Bridgestone Potenza S001

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Potenza Sport.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 73%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 76%
Wear 69%
Comfort 64%
Buy again 62%

Tyre review data from 126 tyre reviews averaging 72% over 1,483,398 miles driven.

The Potenza S001 is ranked 39th of 63 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - A wet specialist with a good balance and safe handling properties, good aquaplaning reserves, short braking distances.
  • Negative - Average wear, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.
View Full Test >>

2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in the dry
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet
  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 3rd of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/40 R17 87W XL AO C B 70 8.42kgs
215/40 R17 87Y XL AO C B 70 8.42kgs
215/40 R17 87W XL AO E B 71 8.74kgs
245/40 R17 91W * E B 71 11.75kgs
245/40 R17 91Y   F B 71 11.67kgs
205/45 R17 84W   E B 68 8.50kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.05kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 72 12.03kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   E A 71 10.68kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 9.05kgs
225/45 R17 91W   F A 71 12.03kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E C 71 9.05kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 72 10.68kgs
225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 72 10.68kgs
225/45 R17 91W * E B 71 11.14kgs
225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71 12.03kgs
225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 72 12.03kgs
225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 10.68kgs
245/45 R17 95W   E A 71 12.25kgs
245/45 R17 95Y AO E A 70 10.91kgs
205/50 R17 89Y * B B 70 8.29kgs
205/50 R17 89Y * E C 70 10.84kgs
205/50 R17 89W * E C 70 10.84kgs
225/50 R17 94W * B B 70 9.45kgs
225/50 R17 98W XL * C B 70 12.60kgs
225/50 R17 94W AR E B 71 12.58kgs
225/50 R17 94W   E C 70 10.51kgs
225/50 R17 94W * C B 71 12.60kgs
225/50 R17 94W * C B 71 12.60kgs
225/50 R17 94W * C B 71 12.59kgs
225/55 R17 97W   E C 69 13.79kgs
235/55 R17 103W XL   C B 71 11.84kgs
235/55 R17 99V   E C 69 11.59kgs
225/35 R18 87W XL AO E A 70 9.36kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL MO C B 72 10.66kgs
245/35 R18 88Y * E B 71 11.68kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL MO E B 72 10.66kgs
245/35 R18 92Y XL * E B 72 11.68kgs
255/35 R18 90Y   F B 71 11.85kgs
255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 73 12.11kgs
265/35 R18 97Y XL   E B 73 12.48kgs
285/35 R18 97Y MOE E C 73 13.41kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 72 10.25kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL MO C B 72 10.04kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * C B 72 10.23kgs
225/40 R18 88Y * E B 71 10.85kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 11.11kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL MO E B 72 10.04kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 11.08kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * C B 72 11.13kgs
225/40 R18 88Y   F B 71 10.25kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 72 10.19kgs
225/40 R18 92Y XL * E B 72 10.85kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL   E B 72 12.06kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 71 10.21kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   E B 71 11.36kgs
245/40 R18 93Y AO E B 70 11.36kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C B 71 10.06kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL AO E B 70 11.36kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MOEXTENDED E B 72 11.52kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL   E B 72 11.36kgs
245/40 R18 97Y XL MOE C B 72 11.52kgs
255/40 R18 99Y XL MOE E C 73 13.48kgs
255/40 R18 95Y * E B 72 13.76kgs
265/40 R18 101Y XL   E B 73 13.23kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO C B 70 9.66kgs
225/45 R18 91Y * E C 70 11.65kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 70 9.18kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 11.86kgs
225/45 R18 91W * C B 69 10.89kgs
225/45 R18 91Y * E C 70 11.58kgs
225/45 R18 95Y XL MOE C B 70 11.06kgs
225/45 R18 95W XL * C B 70 10.89kgs
235/45 R18 98W XL   C B 72 10.37kgs
235/45 R18 94W   C B 72 10.37kgs
245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 71 11.95kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 73 13.48kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   E A 72 13.61kgs
255/45 R18 99Y   F B 127 13.37kgs
225/50 R18 95W   E B 70 13.73kgs
235/50 R18 97V   E C 71 12.27kgs
245/50 R18 100Y * B B 71 11.83kgs
245/50 R18 100Y * C B 71 15.26kgs
245/50 R18 100W MOE E B 71 15.74kgs
245/50 R18 100Y * C B 71 15.26kgs
245/50 R18 100W MOE C A 69 15.53kgs
245/50 R18 100W MO C B 70 11.67kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   F B 73 13.02kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MO E B 73 12.11kgs
285/30 R19 98Y XL MOE E B 72 12.16kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 14.44kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   E B 74 14.79kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL * C B 72 10.00kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E B 72 10.86kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   E B 72 11.83kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.42kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 72 12.30kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E A 71 13.50kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MOE E B 71 12.03kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   E B 73 11.96kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 73 13.00kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E B 71 11.57kgs
255/35 R19 92Y * E B 72 13.00kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   C B 72 12.85kgs
255/35 R19 92Y AR E B 72 12.62kgs
225/40 R19 89Y AR E B 71 11.24kgs
225/40 R19 89Y   C B 71 11.42kgs
225/40 R19 89Y * E B 71 11.39kgs
225/40 R19 93W XL   C A 70 10.14kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL * E B 72 11.39kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   F B 72 11.98kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL   C B 72 10.22kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL RO1 C B 71 10.85kgs
235/40 R19 96W XL   C A 71 10.37kgs
245/40 R19 98Y XL   F B 72 12.79kgs
255/40 R19 96Y   E B 73 13.31kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL AO E C 71 12.64kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E B 73 12.89kgs
275/40 R19 101Y MO C B 71 13.24kgs
275/40 R19 101Y MOE E B 72 15.59kgs
275/40 R19 101Y * C B 72 15.02kgs
225/45 R19 92W * C B 70 12.54kgs
235/45 R19 95W   E C 71 12.02kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL MO C B 71 11.88kgs
245/45 R19 102Y XL MOE C B 71 14.55kgs
245/45 R19 98Y * C B 71 12.75kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E B 73 12.30kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL RO1 F B 73 12.65kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73 12.11kgs
305/30 R20 99Y   F E 73 15.87kgs
235/35 R20 88Y N-1 E B 71 10.87kgs
235/35 R20 88Y   F B 70 12.07kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 72 11.68kgs
245/35 R20 91Y   F C 73 11.67kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL AO E B 72 12.20kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 72 12.20kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 72 12.30kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 72 12.44kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 73 13.40kgs
265/35 R20 95Y         13.42kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * C B 73 14.40kgs
295/35 R20 101Y   E B 71 16.81kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL A4A E B 72 15.62kgs
295/35 R20 101Y   E B 72 14.97kgs
295/35 R20 101Y   F C 73 14.74kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL * C B 72 13.32kgs
245/40 R20 99W XL * E A 72 10.97kgs
245/40 R20 95Y A4A E B 71 12.52kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL * C B 72 12.36kgs
245/40 R20 99W XL * C A 72 10.98kgs
245/40 R20 95Y         12.52kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   E B 72 12.74kgs
215/45 R20 95W XL * E A 72 9.78kgs

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza S001

2016-03-29 - Is the SO01 a run flat tyre

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is available in both runflat and non-runflat versions. The Bridgestone designation for runflat tyres is "RFT", so look out for this on a listing.


2017-03-07 - Good afternoon i have a ford fiesta st with bridgestone potenza 2054017 RE050A tires and i need to replace 2 of my tires, unfortunately all stores do not stock these tires anymore. Could i please find out which bridgestone tires to get as the ideal alternative to the RE050A

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 replaced the RE050A, so would be the logical tyre to fit.


2018-08-21 - I have the RE050s on my Alfa and they have been shockingly noisy since 10,000kms in. Will these do the same?

It depends on the cause of the wear. If the wear is due to poor alignment resulting in cupping or uneven wear on the tyres there's a chance any tyre will become noisy.


2019-12-31 - Hello, Can I cross rotate my wheels? I see no rotation direction on the tyre so I guess it's ok. Thank you very much!


2019-12-31 - Hello, Can I cross rotate my wheels? I see no rotation direction on the tyre so I guess it's ok. Thank you very much!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Potenza S001 Prices

Size Price Range  
205/45 R17 £96.27 - £123.00 (17 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/40 R18 £87.00 - £136.80 (44 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £71.26 - £106.27 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £119.99 - £160.00 (40 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/50 R17 £100.99 - £147.32 (35 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 53 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a BMW 1 series (265/30 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Good Grippy all-round tyre, just a bit squeely when driven hard, I would buy these tyres again but they wouldn't be my 1st choice
232 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2016   
Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI PP DSG (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Original equipment but in my view a poor choice. Some of the poorest wet weather performance I have experienced in 47 years of driving
34 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2018   
Given 33% while driving a Audi A1 (225/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 26,000 spirited miles
Shockingly hard and awful tyre. Dry grip is decent and wet is shocking. This is down to the hard compound of the tyre. Avoid buying these!!!
24 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2018   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza S001 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza S001? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza S001 >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a BMW 750i (275/35 R20) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Had these fitted when I bought my car. Drove around 15000 km until popped one of the front tires at a construction zone, thank god for the RFT I drove around 70 km until my destination. If to compare tires that I ever used - Pirelli P ZERO, Goodyear F1 Asymmetric, Continental Sport Contact etc. These tires are not for slow driving, in town they feel "plastic", not much feedback and the comfort is quite bad even with 7 series air suspension. The wet grip is not the best I ever felt, the dry grip was quite good. I think that the most impressive thing about these tires is how well they handle at high speeds (150+ km/h), it is just unbelievable how easy it is to turn with very subtle roll at 200-260 km/h. I think that these tires were specifically created for very high speed driving were they feel phenomenally easy and effortless to drive. Now I drive the continental sport contact tires and in the same corners and speeds it takes more effort to do anything and much more roll.
1 - tyre reviewed on July 10, 2021   
Given 31% while driving a BMW X4 20d X drive (245/45 R20) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
BMW X4 Runflats. 69 plate. 10,000 mls 3mm left on both fronts. Felt I was driving on air . No feedback. With so much wear you would have expected the tyres to have stuck to the road. Exactly the opposite! Worst of both worlds for wear and grip. Costing approx 200 each fitted. Definitely not buying again.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 11, 2021   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 39% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 24,000 spirited miles
Bought a 2015 MX5 with these tires on as OEM. The car has done 24000 miles from new and the tires are worn out. The ride is bumpy and the tires feel really hard to the point where they don't grip well. Driving hard in the dry they are acceptable. Driving hard in the wet is not possible due to low levels of grip. In the wet it's like driving with banana skins on your wheels and steering becomes inprecise. These tires are probably great if you live in a hot, dry country as they do start to grip well when warmed up. Unfortunately I live in Scotland!
4 - tyre reviewed on March 30, 2021   
Given 56% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18 W) on mostly motorways for 27,155 average miles
I've got these tyres factory fitted on my brand new Skoda Octavia Combi vRS TDI M6 FWD 184PS/380NM MY2014. They lasted for 6 Seasons / 43701 km / 27155 mi, hat 3 mm in the centre measured, 2 mm on the outside blocks. I have to admit - I should have replaced them after the fourth season because of sawtooth formation. I am a conscious driver, drive very predictably, live in Germany and travel almost entirely on the Autobahn. Actually I had at least some couple of thousand kilometres at spirited speeds of above 200 km/h... Maybe that's the reason why the OEM Bridgestones Potenza S001 got those sawtooth formation... Every season I rotated the tyres so that I could achieve a regular wear on all 4 wheels. At approximately 5-6 mm rest profile or 3-4 Seasons they started to get loud. The formation of sawtooth could not be stopped any more. The Outside edges had at least 1 mm less profile than measured in the centre. In addition: very unpredictable and slippery on wet surfaces - no traction but wheelspin even on third gear. My conclusion - Bridgestone Potenza S001 225/40R18 92Y (mines from 2014) is not worth the money. Pro: good control and feedback on dry, good stability at high speeds (on dry). Contra: sawtooth formation, bad handling and slippery on wet, loud (because of sawtooth), not comfortable (stiff sidewalls). Now I have fitted Michelin Pilot Sport 4 225/40R18 92W from 2020 and I was during the first season (approx. 10000 km) pleased with them...
7 - tyre reviewed on January 16, 2021   
Given 84% while driving a Subaru Legacy 2.0GT Spec B (215/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 17,500 spirited miles
These were already fitted to my fresh import in 2018 and while I find most tyres aren't worth writing about, these were eye widening. Best performance tyres I've ever had, with pin sharp turn-in and what seemed like unlimited grip in both dry and wet, summer or winter. Gave me the confidence to push-on down UK back roads in all weathers. Main down side was the very firm ride, feeling every irregularity in the road. Subaru recommends relatively low tyres pressures, especially on the rear and I believe this contributed to bold shoulders at 17,500 miles, so I now run an extra 2psi. These are no longer available in my tyre size and so I've switched to the older RE050A, which actually seem a better compromise for a performance family estate, with a more compliant ride, while retaining most of the performance. Just waiting to see how they wear.
2 - tyre reviewed on December 6, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Is a hard overall tyre. Very good grip on the dry but need much time to warm. Very good handline, the steering well obeys immediately. So, hard tyre = hard to wear. Three years with sporty driving on dry contitions, over than 40k kilometers and still alive. Wet grip it's not the best point of this tyre. Looks nice till 120km/h but don't pushing more than 120 on wet contitions. About comfort. No, the point of this tyre also isn't the comfortable. Very noisy on good roads, and very shaking on bumpy road.Yes i am very hapy about this tyre for my personal use and i will buy it again
2 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a BMW F30 320D (225/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 80,000 average miles
A good dry performer. Average web performance Front installation lasted more than 80000miles RFT tyres were too stiff and produced a bumpy ride especially with 19"
3 - tyre reviewed on September 28, 2020   
SEAT (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 24,000 spirited miles
CONS: Not great at dry braking (pretty similar to wet). Pretty uncomfortable on rough roads. Not good at dry maximum acceleration. ESP goes wild in almost any occasion: - 1st, 2nd gear accelerations uphill are very hard with and without ESP... Tyres keep losing grip constantly. - Cornering uphill at 15% in 3rd gear doesn't put 100% of the power by keeping loosing grip on the outer wheel. Wet acceleration under any condition creates wheelspin, on 4th gear also, if the asphalt is irregular (chassi and suspension are alright, but the tyres feel like plastic). Hard braking on 100+MPH speeds is very unstable. Overly dangerous feel on hydroplaning. PROS: Very good at dry and wet cornering. Going around roundabouts is pretty exciting (tyres loose grip but point the car really good) Superior braking than acceleration capabilities provide a very satisfying and playful experience on mountain roads. Almost non existing noise/squeal while cornering at high speeds. Overall look: Very rough and uncomfortable with a bit harsh noise, but they sure make the car fun to drive. Wouldn't get them again for daily use, but if i ever consider having different wheel sets (17 inches for daily and long trips), these would probably be my choice for slick feeling tyres. OBS: These are the factory tyres, so I can't actually make a proper comparison or evaluation, but have driven similar cars with many different tyres as a reference.
5 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a BMW 125D (245/35 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 32,320 spirited miles
I have also got a pair of 225/40/18’s on the front. These tyres get a lot of stick. They are runflats and with any run flat they are going to be a tad noisy. These tyres have been on the car since new and covered 32k miles with 2-2-3mm of tread left (lot of motorway miles). Dry grip fantastic on a decent surface. If you go over bumps and the likes especially at speed you will have your back tested. Pot holes will give you a scare too. They are runflats though and all runflats I have owned over the years have the same comfort level. (I haven’t tried the driveguard ones yet as they only have specific sizes). In the right conditions though they are fantastic if your messing with 200bhp plus. On a dry day I wouldn’t hesitate to launch the car around a tight bend at speed as these things stick to the road well. These tyres are 3 years old too and no puncture issues or damage. I have a new set going on the car next week.
6 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2020   
Given 60% while driving a Mitsubishi Attrage GS (185/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Lasted 50 Loud Bad wet grip
4 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2020   
Given 43% while driving a SEAT Leon SC FR 1.4 TSI (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 20 easy going miles
Feels like running on plastic tyres. You check and double check the air pressure, maybe you overinflated them. :( No comfort, low grip on dry,with 150 hp you lose grip on accelation, on mountain curves is lacking confidence by not showing you the amount of grip you have and on wet..... Ohhhh...on wet you have to be very carefull. Extra carefull. Zero grip. After one season i see know small cracks on it. And i don't drive sporty. They are noisy. More noisy then the winter tyres i had this winter. It sucks. I bought the car with those tyres. I would not pay a penny on them if i have a choice
1 - tyre reviewed on May 26, 2020   
Given 34% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI PP DSG (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 500 spirited miles
These tyres were already on my MK7 Golf GTI which has around 320bhp thanks to a few upgrades, but these tyres are not capable of handling the increased power. Straight-line acceleration in any gear up to 3rd and sometimes even 4th causes the traction control light to come on and taking dry corners I would usually do at 60mph in my much slower Scirocco causes a lot of squeal on these tyres at a tame 50mph in the Golf. These tyres are also incredibly loud. Considering my Scirocco before (workhorse) had a mix of budget tyres on it including some Avons which cracked within 12 months of having them and I thought they were noisy, I was looking forward to a quieter, more luxurious drive on these premium tyres in the Golf, but unfortunately I've been quite disappointed. The tyres are just too hard for fast road use, and are not a good solution for putting the power down on a mapped GTI, though I'm sure as a result the mileage would be great. Unfortunately I'm not getting on with them so will be changing to something grippier when I change wheels in the next few weeks.
2 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2020