a good few years ago on my Yeti, so thought I'd give these a go as they are UHP rated. They were a definite improvement over the Generals, but as I didn't know the car, it wasn't really a good comparison. During this summer however, I ran Michelin PS4s on the S3, & they didn't seem the big step up from the Wintrac Pros I was expecting, & now I've refitted the Vreds I noticed straight away that the steering's actually better, the car's slightly quieter & ride's better than it was on the PS4s. I found the Wintrac Pros really good in the wet & in cold, dry conditions but I didn't get the opportunity to drive on snow or much ice last year so can't comment on that yet, & I'm not really expecting great wear, but dynamically & subjectively these are a great winter tyre & good value. If we get proper winter weather this year, I'll update accordingly & it'll be interesting to compare them to the Dunlop Wintersport 5s that are currently on the Yeti (which subjectively & for grip in all conditions have been really impressive) but so far, highly recommend these Wintrac Pros.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-11 21:22:31
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 100% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 100 spirited miles
Brilliant! I drive a 2015 Audi S3, 8V, and have been driving on Michelin PS4 for the last 3 years. The PS4 is an amazing tyre, and with my combined highway and spirited driving including launching the car from time to time, I achieved 50,000 Km's on a single set of tyres with around 2.5mm - 3.0mm thread depth left over (with regular tyre rotations). The problem I had with the Michelin PS4 from day 1 was that they felt spongy and vague. This worsened after lowering the car with sport springs. The grip however, was amazing in any condition, Dry or Wet, and around hard bends/corners, the tyres just stuck to the road. This was all good, but I was not able to tell what the car was really doing from the vague steering feel. My biggest complaint was the day to day feeling of the car with the PS4 feeling somewhat bouncy or spongy like the car needed new shock absorbers to stiffen up the suspension in order to get more road feel.. After months of research and reviews, as well as watching the TyreReviews video of the Michelin PS4, Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 and Continental Premium Contact 6 comparisons, I had to watch this a good few times to make sure, I then finally took the plunge to purchase a new set of Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5's. All I can Say is WOW! The Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 gave me exactly what I was looking for, greater road feeling, increased steering response and feeling, and the stiffer ride quality that I so desperately needed. I will definitely purchase these tyres again, over the Michelin PS4. Haven't really has a chance to test the full characteristics of the Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 as yet, but dry grip so far is amazing, with no or very very little difference when compared to the Michelin PS4, where the PS4 might have an edge of stopping a tab bit quicker, but this difference is so small, and this might also be due to the Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 still being new. I previously had 2 sets of Continental SC5 prior to fitting the Michelin PS4, as this was the factory tyre for my car, however, the Continental SC5 only lasted around an average of 25,000 KM's per set. The Continental SC5 was very comfortable, very soft, gripped well in the Dry only, but very bad grip in the Wet. The other issue that I had with the Continental SC5 was that when pushing the car hard in corners, the outside shoulder of the Continental SC5's always became plain, with pieces of rubber falling off. So for me, no more Continental.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-03 07:54:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
In the past 12 years I have had 3 golf gtis one of them totally standard and 1 chipped and the other upgraded in several aspects like suspension brakes chip etc. , my latest car is an audi s3 so my review is about tyres used on these fast hatchbacks. I have used in these cars the following tyres: conti sport contact 5, yokohama advan k105, good year assymetric, assy 2, assy 3, pirelli pzero and michelin ps2. Said this , a few days ago i had to change the assy 3 so i went to the dealer and looked for replacement, the natural evolution was the assy 5, but once at the dealer i was offered to try the new good year super sport , if i didnt like it i would be able to change them to the assy 5 , no charge. This is how confident the dealer was . Ok down to .. its totally mind bending .. steering response.. k105 breaker.. sticks like the ps2 or even better, .. at the limit is almost fool proof .... wet? still no experience but i can imagine it will be good. So , its always been quite easy to make a performance tire that grips great in the dry but there are two major points that will make a great dry tire that will make it a great tire over all: WET PERFORMANCE AND COMFORT. I am quite picky now about the comfort part and thats why i have been using goodyears assys lately. this tire isnt as comfy as the assy 3 but.. its almost there plus you can really feel the performance difference as soon as u get your hands in the wheel. Damn this is a new era for tires!! grip, comfort, steering response .. confident limit.. this is one of perhaps 3 tyres out there that are able to perform in every area like this. Not going back for the assy5 s ... Thank you goodyear dealer!! u made my day!
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-01 11:10:07
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 93% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 11000 spirited miles
Fitted as standard to Audi S3, I was bit worried as never considered the brand before but to my surprise the tyres have good grip wet and dry, reasonably quiet and been 11000 miles and still 4mm tread. I have had various tyres before Pirelli, Dunlop and Michelins and the Hankooks come out as good if not better than more expensive tyres. ....would have no hesitation buying again.
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-17 22:38:06
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 94% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Totally transformed my car for the better ! It is like a different car. One of the best mods ive done to a car !
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-19 21:01:45
Writing about the Toyo R888 given 26% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
very non comfort and noisy tyre and i had semi slick tyres before
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-15 04:17:48
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre