Toyota 86 GT Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Toyota 86 GT.

Do you Drive a Toyota 86 GT? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 86 GT better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (24) 91% 90% 86% 82% 86% 87%
Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 (20) 92% 85% 79% 85% 81% 87%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (42) 97% 75% 91% 93% 73% 71%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (287) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 79%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (17) 88% 75% 86% 89% 85% 63%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (83) 91% 78% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Michelin Primacy 4 (133) 86% 82% 75% 78% 82% 86%
Neuton NT8000 (33) 90% 73% 80% 75% 81% 81%
Federal 595RSR (50) 87% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Nexen N Fera SUR4G (4) 93% 88% 58% 83% 53% 47%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (27) 72% 66% 72% 70% 78% 70%
Pirelli P Zero Nero GT (35) 81% 63% 62% 67% 69% 64%
Federal 595RSRR (5) 95% 48% 83% 85% 43% 33%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%

Toyota 86 GT Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac Pro given 81% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
The Vredestein Wintrac Pro replaced a set of Continental TS830P on my Toyota GT86. For a sporty car they offer a lot of steering feedback, both in the dry and the wet. They are closer in handling to a summer tire than any winter tire I've used so far. Aquaplaning hasn't been an issue for me so far. On snow they offer decent traction from a standstill without being impressive. Cornering on snow on the other hand is really confidence inspiring. I can't tell about the wear on these as I don't run them on my main commuter car - so tires usually get replaced bacause of age, not because of wear. In summary I would recommend these for sporty cars in mild winter conditions.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-03 14:36:20
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 90% (235-40-18-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 200 spirited miles
So comfy and quiet … sticks to the road like glue wet or dry I love these tyres
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-09 12:50:45
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 77% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
Lasted about 7 track days, plus about 7k daily miles
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 21:57:50
Writing about the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 given 94% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
Perfect tyre for a Toyota GT86, another world from awful Primacy. Grippy but also nicely malleable at limit. Traction excellent and wearing well too.
tyre reviewed on 2021-08-22 22:50:38
Writing about the Neuton NT8000 given 69% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 spirited miles
My tyre guy recommended me these when I got my 86GT. I had used 2 sets now. In the dry, they have excellent grip and handling, but the rear tyres will let you drift when you decide. I had driven them on winding roads in the mountains and they never disappoint. Full confidence when attacking into and out of any corner, except for the really tight hairpin, which the rear will give out. I am sure it is the car/tyre combo. They can last about 36000km as a daily drive with occasion spirited/sporty driving . In the wet. Freaking scary. If I put down my foot over 65% of normal in the wet, the tyres will spin until the kingdom come, and I have not modded the power except for a K&N filter which gives it more front end torque. Taking corner in the wet takes 100% concentration. It has been raining heavily in Brisbane and the rear will loose grip just turning onto the motorway at 70km/hr. If you want to spend less on a dry track day, I would recommend these. Much fun to be had with 86GT. For daily driving, I would now opt for something that doesn't lose so much traction in the wet.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-07 05:59:35
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 76% (245-35-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
Used these tires for six track days and commuting during two months. Tires were almost finished when i got the car, but had very good dry grip on the track until the end, comparing to street tires i have used. Obviously no wet grip, as there was no tread left. Very noisy tires, they sound like a bad wheel bearing.
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-28 21:24:25
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 90% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 6000 spirited miles
Fantastic wet grip, did a track day in heavy rain and they were performing better than most semi slick tyres do in wet. Dry grip is similarly good I can't see a road tyre being any better than this, comfort and noise level is surprisingly good and fuel economy doesn't suffer, can't comment on longevity as I used these tyres on track however they do perform fairly well on track
tyre reviewed on 2019-12-01 11:14:51
Writing about the Federal 595RSRR given 60% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-27 06:50:40
Writing about the Nexen N Fera SUR4G given 67% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-27 06:47:54
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 80% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
This is was a polarising tyre for me, at least in the beginning. After a bit of research, I decided to go with the Primacy 4 as I got a good deal, and my first choice, the Bridgestone S001, was out of stock here in SA. So I had them fitted to my GT86, and off I went. Initially, I got the same "slidey" feeling that others have mentioned, however I knew the tyres need to be run in before you get proper grip, so I soldiered on. After about 200 km, there wasn't much difference though. The comfort and road noise were very good, but the perceived grip and steering feel were off. I did notice that braking was good though. So I drove for another 250 km and was starting to wonder if I had made a mistake. Its weird, the tyres do grip but the perception is that there isn't much grip. I can confirm this because I chuck my car very hard into corners, and the rear end actually breaks out less than with my previous Yokohamas. At one stage I was thinking of offloading them and taking a loss, and just buying the Bridgestones that I wanted. What I did find out eventually is that they take a bit longer to run in , and to improve the steering feel, I'm running the fronts at a slightly higher tyre pressure ( have no idea why but this improved things ). I'm now happy with the tyres , and as mentioned they deliver excellent comfort and quietness. These are perfect for the high mileage rep, not the first choice for the sporty driver as its definitely a touring tyre, but I've worked out a tyre pressure setting that works, and overall its a quality tyre that should deliver for the average driver. I may even keep them now for the duration of the lifespan.
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-18 18:23:52
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero Nero GT given 44% (235-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Got set of these tyres after I was unable to find Dunlop Direzza(1st gen) as I was very happy with those.

First few days on Zero Nero GT were positive, driving up to 60kmh was fine and I felt that the tyre had much more wet grip than my old Dunlops, which was really positive given our 300 days of rain in Ireland.

Few days later, I decided to go for a road trip where I had traveled good 500km in one go and most of it was in speeds above 80kmh on motorway. This was very scary road trip and I completely lost all confidence in my car, and as soon as that happens, I am just not enjoying the road trip. When changing line while overtaking, I felt that the car was very wobbly to the point, where I felt like I cannot really even turn the wheel. I was scared of overtaking and changing lanes. But that was not the end of it. They performed this way when shifting as well, accelerating from toll booth meant that with each shift the car moves ever so slightly sideways.

Now I can imagine that this tyre will be really good on less hard suspension, it will perform just fine on any cruiser or car that is made for long trips. It is not a good tyre for a car with sharp handling and very stiff suspension. I regret the purchase but I need that confidence and knowing that my car will react sharp and to the point every single time without any wobble or hesitation
tyre reviewed on 2018-12-13 01:02:11
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 67% (225-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Tyres have great grip, but completely ruined turn in to corners. Car has lost that go-cart feel, much heavier to turn, very vague in the front end. Shoiuld have stayed with the P-zero's.
tyre reviewed on 2017-11-29 04:44:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre