Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition Tyres

Below are all the reviewed passenger car summer trackday and competition tyres on Tyre Reviews. Please click into each tyre for further details.

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Toyo Proxes RA1 (3) 97% 73% 97% 73% 93% 67%
Yokohama Advan A052 (4) 100% 65% 93% 100% 75% 78%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (39) 97% 75% 91% 93% 74% 71%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup (3) 100% 70% 97% 90% 73% 60%
Kumho V70a (19) 99% 78% 90% 86% 57% 69%
Accelera 651 Sport (14) 86% 74% 82% 84% 81% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect (7) 97% 70% 88% 90% 58% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 (16) 97% 59% 91% 93% 61% 74%
Toyo R888 R (16) 95% 69% 86% 90% 68% 64%
Dunlop Direzza DZ03 (7) 94% 66% 89% 89% 71% 47%
Nankang AR 1 (27) 91% 47% 86% 89% 75% 68%
Federal 595RSPRO (7) 86% 69% 74% 84% 78% 64%
Nitto NT01 (6) 97% 56% 93% 90% 63% 47%
Avon ZZR (10) 90% 61% 70% 88% 71% 71%
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport R (3) 80% 55% 95% 90% 60% 65%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Yokohama Advan A048 (9) 96% 53% 96% 81% 51% 56%
Yokohama Advan A050 (4) 98% 45% 93% 90% 33% 70%
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56%
Dunlop Direzza 03G (8) 91% 63% 86% 86% 39% 57%
Extreme Performance VR2 (5) 88% 52% 84% 86% 66% 36%
Achilles 123S (12) 90% 64% 81% 82% 57% 56%
Falken Azenis RT 615 (4) 80% 53% 75% 78% 78% 55%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (18) 73% 66% 73% 74% 76% 66%
Federal 595RSRR (3) 90% 25% 75% 80% 30% 40%
Achilles ATR K Sport (3) 45% 55% 50% 50% 30% 50%

Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition Tyres with no reviews

Achilles 123, Avon CR500, Avon ZZS, BFGoodrich g Force Sport Comp 2, BFGoodrich gForce R1, Bridgestone Potenza RE55, Bridgestone Potenza S007 RS, Continental ExtremeContact Force, Dmack TrackDay, Dunlop Direzza DZ02, Dunlop Sport Maxx Race 2, Dunlop SportMaxx Race, Extreme Performance VR1, Falken Azenis RT 615 K, Falken Azenis RT660, Federal FZ201, General G Max RS, Giti GitiCompete GTR2, Giti GitiCompete GTR3, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3R, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar G2, Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport RS, Hankook Ventus RSS Z211, Hankook Ventus TD Z221, Hankook Ventus Z213, Hankook Ventus Z214, Interstate RACEDNRT, Kumho Ecsta V370, Maxxis ZR9 Victra, Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 R, Michelin Pilot Sport Cup Plus, MRF ZTR, Nitto NT05R, Nitto NT555 G2, Pirelli P Zero Trofeo, Pirelli P Zero Trofeo R, Sailun Atrezzo RO1, Toyo DRR1 Drag Slick, Toyo Proxes RR, Toyo Proxes RS1, Toyo Proxes RS1, Toyo Proxes TQ, Yokohama Advan A032R

Passenger Car Summer Trackday and Competition Tyres Tyre Review Highlights

Dunlop Direzza DZ03 rated 69% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
MR2 W30 2ZZ I tracked them twice, lap times improved compared to the AR-1, even though i went with a square setup (205/50/15) instead of staggered (205/225 AR1s). Excellent dry grip, not really pushed them on wet roads, VERY noisy, comfort level comparable to any semislick tyre out there, with hard sidewalls. As with the AR1s, though, i only managed around 4.000 Km and 40-50 heat cycles over 9 months of use (120 Km on track). Rears are toast. Fronts still have some tread, but take much longer to get to temp. Would 100% recommend them to anyone wanting PURE GRIP, i would definitely buy again, but they are getting hard to source and more expensive lately...
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-19 21:10:34
Nankang AR 1 rated 76% while driving a Lotus Elise
Driving on mostly country roads for 1500 spirited miles
prefer them to the Toyo R888R's I had before. Less tramlining and similar to more grip and more confidence in it's abilities.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-18 00:30:42
Nankang AR 1 rated 70% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
these are trackday tyres and i use them only on track or transfers from home to track. the grip is great, even better than Toyo R888R i have used before, consistent performance lap after lap. cornering speed is great! on wet surface it is better to stay at home or cruise at low speed. street usability is fine as long as you use them for short distances, you can feel every pothole, even the smallest my car is a 2016 Mazda MX-5 with no mods other than Tein dampers
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-15 17:54:25
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 rated 83% while driving a BMW M3
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
After the run in check (at 2000 km), replaced the OEM Pilot Super Sport with Cup 2 (265/35 R19 and 285/30 R20).

They really stick like s**t to your shoe! But you need first to heat them up AND accordingly adjust the tire pressure! It's the most heat sensitive tire I had until now...you can start at 20°C and 2,3 bar and end up with almost 3 bar at 70°C on the highway. So, before doing another lap, get out, check the pressure and adjust at around 2.1-2.2 bar. Front-back variation, at your own discretion, depending on how do you want your car to behave.

They are so sticky that even cold they SUCK the pebbles in the parking lot and the MPG is worse than with Pilot Super Sport (from 9 to 11-12 l/100 km). Road feed back is amazing, it's like you feel the road with your own palm faces. And the are more comfortable than the Super Sports! I guess the side wall is not that stiff. Who knows. Now the bad part: it absolutely does hate cold and wet conditions. As in, no grip. Try to pull away from a stop at a roundabout, you only get shudders from the back and not much forward momentum. So you need to time your starts accordingly (more time and space to the next incoming car). But with care, you can manage it. During a long trip, I also drove in snowy conditions (unexpected, it was only September) and it went ok. Just take care and no sudden movements.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-14 16:16:30
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport R rated 81% while driving a Renault Megane III RS Trophy (275cv)
Driving on track for 1000 spirited miles
From the beginning you feel the stiffnes of the structure. They are difficult just to place on the rim (keep in mind, good tools needed). Driving you really feel everyithing from below. Grip is quite good, but at the limit it drops quite fast, there is not such a good transition. They are still predictible, but it is a little more difficult to be consistent on a good lap time. In dry they warm up quite quickly and may require some pressure adjustment on track to avoid having too high air pressure. In these cases the tyre starts sliding a lot. On the other side, no much heat is needed in case of rain and if there is not much water they have quite a good grip. The outside longitudinal channels should go closing with tyre wear, so I expect some more reduction in aquaplaing performance. Comfort is not what they were ment for. Suprisingly they are more noisy as new than after a couple of trackdays. Wear: they are not the softer ones and they not really get like glue, so the initial feeling is that they may give some reasonalbe milage. In summary, a plus for the decent grip when cold, I like to steering feeling within the limit. Just not completely convinced from the feeling when the grip break (91Y load-speed codes)
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 20:49:21
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport R rated 69% while driving a BMW E92 M3
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Very good tyre in terms of feeling and progressivity. Easy to slide and very predictable. Low traction by low temperature (below 15° Celsius), needs proper warm up to grip. Not faster than road speed limits under the rain, but not scary. Wears quickly if you use them often on the limit, which the tyre pushes you to do!
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 19:03:43
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect rated 55% while driving a BMW 135i
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Used the tires primarely on the track (time attack events and practices) and driving to the track. The dry grip was pretty ok, but it was hard to drive the car close to the limit, as tires gave very little feedback and it felt like the sidewall was very soft. Rather a lot of understeer and some unexpected oversteer as well. After just 2 short sessions on the track I have noticed that one of the tread segments (1 of 4) started to wear significantly, especially on front tires. I was very carefull with tire pressure, following Michelin recommendations all the time. Very soon big parts of this tread segment started to just fall out, while the rest of the tread was rather very good. After that, I made a reclamation to the tire seller and currently waiting for a results of the examination. To be honest - very dissapointed with tires performance and behaviour. For over 250 EUR per tire, I was expecting a lot more.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 17:34:02
Nankang AR 1 rated 63% while driving a Toyota GR Yaris
Driving on track for 200 spirited miles
Would be really nice to get a comparison of Semi Slicks. Drove the AR1 two times now on the GR Yaris and the Cup2 previously on the M2. Was not so impressed with the Cup2s overall. Going from stock PS4S 225/40 18 to AR1 in 255/35 18 (-3 camber in the front) is a different world. But wear is pretty high. Would be nice to see how they stack up versus other Semi slicks, like 888R, Federals or Yokohams or even slicks. There really is no up to date semi slicks track test. Tire sizes could differ from the spec sheet... what matters more is the real width in MM... i.e. Cup2s 255s are much wider then AR-1 255s etc. What matters more for track is what's available and what fits. Thanks for all the great work. Enjoying the channel :)
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 12:12:30
Toyo R888 R rated 73% while driving a Cadillac 2014 ctsv
Driving on track for 4000 spirited miles
Good for high horsepower applications they definitely have their limits around 700whp and wore quite fast mast 4000 miles but oh were they nice while they lasted
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-06 02:41:17
Federal 595RSR rated 54% while driving a Renault clio 197
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Good dry grip on good tarmac but a lot of understeer and very bad feeling on the limit. On slippery tarmac because there are not progressive you can't trust them. The wear of the tyres is a positive thing but the big negative is the feeling on the limit
tyre reviewed on 2021-09-01 08:22:07
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 Connect rated 90% while driving a Honda Civic Type R
Driving on track for 31567 spirited miles
I have a civic FK8 that is my track car. The first tyres were the too r888r's which seemed pretty good but when I switched to the advan AD08R I soon realised the shortfalls of the r888r. A warm Oulton Park seemed to suit the Advans well. However since then I have found it wanting. I did Donnington GP (1st trackway this year) and the grip just wasn't there. So after the standard late night obsessing I went for the Pilot sport cup 2's with the track connect system. The tyres are amazing, so much grip and feel, tore up Cadwell. The track connect system was brilliant, once I had it dialled in it was on point all day. I also had have the Garmin Catalyst which is epic. Full disclaimer; I try and hide my spending from my wife but mostly fail.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-21 20:21:36
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperCar 3R rated 80% while driving a Chevrolet Corvette Stingray
Driving on track for 379 spirited miles
Such an upgrade from the stock c8 tires and agreed with others “ they just kill the sport 2 on the track . Very predictable when heated .
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-18 17:15:12
Use this tyre size? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre