Dunlop Direzza DZ03

The Dunlop Direzza DZ03 is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 7 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 35,860 miles driven.

Dry Grip 94%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 89%
Wear 71%
Comfort 47%
Buy again 94%

The Direzza DZ03 is ranked 13th of 37 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Dunlop Direzza DZ03

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Dunlop Direzza DZ03

Questions and Answers for the Dunlop Direzza DZ03

2020-01-02 - Are these tyres road legal

All tyres need an E marking to be road legal in the UK, I believe some sizes of this tyre are still road legal, but some are not.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Dunlop Direzza DZ03 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Renault Megane RS265 (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 23,700 spirited miles
DUNLOP DIREZZA Z3 or ZIII whichever you prefer.. I use this for Track Days and spirited B-Road Driving. Had/experienced them on two different cars My Daily tyre is a Michellin Pilot Sport 4. So my rating of the ZIII would be in comparison to that. I only want to share that the ZIII is VERY possible as a daily usage tyre. You just have to drive more cautiously in the wet, but they are still decent. I rate it a 7/10. And that if you daily these, expect high wear, but not as bad as Bridgestone's AD08R. These are VERY good tyres. And they easily rank one of my favourites. I am certain you wouldn't regret getting them! The Dry grip, drive and noise is also better than the AD08R, completely no reason to go for the latter, unless you are talking about the latest AD08RS from Bridgestone, which would set you back more. So just go for the ZIII.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on June 2, 2021
Given 69% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
MR2 W30 2ZZ I tracked them twice, lap times improved compared to the AR-1, even though i went with a square setup (205/50/15) instead of staggered (205/225 AR1s). Excellent dry grip, not really pushed them on wet roads, VERY noisy, comfort level comparable to any semislick tyre out there, with hard sidewalls. As with the AR1s, though, i only managed around 4.000 Km and 40-50 heat cycles over 9 months of use (120 Km on track). Rears are toast. Fronts still have some tread, but take much longer to get to temp. Would 100% recommend them to anyone wanting PURE GRIP, i would definitely buy again, but they are getting hard to source and more expensive lately...
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/50 R15) on track for 600 spirited miles
Ran these in medium spec on my tarmac rally NB MX-5. Did 3 days across two sets and since that have done 4-5 race meetings. No complaints, have had to swap inside to outside on a couple of them to keep the RR camber wear (anti-clockwise circuit) under control. Will probably get one-more meeting out of them before they're scrap. Not a huge amount of miles, but 99% of those miles have been on the limit.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on July 25, 2021
Have you driven on the Dunlop Direzza DZ03 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Direzza DZ03? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Dunlop Direzza DZ03 >

Latest Dunlop Direzza DZ03 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a BMW 328i (225/45 R17) on track for 560 spirited miles
We race our BMW in a novice race series and following a recommendation from a friend (a Subaru Driver) we switched from the Nankang NS2Rs. Immediately on the first test run at Silverstone, we saw a consistent 3-5sec a lap improvement. Over night the car seemed to turn from a tail happy monkey into a brute on rails. It was phenomenal and the confidence that it gave us in planting the car into corners, was something else! And the fun didn't just stop there. We have maintained the same set of tyres through 2 track-days and 3 separate 45minute races and 30 minute qualifying sessions and they're only just starting to give up the ghost.
We have been lucky this season with the weather staying mostly dry, as our one wet track-day session at Brands Hatch proved these tyres to be particularly hairy in the wet, esp' standing water. But that is something that I can forgive as the dry to semi-dry times are memories never forgotten. Will we buy again?........our order has been placed and is expected later this week :-)
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on August 11, 2017
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX GSR (235/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Car - EVO 9 with cca. 400 HP and 500 Nm
Tyre - Dunlop Direzza 03G
Size - 235/45 17
Compound - R

I have had quite a few tyres, including Toyo R888, but these Dunlop Direzza 03G are the best, period. I wouldn't recommend this tire for a daily drive car, very noisy, they sound like airplane taking of and like you need new wheel bearings... Wet traction is surprisingly good, but standing water means aquaplaning, so you must beware of standing water, otherwise just fine. On the dry, what can I say, you have to try them to believe how good they are, tremendous grip and traction due to pure racing compound and cornering stability and steering responsiveness due to to very stiff sidewalls, like I said, the best tyre I have had. I would definitely buy them again...
Helpful 61 - tyre reviewed on November 11, 2013
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Evolution (235/45 R17 W) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
Used for Tarmac Rally (Targa Tasmania) and Hillclimbs.
Best of breed - have used Bridgestone RE55S, and prefer Dunlop DZ03G for durability (even R1 compound)
Helpful 41 - tyre reviewed on February 21, 2010