Federal 595RSR

The Federal 595RSR is a Trackday and Competition Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 51 tyre reviews averaging 73% over 213,203 miles driven.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 66%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 80%
Wear 72%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 77%

The 595RSR is ranked 27th of 37 Summer Trackday and Competition tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Federal 595RSRR.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Federal 595RSR

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Federal 595RSR

Questions and Answers for the Federal 595RSR

2017-04-18 - What tyre pressure/ bar I will use on this federal rsr tyre? I own a porsche boxster year 2007. front 235/40 R18, rear 265/40 R18. Factory specs sais front 2.0 rear 2.5 bar, but I beleive for this tyre would be different.

As with all tyres, it is best to start with the factory pressures. If you are using the car on track, it is advised you drop a few PSI from the tyres, warm them up then adjust the pressures. Pressures can be adjusted a few PSI in either direction depending on load and driving requirements.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Federal 595RSR Reviews

Given 53% while driving a Nissan 200sx (225/45 R17) on track for 1,000 spirited miles
I do not agree with these being in the trackday category. I har Toyo R888s before and I am loosing 4 seconds a lap with these. As a road tyre they are far better in the dry than any road tyre.
Helpful 310 - tyre reviewed on June 21, 2016
Given 81% while driving a BMW Z4 3.0 (245/35 R18) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Pretty decent trackday tyre. previously ran these on an BMW 328i, which managed 8 full trackdays on a set of tyres, which would have been about 1600 miles. Then switched them over to a Z4, and again similar wear. The increased dry grip over a normal road tyre is immediately obvious as soon as they are put on, and then grip grows further as they get warm, then stays fairly consistent over a 15 minute stint. personally haven't had any problems with cracking. wet weather grip isnt the best, though as long as there isnt standing water about and you can keep tyre temp, they seem to be ok.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on May 24, 2021
Given 76% while driving a Toyota 86 GT (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Used these tires for six track days and commuting during two months. Tires were almost finished when i got the car, but had very good dry grip on the track until the end, comparing to street tires i have used. Obviously no wet grip, as there was no tread left. Very noisy tires, they sound like a bad wheel bearing.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on December 28, 2020
Have you driven on the Federal 595RSR tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Federal 595RSR? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Federal 595RSR >

Latest Federal 595RSR Reviews

Given 20% while driving a Holden Commodore VE (245/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Absolute worst tyre you can buy. Lasted 12,000km on my commodore. The only good thing about them is the way they look. Bought them 2 years prior for close to $1000 and only did 6000km a year with them and I was told by multiple reputable companies that they were bald and out of shape. Drone is absolutely out of this world. Hydroplaned the whole way in the wet and could feel the feedback in the steering wheel the whole time. Still drove the car as I needed it for work but heart rate was through the roof the whole time and focus was absolutely essential. DO NOT BUY THESE TYRES, ABSOLUTE RUSBBISH BY FEDERAL. Used to have the Couragias on my 4x4 and they never let me down - don’t know how they thought they’d survive.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2024
Given 54% while driving a Renault clio 197 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Good dry grip on good tarmac but a lot of understeer and very bad feeling on the limit. On slippery tarmac because there are not progressive you can't trust them. The wear of the tyres is a positive thing but the big negative is the feeling on the limit
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 1, 2021
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 71% while driving a Renault Twingo RS 133 Cup (205/45 R16) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Used them for spirited road drives and a tourist drive on the Nürburgring Nordschleife. Great tyre for someone new to semi slicks, wants a cheap high performancestreet tyre or regularly does non-competitive track days, but not competitive driving. I had mine for 10000k's before selling the car... was down to the first of two indicator lines despite hard driving. Noise is high, sidewall is stiff but shouldn't matter considering their intended purpose.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2020
Given 63% while driving a Mazda MX5 (205/50 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Good tyre for fast road use and track. No grip when its wet, limited grip if its really cold and the feedback it gives you could be better. Butt still a good tire.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on April 2, 2019
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 206 GTI 180 (215/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Very good set of tyres for the price, grip in the dry is excelent however i noticed they need little bit of heat into them to grip correctly, in the wet it highly depends on road surface, i cannot say anything about wear because my car has some camber but overal very good tyres i would say best for the price.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on January 23, 2019
Given 61% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Went from Michelin PSS to these on 280hp light rwd car. Bad things first - on wet they are terrible and it is the first tyre that I felt not stable under regular driving conditions, coming from PSS it was a huge difference, also they snap quite suddenly both in wet and dry, there is not much progression there considering that they are not on par with real semislick tires. Traction off the line and braking is great, but corner grip wise there is not that much extra there. The only real positives are sidewall stiffness which gives great response and price. For the price, they are reasonable tire, but I would not use it again.
Helpful 45 - tyre reviewed on April 26, 2018
Volkswagen (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles

Fronts wore down 3.5mm over 4 months where backs still had 6mm. So maybe worth swappijg tyres every month or two to try and keep tread wear even. Road noise is hardly noticeable. Traction was fine at 270bhp but at 360 i need to consider something else now and i find its not struggling for grip in most gears. Wet conditions are bad in regards to breaking but any type of acceleration is near on impossible. Once my lsd is fitted i may change my mind on these.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2018
Given 80% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (195/50 R15) on track for 150 spirited miles
Great tire fir $ Replaced 225/50-15 with 195/50-15 and was surprised how much grip I felt at recent autocross. Steering was faster and once tires warmed up didn’t spin back tires too much. I have 350 hp Detroit locker so I was pleasantly surprised!
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on March 23, 2018
Lotus Elise (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
These tyres are dangerous. They crached on the seam and delaminated. They caused serious damages and could have killed me.
This happened after less than 10000miles and 4mm of tread was left.

Never had such issue with better tyre such as yokohama, toyo and avon
Helpful 56 - tyre reviewed on December 27, 2017
Given 76% while driving a Subaru wrx turbo (255/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 700 average miles
Really nice tyres for this price range. Very gripy in dry conditions. I have hell of fun on mountain roads. Will always choose this tyre again.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2017
MINI Cooper S (235/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Lasted about 6k on the front. Great grip in the dry, not so great in the wet, corners very well, would buy again
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on October 20, 2016
Given 80% while driving a Nissan 350z (265/30 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
i run these as a daily on my car 265 rear and 235 front.
apart from the road noise, which is quite loud, the grip levels are awesome, relative to the price of these. i drove last year from Johannesburg, to Durban, 7 hours in heavy rain and had zero issues. on the track i enjoy them, very progressive, i find you need to run them very hard on the track, tyre pressure wise. Way better feel than the TOYO i had on the car before.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on August 20, 2016