Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

This is a European compound update for the AD08R to reduce the rolling resistance and meet compliance with ECE R117-02 S2WR2.

This tyre replaced the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 76%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 74%
Wear 79%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 57%

Tyre review data from 23 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 100,200 miles driven.

The ADVAN Neova AD08RS is ranked 26th of 29 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

Questions and Answers for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

2020-02-29 - Treadwear? compare to the old AD08R ?

Unfortunately we've not yet seen any real world tread wear data from the AD08 RS


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


ADVAN Neova AD08RS Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £134.17 - £134.17 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
205/50 R15 £112.19 - £112.19 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £105.65 - £105.65 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £133.60 - £147.52 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £105.14 - £105.14 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £171.00 - £171.00 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R17 £150.38 - £150.38 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 25 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I’ve had 2 sets of the previous Ad08r compound on the car before for road/ track use and 2 trips to the Nurburgring and they were excellent but the new Ad08rs tyre is not as good , the compound is a lot harder and I thought the car struggled with dry grip at the Nurburgring this time around , the car lacked the confidence the previous R compound gave .
I will be looking else where for a Trackday tyre in the future I’m sad to say
Helpful 91 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2019
Given 40% while driving a Lotus Exige S (265/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I’ve run AD08R ‘s since they were first released. Amazing tyre!

My driving is a mixture of fast road and track use.

I took the new AD08RS’s over to the alps and covered a couple of thousand miles.

The compound is noticeably harder and there is a lot less dry grip. I found them to be quite unpredictable- sometimes they’d grip and others they wouldn’t. Not great when you’re on a mountain pass!

I won’t be buying these again.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2019
Given 73% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
virtually the same as a previous AD08R. I've been driving them all the year. I wasn't on the circuit. I drive them only on roads. I rode cautiously in the wet and then it's okay. They are perfect when dry. Of course you need to think of warming up before a quick ride.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2019
Have you driven on the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS >

Latest Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (205/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Really great tires for mid-engine HA, like MR2 W3. Particularly unexpected how quiet they are and in normal rain they are even better than standard road tires. Very comfortable and reliable. No need to warm up above 10°C. No nasty surprises in unexpected situations, because always super grip! ABSOLUTE RECOMMENDATION!!!
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Toyota 86 GT (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
This tire doesn't deserve all the criticism it receives, which is understandable if you compare it directly to its predecessor the AD08R. I find that this tire is an excellent compromise for a sports car for road/track use: these sidewalls are very resistant (worthy of a semi-slick) for your circuit use with very correct wear. I'm already at 4-5 trackdays with it and I must be halfway through the wear on the front axle. The tire is not very noisy/uncomfortable for road use. In the wet, the grip isn't bad at all for a semi-slick and the tire communicates very well on the loss of grip, which is very important. To sum up, there is better in terms of grip for a semi-slick but I find it unbeatable on the compromise, better than a PS4 on dry or equivalent because of its solidity at the sidewalls. The design of this tire is very pretty with its flames..
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2022
Want the best Performance summer tyre? Click here!
Given 80% while driving a Toyota GT86 (225/45 R17) on track for 15,000 spirited miles
Excellent dry grip, not sure why everybody moans about the rs. On track the tyres didnt overheat and the level of grip is much beeter than a pilot sport 4 for example. Wet grip even when cold is pretty good. Not overly noisy for a semi slick tyre
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Renault clio 197 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought these as a replacement for my worn set of AD08R. Wanted to get the AD08R again bet they were not in stock or ridiculously priced. As a track tire in the dry I'm disappointed, they grip significantly less and also lack feel and progressiveness compared to the AD08R. As a fast road and in the wet they a decent tire. Long lasting for a semi slick.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 67% while driving a Honda Civic (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Good feeling with hard walls in 195/50 r15 which isn't a common size by today standard. But really poor under rainy condition compared to my Michelin Ps3 and not progressive at the limit, pretty violent reaction The car feels overall more understeery than it was before
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2021
Given 63% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I’ve done 11000km with the AD08RS, and there is still 4 mm of thread left!! Its not a semislick by any means, I’ve driven in -3 to 38 degrees conditions, squeals when driven barely hard in corners, feedback is ok-ish but turn in is quite slow,and not very nimble in left-to-right transition, tried all the pressures possible, don’t like them, and I will not buy again. Sometimes they squeal and lock even under heavy breaking! Such poor compound, poor grip. In the wet is not bad, if warmed up. They are cheap, a lot cheaper than the old R. Tire noise is acceptable. I’m seriously tempted to throw them away and buy something else.
Helpful 2 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2021
Given 71% while driving a MINI Clubman (215/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Very hard compound. On track squealing on every corner, squealing on hard braking. It isn't an real semi slick. Cheap Federal 595 pro has much more dry grip.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2021
Given 92% while driving a Mazda MX5 (225/45 R17) on track for 500 spirited miles
For some reason these tyres have received a fair bit of bad press but I’m guessing this is people who are either comparing them directly against the AD08R or just haven’t used them but want to jump on the band wagon. They are not comparable to the 08R, they are a different compound to meet EU regs BUT.... they really are good tyres and they are MSA list 1B tyres for a reason. The grip is fantastic, progressive and provide good feedback so you can be comfortable with turn in. The wear rate is very good and the noise is far from intrusive on the road too. They generate heat quickly and are a great track tyre, probably better suited to lighter cars but you will be pressed to find better for the money.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2021
Given 80% while driving a Fiat Grande Punto TJet (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
A very comfortable and quiet semi-slick compared to nankang ar1 or michelin cup 2 etc. However the grip level isn't as good as a compromise. At the limit the ad08RS can "cheat" the driver due to early squealing quite a bit before they let go completely. Because of this inexperienced drivers sometimes underrate the tire as they think this is the limit. The grip is very linear and in my opinion over/understeer happens predictably (driven on track in Fiat Grande Punto Tjet and Citroen C2 VTS).
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI Ed 30 (235/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great tire, just as good the previous AD08R once up to running temp. Definitely recommend!
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on October 14, 2020
Given 44% while driving a Honda 2006 (245/40 R17 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I came to this AD08rs after a set of PS4 on my Honda s2000 since I wanted something more suitable for a track day, even though the car is 99% of the time used on the street and it is completely stock. What a big disappointment this tire is. The scores are pretty bad since I had high expectations for this tire which was supposed to be sportier than the PS4. PS4 were much much better in every possible way on street, especially steering feedback and initial turn in and even on track (2 seconds faster on a 3km track) the PS4 were on a completely different league. What a disappointment, they are still brand new and I just wanna take them off and throw them away. I was close to mail Yokohama Japan since they shouldn't market this as a track day tire anymore. The score on wear is just a guess, I hope to go throw them as fast as pessible. Terrible job yokohama!
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2020
Given 51% while driving a Lotus Elise (195/50 R15 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These are a replacement for my AD08R on a Lotus Elise. New compound to meet EU regs. They are terrible in comparison. Squeely when pushed and lack grip consistancy. They are clearly a retrograde step and Yokohama are being misleading in marketing them under the "AD0" nomenclature. Such as a shame as the A08R('s) were the go to standard for Lotus enthusiasts. These are getting a bad reputation from many car forums. I will not be buying these again and neither will many others. Pull your socks up Yokohama....
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on August 24, 2020