Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster.

Do you Drive a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a MK3 MR2 Roaster better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (95) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (102) 89% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (107) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Michelin Pilot Exalto (56) 86% 81% 76% 80% 83% 77%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (55) 85% 79% 81% 82% 77% 78%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 (75) 87% 81% 79% 79% 75% 77%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (283) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (13) 98% 80% 85% 93% 53% 40%
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (32) 84% 77% 76% 76% 86% 69%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Toyo R888 (36) 90% 64% 80% 80% 59% 57%
Federal SS535 (5) 90% 65% 83% 58% 80% 60%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Uniroyal RainMax 2 (2) 55% 70% 90% 50% 55% 65%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS (27) 72% 66% 72% 70% 78% 70%
Bridgestone Potenza RE040 (47) 79% 58% 74% 70% 65% 57%
Marangoni Zetalinea (15) 72% 45% 64% 64% 68% 57%
Pirelli P6000 (173) 66% 47% 55% 49% 67% 61%
Federal Formoza FD1 (12) 74% 57% 48% 51% 57% 60%

Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 79% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-09 10:12:08
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08RS given 71% (225-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
After 2 sets of TOYO R1R and 3 sets of AD08R I was forced to buy 08RS because I could not found the old but trusted 08R. The difference on the compound with the old rubber is immediately noticeable. Less grip and lower limit on the dry. And a lot of noise when coming to the limit. Still very predictable though on and after the limit. Small use on the wet but still does give you the same confidence the old rubber used to have. Generally harder rubber and this is also reflected on the wear which is the only plus side.
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-17 10:44:19
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R given 87% (205-45-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4900 spirited miles
RE71R have been dominating Autocross events in America for years now. Maybe only a couple 200 tw rated tires that come close to the grip these tires offer.
Pros:
RE71R are particularly griping at all levels of turn in and are very confidence inspiring. There are slightly grippier 200tw tires in the dry, but RE71R's always take podium at my local autocross in the wet! NA customers can get this ultra performance tire for cheap from Costco with frequent $150 USD off promotions. The tread life is surprisingly good, considering my past tires on a Nissan 350z (240tw & 300tw) were replaced by 15,000 miles. Granted, the lightweight ZZW30 MR2 probably doesn't wear any tire out very quickly!

Cons:
Extremely noisy for daily driving, but you can deal with it or get a 2nd set of tires. Interesting bit, RE71R makes a distinct noise when driving over a smooth painted line. All the grip comes at a price, as the sidewall is extremely stiff, which you'll feel driving over an unavoidable pothole. Pricy when not on promotion. If taken to the track, the rubber pilling can be so severe the tires will be unusable even though tread depth is still adequate.
tyre reviewed on 2019-11-22 02:57:53
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 given 90% (215-45-16-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
My Toyota MR2 feels night and day different with these Yokohama V701's compared with the Nankang NS2 that were on it beforehand. The most surprising thing for me is how much wet grip the car finds at the rear, which in a mid-engined rear-wheel drive car is pretty important to me. I've seen reviews online which claim so-so wet grip with this new tyre, but that's absolutely not been my experience.

The car feels so much more positive to drive too - it feels like I've refreshed the suspension as everything feels more direct. The only downside is that the dry and wet grip has meant that the car takes some serious provocation to oversteer now!

I'm a very satisfied customer, and given how they've transformed the feel of the car I'm now choosing to fit them to the front axle as well even though the tyres on the front have loads of tread left on them. I'd recommend these.
tyre reviewed on 2019-07-09 20:53:06
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 100% (185-55-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 400 spirited miles
So I have these tyres on my MR2, 185/55/15 front and 215/45/16 rear and I have nothing but good things to say about these tyres, only had them since January so can't comment on the dry grip (because England) or wear yet but in the Wet they have definitely surprised me, car has yet to step out on me when pushed 👍 can't rate comfort as I went for the XL version for the stiffer sideways which increases the handling and feedback but will decrease ride comfort, If thats your preference. All in all a very good tyre and for the price I'll definitely buy these again👌 (my ratings are based against tyres in this price range)
tyre reviewed on 2019-02-19 13:36:36
Writing about the Uniroyal RainSport 3 given 89% (205-50-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2019-01-20 16:28:50
Writing about the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 given 86% (185-55-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13000 average miles
Bought a Toyota MR2-Spyder with these (185/55/15 front & 205/50/15 rear - 2014 product date) 2 years ago fitted with these (unknown to me) tyres. From the first date till now (>20.000km) I feel like I own a premium tyre. Great dry grip, feel confident on wet roads, comfort even though a little bit noisy & delivering great handling. All these notes result comparing to tyres on other (different style approach) Toyotas such as Avensis, Auris & Yaris fitted with Bridgestones Turanza T001, Uniroyal Rain Expert, Vredestein Sportrac 5, Dmack EcoXtra, Matador MP16 Stella2. Last week I bought a set of 4 for 175€ for my Yaris because the previous ones (Riken Maystorm 2 B2-lasted less than 20.000km) were unacceptable to dangerous. I noticed a great difference on handling/road resistance & even fuel economy (
tyre reviewed on 2018-10-08 12:23:28
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V12 evo2 given 67% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 6000 spirited miles
Pretty good tyres, been using them on my MRS for dry on racing time attack on track and daily driving.
Over the past 10k miles they have been good for me, sidewalls flex a lot but the grip is nice and progressive with plenty of warning and feedback before they give away.
Great tyres for beginners and great value for money.
tyre reviewed on 2018-03-12 13:31:19
Writing about the Federal Formoza FD1 given 38% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
Unstable at highway speed and especially during higher speed cornering. Never lost grip wet or dry, though it felt like the tire itself was made of gooey mush. It was as if some suspension part had come loose. It hadn't. Will never buy again. Swapped them out before 1000 miles. Fortunately was able to get credit toward new meat.
tyre reviewed on 2016-09-15 21:40:09
Writing about the Pirelli P6000 given 31% (205-55-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
These tyres are the most dangerous, and frightening tyres I have ever had the misfortune of having on a car. I really do not know how they can get away with selling them, as are an absolute death trap in the wet. My girlfriend and even my mother, who is a slow cautious driver. Had a spin in the wet.
These tyres were on the car when I brought it and have never enjoyed driving it until they were changed, now it is a completely different car to drive. Performance in the dry was OK, but any slightly damp serface had to be treated as if driving on ice. Some surfaces worse than others on which the car could loose complete grip violently with no chance of regaining control.
I don't know what these tyres are like on a larger heavier car. But can 100% say that these are in no way suitable on a small, lightweight, or rear wheel drive vehicles.
If you have them.... Change them immediately if you value your life.
tyre reviewed on 2016-02-22 00:06:02
Writing about the Vredestein Sportrac 5 given 67% (205-50-15-V)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
These cars are very good on a tourism car , but absolutely not adapted for sporty cars, sidewalls are too soft , Over-inflating them doesn't resulu the problem, even if it's much more better (2.0 /2.4 for me)
Grip is excellent on dry or wet roads, but the feedback is very poor, car is floating on its tyres and their behaviour isen't precise enought.


tyre reviewed on 2015-06-17 09:09:00
Writing about the Uniroyal RainMax 2 given 34% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2013-06-05 02:12:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre