BMW 420d M Sport X Drive Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the BMW 420d M Sport X Drive.

Do you Drive a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a 420d M Sport X Drive better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport (41) 97% 86% 93% 95% 68% 78%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S * (2) 100% 90% 90% 95% 65% 75%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (168) 89% 87% 82% 82% 80% 88%
Bridgestone Potenza Sport (70) 94% 88% 91% 92% 64% 75%
Falken Azenis FK510 (134) 89% 88% 82% 82% 73% 78%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (28) 85% 84% 72% 76% 86% 84%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (49) 89% 82% 80% 80% 74% 72%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 (32) 90% 87% 75% 72% 67% 77%

BMW 420d M Sport X Drive Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport given 85% (255-40-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1000 spirited miles
Bought these for my bmw 420d and can honestly say they are a great improvement over the potenza s001 fittrd before. Much more fun and the grip is insane. Have had michelin ps4 previously and these are much better. Thanks tyre reviews for the recomendation
tyre reviewed on 2022-10-20 17:24:37
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S * given 80% (255-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 average miles
OEM tyre for BMW, looks good, drives great, great on wet too. Almost no rim protection on the fronts 225 40 19, decent rim protection on the rear pair 255 35 19 so I guess it depends on the size. Very fun to drive, you can feel what is happening on the road, it is a great sporty tyre. Apart from all the praise and pluses, it has two minuses: the price, and the fact that the outer parts of the tyre are almost dead while the rest of the tyre has decent depth - so they went out really fast, in 1,5 dry season. They developed a harsh noise on lower speeds because of this also (just found out that BMW was working closely with Michelin and demanded that the outer parts of the tyre are made from another softer compound and that explains the high wear and great handling too. Would probably go for Pirelli for the next set.
tyre reviewed on 2022-08-26 23:13:16
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 given 67% (255-40-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
comfortable tires, good grip on dry surfaces, but the tires are very soft, the sides are soft, the direction of the car is inaccurate, the car feels unstable at high speed. They are not performance tires, they are rather car tires without sporting pretensions. tire noise is high at low speeds. I switched to bridgestone potenza, which are just as comfortable, but the steering response has become much more precise. very small rim protection.
tyre reviewed on 2022-05-10 07:00:31
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 given 83% (225-50-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 26000 average miles
I have a BMW 420D (235hp) with 225/50/17 Run Flat. I had for 1,5 year, almost 42.000km the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 ROF Runflat 98Y XL. The comfort of the tyres was prety good special for the 1st year. Noice levels also. Never bother me or gave me headache like other tyres. The tires perform well fairly quickly. Excellent braking and manage the power of the car well. They have a good grip. Their sole still has a satisfactory groove, but small pieces have been detached. Unfortunately the reviews for run flat tires are not enough and in the dimension 225/50/17 there are no new Asymmetric 5. I am looking to see what I will replace them with. I thought of Pirelli, but I've been quite confused by their name, which has remained the same for many years. I will probably choose the same.
tyre reviewed on 2022-02-05 23:31:46
Writing about the Bridgestone Potenza Sport given 93% (255-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2500 average miles
Best tyre for dry handling, it's literally glued to asphalt in corners. Would recomend to a friend.
tyre reviewed on 2021-05-13 16:59:41
Writing about the Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 given 100% (225-50-17-V)
Driving on track for 0 average miles
Best tyre for this price .
tyre reviewed on 2020-12-01 06:56:24
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 40% (225-35-20-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 3000 average miles
Bought as an “upgrade” from lower mid range tyres. Whilst handling and grip is fine under normal driving conditions there is lots of road noise at any speed which is a bit tiring on longer trips but acceptable. However, they are terrible at motorway speeds from 71-76mph, droning that is very intrusive to the point I though I had a wheel bearing going. Removed after 3000 miles as I couldn’t stand it any longer. Swapped to some nangkang NS-2 which are considerably cheaper and possibly seen as an inferior brand but instantly cured my road noise and droning problems.. please don’t waste your money on these!
tyre reviewed on 2019-04-07 11:43:52
Writing about the Falken Azenis FK510 given 98% (255-35-19-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I have just had these fitted to the rear of my BMW and they were £160 fitted at Bracknell Tyres. Compared to the OEM Bridgestone S001 RFT that were originally fitted these were £60 per tyre cheaper so £120 cheaper for the pair.

I did like the Bridgestone S001 and they wore well at least 25,000 miles and were excellent all round, however after reading the reviews on these Falkens I thought id give them a go. They are A rated for wet grip and C rated for fuel efficiency which is better than the Bridgestones.

So far so good, I will review again at 10,000 miles, but wet and dry grip is excellent and they are progressive when driven spiritly. If these tyres last 20,000 miles I will be very happy with them so lets see.
tyre reviewed on 2018-11-20 14:11:36
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre