Alfa Romeo 159 Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Alfa Romeo 159.

Do you Drive a Alfa Romeo 159? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 159 better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Wintrac Pro (26) 91% 90% 85% 82% 87% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (112) 94% 84% 90% 88% 84% 85%
Fulda SportControl (40) 92% 87% 85% 83% 85% 86%
Michelin Pilot Super Sport (144) 94% 84% 89% 86% 82% 81%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S (135) 93% 88% 86% 87% 81% 86%
Semperit Speed Grip 2 (17) 89% 89% 89% 76% 87% 89%
Continental SportContact 7 (52) 97% 93% 91% 92% 71% 76%
Nokian zLine (83) 91% 90% 89% 87% 76% 85%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Atlas Sport Green (12) 92% 83% 83% 83% 75% 85%
Formula Formula Ice (2) 80% 85% 80% 85% 85% 80%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM35 (3) 87% 87% 80% 80% 83% 80%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (301) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 82%
Bridgestone Turanza GR90 (21) 81% 86% 83% 81% 74% 92%
Michelin X Ice Snow (12) 78% 77% 73% 71% 87% 87%
Falken Azenis FK510 (144) 89% 88% 82% 82% 72% 77%
Goodyear Vector 4Seasons (61) 84% 83% 82% 82% 86% 82%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (117) 89% 84% 83% 85% 74% 78%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Vredestein Ultrac Cento (22) 83% 78% 76% 73% 86% 82%
Kormoran Kormoran UHP (29) 86% 72% 81% 77% 81% 81%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Federal Evoluzion ST 1 (28) 85% 70% 72% 81% 77% 84%
Lassa DriveWays (18) 80% 81% 79% 76% 86% 68%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (175) 88% 84% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (129) 84% 76% 76% 77% 74% 82%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Michelin Primacy HP (199) 85% 75% 77% 74% 77% 76%
Nankang AR 1 (35) 91% 45% 84% 88% 71% 66%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (198) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 (82) 79% 86% 76% 72% 62% 75%
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 (157) 84% 78% 76% 73% 60% 65%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (108) 85% 78% 77% 75% 55% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus (25) 84% 67% 75% 71% 62% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (159) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Marshal Matrac TX KU17 (8) 81% 68% 64% 66% 71% 69%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Nankang AS1 (18) 78% 60% 68% 62% 71% 71%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Pirelli PZero Rosso (109) 81% 66% 70% 68% 59% 62%
Wanli S1063 (80) 74% 58% 63% 61% 77% 65%
Evergreen EU72 (48) 75% 61% 60% 60% 73% 67%
Hifly HF805 (58) 75% 61% 64% 64% 54% 63%
Hifly Win Turi (7) 71% 59% 67% 59% 77% 76%
Marangoni Mythos (29) 69% 55% 58% 60% 62% 58%
Accelera PHI (158) 68% 44% 53% 52% 66% 58%

Alfa Romeo 159 Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin X Ice Snow given 76% (215-50-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 50 average miles
Fitted the x ice snow as they were one of few nordic winter tyres available in my size. The other one was Hakkapeliitta R5. I have had hakkas before with great success, but decided to go for michelin this time because of better longevity, since these alfas are known for eating front tires. The x ices was 1250 euros fitted on car.

Where i live there are either tarmac or ice. Rarely snow. And the snow get to slush, and then ice again. So that is the conditions these tyres are tested on.

Asphalt, dry or wet. Very reassuring, and calm feeling trough the tires. Good grip, with early signals when pushing the car too much. The general comfort and rolling is great....maybe a little bit more noise than i expected. More than pirellis fr's for example. But i think that is to blame for the knobby, tractor like tread pattern of the x-snows.

Ice.... terrible! I don't know if that is just me being used to studded nordic tyres, but even the studless hakka r3 i remember was better on ice than these. I suspect that has to to with harder compound. That is just not for michelin, but a trend that seems to be in almost all tyres nowadays. Maybe because of high torque cars. I miss the really soft rubbery tyres for like 10 years ago. I have a car with bf ko2' and they are just a little bit worse than x ice snow on the same hill.

I know x ice snow was best with r5 in ice grip, so don't take my opinion for granted, but at least on black ice of western norway, there was not much grip to be found.

But then the snow came, at least for 2 days. And wow! I understand the name x ice SNOW. The pattern just paks down the snow and grip. No need to explain. Other than a 4x4 volvo struggled where i drove straight up a snowy hill with fwd.

So these tyres are great at snow and overall driving on asphalt. Wet asphalt are my 80% driving so that is good. The only drawback are grip on ice. But maybe my only option for that should have been the x ice north 4 studded. But studless tyres is because i don't have to pay stud taxes in the cities.

After 300 miles the tyres settled more in i can feel. Will try on ice again.

Will report later on wear.
tyre reviewed on 2023-12-03 15:02:26
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 87% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 30000 easy going miles
I had these tires on my previous car (2011 Alfa Romeo 159 SW 2.0 JTDm). I sold it about 1 month ago. As it is still fresh in my memory, a wrote this review. The Falken Azenis FK510 is fantastic! Maybe not the best for rolling resistance so fuel economy, but not bad either. If my new car (2018 Mazda 6 SW 2.0 Skyactiv-G 165) needs new tires, chances are it will be Falken. Maybe I will try the new FK520 then.
tyre reviewed on 2022-12-20 07:43:46
Writing about the Bridgestone Blizzak LM005 given 82% (225-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3200 average miles
While the wet performance is outstanding, I felt it was average on snow and dry. The tire gave me excellent feedback at the limit and lost grip progressively. The wear concerned me as it lost 2-3mm of the profile in just ~5000 km. I think is a good tire but in the future, I will try something else.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-21 03:19:21
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S given 84% (235-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 spirited miles
After having these tyres on my car for over a year new im totally sold by them. Theyre great and grippy, especially noticable in the rainy/ damp conditions. I've done around 6-8xxx miles in them and the rear tyres on my car are basically new, however fronts on the inner edges are approaching the wear markers so will need changing soon, and have melted the slits on the innder egdes together. This however might be something to do with my trip to scotland to do the NC500 which really made the tyres stand out giving my tons of confident to throw the car into the corners just knowing they will stick.
tyre reviewed on 2022-11-09 10:11:20
Writing about the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus given 80% (245-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 12000 average miles
Bought a set of 4 of these tyres not long after buying the car to go on new alloys. Overall quite impressed with the handling in all conditions, good feedback through the steering wheel and good traction under braking. They give what I would say is a solid ride and cope well with the often uneven surfaces of the country lanes. I cannot really compare road noise or fuel efficiency as I've not had long enough with a different set to gauge any difference. I get the top end of my expected fuel economy which makes me happy and it's quiet enough in the cabin to chat with my kids in the back which makes them happy. Buy them again? Possibly, though I may go for something different (budget dependent). Recommend to a friend? Definitely!
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-19 08:29:39
Writing about the Continental SportContact 7 given 97% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-21 05:39:09
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza S001 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2021-06-14 10:09:50
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 83% (235-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
The Continental Premium Contact 6 are great tires in dry and wet as well. I mostly drive mountain roads and of course the spirited way to drive, at this pricetag I'm a bit disapointed of the mileage of about 6000 miles. I have an alfa romeo 159 TBI with 200hp lowered wit kw suspension, next summer season I am likely to try some other tyres. These are my first "performance oriented" tyres, therefore I can't compare them to other brands yet. I hope this review can provide any help and keep the gas burning.
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-08 14:07:37
Writing about the Hifly Win Turi given 58% (225-50-17-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Nije lose. .
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-04 00:19:39
Writing about the Hifly HF805 given 46% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I am on my third set of 4 tyres and these tyres, for a very good price, are ok but you can do so much better for an extra few pounds. Dry handling is ok abait the tyre walls are soft, wet handling when worn in is acceptable although braking distances are extended. The Hi Fly's will wear quickly depending on your car and driving style, when worn in the wet these are dangerous, at 70 mph on a wet motorway the rear aqua planed and very nearly lost control, when new this is not an issue. I am not purchasing these again this time. On my old Golf GTI's, Sciroccos, and Alfas I used to use Falken as the best mid priced brand, Falken are no longer a mid but premium brand and for FK510 we are looking at £450 fitted, after speaking with Micheldever Tyres ( UK distributer of many brands inc Falken) they advised Kuhmo 71 would be a good choice but I didn't like them. So after many years of using performance tyres this is my list of good performing tyres at a decent price, most expensive first (225/50/17y xl). 1. Nokian Z line (Now Nokian Powerproof) £100/£105 fitted. 2. Falken FK453 (now would be FK510, the ZE914 wasn't bad either. 2. Fulda Sport Control. £100/£105 fitted 4. Debica Presto UHP 2 (Goodyear) £85 fitted. 4. Sava Intensa UHP (Goodyear, so little between the two). £85 fitted 4. Roadstone Eurovis 04 (Roadstone made by Nexan. Really good for the money and would buy again). What have I just ordered for my car, Debica Presto UHP 2.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-22 09:55:47
Writing about the Formula Formula Ice given 81% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
Using these tyres already two years now and I am really satisfied with them (good grip and feeling safe to use them in difficult conditions) Cost only 34€/piece
tyre reviewed on 2020-04-12 15:49:39
Writing about the Federal Evoluzion ST 1 given 74% (235-40-19-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Had already bought those tyres on my previus car (subaru impreza 205/55r16) And now with the alfa romeo i found exactly the same characteristics. Really good dry grip, very linear at the limit, but the sidewall is really soft (good for confort) Road feed back is not really great. In the wet never had bad surprise, even with less tread. Wear is ok but not amazing (i did around 20'000km in the impreza) If you are in a budget it is a great tyre, when considering that in my size, contis and Michelins are about twice the price.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-31 12:47:53
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre