Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2

The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Plus and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 97%
Wet Grip 59%
Road Feedback 91%
Handling 93%
Wear 61%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 83%

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 80% over 116,800 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport Cup 2 is ranked 8th of 26 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 UHP, UUHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 1st of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Outstanding grip and precision in the dry, very good feedback, very easy to control at the limit. Pressure change to 2.4f 2.1r (from 2.2f 2.2r) when hot recommended.
  • Negative - As typical for a semi slick limited wet performance and high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Best dry grip of all the tyres.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - The dry specialists, precise steering, exemplary feedback and excellent grip.
  • Negative - Average wet performance, low aquaplaning reserves.
  • Overall - Conditionally Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2018 Sport Auto 19 inch UHP and Track Day Tyre Test - 1st of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Very usable track day tyre with excellent steering response, good feedback and a strong wet performance for a track day tyre.
  • Negative - A little nervous on high speed load changes compared to the Pirelli.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
255/40 R17 98Y XL   E C 71 11.87kgs
215/45 R17 91Y XL   E C 70 9.75kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E C 70 10.31kgs
285/30 R18 97Y XL   E C 73 11.37kgs
295/30 R18 98Y XL   E C 73 11.97kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   E E 70 10.37kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E C 71 11.76kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E C 70 9.18kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E C 71 10.70kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E C 71 11.54kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E C 71 10.37kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E C 73 12.79kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL N0 E C 73 12.86kgs
325/30 R19 105Y XL N0 E C 73 13.85kgs
345/30 R19 109Y XL   E C 72 16.12kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E C 71 9.97kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL N0 E C 71 9.77kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL N0 E C 70 9.95kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL * E C 70 10.20kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO1 E C 71 10.65kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E C 71 11.50kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   E C 71 11.46kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO1 E C 71 11.80kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL MO E C 71 11.43kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL * E E 71 10.85kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL *DT E C 71 11.80kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL MO E C 71 10.90kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   E C 73 12.42kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E C 70 11.14kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL   E C 71 11.95kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   E C 73 13.24kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL RO1 E C 70 9.92kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL AO E E 70 9.95kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E C 70 9.63kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL MO1 E C 73 12.38kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL * E E 73 12.37kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO E C 73 12.97kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL N0 E C 73 13.05kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL N1 E E 73 13.20kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL J E E 73 13.95kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL AO E E 73 13.90kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL RO1 E C 73 13.82kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL K2 E E 74 13.50kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL K1 E C 73 13.80kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL MO E C 73 13.73kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL N1 E E 73 13.95kgs
325/30 R20 106Y XL   E E 74 14.15kgs
325/30 R20 106Y XL MO E C 73 14.11kgs
345/30 R20 106Y   E C 72 15.05kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL N1 E E 70 11.07kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K1 E C 70 11.32kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 E E 71 10.59kgs
245/35 R20 91Y N0 F C 70 10.55kgs
245/35 R20 91Y K1 F C 70 10.95kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E E 71 10.89kgs
265/35 R20 95Y N0 E C 71 11.57kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL J E C 71 11.66kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL N1 E C 71 11.62kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL N2 E C 71 11.73kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL   E C 73 13.95kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E C 71 12.54kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL MO1 E E 73 14.00kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL N1 E C 73 15.28kgs
325/30 R21 104Y N0 C C 73 15.37kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL N2 E C 73 15.42kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL MO1 E E 71 12.53kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2

2018-09-19 - Which tyre use in Michelin Pilot sport 4 on this test? Because PS4 is not available in 235/35 r 19 . If the Michelin Pilot sport 4S isn't available in rim 18 , What was the tyres use um Michelin Pilot sport 4 in this test.

We ran 235/40 R19 for the video which all three tyres are available in.


2019-10-10 - Hi, I am driving a Golf 7 R Facelift and I want to do a Trackday training at the Nordschleife next year. I also want to do some tourist driving every now and then as well. I will also do a summer road trip through the alps. I am usually doing 12000 km in the summer. Would you recommend using the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S or the Cup 2 for this purpose (so for daily driving on normal roads as well)? I see that the PS4S has a much longer lifetime and excellent dry and wet handling but will it survive trackdriving to a certain limit? Or will it overheat too quickly and be destroyed by driving it for 1000 km on a race track like the Nordschleife? I am not a Pro driver but I would like to do some “faster” laps. Can you give me advise? Thanks a lot!

The PS4S can certainly take some track abuse, but the Cup 2 would take a more sustained beating on places like the ring. The ideal setup would be two sets of wheels, running the Cup 2 when you're doing a lot of track work, and the PS4S when you're spending more time on the road.


2021-05-07 - Just purchasing these on 19 inch rims on a 392bhp Honda Type R. To be used mainly on track so what are recommended tyre pressures for road use and what do you suggest when hot on track. I have a set of PS4S on 20 inch rim and have fond these behaved well on a dry track but expect to use these on wet/damp track and as road winter tyre. Any suggestions ro pressures would be helpful Found on the pS4s had to drop pressures a lot on track as hitting 40PSI and were not happy. Reduced pressures to 29PSI front 28rear and handled a lot better

I would start by aiming for the manufacturers pressures when the tyres are hot, so warm up the car then reset down to just below manufacturers recommended pressures and do a full run. You'll likely then have to bleed out more pressure. If they still feel a bit over you can reduce a bit further but obviously don't drop too low.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport Cup 2 Prices

Size Price Range  
225/45 R18 £174.00 - £227.95 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £213.00 - £267.40 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £257.60 - £326.70 (36 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R20 £232.00 - £307.40 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R19 £263.00 - £353.95 (62 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 50 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a BMW M3 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,800 spirited miles
The most balanced extreme performance tyre!
Tyre feedback is the best amongst these extreme performance tyres.
Dry performance is very good with not bad wet handling.
Wear on these tyres are insane.....you expect it to last only for around 12000km or a year.....and it's not cheap
55 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018   
Given 95% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Absolutely fantastic thus far. It's been a little cold for these to work to their best, but they still do a fantastic job of making the handling perfectly balanced and totally enjoyable - It's very easy to read the road with these:- You do feel them warming up with use at lower temperatures, but with air temperatures of 15c+ they're most of the way to being ready to go. Response is instant, and stability at higher speeds (Up to ~150+ MPH) is noticably greater than the PS4S. In wet conditions, drive sensibly "at the speed of traffic" and you'll be perfectly fine, even in moderate to heavy rain - I've yet to encounter standing water, but I'd be quite cautious if puddles were starting to form given the tread. - I've not left a wet score yet as I haven't tried them on a proper B road. I have the Ferrari K1 fitment which comes with acoustic foam; In comparison to the PS4S these replaced, I would say they are no less comfortable in most instances, and are either quieter or at least of a nicer pitch. Time will tell how they wear; I'm hoping for at least 10K at the moment.
52 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2021   
Given 83% while driving a BMW M3 (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
After the run in check (at 2000 km), replaced the OEM Pilot Super Sport with Cup 2 (265/35 R19 and 285/30 R20).

They really stick like s**t to your shoe! But you need first to heat them up AND accordingly adjust the tire pressure! It's the most heat sensitive tire I had until now...you can start at 20°C and 2,3 bar and end up with almost 3 bar at 70°C on the highway. So, before doing another lap, get out, check the pressure and adjust at around 2.1-2.2 bar. Front-back variation, at your own discretion, depending on how do you want your car to behave.

They are so sticky that even cold they SUCK the pebbles in the parking lot and the MPG is worse than with Pilot Super Sport (from 9 to 11-12 l/100 km). Road feed back is amazing, it's like you feel the road with your own palm faces. And the are more comfortable than the Super Sports! I guess the side wall is not that stiff. Who knows. Now the bad part: it absolutely does hate cold and wet conditions. As in, no grip. Try to pull away from a stop at a roundabout, you only get shudders from the back and not much forward momentum. So you need to time your starts accordingly (more time and space to the next incoming car). But with care, you can manage it. During a long trip, I also drove in snowy conditions (unexpected, it was only September) and it went ok. Just take care and no sudden movements.
33 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2021   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Reviews

Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Optimum dry grip is reached when the tyre reaches performance temperature. This can only be achieved driving on a track - public roads don't give enough opportunity to go fast safely around corners to generate heat. Once they're hot, they're sticky and provide loads of grip in the dry. Wet grip isn't too bad when they're hot, but they do cool off a bit quick. However, in the wet they are consistent with their grip, so once the temperature settles, you know what to expect. Feedback is average. You really ought to know your vehicle's handling characteristics, rather than rely on this tyre to tell you how it's coping on the road surface. Wear is consistent. They provide just as much grip towards the end of their life as at the start. Used as a daily driver with moderate to easy cornering and acceleration, you should expect about 40,000 km. If used on sporadically on the track, about 20,000 km to 30,000 km. Comfort isn't too bad. They are a tad noisy on the coarser bitumen surfaces on the country roads in south west Australia, but still adequate. I've compared these to the original fitted Bridgestones that were road tyres. The main difference between them is the wet handling is much better on the Bridgestones, but the Bridgestones lost a lot of grip suddenly two-thirds towards the end of their life. This made them initially, dangerously unpredictable. I actually removed them before they ran out of tread. Since them, I've had two sets of Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2s.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2021   
BMW (245/35 R19 R) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
These tyres provide superior driver feedback via steering and through the seat of the pants. Superior grip in the dry and fine for a mild climate. I live in Sydney where the temperature rarely drops below 10 degrees celsius. Wet weather handling never worries me as I never push the car in the wet only in the dry. The Cup 2 tyres fitted to my M2 Competition were developed with BMW, a big reason for their selection on my car. One negative is they pick everything up off the road surface, not great for side skirts on the M2 as stone chips leave their mark. It would be prudent to look at clear wrapping the car especially the flanks and side sills if you are super worried about it. Me I like the patina that is left on the car from being well driven.
0 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 92% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R17) on track for 500 spirited miles
Bought these Michelin Pilot Sport Cup2 tyres after reading and watching several very positive reviews. Used these on my road legal track day toy (Mazda RX8). On dry roads, these offer excellent control and feedback, very similar to other UHP tyres I have had. Not driven with these in the wet (and not planning to!), but I would expect them to struggle in the rain, given the tread pattern and depth. On track, these are truly excellent. I ran a same-day direct comparison with Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports and the Cup2s provided a small but noticeable improvement in grip and felt very sure-footed and confidence inspiring. Highly recommended, especially for on-track.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I put Cup 2 on my Mazda MX-5 ND (2017), I already had coilovers and sway bar upgraded (also power upgrade to about 190hp and brake of course), until now I drove on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 which have great grip in the dry and wet also in compare to stock Bridgestone tires (S001 really do not recommend them!), they was just little "spongy" in terms of precise of steering (they have very soft sidewalls) but they are still great tires and I like it, but with Cup 2 it's on another lvl! Steering is very tight, precise, very stable at high speeds in compare to Pilot Sport 4 also grip, absolutely amazing on my upgraded suspension, car is fast as f*ck! :D I can push it really really hard, I mostly drive on back roads (I have them a lot around with minimum of traffic so I can push it) Absolutely fullfill my curent setup what I want from car. They need some warm up in at beginning but nothing terrible, I drove them only in dry, I rarely drive in the wet (I love that car and had it just for my pleasure) so I can't tell anything about wet driving.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 GTA (with Q2) (225/40 R18 W) on track for 8,000 spirited miles
Drove it on 3 different tracks during 2019, including Nurburgring and Spa, in all kinds of conditions.
Impressive grip in the dry, very good resistance to overheating and completely linear performance in the wet.
9 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Nissan GT R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Phenominal grip ,
The gtr is a heavy motor but the cup sport 2 makes it feel a lot lighter and agile
Poke it into a bend and its in and out no problem, wet however , standing water on motorways lends it to be a bit twitchy
Read the weather before you push it to hard in the wet and you will be fine, will encourage slower driving in the wet which is not a bad thing
6 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2019   
Given 49% while driving a Ford Falcon XR6 Ute (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
Pricey and really not worth the money.

6 months and 20,000 kilometres and they are finished.

Interesting I had equal wear over all 4 tires without rotation. Not so sure footed in the wet or in cold weather. Noisey, actually very noisy tires especially when wearing low to 4mm down to 2mm tree depth.

10% increase in fuel consumption driving the same roads I have driven, same vehicle with previous tires that lasted 45,000 kilometres. No real sense of better anything really

Now changed to Bridgestone RE003
10 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2019   
Given 76% while driving a Audi S3 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
I crashed my car because it aquaplaning
13 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2019   
Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
In the dry probably the best tyre I have ever had, but for maximum grip it needs to be hot. Have them on Megane rs250 in 235/35/19 and 235/40/18. On wet drive normally and no problems. Be aware of aquaplaning.
27 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Porsche 964 (255/40 R17) on track for 6,000 spirited miles
Fantastic track day tyre with very strong sidewalls. Will definitely buy again.
9 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2018   
Given 89% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Have the OEM Bridgestone RE040's on the front and the Sport Cups on the rear. Previously had the OEM's all round and having read reviews wanted to try them. The rears are now so good that a previously very well balanced car will understeer as the rears hang on so much better than the fronts although the fronts do only have about 4mm left. Can't wait to get the Sport Cups on the front now. Would highly recommend.
27 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2014