Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 is the logical continuation of the success story of Hankook’s Ultra-High Performance tyres. Like the S1 Evo 2, it offers a very safe and sporting-yet-comfortable driving experience in both dry and wet conditions. The latest member of the Hankook Ventus family, which celebrated its market launch back in 1994, sets a new focus, in particular in the area of environmental protection and resource conservation.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2.

Tyre Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 75%
Handling 72%
Wear 67%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 75%

Tyre review data from 31 tyre reviews averaging 78% over 158,467 miles driven.

The Ventus S1 evo 3 is ranked 34th of 70 Summer Max Performance tyres.

Latest Tyre Test Results

2022 Tyre Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tyre Test - 3rd of 9 tyres

  • Positive - Extremely short wet braking distances, short dry braking, low noise, safe handling balance.
  • Negative - Undynamic handling with high levels of understeer and poor feedback in the dry and wet, higher rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3 once again proves to be a tyre with extremely high levels of safety by having by far the shortest wet braking distance, short dry braking, and a safe understeer balance in handling. However having tested the Evo3 in the same test as the touring bias Bridgestone Turanza T005, the tyre feels dynamically closer to touring tyre than UHP tyre, so is one to pass on if you're looking for a sporty feeling drive.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tyre Test - 5th of 11 tyres

  • Positive - Balanced tyre with good driving characteristics in the dry and wet, short braking distances, low noise, low rolling resistance, low price.
  • Negative - Limited curved aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Express SUV Tyre Test - 2nd of 7 tyres

  • Overall - The S1 Evo 3 in SUV size is a very good all round tyre, best in the wet, very good in the dry, and good handling. The negative is high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

2019-04-01 - Anyone knows, if this tyre will come at 255/55R19 size? So far I can't find it at that size.

It is likely the SUV version of the EVO 3 will be produced in this size soon.


2020-07-27 - Please, i would like to know UTQG informations about Ventus S1 EVO3 225/45 R17 94Y, treadwear, traction, temperature..thanks

Unfortunately I don't have access to that data, sory. You could check directly with Hankook.


2021-07-24 - Does the ventus S1 evo3 k127 have the rim protection?

In the sizes I've tested it does not, however I expect it to have rim protection in certain large wheel sizes.


2021-12-26 - depth of tire pattern?

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo3 usually starts around 7.8mm, though there can be variation depending on tyre size.


2022-01-29 - Already been answered but have any of there evo 3 k127s have rim protection as of 2022? And are these tyres rated as XL tyres?

Rim protection varies by size, as does the XL rating. Your tyre retailer should be able to help tell you which is XL.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
205/40 R18 £113.69 - £135.99 (8 Prices) Compare Prices >>
215/45 R18 £106.59 - £146.99 (11 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £70.99 - £101.46 (7 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £110.19 - £151.60 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £112.68 - £152.99 (16 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £120.59 - £168.90 (14 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £101.54 - £134.62 (15 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 101 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of these to my Mazda3 Sport Nav. I’ve always been a fan of Hankook tyres but have had various on different cars, Michelin to Budget.

First thing you notice with these tyres is just how much they improve the ride. The car had stock Dunlop Sport Maxx TT tyres and whilst these gave a sharper steering feel you felt every little ripple in the road. The Hankooks certainly smoothed things out, with only a small trade off in steering feel. Next is the grip. In both wet and dry I’ve been known to do some pretty stupid things, but I’ve yet to trigger the ABS or lose grip with these tyres. They grip and go. Aqua planing isn’t any more of an issue than any other wider tyre.

Downside to this tyre is wear - front tyres down to 2mm after just 19k but expected with a 2.2d fwd car. Even then no noticeable loss in grip. Regarding noise it seemed quieter when I first put the tyres on, however these Mazda3’s aren’t the quietest and there is a lot of road noise coming through. Unsure if this is the tyre itself or the actual car, but on a previous vehicle (Seat Ibiza) I noticed a similar intermittent droning noise when switching from the Ventus V12 Evo to the Ventus V12 Evo2. Will be trying the Michelin PS4 now that it’s available in this size, as had on an A3 S Line Saloon, found I got around 30k on the front tyres and they’re only £10 per tyre more.
Helpful 120 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2019
Given 93% while driving a Audi S3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Fitted as standard to Audi S3, I was bit worried as never considered the brand before but to my surprise the tyres have good grip wet and dry, reasonably quiet and been 11000 miles and still 4mm tread. I have had various tyres before Pirelli, Dunlop and Michelins and the Hankooks come out as good if not better than more expensive tyres. ....would have no hesitation buying again.
Helpful 48 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2020
Given 89% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Very good tyres. If you put it on your car you Will not regret it.
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on September 12, 2019
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 >

Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews

Given 43% while driving a BMW 320i (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Performance wise it is a good tire, BUT.... This tires come as OEM on my BMW 3 series. Less than 10k km, the inner steel wires protruded at the sidewall, like an inch long of 10-20 wires. Went to Hankook to lodge a complaint and apparently they were 4 other BMWs came with issues. Hankook insisted its not factory defect but normal wear and tear. I rest my case. My first and last using Hankook.
Helpful 0 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Skoda (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Initially had the evo2 fitted and upgraded to these. Not disappointed, travel a lot of open road on roads that are coarse chip and windy. Wearing well and expect to get 30,000km out of them. Pricing compared with other top end tyres is very competitive. Would recommend for any vehicle. Recently I did some hot laps in a Lamborghini Huracan ... hitting 240kph in straight, no holding back on corners .... fitted with the Hankook S1 evo3 !! Never felt like they were going to let go.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tyres: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
Bought these after using the evo2. Instantly impressed with the tyres. Drive on a lot of windy roads and in all conditions have handled what I have asked them to do. Some road noise but nothing untoward. Wear looks to be within my expectations for the roads I drive on.
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2022
Given 100% while driving a BMW i4 e40 (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 1,200 easy going miles
1200 miles in a BMW i4 e40. Quite impressed, I like this tyre a lot. Quiet tyres, some noise only on really rough tarmac. Motorway cruising and no spirited driving, so far solid grip in dry and wet, solid braking. Soft, cushioned, comfortable ride. Overall a great tyre, seems rolling resistance is pretty low as well. Cannot comment on wear yet.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2022
Given 56% while driving a Porsche Boxster 987.2 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
As I bought the Boxster as my new car back in the summer of 2020, it needed new tyres and I decided to switch old N-rated Pilot Sports for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3. Had some experience with the evo 2 and liked them, so I gave these a shot. I would not ever buy it as a UHP tyre although it grips very well both dry and wet. The steering feel is just terrible and soft, you don't feel much through the tyre and the rear end had a wobbly behaviour. I could not trust it. The grip is excellent, but sportiness is hardly there. Later, I put Goodyear Super Sports and I could instantly trust them. I could send it into a corner with more confidence.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2022
Given 70% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought these three years ago, and they've held up pretty nicely to some spirited street and club drives. Using them confidently in the rain, they have some noise and a bit of harsh road but, mine are run-flats. Now swapping wheels to something a bit wider and ditching run-flats, I'd like to try something else. I'll be keeping these on the 17" OEM wheels and in the shed in case.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 22, 2022
Given 85% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (215/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,300 average miles
Been driving these about 2000km's in a Mazda 3 1.5 120hp, drove in heavy rain, high speeds and both rough and smooth roads and some spirited action. In short, they feel like a true premium tyre, especially on B type of roads with some rough bits, they make the car feel very controlled and connected, offers excellent bump absorbation and feels never crashy. In terms of sidewall rigidness, they are absolutely spot-on in terms of comfort and sportiness balance and they are always ready from the get go, no need for heat to build up to generate grip like other sports tyres. These are the best aspects of S3 Evo's. If you push them hard in dry mid-corner or try to make some quick direction changes, you can feel bit vagueness or latency from steering (my previous PS3's were sharper and a bit more connected) but nowhere near bad or loose as a "efficient-energy" oriented type tyres. But the worse thing is, they shift the cornering balance of the car from neutral to slightly understeery. Rear end was bit more playful with my PS3's, offering some lift-off action with pointy front end, these one's a bit more safety oriented thus less fun above the limit. In wet S3 Evo's are simply incredible, stick the tarmac like glue, both in brakes and lateral grip. I am amazed how grippy they are in the wet (at least when they are new). My problem with these are excessive road noise in some surfaces. Sometimes they are exceptionally quiet, but in some surfaces they drone like hell. I think this sound fluctuation disrupts comfort more than a steady sound, since the Mazda 3 is a poorly soundproofed car, this problem may well be escalated more. It may not be problem in a premium german car. In summary, S3 Evo's are not the most dynamic tyre in nature, not a true Potenza sport like tyre, but they feel like quality rubber, with great daily ride capabilites and some added sporty flavours. They will fit great in low to mid powered cars for mildly demanding drivers. Sorry for my english by the way. Ps: mines are 45"ZR"18 ones, i presume 45R18 ones offers softer tyrewall therefore are more comfort oriented.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2022
Given 67% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
comfortable tires, good grip on dry surfaces, but the tires are very soft, the sides are soft, the direction of the car is inaccurate, the car feels unstable at high speed. They are not performance tires, they are rather car tires without sporting pretensions. tire noise is high at low speeds. I switched to bridgestone potenza, which are just as comfortable, but the steering response has become much more precise. very small rim protection.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207 (255/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 800 spirited miles
I have recently put these on to my W207FL AMG. previous set was conti sc5. the difference is like day and night; considering the early days with contis. really good dry and wet grip. braking and accelerating is also way better. the aids are not kicking in as they used to do. the tread seems a bit soft and deep so that it makes you lean to sides a little bit while tight moves.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
Given 92% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 350 (285/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
My Mercedes CLS had the 'MO' PIRELLI P ZERO fitted when I bought it last summer, in the dry they were great but in the wet they were dreadful, roundabouts had to be navigated with caution, the P ZERO has been around donkeys years and in my opinion, it shows. I had Hankook ventus S1 Evo 3 fitted a couple of weeks ago and they have transformed the way the car handles, they are quiet too, wet handling is vastly improved, no breakaway from the rear or wash out from front. The steering response seems much sharper. It's understandable why this tyre is becoming standard fit on several premium high performance cars. I would consider my driving style to be 'average', I like to push on when conditions allow but doubt if I'll ever reach the limit of the tyres potential. These tyres are notibly cheaper than the more top regarded brands too. I'd highly recommend them. It's early days do I can't comment on wear.
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Nissan Juke (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Overall a good tyre - came fitted to my Nissan Juke as standard - wet grip seems to be an issue AQUAPLANING alot.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Audi Q7 (/45 R17) on mostly town for 30 easy going miles
I purchased a 2021 Audi Q7 which came with the HANKOOK VENTUS S1 EVO3 EV (K127E) and the tread did not last 6 months! I went for an oil change and the dealer pointed out that the tread is at 2! My mileage is only 18,000! My wife drives this and it is horrible in the snow! We purchased it around March of 2021. She is a comfort driver. I asked the dealer why they would sell me summer tires that last only 18,000 miles and was told that Audi can't find good tires and this was all they run with? If you are buying a new Audi - be careful! You may be getting tires that need to be replaced in a year, and they are not cheap. If the dealer you are considering buying from fails to mention the mileage you should expect form the new car, find another dealer, and one who will put that in writing! Would have been nice if my sales rep mentioned this. I feel ripped off and let down by the dealer and Audi!
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2022