Bridgestone Potenza S001

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A and this tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Potenza Sport.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 74%
Wear 67%
Comfort 61%
Buy again 58%

Tyre review data from 158 tyre reviews averaging 70% over 1,855,477 miles driven.

The Potenza S001 is ranked 53rd of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test - 11th of 20 tyres

  • Positive - A wet specialist with a good balance and safe handling properties, good aquaplaning reserves, short braking distances.
  • Negative - Average wear, high rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Satisfactory.
View Full Test >>

2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 9th of 16 tyres

  • Positive - Very good in the dry
  • Negative - Relatively weak in the wet
  • Overall - Recommended
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 3rd of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 11th: 2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tyre Test (245/30 R20)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2018 Auto Bild 20 inch UHP Tyre Test (245/30 R20)
  • 2015 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 2014 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2014 ACE Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2014 Auto Review Max Performance Tyre Test (255/40 R19)
  • 10th: 2014 EVO Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2013 Tyre Tests

  • 4th: 2013 Auto Bild Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/35 R18)
  • 7th: 2013 Auto Review Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2013 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2013 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 9th: 2013 European Summer Sports Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2012 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2012 Auto Bild Max Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2012 EVO Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2012 EVO Max Performance Tyre Test (235/40 R18)
  • 8th: 2012 Autobild 50 Tyre Braking Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2012 Sport Auto Summer Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 2011 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2011 Subjective shootout - 255/40 R19 Max Performance Summer Tyres (255/40 R19)
  • 3rd: 2011 AMS Ultra High Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2011 Sport Auto Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 6th: 2011 Autobild Max Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 7th: 2011 Auto Zeitung Max Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2011 Auto Express Ultra High Performance Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2010 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2010 Sport Auto Ultra High Performance Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 3rd: 2010 Auto Zeitung Ultra High Performance Summer Tyre Test (235/40 R18)
  • 7th: 2010 EVO FWD Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    215/40 R17 87W XL AO C B 70 8.42kgs
    215/40 R17 87Y XL AO C B 70 8.42kgs
    215/40 R17 87W XL AO E B 71 8.74kgs
    245/40 R17 91W * E B 71 11.75kgs
    245/40 R17 91Y   F B 71 11.67kgs
    205/45 R17 84W   E B 68 8.50kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   E A 71 9.05kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 72 12.03kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   E A 71 10.68kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 9.05kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   F A 71 12.03kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   E C 71 9.05kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 72 10.68kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL   E A 72 10.68kgs
    225/45 R17 91W * E B 71 11.14kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   F A 71 12.03kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   E A 72 12.03kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   E A 71 10.68kgs
    245/45 R17 95W   E A 71 12.25kgs
    245/45 R17 95Y AO E A 70 10.91kgs
    205/50 R17 89Y * B B 70 8.29kgs
    205/50 R17 89Y * E C 70 10.84kgs
    205/50 R17 89W * E C 70 10.84kgs
    225/50 R17 94W * B B 70 9.45kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL * C B 70 12.60kgs
    225/50 R17 94W AR E B 71 12.58kgs
    225/50 R17 94W   E C 70 10.51kgs
    225/50 R17 94W * C B 71 12.60kgs
    225/50 R17 94W * C B 71 12.60kgs
    225/50 R17 94W * C B 71 12.59kgs
    225/55 R17 97W   E C 69 13.79kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   C B 71 11.84kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   E C 69 11.59kgs
    225/35 R18 87W XL AO E A 70 9.36kgs
    245/35 R18 92Y XL MO C B 72 10.66kgs
    245/35 R18 88Y * E B 71 11.68kgs
    245/35 R18 92Y XL MO E B 72 10.66kgs
    245/35 R18 92Y XL * E B 72 11.68kgs
    255/35 R18 90Y   F B 71 11.85kgs
    255/35 R18 94Y XL   E A 73 12.11kgs
    265/35 R18 97Y XL   E B 73 12.48kgs
    285/35 R18 97Y MOE E C 73 13.41kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 72 10.25kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL MO C B 72 10.04kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL * C B 72 10.23kgs
    225/40 R18 88Y * E B 71 10.85kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 71 11.11kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL MO E B 72 10.04kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   E A 72 11.08kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL * C B 72 11.13kgs
    225/40 R18 88Y   F B 71 10.25kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   E B 72 10.19kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL * E B 72 10.85kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   E B 72 12.06kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 71 10.21kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y   E B 71 11.36kgs
    245/40 R18 93Y AO E B 70 11.36kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO C B 71 10.06kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL AO E B 70 11.36kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MOEXTENDED E B 72 11.52kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL   E B 72 11.36kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MOE C B 72 11.52kgs
    255/40 R18 99Y XL MOE E C 73 13.48kgs
    255/40 R18 95Y * E B 72 13.76kgs
    265/40 R18 101Y XL   E B 73 13.23kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO C B 70 9.66kgs
    225/45 R18 91Y * E C 70 11.65kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 70 9.18kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   E A 72 11.86kgs
    225/45 R18 91W * C B 69 10.89kgs
    225/45 R18 91Y * E C 70 11.58kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MOE C B 70 11.06kgs
    225/45 R18 95W XL * C B 70 10.89kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL   C B 72 10.37kgs
    235/45 R18 94W   C B 72 10.37kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   E A 71 11.95kgs
    255/45 R18 103Y XL   E A 73 13.48kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y   E A 72 13.61kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y   F B 127 13.37kgs
    225/50 R18 95W   E B 70 13.73kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   E C 71 12.27kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y * B B 71 11.83kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y * C B 71 15.26kgs
    245/50 R18 100W MOE E B 71 15.74kgs
    245/50 R18 100Y * C B 71 15.26kgs
    245/50 R18 100W MOE C A 69 15.53kgs
    245/50 R18 100W MO C B 70 11.67kgs
    275/30 R19 96Y XL   F B 73 13.02kgs
    285/30 R19 98Y XL MO E B 73 12.11kgs
    285/30 R19 98Y XL MOE E B 72 12.16kgs
    295/30 R19 100Y XL   E A 73 14.44kgs
    305/30 R19 102Y XL   E B 74 14.79kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL * C B 72 10.00kgs
    225/35 R19 88Y XL   E B 72 10.86kgs
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E B 72 11.83kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 72 10.42kgs
    245/35 R19 93Y XL   E B 72 12.30kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL AO E A 71 13.50kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL MOE E B 71 12.03kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL   E B 73 11.96kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 73 13.00kgs
    255/35 R19 96Y XL MO E B 71 11.57kgs
    255/35 R19 92Y * E B 72 13.00kgs
    255/35 R19 92Y   C B 72 12.85kgs
    255/35 R19 92Y AR E B 72 12.62kgs
    225/40 R19 89Y AR E B 71 11.24kgs
    225/40 R19 89Y   C B 71 11.42kgs
    225/40 R19 89Y * E B 71 11.39kgs
    225/40 R19 93W XL   C A 70 10.14kgs
    225/40 R19 93Y XL * E B 72 11.39kgs
    225/40 R19 93Y XL   F B 72 11.98kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL   C B 72 10.22kgs
    235/40 R19 96Y XL RO1 C B 71 10.85kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL   C A 71 10.37kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL   F B 72 12.79kgs
    255/40 R19 96Y   E B 73 13.31kgs
    255/40 R19 100Y XL AO E C 71 12.64kgs
    255/40 R19 100Y XL   E B 73 12.89kgs
    275/40 R19 101Y MO C B 71 13.24kgs
    275/40 R19 101Y MOE E B 72 15.59kgs
    275/40 R19 101Y * C B 72 15.02kgs
    225/45 R19 92W * C B 70 12.54kgs
    235/45 R19 95W   E C 71 12.02kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL MO C B 71 11.88kgs
    245/45 R19 102Y XL MOE C B 71 14.55kgs
    245/45 R19 98Y * C B 71 12.75kgs
    285/25 R20 93Y XL   E B 73 12.30kgs
    275/30 R20 97Y XL RO1 F B 73 12.65kgs
    285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73 12.11kgs
    305/30 R20 99Y   F E 73 15.87kgs
    235/35 R20 88Y N-1 E B 71 10.87kgs
    235/35 R20 88Y   F B 70 12.07kgs
    245/35 R20 95Y XL   E B 72 11.68kgs
    245/35 R20 91Y   F C 73 11.67kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL AO E B 72 12.20kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 72 12.20kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 72 12.30kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 72 12.44kgs
    255/35 R20 97Y XL   E B 73 13.40kgs
    265/35 R20 95Y         13.42kgs
    275/35 R20 102Y XL * C B 73 14.40kgs
    295/35 R20 101Y   E B 71 16.81kgs
    295/35 R20 105Y XL A4A E B 72 15.62kgs
    295/35 R20 101Y   E B 72 14.97kgs
    295/35 R20 101Y   F C 73 14.74kgs
    245/40 R20 99Y XL * C B 72 13.32kgs
    245/40 R20 99W XL * E A 72 10.97kgs
    245/40 R20 95Y A4A E B 71 12.52kgs
    245/40 R20 99Y XL * C B 72 12.36kgs
    245/40 R20 99W XL * C A 72 10.98kgs
    245/40 R20 95Y         12.52kgs
    255/40 R20 101Y XL   E B 72 12.74kgs
    215/45 R20 95W XL * E A 72 9.78kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza S001

    2016-03-29 - Is the SO01 a run flat tyre

    The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is available in both runflat and non-runflat versions. The Bridgestone designation for runflat tyres is "RFT", so look out for this on a listing.


    2017-03-07 - Good afternoon i have a ford fiesta st with bridgestone potenza 2054017 RE050A tires and i need to replace 2 of my tires, unfortunately all stores do not stock these tires anymore. Could i please find out which bridgestone tires to get as the ideal alternative to the RE050A

    The Bridgestone Potenza S001 replaced the RE050A, so would be the logical tyre to fit.


    2018-08-21 - I have the RE050s on my Alfa and they have been shockingly noisy since 10,000kms in. Will these do the same?

    It depends on the cause of the wear. If the wear is due to poor alignment resulting in cupping or uneven wear on the tyres there's a chance any tyre will become noisy.


    2019-12-31 - Hello, Can I cross rotate my wheels? I see no rotation direction on the tyre so I guess it's ok. Thank you very much!


    2019-12-31 - Hello, Can I cross rotate my wheels? I see no rotation direction on the tyre so I guess it's ok. Thank you very much!


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/45 R17 £115.12 - £143.50 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £99.98 - £158.20 (18 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R19 £168.67 - £263.93 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £102.50 - £129.98 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R18 £133.33 - £198.53 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a BMW 1 series (265/30 R19) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Good Grippy all-round tyre, just a bit squeely when driven hard, I would buy these tyres again but they wouldn't be my 1st choice
    Helpful 273 - tyre reviewed on July 17, 2016
    Given 28% while driving a Lexus IS350 (235/40 R19) on mostly country roads for 15 average miles
    The tire is loud and wears terribly. I drive on the hiway to and from work. All the road is good, with one curve. They handle decently. Dry anyways. Wet, not so much. 15,000 miles and they’re worn out. It’s not a sporty drive. It’s straight, in the country with one curve. We’re not formula one driving. Way, WAY too expensive to buy again. 15,000 miles? No way.
    Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on April 28, 2023
    Given 42% while driving a BMW (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    The S001s were first released back in 2010 and the age of the tire design and compound has really began to show. They perform quite poorly in the dry and wet compared to other product offerings as of 2023. Going from these to a set of Michelin PS4S was the best decision I’ve made for my driving experience yet. Comfort, noise, and grip have been lacking with the Bridgestones compared to the Michelins. In cold weather especially with the Bridgestones, you could clearly feel the tires get way sketchier once temperatures dipped below 10C.

    The S001s weren’t even able to keep up with a modern all season during a spirited mountain drive, I see no reason for someone to purchase a set as they aren’t really good at anything.
    Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on October 4, 2023
    Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza S001 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza S001? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Bridgestone Potenza S001 >

    Latest Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews

    Given 44% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulia q4 2.0T 280+ (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    I have been running these tyres in a staggered setup, 225/40 R19 in front, 255/35 R19 in back. They really do have very good grip in the dry. In the wet I can't really say much as I try to avoid pushing my car to it's limits when it's raining. Suffice to say I've never felt any issues in the wet, grip was there and I never felt any aquaplaning.

    Apart from that, these are probably the worst tyres I ever had. They are extremely loud, in fact at first I thought I had a worn wheel bearing, but the noise goes away when using winter tyres. They also do a lot of tramlining which is quite a scary feeling at highway speeds. Also, they just get generally unstable at higher speeds (above around 160-170 km/h), where the whole car feels like it keeps shaking from left to right etc. None of these issues occur with my winter tyres (Conti WinterContact TS870P), so it's safe to assume it's an issue with the tyres and not the car.

    They've also worn out fairly quickly, I'm at about 4mm after around 15000km or so.

    Overall, a tyre I would never buy again, it even put me off the Bridgestone brand as a whole and will not consider it for future purchases
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on December 11, 2023
    Given 46% while driving a Lexus IS300h (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
    Fitted to a company car so have no choice but to use them. I do about 30k a year and have found these tyres to be underwhelming at best. Tyre wear is poor for a car that does most of its miles on the motorway, often needing new ones at only 15k, my Jaguar XF fitted with Dunlop's would do 30k in a heavier more powerful car. Dry grip is OK as long as its warmish, wet / cold grip is very poor. The tyre feels OK but its hard to tell as the car, Lexus IS300h, is not a sporty drive but is very comfortable which I think effects the ride more than the tyres. Overall would not put these on if the car was mine.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 60% while driving a Subaru 2015+ STI (245/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,500 average miles
    After 2 years and 3,500 miles the outside sidewalls of all 4 tyres began cracking and crazing on contacting Bridgestone I was given numerous "excuses" including u/v light,tyre dressing,short journeys and road contaminants in my reply I had to asked the technician why he had not including Covid and Climate Change amongst these comical excuses. I have previously run Bridgestone on my last 2 cars,both purchased from new, and not had any complaints but will now fit my car with Dunlop Maxx ,which were on the car when purchased from new and were good for 20k, something I regret not doing in the first place but I had always preferred Bridgestone until now.I can only add that the response and service I received from Bridgestone regarding the matter was pathetic and definitely not what I expected from a company of this stature!
    G.Hall
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 22, 2023
    Given 41% while driving a Mercedes Benz C180 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 100 average miles
    These are not premium grade tyres despite the price very disappointing.handles poorly,buy Continental or Michelin for same price and they’re night and day superior.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on July 7, 2023
    Given 50% while driving a SEAT Ateca Xcellence (235/40 R19) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
    Not bad in the dry, bad in wet/greasy conditions and absolutely useless in any amount of snow, even 1cm causes a very noticeable lack of grip.
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on March 11, 2023
    Given 49% while driving a SEAT Leon 5F1 1.4 TSI (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    The wear rate in the beginning is pretty significant, i bought the car used, so i cant provide exact rates, but the rate slows down as the tire gets older. But it also gets way worse, the wet traction is horror. The dry performance is pretty good and the handling is quite nice, but that is to the expense of comfort. You can really feel any bump in the road and it ruins the experiance on longer drives in my Seat Leon FR from 2018.
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2023
    Given 41% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI PP DSG (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    These tyres are nasty. Poor in the dry and borderline dangerous in the wet. Noisey, provide minimal feedback and when they slide there is next to no warning or progression. They came on a new Golf Mk7 GTI and then a MK8 GTI. Removed from both cars once the engines were bedded in (circa 1,000 miles) and replaced with Pilot Sport tyres instead. Why VW fit this garbage on a ‘sporty’ car I have no idea. Presumably they get a good deal on a 12 year old design from Bridgestone.
    Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2023
    Given 34% while driving a SEAT Altea (225/45 R19) on mostly town for 13,000 average miles
    Come fitted from Seat factory, 19" are terrible tyres. Really poor wet performance with poor grip and skipping from a standing start Winter/Snow they are useless, 1cm of snow and there's no grip, they are that bad I don't use the car if it snows. Unfortunately it's a lease car so they won't let me change them. Due to change cars shortly and certainly won't be getting another Seat with these tyres fitted.
    Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on February 7, 2023
    Given 56% while driving a Renault 21' Megane RS (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
    Came as standard on my '21 Megane RS 300 Stupid good grip in the dry, but I think that's more the car/4 wheel steer than the tires. Nontheless, very good. SKETCHY in the wet. More than 25% throttle in 2nd or 50% throttle in 3rd and the fronts are spinning. This car has a tendency to spin the fronts but it's laughably bad in the wet with these tires. And the lateral grip is even worse, I went a little hot into a roundabout when I first got the car, wet morning, nobody around, ended up more sideways that I've ever been in a FWD car, hit the steering lock counter steering. To give credit, the side was easier to control than expected, but still shouldn't have happened. No bueno. Everything else is good to average. Will be buying PS5 when these die, but they're 14k miles in and still have 4mm front 5mm rear so wear is excellent.
    Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on January 28, 2023
    Given 89% while driving a Audi (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 14 average miles
    The tyre is good for grip & not to bad in the snow & wet weather not bad on fuel. Comfortable is ok. I can get about 12,500-17,500 miles from the front tyres you still have about 1.8 - 2m left of tyres. & the rear tyres about 34,000-40,000 miles & you have about 1.6 - 2m left of tyres tread. In my experience I would buy again & give it 9/10
    Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on January 18, 2023
    Given 42% while driving a BMW 730d (245/40 R20) on mostly motorways for 150 average miles
    Shockingly bad in the wet. I have new 7 series xDrive. Tyres were produced 8 weeks ago and fitted 2 weeks ago. Drove through roundabout at moderate speed in the rain, under steer (in xDrive!) and slides 1 meter almost crashing into another car on the round about. On the way back on motorway standard 70 mph, some rain and when chanting lanes back or the car lost grip twice (oversteer). Premium tyres recommended as best for 7 series by BMW!!! Those are the worst tyres I ever had and it costed me £1500 (rear tyres wider and more expansive). Stay away from those.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Audi A4 B9 sedan 3.0 TDi 200kw quattro (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    Tyre came with my Audi from factory and it as awesome. Lasted 5 summers - about 75k km. Drove across Europe, on autobahn and on Nirburgring. Will buy again this or the tyre that replaced it - Potenza Sport - whichever I can get the best deal on.
    Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on November 25, 2022