Petlas Velox Sport PT741

The Petlas Velox Sport PT741 is a High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 39 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 387,254 miles driven.

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 76%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 77%
Wear 86%
Comfort 70%
Buy again 76%

The Velox Sport PT741 is ranked 51st of 201 Summer High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Petlas Velox Sport PT741

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Petlas Velox Sport PT741

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Petlas Velox Sport PT741. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Petlas Velox Sport PT741 Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Toyota MK3 MR2 Roaster (185/55 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
Bought a Toyota MR2-Spyder with these (185/55/15 front & 205/50/15 rear - 2014 product date) 2 years ago fitted with these (unknown to me) tyres. From the first date till now (>20.000km) I feel like I own a premium tyre. Great dry grip, feel confident on wet roads, comfort even though a little bit noisy & delivering great handling. All these notes result comparing to tyres on other (different style approach) Toyotas such as Avensis, Auris & Yaris fitted with Bridgestones Turanza T001, Uniroyal Rain Expert, Vredestein Sportrac 5, Dmack EcoXtra, Matador MP16 Stella2. Last week I bought a set of 4 for 175€ for my Yaris because the previous ones (Riken Maystorm 2 B2-lasted less than 20.000km) were unacceptable to dangerous. I noticed a great difference on handling/road resistance & even fuel economy (
Helpful 215 - tyre reviewed on October 8, 2018
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Early review after 1.000 miles from Greece.the tyres are amazing irregardless of their price.its the first time I went budget after 22 years of driving premium to mid range tyres in different cars and you cant believe how good these tyres are until you use them!! I ll come back in a middle life review after 10.000 miles or so,cheers from Greece!!!
Helpful 112 - tyre reviewed on February 23, 2020
Given 86% while driving a Audi A4 Avant 2.0 tdi 170hp (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 22,000 spirited miles
I cover a lot of mileage every year… 35k miles easy. I honestly can’t tell you how shocked I was at how good these tyres were. When it came to paying for the tyres they came in much cheaper than other brands I’ve used so didn’t expect to get as much traction, mileage or general positivity with the Petlas… boy was I wrong!!

100% I’d buy again and will as soon as I get to the change limit
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2023
Have you driven on the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Petlas Velox Sport PT741? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Petlas Velox Sport PT741 >

Latest Petlas Velox Sport PT741 Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giuiletta (225/45 R17) on track for 0 average miles
800 km 2.4 bart. Sport tyre with a good sense of directionality. Τhey work very well at high speeds on dry.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2024
Given 83% while driving a Ford Fiesta mk8 140HP (205/40 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
These tires are the whole 10mm wider than the size indicates. The sidewall is ca. 5mm lower than the size indicates (and it is very stiff). The ride is comfortable but the road-holding is stiff and great. A dry/wet grip is great, too. These tires seem slightly better than Hankooks S1 evo 215/35R16 (as the closest size counterpart I had) in almost all areas while having a higher load index. The only drawback is slightly lower feedback in straight-line driving. Overall recommend!
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on July 5, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 26,000 spirited miles
I have had these for 26k miles on a Mk7 GTI stage 2 tuned. They've been on a track precisely one time and never again. For an everyday spirited driver, they are very good tyres. Quiet, moderately grippy, decent handling. Cons are wet and cool temps. They take quite a while to warm up, and even then, the compound is too hard to Really take hold of a cool road. They Will hydroplane. The wear is like iron in comparison to Sport cup 4s. Still have nearly 5mm to wear indicators. Would recommend as a daily driver, but do not use for track days.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2023
Given 84% while driving a BMW m2 (265/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,500 average miles
Used Michelin Pilot Sports on my 2018 BMW M2 and wife bought these tires as a replacement. At first I was skeptical because of the name and where the tires were made. As usual the wife was always right. The tires performed just like my high priced Michelins. Tires felt so much better than the 27,000 miles Michelin I took off. The tires are slightly noisy than the original but I am impressed with the tires. I would recommend these tires again.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on June 9, 2023
Given 69% while driving a Chevrolet aveo (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
I have driven Petlas Velox Sport PT741 tires for 30000kms on my Chevrolet Aveo LTZ. Dry cornering is good, dry braking is average, wet handling is average, wet braking is unfortunately bad. I can clearly say this tire is great at dry but lacks grip on wet conditions. Tire is not comfortable on rough roads. But noise levels are good for B segment car. Rubber material is kinda hard, so it doesn't wear out quickly. Rubber is started to getting hard after 2 years of usage. Aquaplaning resistance is bad.

If you wanna enjoy the curves in summer, i recommend this tire. But i can clearly say it will disappoint you on wet conditions.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Kia Motors Cerato Forte (215/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 25 average miles
Purchase a new tire today on a rainy day (28 February 2023 replace my pilot sports 4 with no regret about this Petals tyres velox sport PT 741. Great drive on a rainy day with so much grip in any situation on road and breaking super good so far. travel only 28 km testing so far.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on February 28, 2023
Given 45% while driving a Mercedes Benz C250 CGI Estate (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Its the third set of Petlas PT741 I bought. First two sets ok acceptable with very good prices in Hong Kong. However, the third set (bought in 2021) has merely over 10,000 km , and cracks appeared on inner sidewall of 4 tires . Contacted the local agent through the dealer, and showed them photos of the cracks ( from 2 to 4 inches long). The local agent showed photos and details to the factory and they insisted that the cracks were results of under inflation. I am a car guy who checks tire pressure on bi-monthly basis, and always and cold tire pressure roughly 10% above recommended PSI from car makers of all my cars. Upon their reply , I immediately purchased another set , different brand and replaced the potential dangerous tires No chance I would purchase this brand again
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on December 21, 2022
Given 43% while driving a Renault Kadjar, Dynamic S Nav 4WD (225/45 R19) on mostly town for 20,000 easy going miles
4 years old Petlas', which are used in 3 years, driven nearly 35000 km. have several cracks and severed. When changing, I also realized there is a 2 cm. crack at back side of tire. What you pay is what you get. Wishing never meet again.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2022
Given 51% while driving a Fiat croma (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Got two tyres in front going on budget worst mistake I have done they were not balanced/uneven I would not recommend.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2022
Given 61% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Tyres which I bought were defective from purchase.
Helpful 36 - tyre reviewed on July 11, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0 GT (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
I bought 4 tires about a week ago for 300$, I could have spend less by buying cheap Chinese tires for 40$ or 50$ per tire, but I chose to give Petlas a try and I think that was a very good choice. The handling on the road was great as I drove it with high speeds (around 140-160KM/H) and you could feel the grip of the tires like they're stuck on the ground. Money/Value wise is definitely good and I recommend you to give it a try.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on May 17, 2022
Given 96% while driving a BMW 525d Msport (265/35 R18) on mostly country roads for 7,000 spirited miles
I drive a RWD BMW 5-series with more than 200hp and was very skeptical of these budget tires but they had my size (265/35/18) while no other company had it in stock at the moment. I previous had Goodyear Assyms 3 and these somehow made the Goodyears feel bad? I don't know what Petlas did here but these tyres are amazing! They handle superbly (even if you don't consider the price), they are relatively quiet, decently comfortable, and give you a ton of road feedback. Actually how quiet they are is the thing that shocked me the most... One noticable downside is that they aren't so great in the wet but you still have safe amounts of control over the car even in faster corners. Still, the tyres warmed up relatively fast meaning they were ready to go only after a few kilometers of driving! I only drove them for 10 000 kilometers so far and there are 0 issues with the tyre structure and almost no wear. Overall, an almost perfect tyre and at that price? You should be insane not to buy these!
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022