Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51

The Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 29 tyre reviews averaging 81% over 252,673 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 17th.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 80%
Wear 79%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 81%

First On MarketSeptember 2016
Wheel Size14 - 20"
Width155 - 275mm
Profile30 - 65
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)67 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The BluEarth GT AE51 is ranked 38th of 148 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

10th

Worst Result

23rd

Average Result

17th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AZ SUV Tyre Test
10th of 10 tyres
  • Bottom in the wet, lacking grip when it matters. The Yokohama BluEarth-GT AE-51 is better in the dry, although there is no connection to the road and the rolling resistance is too high.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
175/65R14 82 HCA68
15 inch
185/65R15 88 HCA68
195/65R15 91 VBA71
185/65R15 88 TBB67
195/65R15 91 HBA71
195/55R15 85 VCA71
185/65R15 88 TBB67
16 inch
215/60R16 95 HBA71
205/60R16 96 WBA71
205/60R16 92 VBA71
205/55R16 91 WBA71
205/60R16 92 VBC67
205/60R16 92 VBC67
205/55R16 91 VBA71
205/55R16 94 VBA71
215/60R16 99 VBA71
17 inch
215/45R17 87 WCC68
215/55R17 94 VCC67
205/50R17 93 WCA71
225/45R17 94 WBA71
215/55R17 98 WBA71
215/55R17 94 VCC67
225/50R17 98 WBA71
215/45R17 91 WCA71
18 inch
245/40R18 97 WBA71
225/40R18 92 WCA71
245/45R18 100 WBA71
255/35R18 94 WCA69
19 inch
235/35R19 91 WCA71
20 inch
245/35R20 95 WCA69
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 >>

Questions and Answers for the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51

2021-10-23 - Hi...Can you compare Yokohama bluearth gt ae51 vs new Vredestein ultrac? Thanks a lot!

I will try to include these tyres in the future!


2023-06-13 - Is yokohama es51 fuel efficient?

The Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 is a high-performance all-season tire designed for passenger vehicles. It is part of Yokohama's BluEarth series, which focuses on providing environmentally-friendly tires without compromising performance.

Here are some key features and characteristics of the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51:

All-Season Performance: The BluEarth GT AE51 is engineered to deliver excellent performance in various weather conditions, including dry, wet, and light snow. It provides reliable traction and handling throughout the year.

Fuel Efficiency: One of the primary goals of the BluEarth series is to enhance fuel efficiency. The AE51 tire incorporates Yokohama's advanced tire technology to reduce rolling resistance, which can help improve fuel economy and reduce CO2 emissions.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/55 R16 £79.67 - £97.03 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/55 R17 £129.77 - £140.58 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £88.36 - £100.69 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R19 £160.16 - £160.51 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/50 R18 £137.86 - £143.86 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £128.56 - £128.56 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 55 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 Reviews

Given 93% while driving a Maruti Udyog swift (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
Well Yokohama Bluearth GT AE51 tyres are soft compound tyres and offers great grip on dry, braking is excellent, steering feels very light and is very comfortable only it lacks when it comes to fuel efficiency, after crossing speed of 85km/hr fuel efficiency starts dropping rest in every aspect it is mind blowing
Helpful 237 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2021
Given 94% while driving a Toyota 86 GT (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Perfect tyre for a Toyota GT86, another world from awful Primacy. Grippy but also nicely malleable at limit. Traction excellent and wearing well too.
Helpful 93 - tyre reviewed on August 22, 2021
Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 FSI Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
It is a soft tire, comfortable super comfortable, grip and design, no noise is heard, for now one of the best tires surpassing michelin in comfort.
Helpful 84 - tyre reviewed on August 19, 2021
Have you driven on the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 >

Latest Yokohama BluEarth GT AE51 Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Mazda 6 Wagon (225/45 R19) on a combination of roads for 36,000 average miles
This is the best touring tires I have had! It grips well on the dry & wet. Aquaplaning is acceptable IMO. It's treadwear is simply long lasting and even though I'm already over 55K KM, the noise level is still very acceptable!
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2024
Given 44% while driving a BMW 330e (225/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
I have done 12K miles on these tyres. Comfortable ride, good grip in the dry, but very poor in the wet. They give good feedback in the dry, but nothing in the wet. Same when it comes to handling. The tyres are like chalk and cheese. They have replaced a set of Pirelli's which I got 49K miles from. The Pirelli's weren't great in the wet either, but these are way worse. I would not buy these tyres again.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 5, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 47% while driving a MINI Cooper S (205/45 R17) on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
Four Tyres fitted to a mini cooper s to replace Goodyear eagle 3. Really disappointed. Not that great in the dry, and terrible in the wet. Just flashing traction control lights. After just 2 years and 6000 miles all four Tyres were advisory on the MOT with cracking down all the treads. Now replaced.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2023
Given 94% while driving a Volvo C30 1.6 Drive (205/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Replaced Avon ZV7s on the front basically as the equivalent Yoko's were £25 a corner cheaper and the same wet A-grading as the predecessors.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
bought a Camry with Dunlop SP Lm sport, 215/55/17 , the handling of car was super scary, braking was bad, cabin noise at back made me think my wheel bearings are worn out, i checked them and bearings were fine , then i replaced the front ones with Yokohama GT, the braking, handling, cabin noise and smoothness significantly improved, i never thought tyre brand and model can make a huge difference in the car’s performance, so i purchased another 2 for back, the only negative side of Yokohama Bluearth GT is the treads wearing out faster than usual. Definitely buy it again.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on August 10, 2023
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Tiguan 2.0 TSI 200HP (235/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Very good tyres for dry handling, very good fuel economy, the only thing bothers me is the comfort.. even with 32psi these are rough on even small humps or potholes. These are bit tough tyres and may lasts longer. Due to its low rolling resistance, breaking distance also bit more. Michelin Primacy 4 were much better on comfort absorbing uneven road surface but they are 1.5 times expensive.. but they are worth because of perfect balance of safety, stability, comfort and economy.

On good highways Yokohama AE51 are very stable, comfortable, confident, and giving me very good fuel economy than Michelins. If the slow speed and rough road comfort they can improve then these will be the one of the best tyres for its price.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2023
Given 93% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa (245/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Had this tyre fitted to my car and they are perfect for my small hatchback. Excellent dry grip and handling with full confidence to throw it into corners, wet grip is also quite good. However it does take some time for them to heat up in the wet to get significant grip. Fuel economy is also very good, I would recommend this tyre for small hot hatchbacks. 10/10
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on June 30, 2023
Given 27% while driving a (235/50 R18) on mostly town for 6,213 average miles
Worst tyre ever i had used, previously factory fitted continental uc6 pretty solid tyre. I read review thru here found out this tyres not bad i would give a try. Once fitted on my car i totally regret it and feel like throw this tyre away. On dry pretty average grip but on wet road totally useless, when going uphill at genting wet road totally no grip at all keep wheel spin. I'll used it for temporary right now due to still new, but I would like people to avoid this tyres. I'll change it to yokohama v601
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2023
Given 100% while driving a Honda Civic 1.4 100PS FK1 (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 13,000 easy going miles
These tyres are very good. They have covered 13000 miles now with 5mm of tread remaining. They are just as good, and are lasting just as long as my previous tyres which were Bridgestone ER300 and Goodyear Efficient Performance. Both these tyres returned 28000 miles on the front and 38000 miles on the rear of the car. Dry and wet grip was as I expected, noise and comfort also.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on March 6, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7.5 1.0 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Very nice tyres. The car was originally with Dunlop sport maxx rt, more sporty tyre than this version of yokohama but the car goes very good on dry and wet, and the handling at 140/150km/h is excellent. You can control de car perfectly. The confort is great, I can feel the difference with the dunlop. The noise is low, but I can't see a big difference with the previous tyre. I'm very happy with this version of yokohama.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2023
Given 46% while driving a Toyota Camry (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
I bought these after the factory fitted Yokohama advan db Tyre since the same was not available with Yokohama dealers. Very very disappointed. Very hard and make lot of noise in comparison to the oem advan db. I expected grip to be better but not as good as advan db. In fact the mileage is also worse. and road vibrations are so jarring that I am waiting to wear them out so that I can buy the advan db. Found out that I can buy them from Toyota for around the same price i bought these. Worst decision of Tyre in my life.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
First impressions after around 2000 km of drive. City and highway experience. Very good tires. Very reliable feel, great response, low noise, steering wheel on a stiff side (I like it), safe. Comfort: very dependent on the pressure inside the tires. My 215/55/r17 tires had 2.4-2.5 bar after they were mounted. The ride was on the "hard" side and would not call it as very comfortable. Checked on the car manufacturers recommendation for my tires size- it was from 2.2 bar to 2.4 bar. I made it to 2.3 bar and the ride comfort became superb, very enjoyable. Pay attention to that (jus the change of 0.1 bar in the tires pressure can make significant difference in comfort). Dry roads: no complains. Low and high speeds feels very reliable, accurate and safe. Wet roads: very good at lower speeds (up to 80-90 km/h). Great handling, stopping, great road feedback and safety. On higher speeds (up to 140-150 km/h) on heavy rain I would call the tires as adequate and predictable. However at such conditions the driver should be mindful. Overall: very satisfied with these very well balanced tires.
Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on May 12, 2022