Davanti Protoura Sport

The Davanti Protoura Sport is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 16 tyre reviews averaging 67% over 49,010 miles driven.

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 54%
Road Feedback 68%
Handling 67%
Wear 70%
Comfort 71%
Buy again 63%

First On MarketJune 2020
Wheel Size17 - 23"
Width205 - 315mm
Profile30 - 55
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Protoura Sport is ranked 102nd of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tyre tests for the Davanti Protoura Sport

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Davanti Protoura Sport. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Davanti Protoura Sport Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Protoura sport is amazing and definitely top in UHP! When I compared with my my old pilot sport 4, protoura sport reached another level in UHP and you can treat this as UUHP standard. I check two tyres before put them o. The wheels. I found : The sidewall is much stiffer. Tread pattern is design much advanced. Moveable sippings may gain traction on the wet Protoura sport is wider than PS4 noticeable in same size Protoura sport has Better finishing. I can’t wait to have a hard drive, but I still need some busy traffic time before the hill climb. Tyres are quite. They absorbs most of the bouncing. Noise level on the label is not fake! I took the first round with tyre baking, you can say this is warm up which I did this process in slick tyres. The traction is amazing and very similar to semi slick tyres. My stage 1 2.0 tsi will just slip once at around 4000rpm the 1st gear when cold. After heat up, the slip gone. You will get full traction in all gears on tarmac now. Steering feel is very sharp in UHP level. Tyres scream when u start to over speed or lost traction. Very noticeable! Now, I start to push it really hard. Tyres scream louder and louder, they still pointing to the exit of fast corners. That’s really unbelievable! After three runs, the traction starts to decline. I checked the tyres surface. They were not over heat. Tread patterns and compound are good. The raise of tyre pressure from 32psi to 38 psi leads the lost of grip. I am able to pump 30psi cold as check the sidewall nearly no wear after the 3 hard runs. I thought the special design of sidewall helps. I have many experience for performance tyres especially semi slicks like A050, RE71, cup2… I knew what the ultimate level of grip. Protoura sport reach the top level of UHP for sure with bargain price. Now, I know what’s the targe of davanti is : Leading the way. Very true.
Helpful 89 - tyre reviewed on July 13, 2021
Given 10% while driving a BMW 530dA M Sports E39 (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 300 average miles
I put 4 davanti protoura sport in my bmw 530d im very disappointed after 500km in 110kmh steering start to vibrate and after 130kmh the whole car is shaking! I balanced them in 4 different tires shop but there was no difference.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on November 29, 2023
Given 36% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
These tyres have ruined my S3, dry grip is at best fair, but it’s when it’s wet where things go pear shaped, these don’t suit my car, no front end grip, terrible under steer even at low speed, no confidence in them at all, remember my car is 4 wheel drive, I was passed by a Transit van around the outside on a large roundabout, only done a 1000 miles on them and there coming off this week, really disappointed
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on July 23, 2023
Have you driven on the Davanti Protoura Sport tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Davanti Protoura Sport? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Davanti Protoura Sport >

Latest Davanti Protoura Sport Reviews

Given 31% while driving a Skoda (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Dry is ok.

Wet is frightingly dangerous with massive understeer and no grip under exceleration.

Braking distance has almost doubled also.

These ar so bad they should be pulled from the market.
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on May 7, 2024
Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI Performance Mk. 7.5 (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
When I bought my new to me Golf GTI performance it came with an almost brand new full set of the Davanti Protoura tyres fitted discovered quickly these tyres don’t like cold, damp or wet. When cornering they easily understeer and can struggle for traction even in 3rd gear. This has taken my confidence away from these tyres. In dry and warm they are perfectly adequate and wear reasonably well. Davanti’s insurance is also another good point as whe I hit a potholes and damaged the side wall I got a new tyre for £20 due to minimal wear on the damaged tyre. I’d say these tyre would be good for a non sporty or powerful car for general driving duties
Helpful 1 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 77% while driving a Mercedes Benz E220Cdi (275/35 R20) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
I drive MB E220d All terrain 4matic, front tires are 245/40R20 and rears 275/35R20. Fitted them in July and made approximately 5000 km with them. Dry grip is good, I am not a sporty driver, driving style covered in written mileage is mostly highway and b roads as well as city driving. Driving in wet is little slippery until they don't warm up, afterward is very good. Regarding wear, after 5000 km I don't see any signs of wear. Overall I am very satisfied with ttyres especially with price I have bought it for.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Great tyres, look really good on the wheels from a styling point of view. Really grippy in the dry, a bit less in the wet but I find that with all tyres. So far I've done a few thousand miles on them and can't notice any wear, still look new. Very impressed
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on August 3, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Fitted to 2018 Audi S5. Bought these on the advice from my local tyre shop. They had recently started selling them and he said he’d been very impressed by a set he put on his own car. Price was a lot lower than other brands quoted, Falken and Michelin. The car is my daly drive so gets a mix of road types as I commute in to work down both the motorway and A roads. The grip is excellent in dry and also seems very good in the wet, even when pushed hard on the country roads, no loss of control or any noticeable slip. Only slight negative would be a little more road noise but that’s minor and definitely would not put me off. Did some digging online and feedback seems really good in general, very good option if you don’t want to pay for the top end premium brands. Can’t comment too much on wear yet, but looking at them I’ve done a few thousand miles and they still look almost new so can’t see that being an issue
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2023
Given 64% while driving a SEAT Cupra 300 (235/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
My Seat leon cupra with 306ps (stock) doesn't really suite these tyres. Even in the dry, 1st and 2nd and Even 3rd loose traction and in the wet they have barely any traction under acceleration. One going they're good handling tyres but the traction under load isn't great at all.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on January 30, 2023
Given 24% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
Switch up from pilot sport 4s, these tires are even worse than my nankang ns20 for feedback. There's no feel at the steering wheel, back end is sketchy, front end has no feel at all. Softest sidewall tires I've ever driven on, softer than ps4 which is already pretty soft, no confident at all Light up the tires even at slight throttle Worse tires ever, avoid at all costs
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on August 27, 2022
Given 53% while driving a Ford Fiesta ST180 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,300 spirited miles
Got these fitted after my Michelin Pilot Sport 4’s needed replacing and unfortunately due the the world climate at the moment, the price of a new set of PS4’s was staggering. I was told by the garage that the Protoura Sport tyres are great and “all of our customers use them” and pointed to a Vauxhall corsa with them on. Due to the low price I took a punt. In the dry you can tell they’re made from a much harder compound and the dry grip isn’t the best but it’s not terrible compared to Michelin’s PS4’s or Pirreli P Zero’s. The wet grip is where this budget option tyre really showed it’s colours. Acceleration in the wet is almost non existent due to the high torque in my car and I felt the car understeering on roundabouts which I’m not used to at all. Would not have these tyres on my car again if they were free.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on July 29, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Renault Megane RS265 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
100% give these a chance, I've had all of the top brands on several performance cars from 200-400bhp. These are easily on par with the best of them for dry grip. Wet grip they fall a bit behind the likes of Michelin, this doesn't effect me as this car isn't my daily and only used for fun on the weekends along some B roads from the Brecon Beacons to the Mendips of Somerset, but for the price you can't go wrong. I'll 100% be sticking to these tyres if they stay reasonably priced.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on May 29, 2022
Given 90% while driving a BMW M240i (245/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
After reading these excellent reviews, i've bought a set of Davanti's for the rear of my M240i. First 100km's were a bit vague but that's what i've experienced with all new tyres. After that they perform outstanding. Never thought that I could manage to put all power down with these.. i've tried PS4's / Assy 5's / supersport etc.. but they don't hook like these Davanti's. They do squeel loud when finding traction but that's just the first meters of accelerating. 100% buy again. In the wet, like all other brands you need to be carefull if you put 800nm down..
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on May 2, 2022
Given 93% while driving a Renault Megane RenaultSport Cup (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Best tyre on the market for the price ! Tyre feels like semi slick ! Tons of grip on dry. This tyre should be premium UUHP with the Michelin Cup 2 or Pilot Sport 4S, Conti SP6 or Bridgestone Potenza Sport. Very precise in corners, love fast change of directions, feedback is nice, will buy again.
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on April 3, 2022
Given 97% while driving a Subaru BRZ (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,200 spirited miles
I bought my Protoura Sport about a month and a half prior, and they are giving me extremely good feedbacks, absolutely loving it! I ran a set of semi slick tyres before, and as Winter comes and tempreture drops down, they are hard to getting in working tempreture, so I went to buy a new sets of Protoura Sport, I was getting the 245/40R17 all-round since I am running a 17x9 square setup on my BRZ. The Protoura Sport pickup really quickly, it gives perfect amount of dry grip in the twisty mountain road, and as I try heavy brake in the entry of the corner, it actually let you to threshold braking into it with very linear grip and response. On the wet road for like daily drive for commuting, they gives you a lot of confidence, it never let go once on that occasions, and the ride it simply comfortable, way less bumpy and a lot quieter than before. I never thought any UHP will satisfy me, but the Protoura Sport does, definitely will get myself another set of Protoura Sport.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2022