Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

This is a European compound update for the AD08R to reduce the rolling resistance and meet compliance with ECE R117-02 S2WR2.

This tyre replaced the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R.

Dry Grip 73%
Wet Grip 64%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 72%
Wear 79%
Comfort 68%
Buy again 52%

Tyre review data from 30 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 215,300 miles driven.

The ADVAN Neova AD08RS is ranked 34th of 36 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

Questions and Answers for the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS

2020-02-29 - Treadwear? compare to the old AD08R ?

Unfortunately we've not yet seen any real world tread wear data from the AD08 RS


2022-12-16 - I’ve bought a 2016 Swift Sport as a fun weekend car. I’m not going to track it though. However, I’m thinking of changing the wheels to 15x7j to reduce unsprung mass and improve handling/feel. Rent4Ring run a fleet of Swifts at the Nurburgring with this size and tyre combination. Are these likely to terrify the Mrs if she borrows it to go shopping and it starts raining, though…? In the absence of a Michelin PS4 in 15 inch size, would the PS3 be a better choice, or anything else you would recommend?

I wouldn't send my wife to the shops in the rain on these, especially if it was also cold, read into that what you will. But if it's a fun weekend car will that situation arise?

Quite a few people enjoy the PS3 in that application but it's not going to feel like a track bias tyre. Sadly I'm not sure there are many inbetweens in smaller wheel sizes anymore.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £134.17 - £134.17 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R17 £105.65 - £105.65 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £133.60 - £133.60 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R16 £121.24 - £121.24 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £105.14 - £105.14 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R18 £188.81 - £188.81 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 22 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I’ve had 2 sets of the previous Ad08r compound on the car before for road/ track use and 2 trips to the Nurburgring and they were excellent but the new Ad08rs tyre is not as good , the compound is a lot harder and I thought the car struggled with dry grip at the Nurburgring this time around , the car lacked the confidence the previous R compound gave .
I will be looking else where for a Trackday tyre in the future I’m sad to say
Helpful 116 - tyre reviewed on August 13, 2019
Given 73% while driving a Nissan R33 GTST 2.5 turbo RWD (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Been on 6 track day events this year with amazing results in good weather. Still a lot of life in the tyres left.
_______________________________________________________________________________________
Also did over 10000km this year on these tires, mountain roads, citys, highways. (road trips) daily driving.

Great tyre in dry warm conditions, as soon as its cold or wet you will have problems with grip, even on not so powerful cars.
Braking distance in the rain is really bad, you just slide.
Out of corners you need to expect to oversteer, if you put your foot down to early.
(Classified as "dynamic driver")
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on October 27, 2023
Given 73% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 225 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 19,000 spirited miles
I had this tire for the past 3 years on an FWD Cupra R, and I have to say, I grew to like the tire. Sure, it’s not the classical race-bred semi slick for track use, but it really suited my 70% road and 30% track driving style. The tire lasts for a very long time and is exceptional in the wet for a semi slick. The dry grip is better than the PS4S and the braking performance is great. The ride is a little harsh and the tire is loud. It‘s also not a very playful tire, if you step over the line, you get a snappy response. All in all, a great tire for people who drive on track & road too.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 7, 2023
Have you driven on the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS >

Latest Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS Reviews

Given 69% while driving a SEAT Leon Cupra R 225 (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 48,000 spirited miles
I bought the AD08RS for the reason some people hate it. I didn’t just want a UHP tire, but also didn’t want to buy new tires every season. The AD08 RS was practically perfect. My driving profile is spirited but daily driving with around 4-5 track sessions per year.
The wear on these is amazing, I have covered 48000km with the set I have on my FWD Hatchback. While not being as fast as some Direzzas or AR-1s, I felt them very close to the NS-2R on track, and it felt many times better than Michelin Pilot Super Sports.
Hydroplaning was acceptable for such a tread pattern aswell, normal highway speeds were no problem with moderate rain.

The only complaint I have is the noise and stiffness of the sidewall. These tires are kinda loud and have a harsher ride than usual. Still, as someone who likes to drive sporty, I do not regret having these tires at all. I just wish the AD09 would be available in the 225/40 R18 size :D
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on December 3, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 4,800 spirited miles
I have a MAZDA MX5 NC with OHLINS suspension and YOKOHAMA ADVAN NEOVA RS 205/55/16. I wore them 2 years ago and unfortunately what I read was confirmed.

Before I had a SUBARU IMPREZA WRX STI with BRIDGESTONE RE070 225/45/17 which I was very happy with once I put them on 3 times and had them as a benchmark but….

YOKOHAMA's grip is nothing special for the class. They hold like conventional tires. The frame is average. Neither hard nor soft. They are comfortable and quiet on the journey, but unfortunately when cornering when they slide, they hiss annoyingly. Sometimes they make the car relatively unpredictable, compared to the previous tires I had. I thought something was wrong with the alignment. I did it again which didn't show anything. In fact, I made it less aggressive to make the car less overstear and safe, but again in some cases it has a sudden overstear behavior that surprises and is not controlled, especially when I insist on the gas, while it didn't have it before. I read that others have faced the same issue and that's why I'm reporting it.

I wouldn't buy them again!
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on January 20, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 54% while driving a Subaru Legacy GT B twin turbo (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30,000 miles
I've used the AD08R, and the AD08RS on the same car; the difference is night and day. The RS variant starts squealing without much effort. They are very underwhelming, they wear well though. Probably because they're such a hard, not even slightly sticky compound. Just purchased some Goodyear Asymmetric 6's to replace them. Maybe they just aren't scrubbed in yet XD
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2022
Given 49% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
I drove the Advan Neova 8r before and was impressed in every respect. That's why I also bought the rs, the disillusionment was very great. The dry grip is a disaster, the tire squeaks loudly and loses grip completely, even at speeds that I drove on the same day with a cheap winter tire without any loss of grip or noise. Outside temperature about 20 degrees. Even careful running in and higher temperatures did not bring any improvement. The wet grip is a bit better but nothing compared to the predecessor. Especially the feel of the grip level is very bad with this tire. I also added a Conti PremiumContact 6 (normal summer tire) for comparison, this also surpasses the rs by a long way, and that is also measurable in every respect! The test vehicle is a Golf 4 with an optimized chassis, new original sports suspension springs, Bilstein P6 shock absorbers and a complete axle bearing with Powerflex Black Series PU bushings. The tire size is always 225 45 17 . My conclusion not recommended!
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2022
Given 49% while driving a Vauxhall Astra GSi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 300 average miles
AD08R the best tyres I've had on my car the grip could not complain about but the AD08RS unpredictable handling absolute garbage payed £550 for 4 and they are absolutely useless do not buy do not make the same mistake as I have
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (205/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
Really great tires for mid-engine HA, like MR2 W3. Particularly unexpected how quiet they are and in normal rain they are even better than standard road tires. Very comfortable and reliable. No need to warm up above 10°C. No nasty surprises in unexpected situations, because always super grip! ABSOLUTE RECOMMENDATION!!!
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on June 12, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Toyota 86 GT (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,500 average miles
This tire doesn't deserve all the criticism it receives, which is understandable if you compare it directly to its predecessor the AD08R. I find that this tire is an excellent compromise for a sports car for road/track use: these sidewalls are very resistant (worthy of a semi-slick) for your circuit use with very correct wear. I'm already at 4-5 trackdays with it and I must be halfway through the wear on the front axle. The tire is not very noisy/uncomfortable for road use. In the wet, the grip isn't bad at all for a semi-slick and the tire communicates very well on the loss of grip, which is very important. To sum up, there is better in terms of grip for a semi-slick but I find it unbeatable on the compromise, better than a PS4 on dry or equivalent because of its solidity at the sidewalls. The design of this tire is very pretty with its flames..
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2022
Given 80% while driving a Toyota GT86 (225/45 R17) on track for 15,000 spirited miles
Excellent dry grip, not sure why everybody moans about the rs. On track the tyres didnt overheat and the level of grip is much beeter than a pilot sport 4 for example. Wet grip even when cold is pretty good. Not overly noisy for a semi slick tyre
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Renault clio 197 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Bought these as a replacement for my worn set of AD08R. Wanted to get the AD08R again bet they were not in stock or ridiculously priced. As a track tire in the dry I'm disappointed, they grip significantly less and also lack feel and progressiveness compared to the AD08R. As a fast road and in the wet they a decent tire. Long lasting for a semi slick.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 67% while driving a Honda Civic (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Good feeling with hard walls in 195/50 r15 which isn't a common size by today standard. But really poor under rainy condition compared to my Michelin Ps3 and not progressive at the limit, pretty violent reaction The car feels overall more understeery than it was before
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 12, 2021
Given 63% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I’ve done 11000km with the AD08RS, and there is still 4 mm of thread left!! Its not a semislick by any means, I’ve driven in -3 to 38 degrees conditions, squeals when driven barely hard in corners, feedback is ok-ish but turn in is quite slow,and not very nimble in left-to-right transition, tried all the pressures possible, don’t like them, and I will not buy again. Sometimes they squeal and lock even under heavy breaking! Such poor compound, poor grip. In the wet is not bad, if warmed up. They are cheap, a lot cheaper than the old R. Tire noise is acceptable. I’m seriously tempted to throw them away and buy something else.
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2021
Given 71% while driving a MINI Clubman (215/45 R17) on for 0 miles
Very hard compound. On track squealing on every corner, squealing on hard braking. It isn't an real semi slick. Cheap Federal 595 pro has much more dry grip.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on June 24, 2021