BMW Z4 3.0 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW Z4 3.0.

Do you Drive a BMW Z4 3.0? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Z4 3.0 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (399) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Michelin Primacy 4 (102) 86% 83% 77% 78% 85% 86%
Federal 595RSR (49) 86% 67% 77% 80% 73% 58%
Hankook Icebear W300 (10) 76% 64% 77% 74% 71% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Falken FK453 (28) 76% 70% 61% 58% 59% 68%

BMW Z4 3.0 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 89% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
I used to have Rub Flats on my little 2 seater - the ride was horrendous and jarred over every bump and crashed and skittled over all over the place. Having read reviews of the tyre and how bad they were I decided to get some new ones - specifically the non run flats that were geared for comfort. The Primacy 4s are outstanding! The difference in my car with regards to the comfort is on another planet. I no longer feel or hear the crashing over the slightest bumps or creases in the road - these are amazing. I can go around corners with scared road surfaces with ease without skittling over to the other side of the road. I love these tyres. It was suggested to me I should go for the sportier Michelin Sport 4's as they are superb handling and performance tyres. Well I'm sure they are but for me - I was concerned about enjoying the drive rather than being able to go round corners at break neck speed. Having said that I've taken my little 2 seater up and around the mores in Saddleworth and drove spiritedly and these were perfect! Gripped when I needed them.
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-28 15:18:18
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A given 21% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Shocking! Utterly shocking! Bought a little two seater and was shocked by the poor handling performance, the crashyness over the smallest of bumps, the dangerous cornering ability when the road was not perfect, that sound of crashing coming into the cabin was horrendous. My car had the M sport suspension and I thought it was down to that. Then someone stated I should change over to non rub flats. . . the difference is extortionary! There is no crashyness, no loud crashes into the cabin - going round corners with slightly scared road surfaces is now normal and I dont fly have to drop to very low speeds or get jolted across the other side of the road. It should be illegal to sell these tyres, they are so very dangerous in what should be a drivers car. I opted for some Michelin Primacy 4's simply for the comfort and the difference is uneblievable I cannot stress how much better these are - its like driving a completely different car
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-28 15:09:46
Writing about the Federal 595RSR given 81% (245-35-18-)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Pretty decent trackday tyre. previously ran these on an BMW 328i, which managed 8 full trackdays on a set of tyres, which would have been about 1600 miles. Then switched them over to a Z4, and again similar wear. The increased dry grip over a normal road tyre is immediately obvious as soon as they are put on, and then grip grows further as they get warm, then stays fairly consistent over a 15 minute stint. personally haven't had any problems with cracking. wet weather grip isnt the best, though as long as there isnt standing water about and you can keep tyre temp, they seem to be ok.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-24 15:34:33
Writing about the Falken FK453 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 spirited miles
Great value for money, decent life expectancy considering the driving style.
There are better tyres out there but I found those to be fun and predictable.
Grip is not my priority as I like a lively car.
I had preferred the FK452, but those are OK replacements...
tyre reviewed on 2017-12-08 09:08:56
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 100% (255-30-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 150 average miles
ok ive only had these tyres for 150miles or so, however that being said, from the moment i left the forecourt of the garage, the difference in comfort alone compared to my stock Potenza's has been immense!
shocks from potholes, old road works, country roads reduced significantly,
road noise reduced 10 out of 10
vibrations in car reduced 10 out of 10
handling improved simply by the feeling your not bouncing in and out of potholes etc. but actually hugging the road 10 out of 10
i still have Potenza RFTs on the front so tramlining has increased, however, once i have tin, the fronts will be replaced.
dry grip 10 out of 10
wet grip only had a couple of showers so far, but feel good, i will update this again when i experienced some really wet weather.
i will update again once ive covered more miles, replaced the fronts, and driven in the wet....
im struggling for negatives to balance this review..im liking these eagles alot!
tyre reviewed on 2015-03-25 20:08:43
Writing about the Hankook Icebear W300 given 67% (255-35-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20 spirited miles
These came fitted to my 04 BMW Z4 3.0.
I had them on all summer and through most of the winter.

In the summer they were a good tyre and held the road well even on 30+ degrees centigrade days. They could be pushed to loose traction but it was very progressive in breaking away and did not snatch back. Lots of fun if not the fastest way from a-b.

Winter use, wet grip isn't amazing but they aren't a wet focused tyre so to be expected, I. The 255 section aqua planing a little at the rear would happen with some standing water.
The limit of traction could be found at very small amounts over what would be considered sedate driving in the z4.

Snow, used in North yorkshire. They handled snow and ice much better than an all year round/rain tyre. Noticeable improvement. Hill starts on half an inch of snow (no Tarmac) were pretty easy. It was still essential to drive to the conditions I.e atleast a third off speed 20-25 mph. Driving in this way sees good traction and no silly incidents getting stuck. The same hill taken with brand new cooper zeon sport tyres saw me going nowhere with the lightest dusting of snow.

Summary, a good entry level winter tyre that will keep you moving in bad weather all be it slowly.
tyre reviewed on 2015-02-04 21:33:52
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre