Subaru BRZ Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru BRZ.

Do you Drive a Subaru BRZ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a BRZ better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 (8) 91% 95% 91% 76% 96% 86%
Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222 (2) 100% 75% 90% 95% 80% 65%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (135) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (236) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (43) 95% 73% 91% 93% 72% 70%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105 (41) 91% 83% 84% 84% 76% 79%
Westlake SA 57 (6) 85% 77% 80% 83% 88% 67%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (18) 87% 73% 85% 89% 86% 63%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (37) 88% 90% 85% 79% 78% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (19) 84% 86% 84% 85% 82% 79%
Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 (22) 91% 91% 77% 86% 78% 77%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (65) 84% 79% 81% 81% 76% 75%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (14) 99% 81% 84% 92% 52% 41%
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (40) 83% 76% 76% 77% 85% 70%
Dunlop Direzza ZIII (2) 85% 75% 80% 85% 90% 60%
Accelera 651 Sport (24) 82% 71% 77% 75% 74% 73%
Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 (14) 83% 68% 80% 82% 63% 75%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (33) 80% 80% 69% 72% 78% 78%
Toyo R888 (37) 90% 63% 80% 78% 59% 55%
Davanti Protoura Sport (16) 74% 54% 68% 67% 70% 71%
Laufenn S Fit AS (11) 84% 72% 82% 84% 70% 85%
Hankook Ventus V2 Concept 2 H457 (9) 67% 48% 52% 66% 74% 66%
Zeta Ztr10 (31) 59% 44% 48% 46% 60% 60%

Subaru BRZ Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 78% (245-40-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 2000 average miles
I bought these after about a month of searching for 245 wide tires that won't explose my budget, since I wanted some more meat under my BRZ. The sidewall feels softer than my previous set, but it's probably only due to the increased size (going from 215 on a 7in to a 245 on a 9in). Overall the tire has great grip, wether its cold, warm or wet. Tried a single session on them at a local racetrack, and they held very well! No understeer or oversteer even after pushing. I do have a slightly aggressive alignment, which may help. Overall its a great tire for a fun daily driver, maybe not as good as the top dogs in the UHP category, hopefully after some more miles they still shine.
tyre reviewed on 2023-06-11 08:01:41
Writing about the Firestone Firehawk Indy 500 given 76% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 spirited miles
The Indy500 was the most affordable UHP tire option I had when I looked for tires (other than kumho's). Despite the affordability, this tire did very well. It lasted 25 000km and 4 track days. On track, it has good grip, but gets greasy after about 3 laps and, on my BRZ with stock alignment, falls into understeer city. The wear on the tire also shows that some camber bolts would have done wonders to help even out the wear during track days. Noise levels are fine, wet grip is very surprising, and on regular roads it's a very fun tire that gives great steering feedback. Unfortunately, the price increase after 2 years is substantial, I won't be buying them again, since for closer to 200$ CAD there are better options, instead of the 150$CAD I paid.
tyre reviewed on 2023-03-16 16:59:11
Writing about the Laufenn S Fit AS given 59% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I got these tires because they were the cheapest thing at the local tire chain and I was fighting suspension gremlins. I ironed out most of the gremlins but today I found out I still have a bad ball joint because I found that my RF was chording on the inner shoulder. I went back to the tire shop and they pointed out the ball joint. You gotta love warranties. I paid $108 total for 4 new tires installed. They seem to do ok at everything and I've driven them pretty hard including plenty of mountain/canyon runs and and AutoX day. My big concern is the snow/ice/cold. Even before the tires were completely shot they were DANGEROUS in the cold. Even on dry roads I was sliding the rear end going under 20mph. In light snow (
tyre reviewed on 2023-02-23 00:09:32
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport All Season 4 given 92% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 spirited miles
Easily my favorite tires I've ever owned. Living in the southern US, I use these as my daily driving and winter tires. It gets cold enough that I can't use track or summer tires year around, but doesn't snow enough to justify winter tires. I have a fair amount of experience with track tires, and on the street, the AS4 really isn't that far behind them. They wouldn't hold up to the same abuse, but that isn't their purpose. Since these are so good, I view the PS4S as being in the no-mans land for tires. One of the super 200 tw tires for summer and the AS4 for longer trips and winter is the magic combination for me.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-21 12:30:03
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 81% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
Update. After almost two years and 15 thousand km, I am increasingly convinced that the Quatrac Pro is the best tire I have used so far. Recently he surprised me in a sequence of wide curves tackled at 200 km/h. By now I have become familiar with the shoulder that initially yields but then settles down, allowing you to travel exceptional trajectories for a 4 seasons. Thinking back to how well it performed last winter in Germany with temperatures around -7 and how satisfying it is to use it in sporting use in the torrid Sicilian summers, I have the distinct feeling of owning two dedicated tires in one. Truly stunning product.
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-12 11:14:25
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 94% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8500 spirited miles
If you want sporty tires for the road that you could take to the track every now and then, these are the tires for you. My 2018 BRZ Limited is a 'slow' car, but it's also one of the most fun, agile, and precise pieces of machinery I've ever had the pleasure of driving, truly a 'poor man's Porsche'. When choosing a replacement set of tires for the drift-tires it came with, I wanted a set of tires that enhanced the characteristics and dynamics of the car. Driving on a Highway with a posted speed limit of 85MPH, I can change lanes in an instant (and I mean an instant) like the path was preordained. Just an impulse-like tug of the wheel left or right and returning to center just as quickly, having completed the maneuver in a fraction of a second, I'm still driving perfectly straight in my new lane with no oversteer understeer or roll/flex. I simply transport myself from one lane to the other. It's truly a magical feeling when your car does exactly what you want, no more...no less... which is made possible by giving it the best foundation to work with. Driving on curvy county roads and being able to completely ignore the 25 or 35MPH advisory signs that recommend a 'safe' speed for tight turns, while maintaining a constant 70MPH is sublime. I couldn't do that with my old car nor it's All-Season tires, I would've flown off the road into the ditch. Purchasing the Pilot Sport 4S tires was the best decision I made next to buying my little Subi. I traded in a more practical daily-driver Ford Fusion Sport to go back to a manual trans that I could enjoy, with a grin stretching ear to ear, ever single day I sit behind the wheel. I understand that the Pilot Sport 5 are out now, but if these are still available when it's time to replace, I will 110% get the 4S again without question. For me and my vehicle, these are perfection and there's no reason to "funk" with perfection. Of course, same tires perform differently depending on the vehicle and conditions, but I think it's safe to say if you won't be disappointed with these amazing tires. The only hard data I can provide is with regards to treadwear. (Measurements done with a digital caliper of .02mm +/- tolerance.) -Length of time Owned: 16 Months -Original Tread Depth: 6.45mm -Miles Driven: 8,500 (Mixed City/Highway/County Road) -Number of Rotations: 1 -Front Current Tread Depth: 4.94 -Rear Current Tread Depth: 5.51 -Driving Style: Spirited (not reckless abandonment and no burnouts, but a few minor drifts on occasion...) Side Note: Do Not Use for Ice/Snow, they are absolutely useless. I figure this should be common knowledge at this point, being a Summer-tire and all, but just-in-case...you never know what kind of rock someone's been forced to live under. Suffice it to say, you'll need a separate set of Winter tires or at least something all-Season, like the Pilot Sport A/S, for Winter conditions. These kinds of tires may as well be slicks drenched in oil when driven on icy roads.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-18 20:14:56
Writing about the Westlake SA 57 given 76% (215-40-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 3500 spirited miles
Before I start the review I would just like to let you say this is a review for those who are interested in the performance of this tire being stretched. I bought 215/40R17 and stretched it on a 17x9 Enkei RPF1 wheel. I'm going to compare this to the stock Michelin Primacy tires that come with my car that I also stretched on the same wheel. I drove on these tires for my daily commute to work and around town. I only occasionally drove it down a winding road but not pushing the car too hard because of the stretch Similar to the Michelin Primacy maybe just a tad bit more grip. Not tons of grip but the tire has a very stiff sidewall which makes it good for stretching and gives very good road feedback Wet grip is not the best - it did tend to have a bit of hydroplane tendency past 130kph in really wet conditions. (I live in Pacific westcoast so we do see a lot of rain here) Wet driving around town 60-70kph is no problem. Road noise: Tire has a slight hum at higher speeds above 120kph. Not too obnoxious coming from a sports car however if put in a normal car it may be slightly annoying to some. Overall a very good tire especially if you are stretching them. I put them at 40psi and I daily drove it and not once did it debead. For how cheap they are I would say I would definitely recommend them for what they are. Its nothing amazing but for the price its a good value proposition.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-12 22:42:45
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 93% (-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3212 spirited miles
My first time buying Hankook tires, I used the 4S2 as my winter tires because I cannot tolerate the soft sidewall of studless winter tires. The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 was my summer setup. Overall I am very happy about my 4S2. Dry (9/10): A step down from the PS4 but that is to be expected. Steering response is a little bit slower and ultimate traction is lower, but I am still very satisfied given the type of tire the 4S2 is. Still far better than the Michelin Xice Xi3. Wet (10/10): I live in the PNW and we have lots of rain, these tires have strong hydroplane resistance and strong lateral traction in the wet. Braking is confident, too. Virtually no compromise compared to the Pilot Sport 4. Comfort (9/10): The ride is good, the tire smooths out impacts well, but the noise on the rough surfaces at a high speed is relatively pronounced. Winter (10/10): My BRZ is an RWD coupe, which is supposed to be very weak in the snow. These tires provide more than adequate traction on snow, no problem to get off the line whatsoever in 2-3 inches of snow. Handling is pretty stable and predictable. On the ice, it is noticeably weaker than the Studless Xi3, but that is to be expected. Overall I am very happy with them in the first winter. Jonathan was right, this is a very balanced all-weather tire with no real weaknesses. I will report back if there are any updates.
tyre reviewed on 2022-04-19 21:54:54
Writing about the Hankook Ventus V2 Concept 2 H457 given 43% (215-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 20000 spirited miles
Tire is pretty cheap and decent grip on the dry, but when its wet, the car will slide all over the road so I have to drive extra gingerly in the wet. Its fun if I want to power slide in the wet due to the car good handling and rear wheel drive, but can give you a fright if you were not expecting that to happen. Starting off the lights on the slope can be troublesome due to lack of grip and the wheel will spin easily. I have Pilot Sport and Good Year Assurance Triple Max on the other car now which is much better tires than this.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-27 17:49:29
Writing about the Davanti Protoura Sport given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1200 spirited miles
I bought my Protoura Sport about a month and a half prior, and they are giving me extremely good feedbacks, absolutely loving it! I ran a set of semi slick tyres before, and as Winter comes and tempreture drops down, they are hard to getting in working tempreture, so I went to buy a new sets of Protoura Sport, I was getting the 245/40R17 all-round since I am running a 17x9 square setup on my BRZ. The Protoura Sport pickup really quickly, it gives perfect amount of dry grip in the twisty mountain road, and as I try heavy brake in the entry of the corner, it actually let you to threshold braking into it with very linear grip and response. On the wet road for like daily drive for commuting, they gives you a lot of confidence, it never let go once on that occasions, and the ride it simply comfortable, way less bumpy and a lot quieter than before. I never thought any UHP will satisfy me, but the Protoura Sport does, definitely will get myself another set of Protoura Sport.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-16 22:55:40
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 84% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
A 360 ° miracle tyre. Safe, fun and beautiful.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-03 02:00:10
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza ZIII given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
An excellent 200tw alternative if you want a good do-everything tire. The tire won't win competitions without compromising wear, but if you have seasons in your region, the Dunlop handles consistently well in the wet and high grip in the dry with a linear fall-off of grip in high speed cornering. You'll have consistent times until the start to grease up and then you just do a cool-down lap or two and you're ready for another attempt at your PB. It's not a good AutoX tire (unless you're in some place consistently hot like California or Mediterranean because it takes too long to heat up, get to temperature. Its a fun, inexpensive (relatively) tire for learning on that will get you ready for a faster tire like the Falken RT660 or Yokohama AO52 or Nankang AR1. Wear isn't bad either if you have a good alignment and flip/rotate tires regularly.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 10:22:57
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre