Bridgestone Potenza RE050A

The Bridgestone Potenza RE050A is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Potenza S001.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 72%
Wear 66%
Comfort 59%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 208 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 3,480,628 miles driven.

The Potenza RE050A is ranked 49th of 64 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Australian Motor 235/35 R19 Tyre Test - 3rd of 8 tyres

View Full Test >>

2011 Autoreview Max Performance Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Quiet, reasonable handling in the dry
  • Negative - Poor wet grip, poor wet handling, low aquaplaning resistance
  • Overall - For a tyre which is fitted to cars like the Ferrari 430, the RE050A has a very poor result. Perhaps Bridgestone use a different compound for the Russian market as it was a full 10 metres behind the best tyre in the wet braking test. Bridgestone have recently release the S001, and there is rumours of the S04 coming to Europe.
View Full Test >>

2010 European Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 16 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/55 R15 77V   F C 70 7.38kgs
195/55 R16 87V   E C 69 8.48kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL         9.68kgs
205/40 R17 84W XL   F A 71 9.99kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   C A 71 8.60kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   E C 72 8.99kgs
215/40 R17 87V XL   F B 72 9.40kgs
245/40 R17 91W MO F C 74 11.36kgs
255/40 R17 94Y   E B 72 11.46kgs
255/40 R17 94W MOEXTENDED F C 73 12.88kgs
255/40 R17 94W MO E C 72 11.47kgs
205/45 R17 84V * F B 71 9.45kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   E B 72 8.72kgs
205/45 R17 88W XL   E A 70 8.41kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL * F B 72 8.50kgs
205/45 R17 84W   E B 71 9.04kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C C 72 8.66kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL * E B 71 9.12kgs
205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 72 9.05kgs
215/45 R17 87Y   F C 70 9.59kgs
225/45 R17 91W MO F C 71 10.44kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL *       10.16kgs
225/45 R17 91V * F B 71 12.27kgs
235/45 R17 94W   F C 71 12.71kgs
235/45 R17 94W MO F C 71 11.68kgs
235/45 R17 97W XL   F C 72 11.09kgs
235/45 R17 94W MOEXTENDED F C 72 12.71kgs
245/45 R17 95Y AOE G B 71 13.39kgs
245/45 R17 95Y AO E C 71 11.93kgs
245/45 R17 95Y AO F C 71 11.94kgs
245/45 R17 99Y XL AO E C 73 11.97kgs
205/50 R17 89W * F C 71 12.06kgs
215/50 R17 91W   E B 71 11.19kgs
225/50 R17 98Y XL   E C 71 11.94kgs
225/50 R17 94Y AO F B 71 10.98kgs
245/35 R18 88Y * G B 71 11.74kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL   F C 70 11.73kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL MO C B 73 12.38kgs
275/35 R18 95Y   F C 72 14.49kgs
275/35 R18 95Y   E B 72 13.62kgs
285/35 R18 97Y MOEXTENDED E C 73 14.18kgs
285/35 R18 97W MO F C 74 13.17kgs
295/35 R18 99Y N-1 F C 74 14.31kgs
205/40 R18 82W * G B 70 9.65kgs
215/40 R18 85Y * G C 71 10.84kgs
215/40 R18 85Y   F C 70 10.90kgs
225/40 R18 92W XL   F C 72 11.18kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL AO F B 72 10.37kgs
235/40 R18 91Y N-1 F B 72 10.98kgs
235/40 R18 95Y N-1 E B 72 10.89kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E B 71 11.48kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C B 72 11.61kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO F B 71 11.71kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO F B 71 11.17kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AOE       13.96kgs
245/40 R18 93Y * G C 72 14.01kgs
245/40 R18 93W * G C 72 13.96kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL AO F B 72 12.40kgs
255/40 R18 95Y   F C 72 12.06kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL N-1 E B 73 13.21kgs
275/40 R18 99Y AM8 F C 72 14.42kgs
275/40 R18 99W *       15.08kgs
215/45 R18 93Y XL   E C 70 10.47kgs
225/45 R18 91V   F B 71 11.84kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E B 69 11.06kgs
225/45 R18 91W   E C 71 11.38kgs
235/45 R18 94W   F C 71 11.84kgs
235/45 R18 94Y AM8 F C 71 11.42kgs
235/45 R18 98Y XL   E C 72 11.03kgs
245/45 R18 96W   F B 70 12.87kgs
245/45 R18 100W XL   E C 71 12.87kgs
245/45 R18 96W * F C 71 14.27kgs
245/45 R18 96W   F B 70 12.49kgs
245/45 R18 96W   E B 71 11.53kgs
245/45 R18 96Y   F C 71 12.64kgs
275/45 R18 103Y   E C 72 13.89kgs
225/50 R18 95W         12.27kgs
225/50 R18 99W XL   F C 70 13.51kgs
225/50 R18 95W   F C 71 12.14kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL * E B 72 11.97kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO E B 73 13.48kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.48kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL N-1 E B 73 14.34kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL N-1 E B 75 14.21kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL * F B 71 10.90kgs
225/35 R19 84Y   F C 71 9.18kgs
235/35 R19 87Y N-1 F B 71 10.65kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   F B 72 10.70kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   F B 72 10.70kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   F C 72 10.46kgs
245/35 R19 89Y   F C 71 10.74kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO       12.05kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E B 71 12.68kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E C 73 12.20kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.86kgs
265/35 R19 94Y   E C 72 12.82kgs
265/35 R19 94Y   E C 72 13.47kgs
265/35 R19 94Y   E C 72 12.82kgs
265/35 R19 94Y N-1 F B 72 12.65kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL AO E B 72 12.96kgs
275/35 R19 96Y AM9 F B 72 13.86kgs
275/35 R19 100W XL   E C 72 14.40kgs
275/35 R19 96W * F C 73 14.99kgs
285/35 R19 99Y A2A E B 72 13.79kgs
285/35 R19 99Y   E C 73 13.43kgs
285/35 R19 99Y AM2 E B 72 13.41kgs
345/35 R19 110Y   E C 73 15.83kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E C 72 11.38kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E B 72 11.75kgs
235/40 R19 92Y AM9 G B 71 11.98kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E C 72 12.42kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E C 72 12.42kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   E B 72 12.43kgs
245/40 R19 94W * F C 72 13.85kgs
245/40 R19 98W XL   E C 72 12.47kgs
245/40 R19 98W XL   E C 72 12.47kgs
245/40 R19 94W   F C 71 13.29kgs
245/40 R19 94Y A2A E B 71 11.34kgs
245/40 R19 94Y   F C 71 12.87kgs
245/40 R19 94W   F B 72 12.47kgs
245/40 R19 98W XL   E B 70 14.35kgs
245/40 R19 94Y   F C 71 11.90kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   F B 71 12.83kgs
285/40 R19 103Y   E C 72 14.71kgs
285/40 R19 103Y   F C 73 17.05kgs
285/40 R19 103Y   E B 72 16.98kgs
285/40 R19 103Y   E B 73 14.11kgs
225/45 R19 96W XL   E B 71 13.19kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL * E C 73 13.92kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL * E B 72 12.19kgs
245/35 R20 91Y   F B 71 11.57kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL AO E C 72 12.81kgs
285/35 R20 100Y   E B 72 14.07kgs
305/35 R20 104Y   E C 73 16.67kgs
245/40 R20 95W   E B 70 13.88kgs

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A

2016-10-01 - Brigestone potenza RE050A it can work for all season?

The RE050A is a summer tyre, and will offer very little performance in snow or ice.


2016-11-24 - Are they directional/handed?

The Bridgestone RE050A is an asymmetric tyre.


2016-12-22 - Is the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A a "run-flat" tyre?

There are both runflat and non-runflat version of the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A


2019-03-10 - Hi, I have a staggered set up on my MB CLK It has an open diff and appears to favour one tyre over the other indicated by faster wear on the left side. Being staggered I cannot swap tyres front to rear to balance tyre wear. Can you suggest a tyre that can be swapped left to right to balance tyre wear on the rear of the car. Tyre size is 255/35/18 Thanks in advance Gav.

The RE050A is an asymmetric tyre so can be swapped left to right. All asymmetric patterned tyres can be, as they are mounted in a certain way on the wheel.


2019-12-28 - Hi I have these on my B7 RS4 but am looking for a replacement can you recommend a summer tyre I’m not looking to do track days. Many thanks.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4S or Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Potenza RE050A Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £105.80 - £127.09 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £103.00 - £119.22 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £92.00 - £105.89 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/40 R18 £116.00 - £131.47 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R18 £123.00 - £138.47 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 45 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Lexus GS450h (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 35 average miles
I did 57,000 KM (35,500 miles) on a set of these tyres before they were due to be replaced. My car is a heavy car (nearly 2 tonnes) and was advised to expect 20,000 to 25,000 KM from them. At 30,000 KM they were still going strong. I had them rotated and balanced every 5,000 KM since day 1 which i think made a huge difference to their longevity. Tyre pressure was a constant 37psi for the whole of this time and the tyres were filled with nitrogen gas from day 1.
These tyres did the job. Not the best I have ever had, but with a bit of care they were made to work. The car is capable to doing 0 to 100 KPH (60 MPH) in 5.2 seconds and i did not always take it easy with the driving.
Tyre wear was even on all 4 wheels.
82 - tyre reviewed on October 19, 2015   
Given 39% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
Compared to my Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 tyres these Bridgestone are FAR FAR away from the standard of the Goodyears. In the wet the Bridgestones are appalling and you can barely accelerate.
19 - tyre reviewed on March 4, 2018   
Given 77% while driving a Holden Commodore VE (245/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 42,000 easy going miles
First factory tires, lasted 42.000 miles or 68.000km and still in the legal limit in the middle of the tire and just on the limit on the outside got replaced with hankook noble 2 only because I got a good deal.

Potenza is very strong durable are reliable tire in that class, 220aud, no wow effect but good quality tire that wont let you down, dry or wet.
14 - tyre reviewed on September 13, 2016   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza RE050A >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza RE050A Reviews

Given 21% while driving a BMW Z4 3.0 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Shocking! Utterly shocking! Bought a little two seater and was shocked by the poor handling performance, the crashyness over the smallest of bumps, the dangerous cornering ability when the road was not perfect, that sound of crashing coming into the cabin was horrendous. My car had the M sport suspension and I thought it was down to that. Then someone stated I should change over to non rub flats. . . the difference is extortionary! There is no crashyness, no loud crashes into the cabin - going round corners with slightly scared road surfaces is now normal and I dont fly have to drop to very low speeds or get jolted across the other side of the road. It should be illegal to sell these tyres, they are so very dangerous in what should be a drivers car. I opted for some Michelin Primacy 4's simply for the comfort and the difference is uneblievable I cannot stress how much better these are - its like driving a completely different car
0 - tyre reviewed on June 28, 2021   
Given 38% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
This was the WORST tire i have ever experienced in one of my cars! A BMW 5 series in 245/40r18 RFT If you never had better tires you may think it is good in dry, but no it isn't. In mildly wet surfaces it's MURDEROUS to say the least! I have driven cars with chinese tires that had more longitudinal and lateral grip than this tires!!! In comparison to other "medium/cheap" tires like Michelin PS3 or PS4, ContiSportContacts and Goodyear F1s, it's a ridiculously BAD tire. NEVER again
0 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2020   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 83% while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.0GT Spec B (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
The car came as a fresh import with four Bridgestone Potenza S001, for which I'll leave a separate review. However, for the purposes of comparison, I would say they had the sharpest turn-in of any tyre I've ever driven, very "sporty" and with excellent grip in both the dry & wet, although all at the exense of comfort, with a very "crashy" ride. Unfortunately, the S001 were no longer available in my slightly unusual tyre size and so I plumped for the older RE050A, which seemed a bit of a retrograde step, given the RE050A was launched in 2004 and replaced by the S001 in 2011. I'd also heard it performed better in hotter climates. Nevertheless, the S001 were so good and these RE050A would have been the OEM fitment on my Subaru, when the car was built in 2006. I needn't have worried, turn-in isn't quite as sharp, but it is still very good, with excellent dry (and more importantly) wet grip, even on cold wet UK back roads I failed to find the limit, giving me the confidence to push on regardless. And what's more, they are noticeably more compliant than the S001, giving a noticeably smoother ride, which for a performance family estate, makes for a better compromise. I don't really notice tyre noise, as I'm either cruising with the stereo on or pressing on, when the engine note takes centre stage. As for fuel consumption, I wouldn't expect my 301ps / 278lbft AWD estate to sip at the cup of economy, while I'm giving it the beans and I doubt whether a set of eco tyres would make much of a difference. My only concern at this stage is wear, as I've heard bad things and the Treadwear Rating of only 140 is half that of the S001, but so far so good. One final point, is that I've noticed most of the poor reviews seem to relate to the Run-flats.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 14, 2020   
Given 77% while driving a Ford Focus 2.0 S TDCi (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,000 average miles
Bought them used with the wheels, have done one summer and no sign of wear. They are heavy and they do feel like it but when you start driving enthusiastically there is excellent communication and feedback. Traction is near excellent in tarmac and offroad. The tries (runflat version) feel very stiff and I would not recommend if you were driving constantly on bad roads. Wet grip is decent but can catch you off guard sometimes, fairly unpredictable in the rain - better take caution-. Would I buy them again? No, not that they are bad, they are very neutral, id have some other high performance summer tires from Conti or Michelin.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 18, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Mazda MX5 MK3 2011 (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Had them fitted from factory, a good all rounder withnwer as the weak spot on them. I live in Cyprus so wet conditions are not a big problem.
1 - tyre reviewed on May 13, 2020   
Given 38% while driving a BMW 335d (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
These came with my BMW 335d E92 and with them being RFT's, they ride extremely harshly. Hitting a pothole on these tyres with a 19-inch rim feels like you've just written the car off. They are very skitty over even after the smallest of bumps in corners. My 335d makes 600nm and 340hp and it wheelspins at 80mph in the wet with these on the rear. Definitely not a confidence-inspiring tyre.
0 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a MG ZS (205/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 40,000 spirited miles
Driven for more than 5 years all i can say is one of the best sport summer tire u can fit
Dry/wet almost same grip very high limits and handling specially when they are pushed on the limit
A bit hard compound but its a performance tire not comfy for everyday use.
They lasted about 35000-40k with good grip,last 10k a bit more slippery but ok
Would buy them again if not so expensive ..
1 - tyre reviewed on December 7, 2019   
Given 67% while driving a Nissan 370Z (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 21,700 spirited miles
Tyres came as standard on my car. Done about 35k before it got replaced with Michelin PS2, which is quite good for performance tyres, in fact they were the longest lasting set for the car. Dry grip was there but I found I had to drive it hard to extract the grip from these tyres. In wet, these tyres were terrible when compared to other like PS2, PSS and V105 tyres I had, there was no confidence in cornering in wet and often ended in massive understeer. The RE050A were quiet though, they were less harsh than the Michelins I had probably because the Michelins had 98 and 100 loadings instead of the bridgestone's 96. They were not cheap hence I would recommend other tyres.
5 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2019   
Given 77% while driving a Subaru Levorg 1.6 gt s (225/45 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Comes standard with the car and provide superb feel and handling in both dry and wet. Tire is harsh and transmit all bumps and road irregularity into the cabin, likely due to the low profile ratio. Tire wears off very fast, and less than 10K km it is at 50% or less.

LIkely buy again, as the tires matches the car performance - almost no drama (read: boring) drive across mountainous winding road... no screeching, no sign of losing grip...
6 - tyre reviewed on June 7, 2019   
Given 33% while driving a BMW Z4 35i (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I purchased a BMW Z4 from a family relative and it was fitted with the Bridgestone Potenza RA050A run flats. The first thing I noticed was the disturbing tendency to tram line, the car was constantly fidgeting on the road. The second issue was very serious, the car would effectively slalom when pulling in after an overtake. It was terrifying! The Potenza’s fitted to the rear were new (1400 miles use) on the front they were worn with the front offside down to the legal limit.
I took the decision to fit Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 5 tyres all round and at the same time I had a 4 wheel alignment performed. Whilst some settings were out of spec the maximum was 0.21 degrees too little camber on the left rear tyre so I don’t think this had any impact on the handling.
The car on F1s has, quite simply, transformed. It is calming, smooth and predictable. One Z4 owner described the fitting of Bridgestone Potenza RA050A tyres to that chassis as ‘treachery’, I now agree.
4 - tyre reviewed on June 5, 2019   
Given 49% while driving a Citroën DS3 THP 150 (225/45 R17 W) on for 1,000 miles
Since changing to these tyres there is a huge increase in Road Noise. Ok at speeds under 50mph, but really noticeable after that. Would I buy again..? NO
12 - tyre reviewed on February 12, 2019   
Given 66% while driving a Audi 3.2 v6 Quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 28,000 spirited miles
I've had those on my Audi quattro and they put a smile on my face every time , the Grip is impressive on both surfaces wet and dry , they are really good until they worn out and it happened so quick , it's worth to mention I'm an aggressive driver and I live in U.A.E where it's mostly sunny .
I've done about 44000 km on them and then I had to replace them and I did it with a cheaper set of Chinese tires the difference was distinctly clear and I felt like I lost some of my car bhp due to the huge gap in the grip between both .Conclusion : if you are looking for performance regardless of money and comfort then go for them otherwise you should probably think of something else.
3 - tyre reviewed on January 27, 2019