Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2

The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 18 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 150,800 miles driven, and 10 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 59%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 92%
Wear 61%
Comfort 75%
Buy again 83%

First On MarketJanuary 2014
Wheel Size18 - 20"
Width245 - 345mm
Profile25 - 40
Rolling ResistanceD - D
Wet GripC - D
Noise (dB)70 - 74
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Pilot Sport Cup 2 is ranked 11th of 37 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

This tyre replaced the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Plus and this tyre has been replaced by the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect.

Tests Included

10

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

3rd

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

The BEST Track Day Tyres for 2024
1st of 6 tyres
  • The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (N0) demonstrates convincingly sporty handling behavior and neutral balance. It offers very high endurance during long runs and good wet performance.
  • It exhibits critical behavior during wet braking and has too much braking distance and ABS intervention on dry surfaces.
  • The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (N0) impressed drivers with its predictable and confidence-inspiring handling characteristics. The tyre provided a neutral balance, allowing for precise turn-in and a stable rear end. Drivers praised the Cup 2's progressive breakaway characteristics, which made it easy to approach the limit without sudden surprises. The tyre's compound, while focused on longevity, still delivered impressive levels of grip and a comfortable ride on the street. However, some drivers noted that the Cup 2 could be more prone to understeer than its competitors, particularly in wet conditions.
View Full Test >>
Michelin Pilot Sport 4S vs Cup 2 vs Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3 vs 3R vs Toyo R888R
2nd of 5 tyres
  • The Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 performs as expected from the Cup 2, it offers high levels of grip and is very easy to drive for a track tyre, however it breaks into understeer earlier than the SuperCar 3.
View Full Test >>
2020 UHP, UUHP and Track Day Tyre Test
1st of 10 tyres
  • Outstanding grip and precision in the dry, very good feedback, very easy to control at the limit. Pressure change to 2.4f 2.1r (from 2.2f 2.2r) when hot recommended.
  • As typical for a semi slick limited wet performance and high rolling resistance.
  • Best dry grip of all the tyres.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
18 inch
245/35ZR18 (92Y) XLDD70
19 inch
345/30ZR19 (109Y) XLDC72
265/30ZR19 (93Y) XLDC73
265/35ZR19 (98Y) XLDC71
265/40ZR19 (102Y) XLDC71
20 inch
325/30ZR20 (106Y) XLDD74
245/35ZR20 (95Y) XLDD71
345/30ZR20 (106Y)DC72
325/25ZR20 (101Y) XLDC73
245/30ZR20 (90Y) XLDC70
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 >>

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2

2018-09-18 - Which tyre use in Michelin Pilot sport 4 on this test? Because PS4 is not available in 235/35 r 19 . If the Michelin Pilot sport 4S isn't available in rim 18 , What was the tyres use um Michelin Pilot sport 4 in this test.

We ran 235/40 R19 for the video which all three tyres are available in.


2019-10-10 - Hi, I am driving a Golf 7 R Facelift and I want to do a Trackday training at the Nordschleife next year. I also want to do some tourist driving every now and then as well. I will also do a summer road trip through the alps. I am usually doing 12000 km in the summer. Would you recommend using the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S or the Cup 2 for this purpose (so for daily driving on normal roads as well)? I see that the PS4S has a much longer lifetime and excellent dry and wet handling but will it survive trackdriving to a certain limit? Or will it overheat too quickly and be destroyed by driving it for 1000 km on a race track like the Nordschleife? I am not a Pro driver but I would like to do some “faster” laps. Can you give me advise? Thanks a lot!

The PS4S can certainly take some track abuse, but the Cup 2 would take a more sustained beating on places like the ring. The ideal setup would be two sets of wheels, running the Cup 2 when you're doing a lot of track work, and the PS4S when you're spending more time on the road.


2021-05-07 - Just purchasing these on 19 inch rims on a 392bhp Honda Type R. To be used mainly on track so what are recommended tyre pressures for road use and what do you suggest when hot on track. I have a set of PS4S on 20 inch rim and have fond these behaved well on a dry track but expect to use these on wet/damp track and as road winter tyre. Any suggestions ro pressures would be helpful Found on the pS4s had to drop pressures a lot on track as hitting 40PSI and were not happy. Reduced pressures to 29PSI front 28rear and handled a lot better

I would start by aiming for the manufacturers pressures when the tyres are hot, so warm up the car then reset down to just below manufacturers recommended pressures and do a full run. You'll likely then have to bleed out more pressure. If they still feel a bit over you can reduce a bit further but obviously don't drop too low.


2022-06-03 - Honda Civic FK2 going on track day. Can I run CUP 2’s on front & PS4S on rear.

You can. We're not sure whether you should though! It will result in plenty of oversteer when warm and dry (which might be the fun goal!)


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £138.79 - £173.68 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £139.91 - £148.66 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £219.92 - £286.32 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £260.84 - £339.37 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £178.38 - £223.80 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R20 £256.57 - £348.24 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R19 £320.50 - £389.99 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Reviews

Given 95% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Absolutely fantastic thus far. It's been a little cold for these to work to their best, but they still do a fantastic job of making the handling perfectly balanced and totally enjoyable - It's very easy to read the road with these:- You do feel them warming up with use at lower temperatures, but with air temperatures of 15c+ they're most of the way to being ready to go. Response is instant, and stability at higher speeds (Up to ~150+ MPH) is noticably greater than the PS4S. In wet conditions, drive sensibly "at the speed of traffic" and you'll be perfectly fine, even in moderate to heavy rain - I've yet to encounter standing water, but I'd be quite cautious if puddles were starting to form given the tread. - I've not left a wet score yet as I haven't tried them on a proper B road. I have the Ferrari K1 fitment which comes with acoustic foam; In comparison to the PS4S these replaced, I would say they are no less comfortable in most instances, and are either quieter or at least of a nicer pitch. Time will tell how they wear; I'm hoping for at least 10K at the moment.
Helpful 103 - tyre reviewed on March 15, 2021
Given 83% while driving a BMW M3 (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
After the run in check (at 2000 km), replaced the OEM Pilot Super Sport with Cup 2 (265/35 R19 and 285/30 R20).

They really stick like s**t to your shoe! But you need first to heat them up AND accordingly adjust the tire pressure! It's the most heat sensitive tire I had until now...you can start at 20°C and 2,3 bar and end up with almost 3 bar at 70°C on the highway. So, before doing another lap, get out, check the pressure and adjust at around 2.1-2.2 bar. Front-back variation, at your own discretion, depending on how do you want your car to behave.

They are so sticky that even cold they SUCK the pebbles in the parking lot and the MPG is worse than with Pilot Super Sport (from 9 to 11-12 l/100 km). Road feed back is amazing, it's like you feel the road with your own palm faces. And the are more comfortable than the Super Sports! I guess the side wall is not that stiff. Who knows. Now the bad part: it absolutely does hate cold and wet conditions. As in, no grip. Try to pull away from a stop at a roundabout, you only get shudders from the back and not much forward momentum. So you need to time your starts accordingly (more time and space to the next incoming car). But with care, you can manage it. During a long trip, I also drove in snowy conditions (unexpected, it was only September) and it went ok. Just take care and no sudden movements.
Helpful 76 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2021
Given 73% while driving a BMW M3 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,800 spirited miles
The most balanced extreme performance tyre!
Tyre feedback is the best amongst these extreme performance tyres.
Dry performance is very good with not bad wet handling.
Wear on these tyres are insane.....you expect it to last only for around 12000km or a year.....and it's not cheap
Helpful 131 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Reviews

Given 75% while driving a Porsche 718 Spyder (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
My ratings are based on a road driven car, I do not think this is an ideal road tire.
This tire takes some time to get some heat into it. Often I think on the road it takes too long or you never actually get it up to temps depending on your drive, ambient temps and speeds.
When the tires are cold (or don't have sufficient heat in them), the grip levels aren't that great, I've lost rear traction around round abouts even after driving the car a while and thinking there was heat in the tires. I think a tire like the Pilot 4S or the new upcoming S5 will be a better street tire.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on February 6, 2024
Given 76% while driving a Volkswagen Mk7 Golf R (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Optimum dry grip is reached when the tyre reaches performance temperature. This can only be achieved driving on a track - public roads don't give enough opportunity to go fast safely around corners to generate heat. Once they're hot, they're sticky and provide loads of grip in the dry. Wet grip isn't too bad when they're hot, but they do cool off a bit quick. However, in the wet they are consistent with their grip, so once the temperature settles, you know what to expect. Feedback is average. You really ought to know your vehicle's handling characteristics, rather than rely on this tyre to tell you how it's coping on the road surface. Wear is consistent. They provide just as much grip towards the end of their life as at the start. Used as a daily driver with moderate to easy cornering and acceleration, you should expect about 40,000 km. If used on sporadically on the track, about 20,000 km to 30,000 km. Comfort isn't too bad. They are a tad noisy on the coarser bitumen surfaces on the country roads in south west Australia, but still adequate. I've compared these to the original fitted Bridgestones that were road tyres. The main difference between them is the wet handling is much better on the Bridgestones, but the Bridgestones lost a lot of grip suddenly two-thirds towards the end of their life. This made them initially, dangerously unpredictable. I actually removed them before they ran out of tread. Since them, I've had two sets of Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2s.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
BMW (245/35 R19 R) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
These tyres provide superior driver feedback via steering and through the seat of the pants. Superior grip in the dry and fine for a mild climate. I live in Sydney where the temperature rarely drops below 10 degrees celsius. Wet weather handling never worries me as I never push the car in the wet only in the dry. The Cup 2 tyres fitted to my M2 Competition were developed with BMW, a big reason for their selection on my car. One negative is they pick everything up off the road surface, not great for side skirts on the M2 as stone chips leave their mark. It would be prudent to look at clear wrapping the car especially the flanks and side sills if you are super worried about it. Me I like the patina that is left on the car from being well driven.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on January 11, 2021
Given 92% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R17) on track for 500 spirited miles
Bought these Michelin Pilot Sport Cup2 tyres after reading and watching several very positive reviews. Used these on my road legal track day toy (Mazda RX8). On dry roads, these offer excellent control and feedback, very similar to other UHP tyres I have had. Not driven with these in the wet (and not planning to!), but I would expect them to struggle in the rain, given the tread pattern and depth. On track, these are truly excellent. I ran a same-day direct comparison with Goodyear Eagle F1 Supersports and the Cup2s provided a small but noticeable improvement in grip and felt very sure-footed and confidence inspiring. Highly recommended, especially for on-track.
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on July 24, 2020
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I put Cup 2 on my Mazda MX-5 ND (2017), I already had coilovers and sway bar upgraded (also power upgrade to about 190hp and brake of course), until now I drove on Michelin Pilot Sport 4 which have great grip in the dry and wet also in compare to stock Bridgestone tires (S001 really do not recommend them!), they was just little "spongy" in terms of precise of steering (they have very soft sidewalls) but they are still great tires and I like it, but with Cup 2 it's on another lvl! Steering is very tight, precise, very stable at high speeds in compare to Pilot Sport 4 also grip, absolutely amazing on my upgraded suspension, car is fast as f*ck! :D I can push it really really hard, I mostly drive on back roads (I have them a lot around with minimum of traffic so I can push it) Absolutely fullfill my curent setup what I want from car. They need some warm up in at beginning but nothing terrible, I drove them only in dry, I rarely drive in the wet (I love that car and had it just for my pleasure) so I can't tell anything about wet driving.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 GTA (with Q2) (225/40 R18 W) on track for 8,000 spirited miles
Drove it on 3 different tracks during 2019, including Nurburgring and Spa, in all kinds of conditions.
Impressive grip in the dry, very good resistance to overheating and completely linear performance in the wet.
Helpful 44 - tyre reviewed on February 3, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Nissan GT R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Phenominal grip ,
The gtr is a heavy motor but the cup sport 2 makes it feel a lot lighter and agile
Poke it into a bend and its in and out no problem, wet however , standing water on motorways lends it to be a bit twitchy
Read the weather before you push it to hard in the wet and you will be fine, will encourage slower driving in the wet which is not a bad thing
Helpful 46 - tyre reviewed on October 31, 2019
Given 49% while driving a Ford Falcon XR6 Ute (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,500 average miles
Pricey and really not worth the money.

6 months and 20,000 kilometres and they are finished.

Interesting I had equal wear over all 4 tires without rotation. Not so sure footed in the wet or in cold weather. Noisey, actually very noisy tires especially when wearing low to 4mm down to 2mm tree depth.

10% increase in fuel consumption driving the same roads I have driven, same vehicle with previous tires that lasted 45,000 kilometres. No real sense of better anything really

Now changed to Bridgestone RE003
Helpful 49 - tyre reviewed on August 23, 2019
Given 76% while driving a Audi S3 (235/35 R19 W) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
I crashed my car because it aquaplaning
Helpful 59 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2019
Given 79% while driving a Renault Megane RS250 CUP (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 4,500 spirited miles
In the dry probably the best tyre I have ever had, but for maximum grip it needs to be hot. Have them on Megane rs250 in 235/35/19 and 235/40/18. On wet drive normally and no problems. Be aware of aquaplaning.
Helpful 59 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2018
Given 89% while driving a Porsche 964 (255/40 R17) on track for 6,000 spirited miles
Fantastic track day tyre with very strong sidewalls. Will definitely buy again.
Helpful 51 - tyre reviewed on April 19, 2018
Given 89% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Have the OEM Bridgestone RE040's on the front and the Sport Cups on the rear. Previously had the OEM's all round and having read reviews wanted to try them. The rears are now so good that a previously very well balanced car will understeer as the rears hang on so much better than the fronts although the fronts do only have about 4mm left. Can't wait to get the Sport Cups on the front now. Would highly recommend.
Helpful 59 - tyre reviewed on October 17, 2014