Renault clio 197 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Renault clio 197.

Do you Drive a Renault clio 197? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a clio 197 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (212) 93% 91% 87% 89% 82% 81%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (401) 91% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (42) 97% 75% 91% 93% 73% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (70) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 75%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (291) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Falken Azenis FK510 (134) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Toyo R888 R (23) 96% 69% 89% 93% 66% 67%
Toyo Proxes T1 Sport (50) 90% 79% 86% 84% 67% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (243) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Toyo R888 (36) 90% 64% 80% 80% 59% 57%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (206) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (101) 85% 79% 77% 76% 54% 72%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (27) 72% 66% 72% 70% 78% 70%
Maxxis PRO R1 (15) 81% 66% 69% 64% 64% 71%
Hifly HF805 (55) 74% 60% 64% 63% 54% 63%

Renault clio 197 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 64% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Ηaving driven in a "highly spirited" manner over the last couple of days, the facts and outcomes are as follows: This tire has been the best tested on my Clio RS to date. Steering response and road feel are highly elevated compared to my previous tires. Indicatively I mention that even after 1.5h of continuous driving, the tire held off all the required properties without any apparent sign of functional fatigue. Initial pressures F/R were set at 2.5 and 2.1 bar respectively taking under consideration the increased heat load from a very warm Greek b-road with ambient reaching and exceeding 35 C. The only downside to this continuous performance is the fast tire wear. In less than 2000 kms the front tire tread depth decreased to just 3mm. That's the reason that I will not buy them again.
tyre reviewed on 2022-03-12 21:26:34
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 67% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Bought these as a replacement for my worn set of AD08R. Wanted to get the AD08R again bet they were not in stock or ridiculously priced. As a track tire in the dry I'm disappointed, they grip significantly less and also lack feel and progressiveness compared to the AD08R. As a fast road and in the wet they a decent tire. Long lasting for a semi slick.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-16 18:50:34
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 54% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Good dry grip on good tarmac but a lot of understeer and very bad feeling on the limit. On slippery tarmac because there are not progressive you can't trust them. The wear of the tyres is a positive thing but the big negative is the feeling on the limit
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-01 09:22:07
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 67% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on track for 3000 spirited miles
In a word great tyre, so sad to read mixed reviews on a new AD08RS. Yes it is loud, and yes it is very stiff compromising the comfort, but road feedback, immediacy on steering inputs and grip level are absolutely amazing. Never drove the car on them on sub zero temperatures but on temperatures close to zero these tend to heat up quickly just by normal driving peace. As a TD tyre it performs rather well, good resistance to overheating and almost semi-slick level of grip. Currently I am on a set of MPSC2 and times I put down are within 1s compared to AD08R. All this comes at the price of trading the wet weather performance. On a damp road you will be fine but hit the puddle and you are going to be all over the place. Personally tested, not a nice feeling... Replaced front tyres after 5000 km and 2 TDs.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-13 05:39:16
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
Usually always use ps4 on this car but they didn't have them in stock and the car came with the f1 3 which I could not fault.

I cannot fault these tyres at all I replace the steering arms at the same time aswell as tracking done and even 6 months later I'm still impressed so much I have started using these tyres on all my cars I would go as far as saying they as good as pilot sports and I'm sure if its cause the are just released but they are cheap £120 cheaper for 4 that mps it's a no brainer...

Only a fool would buy anything else bar pilot sports, I have done 4k of abusive miles and they still look new....
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-08 16:53:20
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 87% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These are excellent tyres for the money. I was between Conti Premium 6 and these and the prices was just to good to pass on. Did not regret It, I would consider them the Best Buy in UHP Class.

https://youtu.be/QseDx-aBaK4?t=5m40s
tyre reviewed on 2018-09-11 14:21:50
Writing about the Toyo R888 R given 89% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
Got them fitted on a Clio 197 and was a bit nervous at the beginning in the wet but they out handled my road tyres and I was very surprised how much grip it had on wet roads, but amazing in the dry and I haven’t had the chance to warm them up properly. Bit noisy and can feel the road a lot more but would honestly buy another set after these!
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-26 21:16:38
Writing about the Toyo Proxes T1 Sport given 97% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2017-06-28 18:47:44
Writing about the Maxxis PRO R1 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 spirited miles
all round very good tyre for the price . less than £300 for 4 fitted n comes with guarantee .
tyre reviewed on 2014-06-06 00:04:26
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 70% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
Bought my Clio 197 with these on.To be honest I have never heard of this brand so did a little digging up..Found them pretty good overall.In Feb 2014 I did a trackday at Oulton Park and I have to say that they hold up pretty well considering the weather was 50/50.In all fairness the wet grip is not awesome.Have had my traction control light flickering on a numerous occasions in the wet but the dry grip is good enough.Have had them on for more than a year now (track day) and there is about 4mm of tread left.
Buy again?Hmm if I had to (struggle for money) probably yes.It is a decent tire probably better than most of the budget tires out there.
tyre reviewed on 2014-05-25 19:12:09
Writing about the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P given 61% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
A fairly good tyre with good road feedback, grips especially well in the dry but wears rapidly. Wouldn't buy again for this reason, I've found the Goodyear F1's a much better all round tyre which lasts a lot longer.
tyre reviewed on 2014-03-12 12:33:03
Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 5 given 56% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 spirited miles
I am going to reiterate what another reviewer said about these tyres as it seems to be the norm on the clio 197.

The tyres are very good at coping with the stresses put on them by the car, this being said though, they are not progressive, at all..... you get them to a limit of good grip, but if you try and push past it(which the car will do) you will not feel what your doing, they over heat and lose feeling, fast.

Wet weather, they're very good. You can push hard in the wet and not lose grip, this is where the overheating helps. Even at the wear marker they continue to handle just fine. Despite other comments about rubbish handling when worn down.

Finally wear, mine have lasted just 6000 miles, of mixed, hard, motorway and town driving. If you want a tyre that performs good-ish and dosnt last, look no further! Otherwise..... Look else where..... I am!!
tyre reviewed on 2013-11-10 09:06:47
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre