Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer trackday and competition tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Toyo Proxes RA1 (3) 97% 73% 97% 73% 93% 67%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (37) 97% 75% 92% 93% 75% 71%
Accelera 651 Sport (13) 89% 76% 85% 87% 84% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup (3) 100% 70% 97% 90% 73% 60%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Toyo R888 R (14) 96% 69% 88% 90% 71% 64%
Dunlop Direzza DZ03 (4) 95% 65% 90% 90% 85% 38%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (14) 98% 61% 93% 93% 58% 73%
Nankang AR 1 (24) 91% 48% 87% 89% 78% 71%
Avon ZZR (9) 91% 64% 70% 90% 74% 71%
Nitto NT01 (6) 97% 56% 93% 90% 63% 47%
Federal 595RSPRO (6) 87% 68% 72% 83% 74% 62%
Federal 595RSR (47) 87% 67% 77% 81% 73% 58%
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56%
Yokohama Advan A050 (4) 98% 45% 93% 90% 33% 70%
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56%
Falken Azenis RT 615 (3) 83% 53% 77% 80% 80% 57%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (8) 91% 63% 86% 86% 39% 57%
Achilles 123S (12) 90% 64% 81% 82% 57% 56%
Extreme Performance VR2 (4) 85% 48% 80% 83% 68% 43%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (14) 72% 65% 71% 71% 72% 62%
Federal 595RSRR (3) 90% 25% 75% 80% 30% 40%
Achilles ATR K Sport (3) 45% 55% 50% 50% 30% 50%

Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition Tyres with no reviews

Achilles 123, Avon CR500, Avon ZZS, BFGoodrich g Force Sport Comp 2, BFGoodrich gForce R1, Bridgestone Potenza RE55, Bridgestone Potenza S007 RS, Dmack TrackDay, Dunlop Direzza DZ02, Dunlop Sport Maxx Race 2, Dunlop SportMaxx Race, Extreme Performance VR1, Falken Azenis RT 615 K, Falken Azenis RT660, Federal FZ201, General G Max RS, Giti GitiCompete GTR2, Giti GitiCompete GTR3, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3R, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar G2, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport R, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport RS, Hankook Ventus RSS Z211, Hankook Ventus TD Z221, Hankook Ventus Z213, Hankook Ventus Z214, Interstate RACEDNRT, Maxxis ZR9 Victra, Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect, Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 R, Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Plus, Nitto NT05R, Nitto NT555 G2, Pirelli P Zero Trofeo, Pirelli P Zero Trofeo R, Sailun Atrezzo RO1, Toyo DRR1 Drag Slick, Toyo Proxes RR, Toyo Proxes RS1, Toyo Proxes RS1, Toyo Proxes TQ, Yokohama Advan A032R, Yokohama Advan A052

Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Dunlop Direzza DZ03 rated 80% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 5 GTI
Driving on track for 1500 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-08 17:02:50
Nitto NT01 rated 76% while driving a BMW m2
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
Well, I can only speak of my personal track experience, but I've heard the same from fellow instructors and racers. I've had Sport Cup 2s, RE71Rs, and NT01s on my M2 for multiple track events at the same circuits. I was consistently putting in lap times that were 2 seconds faster around the 1.53 mile Lime Rock track (high 0:59 laps) with the NT01s or RE71Rs, as relative to the SC2s. I saw roughly the same wear rates between the SC2s and RE71Rs (about 4-5 days before the tires were heat cycled out), while the NT01s easily went for a minimum of 10 days and continued to get faster until the chords. Aside from fastest single lap times and wear rates, a more interesting aspect to these tires is how they reacted to being pushed. Both the RE71Rs and SC2s were good for a fast lap or two before they overheated and started to get greasy, needing a few laps to cool down. The NT01s were consistent for a full 20 minute session of fast laps. Not as precise feeling as the RE71Rs, a bit of a blunt instrument, but extremely grippy and better break away characteristics than the RE71R. Given that I accomplished the same times with the NT01s as with the RE71Rs, while they cost the same but last twice as long, the NT01s are still the best track day tire I have driven to date. With regards to wet driving, the NT01s are fine in light rain once warmed up. But they will hydroplane in any standing water.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-24 16:55:59
Nankang AR 1 rated NAN% while driving a Renault
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
We run a proffesional motorsport team in terms of how it operated and amatuer in terms of the FIA motorsport coffee drinking, price increasing stamp duty dudes. Our car is Renault Twingo R2 EVO homalated fromt RS133 Apart from the shell of cup there is not much cariierd over from the cup rs133. The dry weight is 650 kg but ballasted to 1250 for FIA event @ 205 HP @ 2WD Front. We have spent alot of time on tyres and suspension and we very inpressed with these tyres and that of the Toyo R888R. The Nankings A1 do have the edge on the track where as Toyo R888R have the edge on the country roads We run a full coil over Ohlins kit weighted and balanced. The A1 are perfect for track days and offer a super glue grip but they need a bit of suspension set up and fixed suspension systems will not release the full potential of the the tyre. A perfect track for testing a car setup is Cadwell Park. In regards to price they are well priced for what they offer We do pre heat them to what we feel is best on the day and tyre pressure is critical for these tyres. In regards to comment of they cheap tyres, well when your using 2 or 3 sets a weekend it can be costly tyre. If your really chasing points and seconds then these would be ok but you would be better of with the Perrelli RK5 tyre compound. As I tell my kids who drive the R2- As driver we can set it up the best we can but you have to learn to drive it into its limits. Feed back from the tyres are good unlike the scary R888R that seem to stick like glue but then let go in rapido mode.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-15 19:39:07
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 rated 95% while driving a Honda Civic Type R
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Absolutely fantastic thus far. It's been a little cold for these to work to their best, but they still do a fantastic job of making the handling perfectly balanced and totally enjoyable - It's very easy to read the road with these:- You do feel them warming up with use at lower temperatures, but with air temperatures of 15c+ they're most of the way to being ready to go. Response is instant, and stability at higher speeds (Up to ~150+ MPH) is noticably greater than the PS4S. In wet conditions, drive sensibly "at the speed of traffic" and you'll be perfectly fine, even in moderate to heavy rain - I've yet to encounter standing water, but I'd be quite cautious if puddles were starting to form given the tread. - I've not left a wet score yet as I haven't tried them on a proper B road. I have the Ferrari K1 fitment which comes with acoustic foam; In comparison to the PS4S these replaced, I would say they are no less comfortable in most instances, and are either quieter or at least of a nicer pitch. Time will tell how they wear; I'm hoping for at least 10K at the moment.
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-15 16:27:39
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect rated 79% while driving a BMW 335i
Driving on mostly country roads for 7000 average miles
Previously used original Michelin PSC2, Pirelli PZ4 and Michelin PSS. Compared to original PSC2, wet grip and aquaplaning resistance are massively improved, it took me a while to build trust in the wet, having had some moments on PSC2s before, but they are almost as good as PSS incredibly. Dry grip and handling limits are beyond sensible road driving, but the tyres always feel special, you know you're on good shoes at all speeds, but as they wore, became more like you'd expect a track tyre to feel; tramlining etc. Ride quality is firm but good, noise on poor surfaces is high, but on good surfaces almost silent. I like tyres that convey the surface well and they do that better than any other road tyre I've used. Like the old PSC2s and PSS, dry and wet grip go off noticeably under 7C ambient temp. I do a lot of miles and wear is not as good as the old PSC2, the rears went under the limit after 7k miles, I got over 10k from the old PSC2s and 17k from the previous PSSs, Pirelli PZ4s were at 2mm in under 10k on this car. With my head I'd choose PSS or maybe try PS4S for my road driving, but I'd wish I still had the ultimate; so my heart ordered another set!
tyre reviewed on 2021-03-02 17:55:15
General G Max RS rated 48% while driving a Ford Mustang
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
I bought these tires to use in racing events and track days. The races I run are open road races, with sustained high speeds, and extreme cornering demands. Track days are just open lapping. I also enjoy spirited "leisure drives" on public roads from time to time. Generally, I've been disappointed with these tires. The grip seems "okay", but the handling and turn-in feel is kind of dead. They're a fairly harsh ride, but not intolerable. My biggest issue with them is and insane booming sound over bumps of any kind when they get hot from driving at high speeds, and/or at ambient air temps of 90+F, to the point that you can't carry on a conversation with a passenger in the car, and even worse, you worry that the tires are about to explode. It was even loud with a helmet on. I have General AS-05's on my other Mustang, and they are a pure joy to drive. I'm seriously thinking about swapping out the RS's for some AS-05's. Even if I lose a little ultimate grip, the ride and feel are so much better with the AS-05's that it might be worth it.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-17 00:51:54
Giti GitiCompete GTR3 rated 80% while driving a
Driving on for 600 spirited miles
Great tyres Control tyre for the fun cup Even fairly worn they are ok in the wet Fantastic dry tyre Highly recommended I want the bigger sizes now for my other Cars.
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-08 22:45:17
Dunlop Direzza 03G rated 74% while driving a BMW 320
Driving on track for 150 spirited miles
On the track they have so much grip, amazing in the wet, but wear too quickly..
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-03 01:18:28
Federal 595RSPRO rated 80% while driving a Alfa Romeo 4C
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Good to know: I got this tyres after my Yokohama AD08R were done and I had no confidence in the replacement, the AD08RS. Heard a lot of bad things, so I tried this 595RS-PRO. Price wise they are in a total different league so my expetations weren't that high. Well, here are the most important things: - The tyre is a lot louder then the AD08R. I drive a Alfa 4C, so sound isn't to important, but still it's noticeable. - These tyres grip amazing in the dry. Wow! They have more grip then the AD08R they replaced who were, to be honest, really worn and getting old. Nevertheless: I'm absolutely suprised by the levels of grip it provides for it's price. - The tyres grip also in moisture and cold weather. Never expected it, but they really do. - These tyres are really wide for their size. A lot wider then the Yoko's. I'm really happy with the tyres. Never thought this kind of performance was possible for this kind of money. I do track days with them and they hold perfectly. I'm not the kind of guy to measure my times, I just drive quick laps and have a great day. Nevertheless, a good tyre for every sporty driver. I don't know how the tyres hold on a more heavy car, but for lightweight cars they are absolutely recommendable!
tyre reviewed on 2021-02-01 11:19:09
Toyo R888 R rated 57% while driving a Lotus Exige S
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
A very good track tyre for a reasonable budget. I replaced it as a cheaper variant of the Yokohama AD048 (LTS- medium compound and special stiff sidewall), which is no longer produced. It simply has all the pros and cons of the semislick tyres- it must warm up for a good function, it's noisy, limited function on water and in the cold. In the dry they are (for 1 tone car) excelent. Very stiff sidewall. When balancing, it was necessary to use often over 100 g weights for almost all pieces, in all dimensions. On my car and with this dimension (Lotus Exige S240, rear axle 225/235x45 R17) a very bad longevity. Around 2000 miles and they were pretty over the limit. I'm not drifting at all. This has never happened to me before or after with other tires. On the front axle (195x50 R16) over 10 000 miles.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-19 14:52:21
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 rated NAN% while driving a BMW
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
These tyres provide superior driver feedback via steering and through the seat of the pants. Superior grip in the dry and fine for a mild climate. I live in Sydney where the temperature rarely drops below 10 degrees celsius. Wet weather handling never worries me as I never push the car in the wet only in the dry. The Cup 2 tyres fitted to my M2 Competition were developed with BMW, a big reason for their selection on my car. One negative is they pick everything up off the road surface, not great for side skirts on the M2 as stone chips leave their mark. It would be prudent to look at clear wrapping the car especially the flanks and side sills if you are super worried about it. Me I like the patina that is left on the car from being well driven.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-11 21:35:32
Federal 595RSRR rated NAN% while driving a Vauxhall
Driving on track for 10000 spirited miles
Best racing tyres ever. I tryed all semi slicks existing on market,but this one is a winner.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-10 10:58:41
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre