Subaru BRZ Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Subaru BRZ.

Do you Drive a Subaru BRZ? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a BRZ better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Primacy Alpin PA3 (8) 91% 95% 91% 76% 96% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (154) 93% 92% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Hankook Ventus RS3 Z222 (2) 100% 75% 90% 95% 80% 65%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (22) 90% 91% 88% 84% 85% 92%
Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R (39) 97% 75% 91% 93% 74% 71%
Yokohama Advan Sport V105 (35) 92% 84% 85% 87% 77% 82%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 P (15) 85% 88% 87% 87% 85% 80%
Accelera 651 Sport (14) 86% 74% 82% 84% 81% 83%
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (22) 85% 82% 77% 75% 92% 77%
Hankook Ventus RS4 (14) 87% 75% 85% 89% 83% 63%
Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 (45) 85% 80% 82% 82% 76% 79%
Bridgestone Potenza RE71R (11) 98% 79% 82% 91% 54% 43%
Dunlop Direzza ZIII (2) 85% 75% 80% 85% 90% 60%
Toyo R888 (35) 92% 66% 82% 82% 60% 56%
Zeta Ztr10 (28) 59% 44% 50% 50% 62% 58%

Subaru BRZ Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 84% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
A 360 ° miracle tyre. Safe, fun and beautiful.
tyre reviewed on 2021-11-03 08:00:10
Writing about the Dunlop Direzza ZIII given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
An excellent 200tw alternative if you want a good do-everything tire. The tire won't win competitions without compromising wear, but if you have seasons in your region, the Dunlop handles consistently well in the wet and high grip in the dry with a linear fall-off of grip in high speed cornering. You'll have consistent times until the start to grease up and then you just do a cool-down lap or two and you're ready for another attempt at your PB. It's not a good AutoX tire (unless you're in some place consistently hot like California or Mediterranean because it takes too long to heat up, get to temperature. Its a fun, inexpensive (relatively) tire for learning on that will get you ready for a faster tire like the Falken RT660 or Yokohama AO52 or Nankang AR1. Wear isn't bad either if you have a good alignment and flip/rotate tires regularly.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 16:22:57
Writing about the Hankook Ventus RS4 given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on track for 5000 spirited miles
When I ran the Hankook RS4's, they were an expensive compromise tire for summer and HPDE events. You sacrifice some cost for excellent (but not the best grip) and the best wear in the class. I swapped to set of wheels/tires with RE71R's for Competitive AutoX. I wanted track tires that can last 2 seasons of HPDE or around 7 trackdays a season to save money while I learn and hone my skills. For Lucky Dog endurance racing in the States, this is the tire used because they wear like iron. I got 3 seasons of HPDE, and summer driving on them until they aged out and I gave them to a friend who still uses them on his ****box E36 318i. Because of how long they heat up, they are not the tire for AutoX unless it's a long course that is more than a minute and a half. When I took it out, even on a 80 degree day, it took 3 session to get to temp, and was sliding around until then. It takes 2 laps to get them to temp on a circuit. The grip is 80% of what RE71R's can be so you won't be getting the max potential out that you car without a faster (more wearing) tire, but they last once their heated up. You can turn lap after lap consistently, with little greasing which can be rectified with a cool down lap. They like heat and high pressures (compared to Falked RT660/ discontinued RE71R). Also a smaller width tire is better than a wider one if you want to enjoys nice progressive slip and lateral grip going in and out of corners. As with any 200tw tire, noise and comfort are tertiary. But they are a fun tire to drive on when you know its going to be dry and you want to canyon carve at 10/10ths. I would avoid rain at all costs in this car. On the track they are okay, but on the street if you run into any body of water you're going sideways. Compared to 200tw tires from Falken, Dunlop, and Yokohama, RS4 tires are the worst in the rain.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 14:51:55
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza RE71R given 71% (245-40-17-)
Driving on track for 2000 spirited miles
Its a shame these are discontinued but the Bridgestone's were the Autocross tire for several years because of their fast heat up and grip. They were replaced in 2020 by the Yokohama A052 and the cheaper Falken RT660 which did everything short of copyright infringement when competing against the RE71R. The tire is a 200TW slick, very sticky and great for autocross or hitting PB's on a circuit. For a tire of this type, noise and comfort are tertiary to the grip. Driving to and from track on these tires is not recommended because of it, but also excess wear, heat cycling risk, and picking up rocks and tossing them along side the car because these are sticky. Like any 200tw tire, they are nail and screw magnets. Compared to similar tires, you'll be 2-3 seconds faster than a similar size tire from Hankook (RS4), Dunlop (Z3), or Falken (615) which all wear better, perform better in the wet (except for RS4), but lack that fast heat and grip.
tyre reviewed on 2021-10-12 14:36:50
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 77% (-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 spirited miles
My new favorite tires! Excellent overall grip and feel, the car drives like it's on rails and is super quick to inputs. I feel way more confident and aware of the grip ! The only complaint I have is on road noise, which is ridiculously loud, even for a sport tire.
tyre reviewed on 2021-07-02 18:02:57
Writing about the Vredestein Quatrac Pro given 75% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
First 1000km: Dry: After adequate running-in, the Quatrac Pro, in terms of presence in the center and reactivity in direction changes, has now eliminated the initial differences compared to the Michelin Primacy HP. There remains only a slightly more noticeable lying in support of the curve. A little more difficult to get it tailed, but the progressivity in the transient loss / regain adhesion to the rear is excellent and also the ride comfort is truly remarkable for an m + s. Wet: very consistent on damp asphalt just above 0 ° C. Basically it seems to have the grip limits of the Primacy in dry conditions around 5 ° C. Until now, however, I have not yet been able to test its evacuation capacity on noteworthy layers of water. Snow: not tested yet So far below 20 ° C is the tire I wanted: good on dry, excellent in wet, comfortable and beautiful to look at. p.s. Optimal pressure with temperatures below 20 ° C: 230kPa (2.3 bar) --------------------- --------------------- Update after about 2000km: The performance has completely stabilized and I confirm the exceptional balance and ductility of this tire. Extremely fun both dry and wet practically at all tested temperatures between -5 ÷ + 22 ° C. In dry the shoulder, once deformed in support, holds up very well with a lower understeer tendency compared to the Primacy. The insertion speed is quite good considering the tread depth. By playing with a slight advance and forcing the intensity of the steering a little, the handling is maximized, which is therefore very good for a 4-season. In skidding the tire is progressive and never abrupt in transients. Braking is a little long and spongy but the bite is excellent on uneven surfaces. In wet, the rubber does what you ask of it. With a precise and shrewd guide it holds and convinces always and in any case, in every situation and at every temperature in which the liquid element remains so. When you want to have fun, the safety margins are wide and the responses very gradual. Excellent braking, truly a monument. Excellent drainage, even with temperatures close to freezing. Absorption of roughness and silence excellent for a 4-season. No whistles even during drifting, acceleration from standstill and tight corners. The only drawback still present is the sensation of floating above 140km / h which I hope will decrease with the wear of the tread. Successfully tested even with snow around 5cm on routes without excessive slopes. The bite is consistent and the directionality is sufficient as long as you stroke the accelerator. Not yet tested on ice.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-11 07:17:59
Writing about the Yokohama Advan Sport V105 given 71% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
1. Good grip for the type of tires in both the wet and dry. 2. Low noise high grip 3. Soft compound, easy to heat up for more grip. But also easy to get slightly melted in high technical course 4. Used on gymkhana and many spirited run on canyons and touge. 5. Lasted 8000km about 5000miles in my type of driving.
tyre reviewed on 2021-01-08 12:01:40
Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 96% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13600 spirited miles
very quiet tire great grip unbelievable performance before i had toyo r888 it was very noisy and non comfort for sure i will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-06 04:37:12
Writing about the Toyo R888 given 20% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
can not drive with this tyre extreme noisy and non comfort and expensive bad deal
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-06 04:33:10
Writing about the Accelera 651 Sport given 94% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 13600 spirited miles
very quiet tire for semi slick before i had toyo r888 that was very noisy great grip unbelievable performance good deal for the money for sure i will buy again
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-06 04:28:09
Writing about the Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08R given 77% (235-40-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I'm currently on my third set of AD08Rs. All 3 sets have been acquired at different stage's of life over the last 2 years so i'd assume my review on them should be fairly comprehensive for my use-case.

1'st set i got was off a friend which were relatively new with about 85% thread left on them. 2'nd set popped up really cheap as a used set at around 60% life and i got the 3'rd set new.

For daily use:
Honestly, a surprisingly well-behaved race-orientated tyre for the road. No real drama. It's perfectly acceptable in terms of conform and noise (given i run pretty stiff coilovers and exhaust isn't exactly silent). Ran RE003 Potenza's before this which is more of a road-bias performance tyre and i barely, if at all, notice any difference in comfort. Dry grip undoubtedly, is excessive for everyday road use. Trust me, i'll hardly ever have a lack of it in the dry. In the wet, they behave well too. When they're new, cruising on the highway at 100-120kmph isn't much of a big deal but of course, don't go crazy and you'll be fine. Wear on these i'd assume are fine as well if you swap between track and daily alignments. As i had a string of trackdays, i made the mistake of leaving a rather aggressive track alignment on and yet, they lasted a 6 months on a combo of daily driving and track work.

For the Track:
In terms of outright grip, they're great. Comparable to the R888Rs and anything else in the upper echelon of street-legal performance tyres, if not better. They let go very progressively and you'll hear they screech long before they give-up on you. One complaint i have tho, is feedback. Perhaps it's the specific alignment i'm running or some weird steering geometry at play but they feel numb. Going straight, mid-corner, on full lock, on breaking, they just feel numb to me. Hence, if it's your first time out on them, it'll take you sometime to learn ther limit as you'll have to go off your other senses to determined whether or not you're gonna implant yourself into that wall out of turn-14.

Aside from the lack of feedback, overall a very good tire.
tyre reviewed on 2019-06-21 09:56:11
Writing about the Zeta Ztr10 given 40% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
I recently bought a used Subaru BRZ and the dealer replaced the worn OEM Michelin Premacy rear tyres with a pair of Zeta ZTR10's.
In short the only tyres I can recall that provided such poor handling and feedback were a set of cheap remoulds many years ago. If these are a cheap tyre they may be OK for a shopping car, but don't put them near anything sporty. They'll be coming off as soon as I can decide whether to replace just the tyres or go for a new wheel/tyre package.

The longer version :
when cornering these made the car feel as if the side-wall was flexing under the lateral load, or as if a bush was worn. When I eased off slightly, it returned to shape. Attempting to take a moderate sweeping bend with any enthusiasm had the car tracing the path of a 50-pence piece.
As an experiment I rotated the wheels to have the Zeta's at the front, worn Premacy's on the rear. Now the rear was stable, the front vague.
As a further experiment I used a set of old wheels with old and worn no-name tyres and even they were noticably more stable and communicative then the Zeta's.
tyre reviewed on 2019-05-27 18:20:15
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre