Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

The Bridgestone Potenza RE71R is a Extreme Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 14 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 117,700 miles driven.

Dry Grip 99%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 92%
Wear 52%
Comfort 41%
Buy again 98%

The Potenza RE71R is ranked 12th of 33 Summer Extreme Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Bridgestone Potenza RE 71RS.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R

2018-05-31 - Is that tyre available in Europe?

I do not believe the Potenza RE71R is available in Europe at the moment.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Bridgestone Potenza RE71R Reviews

Given 74% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
Easily outperforms my previous tyres (ad08r and hankook rs3) in terms of outright grip. A tad noisy on the highway due to thread pattern. Has constant performance throughout the life of the tyres unlike the ad08r which was great for the first 30% and the rest felt like skating on ice. Great wet weather performance and can effectively cut through small standing puddles but gets sketchy with deep puddles. Lasted me about 20000 miles, only 3 track days but incredibly aggressive daily driving. Will definitely buy again.
Helpful 130 - tyre reviewed on March 16, 2017
Given 79% while driving a Nissan (/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 23,800 spirited miles
Great performance, one of the best. I bought the car with 21k miles on these tires and the grip was still top notch on the dry, however in the wet it was a different story. It wore out very evenly and i would say quick but not really 23k miles life cycle. The front tyres are not as bad (20% of it's life left) so it has durability. The ride is uncomfortable but bearable. The stability and sport reaction are unreal, quick and connected to the road. I would recommend these tires since you get all the feeling that a sportcars should deliver to the driver.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 4, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Subaru BRZ (245/40 R17) on track for 2,000 spirited miles
Its a shame these are discontinued but the Bridgestone's were the Autocross tire for several years because of their fast heat up and grip. They were replaced in 2020 by the Yokohama A052 and the cheaper Falken RT660 which did everything short of copyright infringement when competing against the RE71R. The tire is a 200TW slick, very sticky and great for autocross or hitting PB's on a circuit. For a tire of this type, noise and comfort are tertiary to the grip. Driving to and from track on these tires is not recommended because of it, but also excess wear, heat cycling risk, and picking up rocks and tossing them along side the car because these are sticky. Like any 200tw tire, they are nail and screw magnets. Compared to similar tires, you'll be 2-3 seconds faster than a similar size tire from Hankook (RS4), Dunlop (Z3), or Falken (615) which all wear better, perform better in the wet (except for RS4), but lack that fast heat and grip.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Bridgestone Potenza RE71R >

Latest Bridgestone Potenza RE71R Reviews

Given 65% while driving a Lexus LS400 (/40 R17) on track for 500 spirited miles
We race these in Lemons (running 245 in front on 8" wheels and 255 in the back on 9"). They BARELY lasted one event. and were only marginally quicker than our baseline Dunlop ZIII which gripped nearly as well, lasted twice as long and are more precise at the limit. Despite all the media hype, I found these to have a very "mushy" feel at the limit (no doubt due to the very soft compound), and while great for the novice I found them to be too imprecise. I'd much prefer a peakier and more accurate tire. Gets a big "meh" from me and kinda reminds me of the the handling of the ultra lightweight Hoosier bias ply tires I ran in SCCA road racing decades ago.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on August 17, 2021
Given 83% while driving a Porsche Boxster 2.5 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I'm running these tires on a '98 Porsche Boxster. 225/45-17 in front and 255/40-17 in the rear. When I purchased the car, it came with a mismatched set of all weather tires that I took to an HPDE session at the beginning of 2019. Those tires were terrible and the ABS was constantly engaging. The first session of this year was at the same track and the difference was night and day. ABS no longer engaged, turn-in was spectacular, grip phenomenal. In my most recent track session, with the tire warn about 50%, I've seen cornering forces in the 1.4G range and the tire just sticks. It appears superior to the Michelin PS4S for track use (the 4S isn't really a track tire) and in my opinion (and without having actually driven a car using them) the RE71R is closer in nature to the M PSC2, but at a much lower price. Keep in mind that the following comparison is made in two very different cars, so take it as you will. Comparing the RE71R to the PS4S (BMW Z4 sDrive35i 225/35-19 F, 255/30-19 R) the RE71R's wear faster, and run noisier (and as someone else mentioned the tire has a funny/different sound anytime it crosses painted lines). On the other hand, it has better turn-in, better cornering grip, and better feel. Also, it does not appear to heat up as much on the track as the PS4S. Keep in mind that the Z4 is a much heavier car and has a lot more power. Also, the Z4 is front-engined vs. the mid-engine Boxster which probably accounts for some of the improved turn-in for the Boxster. While the PS4S have now survived the equivalent of 5 track days with relatively little wear, there are a coupe of spots where the tread has chunked. With the RE71R's at 3 track days and an autocrosss day, the wear is in the 50% range and I expect to have to change them sometime during the next track season. On the other hand, beyond wear, there is nothing wrong with the tires; no track damage whatsoever. I have no opinion on their wet weather or cold weather behavior as I live in Phoenix, AZ and if it rains I don't go out. We also don't track cars mid-summer because no one want to put themselves (or their cars) out on the track when it is 120F in the shade. If money were no object and I was looking for a road only (daily driver, if comfort and noise were important to me) tire, I would go with the M PS4S. But for what I use the car for (mixed daily driver / track use), I find the B RE71R to be superior. I will also make the statement that I *think* the PS4S will outlast the RE71R even on the track (or maybe especially on the track) so, even though the PS4S costs a fair amount more, overall the RE71R's may end up being more expensive. I think that I will be able to get at least 2 seasons out of the 4S vs. about 1 or maybe a little more with the RE71R. One last thought. I have the same tires on my '97 E36 M3 (225/45-17 F, 245/40-17 R) and I love them on that car. Even as a daily driver (I have not tracked that car in 22 years) I think I will stick with the RE71R's when the current set wear out. But that is just me. I'll take the slight comfort, noise and wear penalty to have a tire that I know will just stick when I need it to. And if I ever decide to take that car to the track again, I know the tires will be up to it. Perhaps in a colder climate I would not feel the same way, as cold weather and extreme performance tires don't get along. In fact, I will probably end up putting the RE71R on every car we own, for which they have the correct fitment (other than our BMW X1).
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on February 19, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (205/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,900 spirited miles
RE71R have been dominating Autocross events in America for years now. Maybe only a couple 200 tw rated tires that come close to the grip these tires offer.
Pros:
RE71R are particularly griping at all levels of turn in and are very confidence inspiring. There are slightly grippier 200tw tires in the dry, but RE71R's always take podium at my local autocross in the wet! NA customers can get this ultra performance tire for cheap from Costco with frequent $150 USD off promotions. The tread life is surprisingly good, considering my past tires on a Nissan 350z (240tw & 300tw) were replaced by 15,000 miles. Granted, the lightweight ZZW30 MR2 probably doesn't wear any tire out very quickly!

Cons:
Extremely noisy for daily driving, but you can deal with it or get a 2nd set of tires. Interesting bit, RE71R makes a distinct noise when driving over a smooth painted line. All the grip comes at a price, as the sidewall is extremely stiff, which you'll feel driving over an unavoidable pothole. Pricy when not on promotion. If taken to the track, the rubber pilling can be so severe the tires will be unusable even though tread depth is still adequate.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2019
Given 73% while driving a Hyundai Genesis Coupe V6 (255/40 R18) on track for 5,000 spirited miles
These are the ultimate autocross/time trial tire in the 200tw or higher category. They wear more like 150tw however. I always say they are made of "black magic and mozzarella cheese". The tires provide all the grip you want short of mounting hoosiers to the car. You will have to spray the tires to keep them cool on hot summer autocross days. They do not talk when on limit like a normal street tire, instead they grip quietly until they break free, making an awful groaning noise when they do, not the typical high pitched screeching. Also, they sound like a winter tire driving down the road. 10/10 will buy again.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on July 8, 2019
Given 83% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI Type RA 1999 (225/45 R17) on track for 3,000 average miles
This tyre is Fantastic
Use on my gc8 with 450hp
Very agressive on the dry, very good handling
I've used it on 4 track days
(Around 72laps of 2,2km)

Good on the road but quiet noisy

I recommend it and I will buy it again
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on January 2, 2019
Given 78% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/50 R16) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
Very aggressive tyre!
Performance on dry road tops the DOT tyres like M PCS2 and P TR.
Haven't really push in the wet so no comment on that.
A bit pricy though.
Helpful 50 - tyre reviewed on May 9, 2018
Given 79% while driving a Toyota MK2 MR2 Turbo (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
HIGH PERFORMANCE TIRES!
Helpful 52 - tyre reviewed on December 14, 2017