Toyo R888 R

The Toyo R888 R is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Toyo R888.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 96%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 93%
Wear 66%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 86%

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 66,334 miles driven.

The R888 R is ranked 10th of 31 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

Michelin Pilot Sport 4S vs Cup 2 vs Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3 vs 3R vs Toyo R888R - 4th of 5 tyres

  • Overall - The Toyo R888R is a difficult tyre to drive at the very limit. At 8/10th the tyre feels sporty with direct steering and a nice weighting, however when you get to the limit the tyres balance moves around without much feedback, and once past the limit of grip is oversteers very quickly. The tyre also produces a lot of tread pattern noise at speed.
View Full Test >>

2017 Track Day Tyre Test - 5th of 5 tyres

  • Positive - Short dry braking, low price.
  • Negative - Slowest during the dry and wet handling laps, longest wet braking, weakest aquaplaning result. Very noisy.
View Full Test >>

2017 Sport Auto UHP and Track Day Test - 2nd of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good wet traction for a semi slick, high grip and good steering in the dry
  • Negative - Very nervous in wet handling, very noisy
  • Overall - Particularly recommended
View Full Test >>

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
205/40 R17 84W   E F 70  
205/45 R17 88W   E F 71  
215/45 R17 91W   E F 70  
225/45 R17 94W   E F 70  
265/35 R18 97Y   E F 72  
235/40 R18 95Y   E F 71  
265/30 R19 89Y   E F 72  
295/30 R19 100Y   E E 75  
305/30 R19 102Y   E E 75  

Questions and Answers for the Toyo R888 R

2016-08-25 - Good morning, I"m just curious what the Treadwear rating is on these tires?

The treadwear rating of the Toyo Proxes R888R varies by size, full information can be found on the Toyo website.


2017-02-23 - I'm wondering regarding left and right tire tread.. On left tire tread going up,but right tire tread going down.. Is that normal? I usually fiited my GTR R888,but i want to try this new R888R.. I just wonder regarding the tire tread.. Regards AFIQ AFIAT

The Toyo R888R is an asymmetric tyre, so there will be some variance between the looks on the left and right sides of the vehicle. This is normal, and won't affect the tyres performance.


2017-07-20 - How long mileage wise would a set of R888R's last on average?

The mileage of the R888R will be massively dependant on usage as track days will shorten the life considerably. In purely road miles, a guess would be around 3-4000.


2022-09-23 - Could I use these tyres on the road driving in normal conditions ?

You can legally use the R888R on the road ay any time, however they will have much lower grip in the wet than a normal road tyre, and during the colder winter months it is really not advisable.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/50 R16 £163.89 - £229.80 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £183.79 - £198.40 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £167.59 - £206.60 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/45 R17 £186.19 - £221.70 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £170.99 - £176.90 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 41 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Toyo R888 R Reviews

Given 97% while driving a Alfa Romeo (190/50 R15) on track for 125 spirited miles
Fitted these on my 2nd Alfa 155 for a trackday, the dry grip they provide is by any means outstanding, the cornering speeds the car reached were almost on the edge of being described as ridiculous! They seem to be gripping quite well too on wet roads I must say. Up to about 80-90 km/h they are quite but at higher speeds they make some considerable noise.

They did wear very little after a total of 30 laps, "pedal to the metal" action, probably because I had insisted on aligning the wheels as perfectly as possible.

Will be using them again on the next trackday, they can cope with at least as many laps again for sure.
Helpful 79 - tyre reviewed on January 13, 2016
Given 96% while driving a (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 7,000 average miles
I write this review for anyone who has wheelspin problems but also wants to feel confortable in car without noises.
You can buy these tires blindfolded. Absolute grip minimal to none noise! Perfect road feel and steering feedback.
I went from a lot of semi-slicks and finally I found the mother load
Helpful 64 - tyre reviewed on June 27, 2017
Given 91% while driving a Mazda MX5 (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Just got them fitted today and this is an initial review based on about 30 kilometers of spirited street driving. Grip level on the streets is just wicked. Have not yet tested on track or in wet conditions, but if anything like their predecessor, the grip should be very good if the surface is wet, but without pools of water.

These are actually very quiet to up to about 80 km/h, but after that they start to make quite a lot of noise. Other than that the comfort level is comparable to any regular summer tire.

Steering feedback is quite good but with 4 degress of caster, they don't center quite as well as my previous Federal RS-R:s did.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2015
Have you driven on the Toyo R888 R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo R888 R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Toyo R888 R >

Latest Toyo R888 R Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 9 average miles
Have very good traction in the dry, and a good wet traction, for a semi slick
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution V (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
Its an amazing tyre, in all conditions, except the wet!
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2023
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 77% while driving a Honda Prelude (205/50 R16) on track for 500 spirited miles
These are my first semislick tires. Not new. Slightly used , two years old. Results were shocking ! I read some reviews they last long on track. I guess these are just legends made by retired people driving to mall and back or slow posers. Front right was destroyed in 15 minutes ! Even faster than high performance street tires i used before. The track i use to have fun is very tight and technical and has 3 consecutive right hand corners . Total of 9 right corners and 3 left corners . Front right was boiling and ripped. 5 laps and pause. 4 times and good bye right front R888R. Pressure 2.2Bar hot. Cornering speed feels amazing compared with Turanza Er300 but overall Toyo are just one second faster/lap. But even on Turanza i can beat most street cars on semislick on this track Times i did on Toyo were super good for car's specs but just not so impressive as it feels . They feel 3-4 seconds faster compared with street Bridgestone but overall it was just one second. Braking is poor compared with cornering capabilities. Sidewall very rough. Driving to the track 100mp/h on public road they were good. No noise or other issues. In wet i can't tell. Still my S2000 on Potenza S02 is faster than my Prelude on R888R. Somehow i am disappointed with them and even more impressed with GranTurismo cover tire, S02..
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 9, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 9 (235/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
EXCELLENT TYRE IN ALL CONDITIONS
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 26, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Lotus Elise (225/45 R17) on track for 10,000 spirited miles
I use this tire for mostly track. Great tire for running hard, it likes a little heat. Very predictable! Good wear for a track use tire. Not really made for the wet. Limited channels to run off water but for dry, great tire.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on February 25, 2022
Given 86% while driving a Mitsubishi Evolution X (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Fantastic Tyre in Dry - there Even good in the Wet (On an Evo) no tyre squeal, lasted 9 Month approx. 8000miles Only downside, there noisy on motorway drives, a slight drowning sound
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on January 9, 2022
Given 73% while driving a Cadillac 2014 ctsv (/40 R19) on track for 4,000 spirited miles
Good for high horsepower applications they definitely have their limits around 700whp and wore quite fast mast 4000 miles but oh were they nice while they lasted
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on October 6, 2021
Given 57% while driving a Lotus Exige S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
A very good track tyre for a reasonable budget. I replaced it as a cheaper variant of the Yokohama AD048 (LTS- medium compound and special stiff sidewall), which is no longer produced. It simply has all the pros and cons of the semislick tyres- it must warm up for a good function, it's noisy, limited function on water and in the cold. In the dry they are (for 1 tone car) excelent. Very stiff sidewall. When balancing, it was necessary to use often over 100 g weights for almost all pieces, in all dimensions. On my car and with this dimension (Lotus Exige S240, rear axle 225/235x45 R17) a very bad longevity. Around 2000 miles and they were pretty over the limit. I'm not drifting at all. This has never happened to me before or after with other tires. On the front axle (195x50 R16) over 10 000 miles.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2021
Given 89% while driving a Honda FK2 type r (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
Really impressed with the amount of grip with hard rain
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on July 16, 2020
Given 81% while driving a Skoda Fabia 2 1.6 (205/40 R17) on track for 3,100 spirited miles
After trying some cheap chinese trackay tires (goodride sport rs), I decided to step up the size and the quality of the tires. Searched the same size as skoda says form factory, and then went for the r888r. Same course, same car, instantly more feedback, more sharp response, grip levels that made a compact car briskier than ever. Managed to shave 2 seconds of the previous time, less flex on the sidewall, more speed on the curves. Be carefull, first few laps in a underpowered car, can be tricky by the lack of temp of the tires. 2 warming laps, problem solved. Decided only rotating from side, not from axle to see the wear on them, and lets say grip demands wear for sure. 5 trackdays and a 800 km trip back from a course and the fronts are now in the wear marks. The rears, only 2mm wear. Please consider that the average weather here is 30 celsius avg in summer. Those in the uk or europe can see less wear difinitely because of the colder climate conditions. Now hoping that covid eases the life to get back on the track, still got some decent grip in the fronts so lets push it to the limits. 30 psi cold 38 psi hot rear 30 psi cold in 35 psi hot If you like to send more tail happiness, 34 cold , so you can reach 38 psi. Toyo says 32 38 is the optimal psi. Definitely gonna purchase some more...
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2020
Given 81% while driving a Caterham 1.6 K Roadsport (185/60 R13) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
he car I had came fitted with a set of Yokohama A539 tyres. Designed for normal passenger car use they needed significantly more than 500kg on top of them and they were hopeless. Zero grip, got hot, became squirmy and unpredictable and were hopeless on track. Id driven on the ZZS quite a lot but wasn't sure if Avon merited the price premium, and the tyre size wasn't ideal for my model so I opted for the R888R in GG compound.

Shortly after I had a chance at Croft to compare three Caterham's with ZZR, ZZS and the R888R.

Initial impressions are that in the bone dry with all other considerations gone, the ZZR is king. Genuinely a superb stable high performance tyre that stays on the boil for a significant amount of time. I'd suggest a window of at least 10 laps where the tyre was on perfect form. Then a slow transition into being slightly more slippery and excess tyre wear as the temperature increases.

The ZZS is a superb road tyre for a Caterham. Remarkably useful in the wet and even down to quite low temperatures, and works very well on a track as long as you limit your sessions to say 6-8 laps. After this again the transition into slightly less predictable begins and the car just becomes very slidey!

The R888R was somewhere in between the two extremes. I felt that the Toyos offered ALMOST ZZR performance but at a fairly significant discount. They were definitely better from cold than the ZZS and lasted a little longer before going off. They also worked almost as well on the road as a ZZS, dealing with water pretty well. The R888R stayed on my car.

Downsides: the R888R is a heavier tyre with a stiffer sidewall, so this makes them a little less comfortable and adds a touch of unsprung weight to a light car, but their benefits generally outweighed these issues.

Ultimately I feel budget and requirement would dictate which you'd have. On a modern Caterham where ride height and sump layouts allow the smaller ratios, I'd suggest pick either a ZZR/S. But for older academy cars based on 175/70/13 tyres, going down to a 185/55/13 was just too much. The toyo in 185/60/13 was a better bet, with a small tweak to ride height.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on April 5, 2019
Given 41% while driving a Porsche 991.1 GT3 RS (265/35 R19 W) on track for 200 spirited miles
This is a slow tire. I'm not sure how this tire is getting so many positive reviews. Maybe it's good for a lightweight vehicle or in smaller sizes. But I think it's no good for modern heavy cars which typically weighs more than 1400kg, or in bigger sizes. Grip is low and your laptime will suffer. This stand no chance against the track-focused tires, such as A050 GS, 03G, because it's quite a bit slower than some road tires, like RE-71R. Also, this tire is pretty heavier than other tires in same size which may contributes its slowness.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2019