Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 108 tyre reviews averaging 71% over 1,010,586 miles driven, and 12 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 78%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 75%
Wear 55%
Comfort 73%
Buy again 55%

First On MarketJuly 2012
Wheel Size18 - 22"
Width225 - 325mm
Profile30 - 45
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)72 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The ContiSportContact 5 P is ranked 51st of 77 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre has been replaced by the Continental Sport Contact 6.

Tests Included

12

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

7th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2015 Sport Auto 235/35 R19 UHP Tyre Test
2nd of 7 tyres
  • High resistance to aquaplaning, good handling and short braking distances on wet roads, very good handling on dry surfaces, good comfort
  • A relatively high noise level
View Full Test >>
2015 Auto Bild Performance Tyre Test
5th of 7 tyres
  • Good handling and precise steering response on dry roads
  • Not enough good handling and braking performance in the wet
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
19 inch
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLCA72
20 inch
245/35 R 20 95 Y XLDA72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

2016-07-06 - I had four of these tyres fitted to my Audi A3 sline Quattro on 7th September last year. My car is in for service and I need to replace the two front tyres after only ten months and twelve miles. Is this normal?

12 miles is not normal, however if you mean 12,000 miles that is not unusual on a powerful front heavy car such as the A3. The Continental Sport Contact 6 offers much improved wear over the 5P


2018-06-01 - I have a 2017 Mercedes C43 AMG 4Matic Estate with Continental ContiSportContact 5 P tyres on as the standard fit, but I find the sidewalls collapse & it gets really unpleasant understeer at parking speeds when using anything over 3/4 of a turn of lock on the steering. I don't know if this is down to the tyres or 4WD steering geometry, but it is really unpleasant & gives me serious doubts about front end grip if I ever really need it. Would you say this is down to the tyres maybe having thin sidewalls, & if so could you recommend a better option for my car? I'm not a particularly fast or aggressive driver & probably prefer comfort over performance...

If this issue is just at parking speeds, it would suggest it's down to the cars geometry rather than the tyre. The Continental Sport Contact 5P do have soft to medium sidewalls, but they also have plenty of grip and high comfort levels and perform well with your Mercedes.


2020-07-27 - Weight of this tyre in 195/45R17?

Sorry, we don't have this data to hand.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £104.51 - £117.58 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £99.56 - £116.87 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £142.99 - £168.56 (21 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/30 R19 £193.44 - £236.46 (9 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £158.48 - £205.78 (28 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 87 tyre sizes - View all.

Top 3 Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews

Given 67% while driving a SEAT Leon ST FR DSG TDI 150HP (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
What can I say. I am on this website for a reason, and it is not a positive one.
As mentioned many times before, nice tyre, ok grip, a lot of spinning when starting. Maybe it is a car itself, Leon ST FR 150 DSG, but still spins too easy in my opinion.
Wear of the tyre is, shocking. I am fast driver but, honestly I have driven car for over 20 years and never came accross something like that . I have 4k kilometers and I am already concerned about the state of them. Slowing down now so hopefully will get to 8k ! My X5 was really bad, but it was doing 12-15k kilometers !!! I looked at the price of new ones and at approximately 115-130 EUR, I will definitely look into the different brands. Maybe they are all like that these days ??!
Helpful 161 - tyre reviewed on September 27, 2016
Given 74% while driving a BMW (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 13 spirited miles
These were the original tires that came on my F80 M3 in 2018. The tires are 6 years old, and at 13,500 miles, the rears are at the end of their life. However, the fronts have at least another 8-12k in them. The tire’s performance was not amazing, but it wasn’t bad either. I drive my car in MDM mode 95% of the time and DSC off the rest. When the tires were cold, I could get the car completely sideways in just MDM mode. Warmed up, grip was much better. Absolute confidence on high speed turns. Took on ramps at 65 and they held up great, probably more left in them but I don’t have the balls hahah. Understeers a bit when turning sharp to initiate a drift, but lots of good steering feel. Breakaway is very smooth and quick to grip up when off throttle. I’ve tested 5-7 second burnouts in 2nd gear (6MT) and as soon as I let off they grip back up. Pretty bad in the wet must say. As soon as I hit boost, they slip even in 3rd and 4th gear at 4K rpm. My car is Stage 2 pushing around 480whp so that could be a factor too. This is a great tire for anyone looking to have a tire for daily driving, and spirited trips. Haven’t tried them on track, but I bet it wouldn’t be good. Would definitely not recommend for places with rainy climates. Definitely a Southern California tire. I will be switching them out for Federal 595 RS-RRs as I want a grippier, less expensive tire for hooning.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 2, 2023
Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 easy going miles
Exceptional hard wearing tyre. 3 mots running have highlighted 3-2mm have done 12000 used 1mm. Front wheel Mercedes e220. Driving normally. Just replaced same again.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 14, 2023
Have you driven on the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental ContiSportContact 5 P >

Latest Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews

Given 81% while driving a Audi A4 b9 2.0 tdi (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
Milage was mainly on motorways, but time spent driving was predominantly on country roads of varying roughness. Dry braking was excellent, even under heavy braking ABS bite point was predictable and consistent. Wet grip was good initially, however, as the tyre got below the Continental raindrop marker performance decreased significantly. To be fair to Conti, this is still stipulated on their website. Feedback was decent near breakaway there is a huge window of transient grip which would suit people unfamiliar with pushing tyres. I wouldn't recommend for track at all. I can't fault the wear, pressure was checked weekly, and wear was seen to be even across the main body of the tread. Comfort was decent on motorway and not particularly noisy. The sidewall seems to be a bit stiffer than others in the class I have tried, fine for when pushing a bit, but some bumps felt harsher than expected. I would buy again if in a pinch, they're not a bad tyre, but I think money could be better spent elsewhere.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on April 4, 2024
Given 84% while driving a Renault (235/35 R19) on mostly town for 21,747 spirited miles
I had these tyres fitted on my ex-Renault Megane RS265. They were fitted from factory and i travelled 35k kms before the required changing. Wet and dry grip is exceptional and i drove in a spirited manner to say the least. A mixture of town and motorways but never driven on track. Comfort is not this tyres strongpoint but it is an UHP tyre and this car was not designed for comfort so can't expect too much. Tyre is more on the expensive side but in terms of quality you get what you pay for.
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on January 8, 2024
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 55% while driving a Mercedes Benz c350 cdi bluetec (255/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,000 average miles
Merc C350Cdi estate.
Got an MOT advisory to change all four tyres soon.
Fronts have done 19000 miles.
But it's the rears that are the shockers, only just over 9000 miles.

This is the third set of SportContacts I've had on the rears, don't know which version of SportContact they were.
The first 2 sets lasted 15000 miles, I can't understand why the current set have lasted so badly.
My usage and driving style hasn't changed, so can only think the SportContact 5 has different wear characteristics compared to earlier versions.

I'll be replacing with all-season tyres, but Continental definitely won't be on the list. I can's afford such poor tyre life.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 9, 2023
Given 47% while driving a Mercedes Benz A45 (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Came fitted on a 2017 Mercedes A45 AMG and have only lasted 7-8000 miles with normally fairly gentle, very rare fast driving. Dry grip is fine but nothing to write home about but the wet grip is appalling for a so-called performance tyre. There’s not really any feeling from the tyres, they just feel like any standard mid-range option and definitely not something you’d expect from a manufacturer option for a roughly 380bhp car. They don’t deserve to be called a performance tyre and I definitely wouldn’t recommend for any slightly quick car and would never buy again.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 20, 2023
Mercedes Benz B250 Petrol (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Bought the set of 4 tyres in March - Boy October the 2 front tyres were completely down, while the back tyres were still very good. This after driving around approx. 5-7K... on a Mercedes Benz 4W B250. Mostly driving short distances. Continental refused to replace the front tyre. Would not recommend them and will change to another supplier.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on February 9, 2023
Given 43% while driving a Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Estate (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,800 easy going miles
Shocking tyre wear from two sets on rear of C Class estate in the last 18 months. One set provided 6000 miles and the more recent set, fitted April at Mercedes Centre, on 4800 and virtually down to wear bars. During inspection on ramp only 6 weeks ago I was advised the wear pattern, inflation and set-up locked perfect. Steady driving mainly on out of town roads with some motorway usage. Any thoughts?
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on November 19, 2022
Given 53% while driving a Mercedes Benz C207 (255/30 R19) on mostly country roads for 3,000 easy going miles
Hi , May seem strange but I would not purchase Continental tyres in the short term but I really like the 5p. Tyre wear OK overall performance in both the wet and dry is really good , should have been a good tyre but maybe does not suit my car , the new 7 looks in a different l?league but at present not for me. Reason : from my experience the the tyres last for twelve and structural issues occur.
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 21, 2022
Given 70% while driving a Mercedes Benz (285/30 R19) on mostly town for 15,000 spirited miles
OEM on MB SL550 Run flats... great when new... road noise louder as the tire wears staggered sizes 15K miles... almost done on the rear Great set of tires but checking alternatives before I buy four new tires
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on September 8, 2022
Given 44% while driving a SEAT (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
Came with the CUPRA 290 Lux model, very noisy and performance not the best. I had original pair on the back and did track day recently. They didn't like that one bit. Laugh - Wrecked them obviously.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on September 2, 2022
Given 58% while driving a BMW 335i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
Dry and wet grip are quite similar with the main drawback of the tyre being the durability. Road noise is very good i.e. quiet.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on July 19, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Ford Mustang gt (225/45 R17) on track for 1,500 spirited miles
Takes too long to activate the rubber in wet and cold conditions. Tire is probably suited for a car less than 1750 kg and all wheel drive. Really needs work on how to manage wet conditions better, as well as higher torque cars, as it should not spin as easily as it does.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 1, 2022
Given 79% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLA45 AMG (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
These were the OEM tire for my car and I have always been happy with them. I'm currently on my second set in my 7th year of owning the car. It is a summer tire and the warmer the weather the better the grip of course. My only complaint is they are only good for 25000 miles. Be careful when you get to the end of life of the tire. I had a blowout which was not a problem as these are run flat (Or MOE) tires. I believe it was my own fault for trying to get one last season out of my original set. I will be careful to replace my new set earlier.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022