Falken Azenis FK510

The Falken Azenis FK510 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 144 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 1,286,481 miles driven, and 38 tests with an average result of 5th.

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 82%
Wear 72%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 82%

First On MarketMarch 2016
Wheel Size17 - 22"
Width205 - 305mm
Profile25 - 55
Rolling ResistanceB - D
Wet GripA - A
Noise (dB)69 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Azenis FK510 is ranked 24th of 143 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Falken FK453 and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken Azenis FK520.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Tests Included

38

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

15th

Average Result

5th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tyre Test
9th of 10 tyres
  • Moderately dynamic summer tyre with good aquaplaning reserves, good comfort.
  • Weak grip and long braking in the wet, oversteer balance.
View Full Test >>
2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test
3rd of 11 tyres
  • Good performance potential, excellent aquaplaning resistance, stable handling the wet, sporty dry dynamics.
  • High price level.
View Full Test >>
2022 AMS Performance Summer Tyre Test
8th of 10 tyres
  • Acceptable wet braking performance, good grip in the wet and dry.
  • Limited aquapaning resistance, poor balance in the dry, limited sportiness.
  • Well priced and essentially safe in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

2021 Tyre Tests

2020 Tyre Tests

2019 Tyre Tests

2018 Tyre Tests

2017 Tyre Tests

2016 Tyre Tests

Questions and Answers for the Falken Azenis FK510

2018-09-19 - Please can you tell me if it is safe to have an FK453 on nearside rear and FK510 on offside rear, on a Ford Mondeo Estate?

It is always recommended to change tyres in axle pairs, so mixing them isn't advised. There would be nothing inherently unsafe, but it could cause vehicle balance issues, especially in the wet.


2018-11-02 - Putting these Falkens on a 2007 911, are these tire able to be rotated from right to left?

The Falken FK510 is an asymmetric tyre so yes you can rotate it left to right.


2019-06-08 - Are Falken tyres (FK510) suitable for a Porsche Boxster S?

Assuming you can find the correct size and load rating you need in the FK510, there's no reason you shouldn't use them on a Boxster.


2019-10-21 - Are falken azenis fk510 tyres all season tyres?

The Azenis FK510 is a summer tyre.


2019-11-04 - Hi, I have Mazda 6 2.5 2008. I ride mostly 90% city + 10% curved countryside roads (I like enjoy them). The best solution is buy Michelin Pilot Sport 4, I know, but it is 50-60% more expensive then FK510. I decide between FK510 and Goodyear F1 Asym 5. Question is - Should I pay 15 % more for Goodyear or there isn't too much better behavior for that higher price?

Have a watch of our big tyre test on YouTube, it should answer your question. In short, if you like handling, then the Asym5 is worth the extra.


2021-04-05 - I have a suv 4x4 with Bridgestone Dueler on front and rear axles. The rears have worn to 3.4mm in 15000 miles the fronts are on 5mm. I tow a caravan. Would Falken FK510 tyres be any better?

There is almost no wear testing for highly loaded tyres for reference, however the Bridgestone Dueler range of tyres have traditionally be good wearing tyres so I would be surprised if the Falken gave you extra treadlife. There would likely be improvements in wet performance and comfort.


2021-05-12 - Looking to put falken fk510 on my vauxhall gtc with 19" rims, new pair onto go on the front only. However, load rating for the falkens is 99, car already has 95 load tyres on the back which will stay on, and 95 is the norm for this vehicle. Will there be any difference with the 99 load on the front? Thanks

In theory the 99 load could have a slightly stiffer construction, but given they're different brand tyres front and rear that will be a bigger difference than the different load ratings fitted.


2021-11-03 - Is the Falken f510 suitable for rear drive wheels of a mercedes e250cdi amg convertable

Yes it is.


2021-11-22 - Are FALKEN AZENIS FR510 18” run flats

Falken do make the FK510 in certain runflat sizes.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
255/35 R19 £144.85 - £190.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 40 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Falken Azenis FK510 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Better than Pirelli
Helpful 726 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2016
Given 81% while driving a Ford S Max (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
I have been driving 225/50 17 98 XL FR tyre for three years. Amazing wet grip, maybe not so amazing in the last season - the tyre became hard...
Helpful 286 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020
Given 80% while driving a BMW bmw (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 150,000 spirited miles
Love Falken!
Have been driving BMW's for over 20 years...... have always swapped to Falken when tyres needed changing.

Latest set front and rear RF's on a 430d .... great tyres...why pay more....these Tyres are so underrated!
Helpful 188 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2018
Have you driven on the Falken Azenis FK510 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Falken Azenis FK510? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Falken Azenis FK510 >

Latest Falken Azenis FK510 Reviews

Given 77% while driving a BMW 520i (245/40 R19) on mostly town for 25,000 spirited miles
Using this tire for my BMW 520 for almost 2 years with around 26k KM. Road noise is acceptable. Love the grip in dry. It give you confidence to take corner.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on June 6, 2024
Given 91% while driving a Volvo XC60 (255/50 R19) on mostly country roads for 30,000 spirited miles
THE BEST TIRE I EVER HAD.
BUT TIRES MADE IN JAPAN
THE SAME TIRE MANUFACTURED IN TURKEY IS GARBAGE!
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 56% while driving a Hyundai Coupe 2.0L (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Do not buy this tyre or ANY hard compound tyre if you drive a Hyundai Coupe, especially a TSIII with factory lowered suspension, you will feel every single imperfection in the road and the ride comfort is absolutely abysmal. This car cannot handle hard compound tyres, fit a soft compound like Bridgestone Turanza.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on January 29, 2024
Given 81% while driving a BMW 320D xDrive Gran Turismo (225/45 R19) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
Good tyres, maybe little too soft but overall very good. Good and stable in the rain.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on December 8, 2023
Given 96% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 cdi (255/35 R19) on mostly motorways for 20,000 average miles
I’ve driven Pirelli Cinturato P7 and Goodyear aswell on Mercedes C class and I can say that Pirelli is the worst especially in the wet. Comparing Goodyear and Falken they are both worth the money, the only difference is the wear where Falken is not that good. But since Goodyear and other high end price tyres can be double of Falken price, I would definetely recommend Falken.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on October 24, 2023
Given 64% while driving a Citroën C5 (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 22,000 spirited miles
The tires were fitted to the car since I bought it (used). They were 1.5 years old when I bought the car, with 15000 km (8000 miles) fitted beginning of 2020. I have done 20k km with the car since, so tires changed at 35k km.
From 15-20000 km they were performing really good, dry and wet conditions. At around 20k I had swapped front and back ones as wear was pretty high at the front, and from 20-25k wet grip was fading. I had also experienced balancing issues (around 120+ km a mild rattling of the steering wheel).
I would say that for the first 20k it's a really high performance tire, as grip was amasing, dry and wet, but as it wears out it starts becoming more and more slippery. At the end of their life they were kind of dangerous in the wet, and 35k kilometers (~28k miles) it's not that high for the price of 18 inch tires (rears were at the same level as the legal limit indicators). I have gone to something completely different (higher profile 17 inches to try how my hydractive suspension behaves) so I cannot give a direct comparison, obviously the new tires are grippier than the almost slick falkens :p
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on August 21, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Golf GTI 7.5 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 300 spirited miles
Just had these fitted on my 300HP tuned MK7.5 Golf GTI. So this review will be initial impressions after a few hundred KM of city and highway driving. I will not be able to comment on the tyre wear right now. I will be comparing the FK510 to the Bridgestone RE004 that I was using prior.

Dry grip is good. Very close to the RE004. Definitely more than adequate for daily driving. Even when cornering at speed, the tyres grip well and don’t squeal much. Wet grip is slightly better than the RE004. The RE004 felt a bit nervous when driving quickly on wet roads. But on the FK510, there is less aquaplaning and the car feels more planted.

Feel wise, the RE004 is noticeably stiffer than the FK510. As a result, the FK510 just doesn’t feel as sharp or darty through corners. A nice handling tyre but just not sharp enough to compete with the best in this mid-range UHP segment. However the FK510 is more comfortable and absorbs bumps better.

Overall, a good UHP tyre for daily driving but definitely not the best in the segment in terms of handling. I wouldn’t buy these again as I prioritise driving enjoyment over all else but for someone who wants a jack-of-all-trades tyre for their daily driver. The FK510 is a good choice.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on August 7, 2023
Given 78% while driving a Subaru BRZ (245/40 R17) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
I bought these after about a month of searching for 245 wide tires that won't explose my budget, since I wanted some more meat under my BRZ. The sidewall feels softer than my previous set, but it's probably only due to the increased size (going from 215 on a 7in to a 245 on a 9in). Overall the tire has great grip, wether its cold, warm or wet. Tried a single session on them at a local racetrack, and they held very well! No understeer or oversteer even after pushing. I do have a slightly aggressive alignment, which may help. Overall its a great tire for a fun daily driver, maybe not as good as the top dogs in the UHP category, hopefully after some more miles they still shine.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B7 (235/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Bare in mind before you read this review, I had these tires on a 170 HP VW, so I might not have the most fair review... but man these tires rock. I can never break traction in the dry, and almost never do in the wet. Only complaint is they don't last at all.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on May 5, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Alfa Romeo 159 (225/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 30,000 easy going miles
I had these tires on my previous car (2011 Alfa Romeo 159 SW 2.0 JTDm). I sold it about 1 month ago. As it is still fresh in my memory, a wrote this review. The Falken Azenis FK510 is fantastic! Maybe not the best for rolling resistance so fuel economy, but not bad either. If my new car (2018 Mazda 6 SW 2.0 Skyactiv-G 165) needs new tires, chances are it will be Falken. Maybe I will try the new FK520 then.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2022
Given 68% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK7 R 300 BHP (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
Coming from a set of touring tyres fitted by the previous owner, I immediately noticed how much better they felt on the road. Road feedback and grip was greatly improved. Potholes can be a bit crashy (35 profile on 19inch wheels), but I've found that dropping the tyre pressure (1-2 psi) can help. However these do provide a quiet ride on most road surfaces and are relatively inexpensive down here in Australia.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on November 17, 2022
Given 80% while driving a BMW 530D (275/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 12,000 average miles
Falken fk510 front axle nothing wrong. On rear axle it,s only last 4.8 mm after 18 000 km !
Helpful 34 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2022