Continental Sport Contact 6

The Continental Sport Contact 6 is a Max Performance Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 89 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 535,591 miles driven, and 18 tests with an average result of 2nd.

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 81%
Handling 82%
Wear 53%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 62%

First On MarketJune 2015
Wheel Size18 - 24"
Width225 - 335mm
Profile25 - 50
Rolling ResistanceA - D
Wet GripA - C
Noise (dB)71 - 75
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The Sport Contact 6 is ranked 43rd of 77 Summer Max Performance tyres.

This tyre replaced the Continental ContiSportContact 5 P and this tyre has been replaced by the Continental SportContact 7.

Tests Included

18

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

5th

Average Result

2nd

Latest Tyre Test Results

2021 Auto Bild UUHP Summer Tyre Test
2nd of 9 tyres
  • The Sport Contact 6 is an excellent tyre with dynamic driving behaviour in the wet, short wet and dry braking distances, good comfort and low rolling resistance.
  • Slightly high noise.
  • Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>
2021 Auto Bild 19 inch Summer Tyre Test
2nd of 15 tyres
  • Balanced sports tyre with secure handling characteristics and precise steering, short wet and dry braking distances, low noises.
  • Higher price level.
  • Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>
2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tyre Test
4th of 8 tyres
  • A well balanced tyre, very low rolling resistance, good ride comfort.
  • Small deficits in wet braking.
  • The aging Sport Contact 6 is still an excellent tyre.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
19 inch
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLBB72
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLBB72
235/35 R 19 91 Y XLBB72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Continental Sport Contact 6 >>

Questions and Answers for the Continental Sport Contact 6

2016-03-28 - Does the Sport Contact 6 replace the Sport Contact 5?

No, the Sport Contact 6 replaces the 5P, so is currently only available in 19" and above.


2016-05-24 - I want 2X 225/40 R19 93Y sport contact 6 can you tell me does this tyre have rim protection

According to Continental, that size of the Sport Contact 6 does have a rim protector


2016-04-29 - Hello. I want to buy Continental sport contact 6 in size 235/35 r19. Can You tell me what is the weight of one tyre in this size? In Label Scores the weight of one tyre in this size is 13+kilograms! If this information is true Sport contact in this size is really HEAVY. But I don't understand how I could be real, because 225/35 R19 88Y XL 9.08kgs 235/35 R19 91Y XL 13.25kgs 245/35 R19 93Y XL 10.25kgs

We've spoken to Continental and you are correct, our weight is wrong. The correct weight of the 235/35 R19 Sport Contact 6 is 9.431kgs, we will update the site soon.


2017-03-30 - have a rather strange question: I have just purchased brand new original BMW rims with 8.5 "x19" and mounted ContiSportContact 6 in size 245 / 40-19 at them. The hotter the tire become the more there will be an "extra" noise on top of the normal noise from the asphalt. It's like a kind of rung. It sounds just like to drive very extreme high pressure (air). Some claim that with alloy wheels in 19" and more, the rim (aluminum material) that goes in swings and the hotter the tire become the more increases the tire pressure and so goes the rim more and more in swing Is it a phenomenon others have heard of and if so, what can I do to stop the oscillation rim (do the rim sound-dead)?

Unfortunately this isn't something we have experience with. The Continental Sport Contact 6 is a well regarded tyre in regards to comfort and noise, so it's unlikely to be the tyres fault.


2018-04-02 - Hi im looking for bigger tyres for my 2012 gtr r35, i had 255/40/20 and 285/35/20 run flat Bridgestone, Im thinking Conti SC 6 on 275/35/20 and 305/30/20, I know the bigger tyres will fit in wheel arch but will they fit well with the stock wheels ?

Unfortunately I'm unable to advise whether the Sport Contact 6 will fit, I suggest visiting a GTR owners forum and seeing what people have already tried!


2018-06-07 - I have a chrysler crossfire. I want to change all tyres for contisport contact 6. My car is front 225 40 18 front and 255 35 19 rear. Rears I can change but front contisport contact 6 only start 235 40 18 for front. Can I use this size. And if so would I have to change size of rears. Or could i use premium contact 6 on front correct size and contisport 6 on rear. What do you suggest?

I'm afraid I can not recommended either changing away from the OE sizes, or mixing tyres. 225/40 18 should be in the Sport Contact 6 in the future, for now I would either use Premium Contact 6 all round or look at a comparable tyre such as the Michelin Pilot Sport 4.


2018-12-23 - Hi, I am looking for new tyres for fast SUV. I can only choose between Continental SportContact 6 and Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (there is no 4s in my size). What do you think will be better for spirited driving on normal roads (no track use)? Personally I am leaning more towards Conti because they suppose to be more "sporty". Are SportConact 6 = PS4S and PremiumContact 6 = PS4 competitor??

Yes, that is correct. The SC6 is a great tyre, comparable to the MPS4S, but it can wear quickly in certain applications which is its only drawback.


2018-12-25 - Hi, I have a question regarding real tire width. Previously I used Continental Sport Contact 5P and currently I have Pirelli P Zero. Although both Conti and Pirelli are in the same size which is 295/30R19 the Pirelli is a lot wider. I have to replace tires and wanted to try Conti sportcontact 6. So the question is are SC6 also narrower (like 5P were) than other brands and how are they comparing to Michelin PS4S (are they wider or narrower?) or other brands?? I think this is very important topic and I realised it when I tried different types of tires. The real width is sometimes a lot different than label size. Could you elaborate on that?

All tyres are allowed to be manufactured within a variance of that size. I'm currently just waiting back on hearing exactly what that variance is, however it should never be "a lot", and the variance found will have very little effect on performance as it will be less than changing sizes, check out our tyre width video here.

I'm afraid only Continental will be able to answer where they designed the CSC6 to fit.


2019-05-04 - Hi, I am looking for new tyres for a Boxster. The car is a daily, so wet performance is important. It has PS2s and of the later premium summer tyres, the conti sport contact 6 seems to be the only option. How would you say this compares. Tyre sizes are 235/35/19 and 265/35/19 TIA

THe Sport Contact 6 is much better in the wet than the tyres like the PS2.


2020-04-22 - I am currently driving a BMW M2 (5/2017) - weekend car, no track. It came fitted std with the Conti SportContact3*, and I need to replace the rear tyres now, the front ones are still fine (but will need to be replaced in 6-9 months). My understanding is that the SC3* is no longer available. What should I do? (1) Go for the Conti SportContact6 rear only, even if it has no */BMW accreditation (and replacing the front SC3* with the SC6 later) ; (2) Go for the Michelin SP4* rear only for a few months (any issue mixing with the SC3* in the front); or (3) Go with a full set of SC6 without the BMW warranty (any other downside?) or SP4*? All recommendations welcomed!

Watch our M2 UHP tyre test on Youtube, there are plenty of good options.


2021-09-02 - hello i have currently an audi rs6 performance fitted from factory with contis sportcontact 5p 285/30/21 with R01 certification and contisilent tech my rims are 9,5/21inch and i am searching for new tyres... Currently i can not find the csc6 in the same dimensions and the other tyres in 285/30/21 have wider section width 11,4 (pz4 and ps4s) instead of 10,7 (csc5p) the difference is huge and the 9,5 rims are already at their limit... what is your suggestion?? For reference in tyre rack the smaller 275/30/21 michelin ps4s has section width of 10,9 and a track width of 9,7 and the wider continental sport contact 5p 285/30/21 has section width of 10,7 and a track width of 10 !!!!! THIS MAKE NO SENSE AT ALL please help us because as i see many customers have encountered the same problem

In this case, sticking with OE might be the smartest move to protect the AWD system!


2023-05-20 - Do you know how the ContinentalContiSportContact 6245/35R20 CONTI SPCN6 95Y RFT XL performs after sudden deflation? I have mainly used Bridgestone runflat in the past, I have had one slashed by a piece of metal at high speed with absolutely no drama. I have used Michelin and Pirelli and both with simply low pressure deform like a standard tyre.

As far as I'm aware, all the premium runflat products have a similar performance when deflated, there is fairly strict legislation and testing involving extended mobility tyres so I wouldn't expect one to be better than another.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
235/35 R19 £142.99 - £176.10 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 £174.47 - £207.91 (13 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £160.93 - £176.03 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 £157.99 - £184.56 (12 Prices) Compare Prices >>
265/35 R19 £240.99 - £260.38 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
275/35 R19 £220.69 - £230.29 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 57 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Continental Sport Contact 6 Reviews

Mercedes Benz C220 cdi (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 6,500 easy going miles
I have new 65 plate c class with continentals fitted only done 6500 miles
rear tyres r down to wear indicators ;I am 64 years of age and drive as sutch
also am a mechanic and mot tester,car only 9 months old
will not b using continentals in future
Helpful 358 - tyre reviewed on July 6, 2016
Given 81% while driving a Volkswagen (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 7,500 spirited miles
Really good tires with really good performance, especially when going in to corners and traction going accelerating out of corners! A lot of feed back through the steering wheel and reacts to smallest adjustments!
Helpful 16 - tyre reviewed on December 16, 2023
Given 82% while driving a Audi TT mk3 2.0TFSI quarttro (245/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
Fantastic tyre, had a full set on my TT Quattro for 12 months now, not much tread left but overall idd say the short life is a small price to pay. Dry and wet grip is very good, particularly in the wet, they inspire confidence all the time. In conclusion, would probably buy again, mine are the OEM fitment and are the best tyres I've ever bought despite the shorter lifespan.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on March 26, 2023
Have you driven on the Continental Sport Contact 6 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Continental Sport Contact 6? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Continental Sport Contact 6 >

Latest Continental Sport Contact 6 Reviews

Given 87% while driving a BMW 320i Msport (265/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 23,000 average miles
In my 25 years of driving, I've tried every premium brand and various UHP models within each brand. I've also tried a few mid-range brands. Continental still remains my first choice as it's the only brand that has consistently never lost traction be it dry/wet or hot/cold. I've used Sport Contact 2, 3 and 5P in the past. They never let me down. These SC6 were just as good and surprisingly much better on wear. All previous SC's had a high wear rate and would normally wear out around 10k miles. All other premium brands would last longer. But somehow I've managed to get 23k miles out of the SC6 and still have 2.5mm remaining so it seems I'll get a few more thousand miles out of them until they reach the legal limit. This is the most I've ever got out of any tyre which baffles me as I wasn't expecting it.
Now that they are down to 2.5mm and Spring has started (UK), I can't comment on what they'd be like in Winter towards the end of their life but I suspect no summer tyre would be so great. This Winter just finished they still performed excellent at around 3mm.
The SC6 (non OE spec) sit nicely on the wheel (265 tyre on a 9j wheel). I don't like tyres that curve in on the shoulders, I like them to sit flat and flush with the wheel for a more square look and these do that. The wheel protection isn't great but being low profile tyres, it would be impossible not to destroy the wheel anyway.
I believe the SC6 is only available in rim sizes of 19 inch and above so it gives you a good feeling that you've got something that isn't available to everyone.
Going forward, if I was to buy any tyre to replace these right now, I'd buy the newer SC7 to try out. It depends what you're looking for, I'm going by handling and grip performance. But if you're looking for the better value for money then there are other brands with good performance for example the Goodyear Eagle F1 (I've used Asymmetric 1, 2 and 3). Michelin, Bridgestone and Pirelli were also well balanced so from my experience you can't really go wrong with any premium brand if you drive according to the weather conditions. The only one I wouldn't buy again is Dunlop (I tried SportMaxx GT and RT) as they were terrible in the wet and cold.
Helpful 6 - tyre reviewed on March 9, 2024
Given 60% while driving a Audi Q5 55 TFSi e (225/45 R20) on a combination of roads for 14,000 average miles
Bought for good reviews in wet, however replaced from new at mileage of 3400, but only got 1 year and 14000 miles from the Continentals, will not buy again.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Golf R estate (235/35 R19) on mostly town for 0 average miles
I don’t know how people are getting under 20,000km on sport contact 6 you must be flogging your cars everywhere. I run these on a 2019 golf R wagon and I’m getting minimum 35,000km if I really take it easy I’ll get 40-45 thousand Km. These are a great tyre they may not perform AS well as Michelin pilot sport or other high performance tyres but they have great durability.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 18, 2023
Given 64% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (245/40 R18) on mostly motorways for 5,000 average miles
Great tires, but after 2 months of use, they had less than 1.6mm. Continental said they are designed to last at least 2500 miles and that is normal use.
Not worth the money, if you have to replace it after 2 monts.
Helpful 15 - tyre reviewed on June 23, 2023
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz GLC 250 4 Matic (255/45 R20) on mostly town for 0 average miles
Milleges is very short. 18000km must changed FOR GLC250COUPE
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on April 8, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus ST250 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Ran these on my MK3 Focus ST 2.0 ecoboost. Fitted prior to a Nurburgring trip from Ireland. Ran the GP circuit and the nordschleife on TF on wet and dry days. Also ran them daily and a track day at Mondello Park. Very very impressed with these tyres. Reasonably priced Vs the Michelin's and Goodyear alternatives. Excellent fast road tyre with some light track use. Profile of the tyres on the 8J snowflake alloys are really good. Nice rim protection but not as good as Goodyear's assy 2. Only negative is that they wore down quicker than I would have liked. Although with 300 hp on a fwd turbo car without a mechanical diff you'd expect. Look forward to trying the SC7.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on March 27, 2023
Given 56% while driving a Volvo XC60 (225/40 R21) on mostly town for 5,500 average miles
Rubbish, stay away from them. Less than 10,000 km out of these and they already need replacing. Also the soft compound picks up stones easily and flings them up which will destroy the paint on anything that you're towing (discovered the hard way)
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on November 6, 2022
Given 79% while driving a BMW X3m (265/40 R21) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Bmw x3m stock tyres. Dry grip warm weather is incredible.. and confidence inspiring. Dry cold the tyres can produce some understeer when pushing. Wet grip cold an warm these tyres surprised me with the amount of grip that had. 20,000kms and the rear are quite worn but I do launch the car fast off the lights often. The fronts can last another 2000kms roughly. Definitely recommend these if you get them for cheap
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on September 15, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Mercedes Benz CL500 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,500 average miles
I got 7500km out of the set on the rear of the car. The tyres run on a hot surface in Spain and the grip levels are very good even considering the slippery nature of Spanish roads in the dry. They also held onto grip fairly well in the wet. I would buy these tyres again if they didn't wear so damn fast! Handling was good with good feedback, the tyres are quite noisy. It's a shame as I really liked the tyres but at 300 EUR a corner on my car I cannot justify chewing through them so quickly. I'm no boy racer but enjoy a spirited drive from time to time however most of their life has been motorway driving. As soon as they start approach the wear limit they are lethal and all confidence disappears especially in a near 2 ton car.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on May 30, 2022
Given 81% while driving a Lexus CT200h (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
OEM Tyres on the Lexus CT200h are Yokohama E70 Decibel. They are very noisy at motorway speeds, and UK rough road surfaces at low-ish speeds transmit unacceptable vibrations into the cabin. My winter set of 16” Goodyear Vector 4 seasons G3 are an improvement, but I don’t want to run those all year round. Tried 17” Michelin Primacy 4 - very heavy/sluggish steering feel, slight NVH improvement (but not as good as my winter set). Finally, got my set of Sport Contact 6 - comfier than the rest of these tyres (as well as my 16” winters). Much quieter than OEM (which suits the CT200h very well). Not as sharp to turn in as the Yokos but actually, they suit the car very well - this is, after all, a small ‘luxury’ hybrid not a hot hatch. Good NVH. Good comfort. Good handling. Good grip. Finally nailed the right set of tyres.
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on March 5, 2022
Given 66% while driving a Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,000 spirited miles
Had these on my new Audi A4 - only a 2L TDI FWD, but replaced front set after 14000 miles. 11000 miles later with some Pirelli P-Zeros and the same! Still have the original set of Continentals on the rear, though these need replacing asap!
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on February 16, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 GTA (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 4,400 spirited miles
The tires were awful IMHO. I know they have a hard time on this car due to the heavy front, but the tyres suffered from massive understeer with a high tendency to washing out. In the wet it was risky because you has so much understeer and lack of progresiveness that you had to adjust carefully your speed to avoid going to a ditch. Straightline traction was good, though. Now with GY F1 Assym 5 I have much better grip and feeling. Front tyres were done with 4400miles, but that's usual.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on January 22, 2022