Bridgestone Potenza RE040

The Bridgestone Potenza RE040 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 58%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 70%
Wear 65%
Comfort 57%
Buy again 54%

Tyre review data from 47 tyre reviews averaging 65% over 831,215 miles driven.

The Potenza RE040 is ranked 95th of 131 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Bridgestone Potenza RE040
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
165/50 R15 73V   F C 69 6.29kgs
215/45 R16 86W   G C 71 9.49kgs
205/55 R16 91V AO E C 71 9.07kgs
205/55 R16 91W AO E C 71 9.24kgs
235/60 R16 100W   E C 71 12.23kgs
215/45 R17 87V   F C 70 10.67kgs
175/55 R17 81W   F C 70 7.95kgs
245/40 R18 93Y   F E 70 13.81kgs
275/40 R18 99W *       15.95kgs
245/45 R18 96W * F C 71 14.16kgs
255/45 R18 103Y XL   E C 71 13.48kgs
235/50 R18 101Y XL   E C 71 12.65kgs
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Bridgestone Potenza RE040. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Potenza RE040 Prices

Size Price Range  
245/45 R18 £177.16 - £177.16 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 2 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza RE040 Reviews

Given 59% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (215/45 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Tyres came with the car. I feel let down by Toyota's choice of wheel sizes for the MR2 which means I have a choice of Potenzas RE40 or a couple of models from Yokohama. Feel like I'm stuck with the Bridgestones unless I decide to change the wheels altogether.

The tyres are average overall; good points are:

1. Progressiveness - grip bleeds away quite smoothly and, also due to the car itself, all slides are controllable and no tankslapping occurrs when the tyres find grip again, quite happy with that.
2. Dry grip - nothing outstanding but good grip from the puny 185/55 15s in the front, very little understeer (again, partially due to the car itself) good grip on braking, surprisingly hard to break traction at the rear (but again, the car is largely responsible for this - not enough torque).
3. Comfort - or one side of it - Potenzas have a far stiffer sidewall that Toyo T1-Rs I had on my previous MR2 (pre - facelift) but are still quite comfortable, good response and very little thudding or thumping.

Bad points:

1. Wet grip - not very bad, but not impressive either. Tyres remain progressive and easy to judge but outright grip just isn't there, especially at the front which tends to wash wide.
2. Wear - rate of wear is quite poor, considering that the car weighs less than a ton. I do tend to make tyres work quite hard, though. What's really disappinting is performance degradation. I'm close to 3 mil mark now on the rears and the handling is pretty desperate, rear floating around like it's nobody's business. The car just feels unsafe.
3. Comfort - much as the tyres complement the suspension well, they are loud. Tyre rumble actually starts to drown out wind noise around 70mph mark which is unacceptable on a
37 - tyre reviewed on February 26, 2012   
Given 81% while driving a Audi 3,0 tdi quattro sport (225/40 R19 R) on a combination of roads for 32,000 average miles
Over 32000 miles on my Audi A8 3.0TDI Quattro over mixed roads
5 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2013   
Given 76% while driving a Audi A3 Sportback (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
Very good tire at all road conditions.
No weakness at dry,wet or cornering.
Problem is very noisy tire, if comfort is important and your car isolation is not perfect replace them with a low noise tire immidiately.
5 - tyre reviewed on January 5, 2017   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza RE040 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza RE040? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza RE040 >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza RE040 Reviews

Given 39% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 easy going miles
inherited these on the front of my secondhand mazda 6 sport - very noisy, tramlining dreadful particularly in slippery conditions - just replaced at 16000 miles, probably could have gotten another 3-4000 miles out of them but they were spoiling the driving for me and they were starting to look at bit fatigued - chose goodyear efficient grip performance and its like driving on clouds - just joyful! would never have bought these in the first place being a self confessed michelin fan but having driven on them for 18 months I cant recommend them at all
0 - tyre reviewed on August 8, 2014   
Given 74% while driving a Infiniti G35 Coupe (235/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Tires stick like sh*t to a blanket in the dry. Not too bad in the wet, but could be better.
It must be noted that these are very noisy tires. A G35 is a very quiet car, and these tires were very audible. Very stiff sidewalls, which is most likely the reason for the awesome feedback. They're also vey progressive when peeling out from a corner.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 27, 2013   
Want the best all season tyre? Click here!
Given 69% while driving a Honda Jazz (185/55 R15) on mostly country roads for 0 spirited miles
Hard. Good dry. Average wet. Noisy.
0 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2013   
Given 70% while driving a Audi a6 avant 3.0 tdi s line (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 15 spirited miles
In my opinion this tyres are amayzing. Very good grip on dry road. Very quiet, good grip, but wear is very bad. I bought them at 50%wear, and in 10,000KM were sliks:)). I was very happy with them. In my drive limits them never lost grip. I was afraid to push more but this summer i will. Now I have more experience. Very good tyres for 20E per tyre.(second hand)I had only 2 Potenza on back. This summer I will buy 4.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2013   
Given 70% while driving a Infiniti G35 Coupe (235/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
These tires are amazing. Really smooth on peeling off from traction round a corner, and really great feedback through the steering wheel.
No squeal when I do break traction from an intersection, which is also an added bonus.
Extremely good performance in the dry, and not too shabby in the wet either.
I didn't think the life of the tire was very good, but my style of driving probably doesn't help matters one bit.
Probably the only downside to these tires are the noise. They are, in my opinion, a very noisy tire. 100km/h motorway cruising and they are noticeable. Not deafening, but definitely audible.
0 - tyre reviewed on December 5, 2012   
Given 50% while driving a Nissan Primera (185/55 R15) on mostly motorways for 100 average miles
If you are thinking of buying the Potenza RE040, make sure you have a good sound system to avoid the loud noise of these tyres!!!!..Also in wet condition ,ride seems unsafe as hell..I'm not happy!!
0 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2012   
Given 57% while driving a Mazda 3 Series (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
These have been on the back of my Mazda 3 sport and recently moved to the front . CSC3s on the back now and previously on the front. Dry grip is distinctly average (even with 6mm they have less than the contis with 2.5mm) damp weather they slip and slide in acceleration though are fine in breaking and ok in cornering.

Biggest problem... very noisy tyre! The Mazda 3 is no quiet car, built to a budget. When they were on the back the whole car had a resonant noise, now with them on the front they are very noisy and it is obvious they are the culprit as the noise has shifted forward. Ok not noisy enough to make me get rid of them as they have plenty of tread, but a regular trip from the South East to the North East of the UK does now get tiresome with the rumble these tyres make. Can't comment on wear, they did 12K on the back and used 2mm, about 1mm more gone over 4k on the front.

Will stick to Contis from now on in, cheaper and quieter.
0 - tyre reviewed on November 22, 2011   
Given 60% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TFSI (205 bhp) (225/50 R17 R) on mostly town for 24,000 average miles
Not really a tyre buff myself so can't comment on the specifics in detail but just felt tyres did not have great grip. I drive a late model Audi A4 2.0T and am based in Brisbane, Australia so weather here is mostly dry and warm 9 months of the year. Summer months are hot and balmy with tropical rain periods. Being a front wheel drive, when accelerating with a bit of keeness, traction control nearly always kicked clearly feeling the tyres could not grip enough for this car (in the dry). In the wet, never felt unsafe but drove more cautiously knowing heavy acceleration would not be pretty from the lights. Maybe this has something to do with being a front wheel drive causing the front to lift slightly, hense loosing traction - I'm not sure but I am putting a full set of Michelin Pilot Sport PS3's on tomorrow so will be sure to give 'em a good test. Being a 1st time reviewer, I'll do my best to come back in a few weeks to provide comparison. Also, I've rated tread wear as average but again, I may be a little harse as it may be the way the tyres are aligned/balanced (I really have no clue) but they are worn heavily on the outside edge - mates say they look almost bald (all tyres - changed front to back 6 months ago) but there seems to be plenty of tread on the inside. Have acheieved 35,000klms (24k miles)which I consider poor to average as I got over 70,0000klms from an earlier car (Subaru Liberty) and my last Audi 1.8T I traded after 3 years, just under 50,000klms (33k miles)with the original tyres (unfortunately can't remember brand). Think I had Michelins of some sort but I know this is bit of a nana car and all wheel drive so clearly going to be less aggresive on tyre wear. What I do find interesting about the Potenza tyre is that even though I know nothing about tyres, I never really liked the feel or how they handled - which seems to be supported by the many reviews on this site, which would include a lot of people who do know something. Heading into Xmas, wishing everyone safe driving.
0 - tyre reviewed on October 25, 2011   
Given 56% while driving a Mazda RX8 (225/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
they were on the car when i bought it. Driving in roads with corners and medium surface (Greece) iam not happy at all especially in wet conditions
0 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2011   
Given 76% while driving a Lotus Elise (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 50,000 spirited miles
I replaced my old RE040's with a new set all round and found the usual new tyre "squirmyness" but even after 500 miles the fronts still tended to wash out slightly in tight fast corners. It's improved with miles but it's not quite been the same compared to my old set at their best. I've tried newer Elises with ADO7s and found them to be slightly better all round but was concerned about wet weather grip. Decided to change my 2001 Elise for a newer one so I may know more soon as the Yokohama's are standard fit after 2006.
0 - tyre reviewed on July 18, 2011   
Given 77% while driving a BMW E46 330D Sport (255/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 17,500 spirited miles
I bought my car from a dealership 12 month ago with new tyres, I previously drove a Seat Leon FR with Pirelli and Dunlops getting only 10-12k miles. I've had well over 17k miles on these tyres. I don't drive stupidly but do drive fast and never had any problems with grip on wet or dry roads. The only problem is they are quite loud buy for the mileage I'm getting out of the tyres and the safety record I'm prepared to suffer a little noise.
0 - tyre reviewed on March 18, 2011   
Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz S320 (265/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
Very disappointing performance and longevity on a car driven gently. After they were half-worn, the grip on mixed or rough surfaces(wet or dry) disappeared and the rear of the car seemed to be trying to "steer" itself and made the car feel unstable in a straight line. I'm a Chauffeur/Driver in London, I drive about 42,000 miles a year and for a "premium" tyre to perform like this is very disturbing. Needless to say, I will not be buying these again, they replaced a pair of Dunlop SP9000 which used to last 18,000 to 20,000 miles under the same conditions. Unfortunately they became unavailable when I needed them!
0 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2011