Falken Azenis FK510

The Falken Azenis FK510 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tyre replaced the Falken FK453 and this tyre has been replaced by the Falken Azenis FK520.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 82%
Handling 82%
Wear 73%
Comfort 79%
Buy again 83%

Tyre review data from 131 tyre reviews averaging 82% over 1,105,171 miles driven.

The Azenis FK510 is ranked 19th of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Reports

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tyre Test - 4th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Short braking and safe and easy to control in the wet.
  • Negative - ess sporty and very sluggish in the dry, low steering precision.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tyre Test - 9th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Moderately dynamic summer tyre with good aquaplaning reserves, good comfort.
  • Negative - Weak grip and long braking in the wet, oversteer balance.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Good performance potential, excellent aquaplaning resistance, stable handling the wet, sporty dry dynamics.
  • Negative - High price level.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R18)
  • 4th: 2022 Sport Auto UHP, UUHP and Semi Slick Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 8th: 2022 AMS Performance Summer Tyre Test (245/45 R19)
  • 9th: 2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tyre Test (245/40 R19)
  • 2021 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2021 ADAC Summer Tyre Test - 225/50 R17 (225/50 R17)
  • 3rd: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 Auto Zeitung Summer UHP Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 5th: 2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test (275/35 R19)
  • 6th: 2021 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 7th: 2021 Auto Bild UUHP Summer Tyre Test (265/35 R20)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 6th: 2020 Auto Bild UHP 19 inch Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 7th: 2020 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 8th: 2020 ADAC 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 8th: 2020 AMS 18 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R18)
  • 15th: 2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2019 Tyre Reviews UHP Summer Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 6th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2019 Sport Auto 20 Inch UHP Tyre Test (245/30 R20)
  • 7th: 2019 EVO Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 10th: 2019 Gute Fahrt Summer 18 Inch Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 2018 Tyre Tests

  • 1st: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tyre Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2nd: 2018 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2018 AZ Summer AND All Season Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2018 Test World Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 4th: 2018 Sport Auto 19 inch UHP and Track Day Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2018 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tyre Test (265/35 R19)
  • 5th: 2018 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2018 EVO UUHP Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 2017 Tyre Tests

  • 2nd: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 3rd: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tyre Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • 4th: 2017 Auto Bild Sports Cars Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2017 EVO Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 5th: 2017 AMS Summer UHP Tyre Test (245/45 R18)
  • 6th: 2017 Auto Bild UHP Tyre Test (245/40 R18)
  • 2016 Tyre Tests

  • 5th: 2016 GTU Performance Summer Tyre Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2016 Auto Express Summer Tyre Test (225/40 R18)
  • 9th: 2016 EVO Summer Performance Tyre Test (235/35 R19)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    235/35 R19 91Y XL   E A 69 10.00kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Falken Azenis FK510

    2018-09-20 - Please can you tell me if it is safe to have an FK453 on nearside rear and FK510 on offside rear, on a Ford Mondeo Estate?

    It is always recommended to change tyres in axle pairs, so mixing them isn't advised. There would be nothing inherently unsafe, but it could cause vehicle balance issues, especially in the wet.


    2018-11-03 - Putting these Falkens on a 2007 911, are these tire able to be rotated from right to left?

    The Falken FK510 is an asymmetric tyre so yes you can rotate it left to right.


    2019-06-08 - Are Falken tyres (FK510) suitable for a Porsche Boxster S?

    Assuming you can find the correct size and load rating you need in the FK510, there's no reason you shouldn't use them on a Boxster.


    2019-10-21 - Are falken azenis fk510 tyres all season tyres?

    The Azenis FK510 is a summer tyre.


    2019-11-04 - Hi, I have Mazda 6 2.5 2008. I ride mostly 90% city + 10% curved countryside roads (I like enjoy them). The best solution is buy Michelin Pilot Sport 4, I know, but it is 50-60% more expensive then FK510. I decide between FK510 and Goodyear F1 Asym 5. Question is - Should I pay 15 % more for Goodyear or there isn't too much better behavior for that higher price?

    Have a watch of our big tyre test on YouTube, it should answer your question. In short, if you like handling, then the Asym5 is worth the extra.


    2021-04-05 - I have a suv 4x4 with Bridgestone Dueler on front and rear axles. The rears have worn to 3.4mm in 15000 miles the fronts are on 5mm. I tow a caravan. Would Falken FK510 tyres be any better?

    There is almost no wear testing for highly loaded tyres for reference, however the Bridgestone Dueler range of tyres have traditionally be good wearing tyres so I would be surprised if the Falken gave you extra treadlife. There would likely be improvements in wet performance and comfort.


    2021-05-12 - Looking to put falken fk510 on my vauxhall gtc with 19" rims, new pair onto go on the front only. However, load rating for the falkens is 99, car already has 95 load tyres on the back which will stay on, and 95 is the norm for this vehicle. Will there be any difference with the 99 load on the front? Thanks

    In theory the 99 load could have a slightly stiffer construction, but given they're different brand tyres front and rear that will be a bigger difference than the different load ratings fitted.


    2021-11-03 - Is the Falken f510 suitable for rear drive wheels of a mercedes e250cdi amg convertable

    Yes it is.


    2021-11-22 - Are FALKEN AZENIS FR510 18” run flats

    Falken do make the FK510 in certain runflat sizes.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/45 R17 £83.89 - £95.20 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/40 R18 £71.99 - £116.60 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/45 R17 £80.89 - £121.40 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    225/50 R17 £103.59 - £150.70 (10 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/35 R19 £123.19 - £190.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 131 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Falken Azenis FK510 Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Better than Pirelli
    Helpful 684 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2016
    Given 81% while driving a Ford S Max (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
    I have been driving 225/50 17 98 XL FR tyre for three years. Amazing wet grip, maybe not so amazing in the last season - the tyre became hard...
    Helpful 182 - tyre reviewed on April 1, 2020
    Given 80% while driving a BMW bmw (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 150,000 spirited miles
    Love Falken!
    Have been driving BMW's for over 20 years...... have always swapped to Falken when tyres needed changing.

    Latest set front and rear RF's on a 430d .... great tyres...why pay more....these Tyres are so underrated!
    Helpful 140 - tyre reviewed on February 10, 2018
    Have you driven on the Falken Azenis FK510 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Falken Azenis FK510? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Falken Azenis FK510 >

    Latest Falken Azenis FK510 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Honda Stepwgn (225/40 R19) on mostly town for 12,000 easy going miles
    I really like this tyre. I have 19x8 aftermarket Japanese wheels fitted to my family (8-seater) people mover and almost all of the driving is around town with school runs, shopping, weekend outings and the occasional road trip to another city or town. Unlike many others who choose a tyre of this size and model for daily driving a performance car, my main concern was wet ability and noise. For both of these aspects, I find these tyres to be excellent. After over 13,000 miles on these I still have a lot of tread left and by rotating the tyres I will be able to maximise their lifespan. I find them to be quiet and relatively comfortable, and would have another set without hesitation.
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Mercedes Benz C200 w205 (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
    All i can say is WOW. Not really a fan of Falkens. After my Michelin Ps4s wears, tyre shop highly recommended me to try this Fk510. After much thought i gave it a try. Driving out the shop i could instantly feel the comfort. Otw home, the rough roads suddenly now became less noisy n less harsh. Was really impressed. So i thought mybe its a comfort tyre with not much grip. But i was wrong. This tyre corners like its on rails. Tried during heavy rain or on dry roads, not a single screech. N after using it for this long, the tyres are still as comfortable n grippy like the day i bought it. Falken has really did an excellent job. Kudos!
    Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on September 16, 2022
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 73% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
    I bought these tires because of their good feedback and the competitive price compared to other brands. The previous tires were a Michelin PS4 which are excellent. On the Falkens I feel less objectivity in the corners due to the sidewalls of the tire having the softer rubber. They are more comfortable than the PS4 but I miss the stiffness when cornering. So far I've done a few miles, but I'm sure because it has a good grip and soft rubber, I don't know if it's going to be very long. Behavior in the rain I can't complain, they are good. In the end it's a good tire. Price quality is very good.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on July 3, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a BMW 320d touring (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
    Amazing tyre. On BMW 320d 190hp it lasted me allmoast 3 summers. When you floor it grips, and it gives feedback. Im going to order them again right about now.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2022
    Given 66% while driving a Mazda 5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
    Using this on a Mazda 5 CW MPV (approx 1.5Ton). Save your trouble on reading stories, i summarised this for you. -Dry handling good 8/10, -wet handling -8/10 Drive over huge puddles when the car about 90kmh on roads, repels water well, and pretty grippy, but it gets not so good after the tyre wears out. -roadfeedback - Good, can feel cracks and telling me if they are slipping or not. handling is pretty good, i can feel the feedback relatively well, side walls isnt too firm, so i feel abit of tyre wobble when i amd doing corners. (comparing to AD08r, i know, not the same category) Comfort wise, its is not very quiet, but i feels comparing to ps4, i think its quieter.. So i feel its pretty good. Wear- i have clocked about 20k km, my front is almost worn out, starting to look alternatives now... (gotta try something new)
    Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Honda Civic Type S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    Great tyre, great in the wet, but they hate standing water, had some terrible experiences aquaplanning , wear is Avarage driving worn down in 18 months, dry braking can be challenging,.. also side wall cracking with 8 months which was a worry, good road feel, going to test the fk520 next and hoping for good results. Overall a good cheaper alternative tyre.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2022
    Given 99% while driving a Honda Accord iVtec Type S saloon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    Better than pzero nero gt, On my car are superb, the wear it is ok, they have like 5.5-6mm after 17k km, in two seasons, now it is the 3 season, and they hold very well. I am very happy with them.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on May 19, 2022
    Given 91% while driving a Lincoln 2019 Continental 3.0 AWD (245/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
    Long story short, Dry handling in South-East Europe is such that a Lincoln Continental on FK510 feels better and more precise than a Mustang GT on Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2. It's just satisfying to drive. I had a 6 seconds of aquaplaning in a curve with initial speed of 105 km/h and and speed of 80 km/h. Lost all visibility through front and side windows as well as the glass roof, yes, I had that much time to look around. Water ended, the car was still in the middle of the left lane where it was initially. The baby and the wife were sleeping in the back seat. Obviously I'll swear in those tyres for the rest of my life. At 14k mi they are around 5-5.5 mm thread, so three seasons will be their life. It'd be two seasons if it were not for pandemic. They are sensitive to heat and the inflation pressure should be adjusted according to the month and weather. Very quiet and for such small sidewall they ride exceptionally well. Incomparably better than the OE Goodyear Eagle F1 A/S with acoustic foam.
    Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
    Given 48% while driving a Mazda cx5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
    For all sorts of reasons, I had the front Toyo tyres on our Mazda CX5 4 wheel drive, Sport Nav, replaced with Falken 150s a few days ago. They are NOISY!
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on January 21, 2022
    Given 56% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    Previously had Goodyear F1 Assy3 and Michelin PS4 on the car, but thought I'd try saving some money this time with Falken's FK510 - that was a mistake. In March/April when newly fitted I was stunned at the amount of grip (although this could partly be because I went wider from 205 to 215), and they continued to please me for 6 months. If I'd reviewed them at that point they would've been very highly rated, the only mark against them being the sidewall is a bit soft. However after this, they have really disapointed. Perhaps it's wear (although neither front or rear are at the wear bars yet), maybe it's the cooler temperatures and occasional salt on the roads, but the grip has very rapidly reduced and they make me nervous in greasy conditions. I can get rear wheelspin in third gear sometimes in a car with only 160 hp. They have just now started understeering at the front. I'm not sure if they put a better compound on the very outside of the tyre or they just don't like 10'c temperatures but I've never seen tyres drop off like these have, and at such low mileage too. There's plenty of tread left but I am considering swapping them for something more premium already, so they are a false economy.
    Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Ford Falcon AU XR8 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 16,000 spirited miles
    I am on my 3rd set of these and I have found them to be the best performing tyre across the board. I have only owned V8 Falcons and I have used Dunlop, Bridgestone & Hankook high performance tyres in the past. All of the softer compound tyres wear quickly, especially the rear set. I have found the Falken Azenis to be the best wearing tyre, whilst providing incredible grip, both dry & wet. At speed, they are very compliant, providing excellent feedback and even when the rear's let go, it is always in a controlled manner. Superb traction, very quiet tyre and no ugly surprises with these tyres both dry or wet. One will have to really want to break traction in the dry with the Falken FK510 as they hook up extremely well under hard acceleration. Made in Japan, from the Sumitomo factory who also make Dunlop, so plenty of experience to draw on. I paid just under $1100 for a full set of 5 tyres in 245-40-18. I rotate every 5000kms and maintain a cold pressure of 38psi as the increase at temperature brings them to an ideal 42psi. This seems to be the ideal pressure for a Falcon sedan. Best tyre in class.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on January 17, 2022
    Given 87% while driving a BMW 335i (265/30 R19) on mostly country roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    Look no further - so I went with the falken FK510s after extensive research into finding the ideal tyre to replace the god awful run flats from factory - as the FK510s have a superior sidewall construction they provide the support of the run flats without the harsh, alloy cracking downfalls. In terms of grip, wet or dry, excellent, I was running in the 500bhp category and struggled to make the rear slip when new. Bad points - life expectancy isn't great, but not the tyres fault, fronts will last for many many thousand miles but with my sprirted driving, the rears will last around 12 months with every day use, although fully legal tread, I did notice some slip starting to occur at about 60-75% through its life. With that said, I wouldn't buy any other tyre for cars designed with run flats....
    Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on January 15, 2022