Federal Evoluzion ST 1

The Federal Evoluzion ST 1 is a Ultra High Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 70%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 81%
Wear 79%
Comfort 85%
Buy again 80%

Tyre review data from 27 tyre reviews averaging 79% over 187,210 miles driven.

The Evoluzion ST 1 is ranked 47th of 140 Summer Ultra High Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test - 10th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Low external noise, low purchase price.
  • Negative - Extremely low grip in the wet with long wet braking distances and difficult to control handling, low aquaplaning resistance, low grip in the dry with poor handling.
  • Overall - The Federal Evolution ST-1 has poor grip in every condition, and dangerously long wet braking distances. Not recommended.
View Full Test >>

2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 8th of 10 tyres

  • Positive - Good braking performance.
  • Negative - Poor wet handling, the worst result in the moose test.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test - 45th of 49 tyres

View Full Test >>

2022 Tyre Tests

  • 10th: 2022 Tyre Reviews UUHP Summer Tyre Test (255/35 R19)
  • 2020 Tyre Tests

  • 8th: 2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test (225/50 R17)
  • 45th: 2020 Tyre Market Overview Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tyre Tests

  • 24th: 2019 Summer 53 Tyre Braking Shootout (225/45 R17)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Federal Evoluzion ST 1

    Questions and Answers for the Federal Evoluzion ST 1

    2022-01-27 - Can you tell me what tyre pressure to run for the track for Mustang

    Tyre pressures are vehicle specific so we recommended you start around what your manufacturer recommends HOT, so you will need to warm the tyres up then drop the pressures.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    215/40 R18 £139.70 - £141.60 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R18 £134.50 - £136.30 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/45 R18 £136.70 - £138.60 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    255/40 R19 £149.30 - £151.40 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 42 tyre sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Federal Evoluzion ST 1 Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Audi TT RS (255/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Exceptional tyres for their value.
    OEM Yokohama V105's were worse...much worse not only in comfort but in both performance on dry and wet. Just the road feedback could be improved ...
    Very good tyre and w/o much info in the net was curious to try them and don't regret at all...
    Helpful 260 - tyre reviewed on February 24, 2019
    Given 88% while driving a Fiat Abarth Grande Punto (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Way better than the kuhmo ku39 I used before, despite they were a bit cheaper. Where the kuhmos were a bit sluggish when making corners at higher speeds, these give a much more stable feel. Really progressive at the limit and a predictable under/oversteer behaviour when playing with the balance of the car.
    Feel really planted in the wet and no problems getting the power down on a powerful fwd car without LSD, which results in less esp interferences than before
    Will buy them again!
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on March 10, 2019
    Given 76% while driving a Ford Focus (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Half the price of the premium tire but NOT half the performance. Dry grip is pretty good after running in tires.
    Helpful 39 - tyre reviewed on October 30, 2020
    Have you driven on the Federal Evoluzion ST 1 tyre?

    Have YOU got experience with the Federal Evoluzion ST 1? Help millions of other tyre buyers

    Review your Federal Evoluzion ST 1 >

    Latest Federal Evoluzion ST 1 Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Honda Civic 1.4 100PS FK1 (225/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    Following my initial 5K miles review, I have to say that these tyres are an excellent choice at this price point, which is almost 50% lower than premium brands cost. After 30K miles, these tyres perform still very well on dry with a notable drop in wet performance, but with easy-going driving, they can last for 5-10K miles more. The stiff sidewall (because of extra load) helps hard cornering without losing much comfort, the perfect balance between handling and comfort from my experience. In general, these tyres have good breaking, comfort, and wear performance with focus on sporty driving at the expense of wet performance especially when they have not been warmed.
    Helpful 14 - tyre reviewed on September 23, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Subaru Legacy bp5 wr ltd (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 20,000 spirited miles
    I bought these over three years ago to put on my Subaru legacy wr ltd. I did a fair bit of research on these at the time and was a choice between these and Uniroyal Rainsports. The federal evolution St1 more that lived up to the review and test results posted here on tyrereviews.com So 3years on and lots of ,ahem, "spirited" driving, the tyres actually still look new.lots of thread left( these are a harder compound than equivalent tyres) unfortunately one tyre has a small bubble on the sidewall ( due to a horrific pothole) so I'm going replace them with the exact same tyre. The performance in the wet really surprised me- bear in mind my car is symmetrical all wheel drive - dry weather, tyres are better than most ,road noise is not an issue,quite quiet. Prices vary, so check around. A great tyre at a very reasonable price.
    Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on August 12, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 77% while driving a Nissan Stagea (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
    For the money, these are hands down the best tyres I've ever used. Half the price of something like a Pilot Sport 4 for at least 80% of the performance, which for most road cars is way more than enough grip. Plenty of dry grip in a 245 tyre and very little road noise for a performance tyre. Wet grip is where I notice the biggest difference between these and a top spec, expensive tyre. It's more than enough for how you should be driving in the wet, just don't expect to go to a wet track day and push it to the limit. All-in-all though, good grip wet and dry if a little unpredictable at the limit. Can't speak to wear but who cares how long they last when they're this cheap. Chuck a fresh set on every year and it still won't break the bank. Can't recommend enough.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco R 265 PS DSG (235/35 R19) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
    I was recommended these by a friend and I was not disappointed. I don't race my car, but I like to corner hard and accelerate hard. These were almost half the price of Michelin PS4 in Australia. The tyre is very controllable and you have to work hard to make it lose traction, main buying point for me was performance and longevity.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2022
    Given 97% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (215/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Not very noisy, good grip, even in the wet. Amazing tyre for the price. Would not replace Michelin PS4 or some Continentals with them, but would definitely consider these when choosing between Kumho, Hankook, Vredestein and other tyres in the price range.
    Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on November 30, 2021
    Given 82% while driving a BMW Z3 (225/50 R16) on track for 200 spirited miles
    I bought these tires because they were really inexpensive and I had a spare set of wheels. I use them for daily driving, but also on track. They aren't the fastest tire, but they do behave predictably when pushed hard. They have good (loud) audible feedback, which is useful in a track tire. Having slightly less grip on a track tire is actually more fun for me and also less physically taxing (my car has stock belts and seat). So even though I have faster tires, I think these are more fun. I would buy them again if I found them for the same low price.
    Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on October 12, 2021
    Given 74% while driving a SEAT Top gun (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    not a bad tyre in dry good handling and braking, didn't try it in the wet yet the negative thing is the tyre noise is too loud for my liking.
    Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on June 11, 2021
    Given 86% while driving a Renault Clio III Dynamique 1.2 Turbo (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
    Very good tyre. One of the most predictable and accurate I've ever tried. Better than a lot of famous brands
    Helpful 10 - tyre reviewed on May 28, 2021
    Given 86% while driving a Ford Mustang (255/40 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Replaced Pirelli P Zero. After 4000km displaying similar levels of performance at 2/3 price. Impressive so far.
    Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on September 25, 2020
    Given 61% while driving a (225/45 R17) on for 0 miles
    WET GRIP BAD. other than that fine.
    Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on September 24, 2020
    Ford (255/40 R19 W) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Dry grip much better than a lot of high end tyres I've used including michelin, wet grip is really good you'd have to be a bit silly on the throttle to come unstuck, wear rate is good for the price good feedback they let you know when they're getting to the limit and I wouldn't hesitate to buy them again over much more expensive tyres
    Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on July 1, 2020
    Given 40% while driving a Fiat 500 Abarth (215/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
    I just pulled off a set of work and very hard Yokohama AD0R Neova 215/40 as it rains alot here and i was nearly falling off the freeway above 100kph in a straight line. My car is an Abarth 595 Competizione with fully adjustable coil-over suspension and a specialist alignment for track day use. Driving out of the tyre shop and around town the new tyres felt good and steering was light and smooth. A bit more speed and they were nice and quiet, i headed for the motorway to give them a proper run in and on my first lane change i was shocked and horrified!!! It honestly felt like they were all flat or something wrong with the steering. There's a massive delay in reaction from steering inputs and once straight the car wobbles back to centre again like on a playstation game. Hard braking and acceleration on both wet and drive tarmac proved that they do have some grip to offer but the way it steers is frightening now, cant wait to get them off!
    Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on June 20, 2020