Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 is the logical continuation of the success story of Hankook’s Ultra-High Performance tyres. Like the S1 Evo 2, it offers a very safe and sporting-yet-comfortable driving experience in both dry and wet conditions. The latest member of the Hankook Ventus family, which celebrated its market launch back in 1994, sets a new focus, in particular in the area of environmental protection and resource conservation.

This tyre replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2.

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 71%
Wear 68%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 71%

Tyre review data from 41 tyre reviews averaging 76% over 233,967 miles driven.

The Ventus S1 evo 3 is ranked 41st of 75 Summer Max Performance tyres.

In Depth Tyre Comparisons

Latest Tyre Test Results

2023 Tyre Reviews Performance Tyre Test - 4th of 6 tyres

  • Positive - The Hankook Ventus S1 evo3 offered excellent value for money and commendable wet grip, with low energy use.
  • Negative - The Hankook had the slowest steering response of the test, feeling more like a comfort bias tyre than an outright sports tyre. It also has one of the lowest aquaplaning resistances on test.
  • Overall - The Hankook excelled in terms of value for money and offered commendable grip. They were particularly impressive in handling larger impacts but were less precise to steer and provided less feedback at the limit. Recommended if you're looking for a well priced tyre with excellent wet grip and good levels of comfort.

View Full Test >>

2023 Summer Tyre Market Overview - 1st of 48 tyres

View Full Test >>

2023 AutoBild UHP Summer Tyre Test - 12th of 21 tyres

  • Positive - Convincing driving performance, agile handling, short wet and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Below-average mileage leads to devaluation.
View Full Test >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

2019-04-01 - Anyone knows, if this tyre will come at 255/55R19 size? So far I can't find it at that size.

It is likely the SUV version of the EVO 3 will be produced in this size soon.


2020-07-27 - Please, i would like to know UTQG informations about Ventus S1 EVO3 225/45 R17 94Y, treadwear, traction, temperature..thanks

Unfortunately I don't have access to that data, sory. You could check directly with Hankook.


2021-07-24 - Does the ventus S1 evo3 k127 have the rim protection?

In the sizes I've tested it does not, however I expect it to have rim protection in certain large wheel sizes.


2021-12-26 - depth of tire pattern?

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo3 usually starts around 7.8mm, though there can be variation depending on tyre size.


2022-01-29 - Already been answered but have any of there evo 3 k127s have rim protection as of 2022? And are these tyres rated as XL tyres?

Rim protection varies by size, as does the XL rating. Your tyre retailer should be able to help tell you which is XL.


2023-02-21 - Hello my car is with 245/45/18 and I’m thinking what to buy normal evo 3 C/A/72 or evo with * for bmw and A/A/70 my car is Citroen c5 2012 is not bmw but this stats is better

In your case I would stick with the aftermarket version of the tyre, the * marked version of the evo3 will be tuned to work with the BMW platform, and even if the label doesn't show a reduction in wet grip for braking, it is likely to be worse in wet handling.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Size Price Range  
225/40 R18 £99.99 - £108.78 (6 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R17 £96.47 - £101.52 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
225/45 R18 £128.17 - £141.30 (4 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 £144.36 - £169.16 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/40 R19 £147.07 - £167.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/45 R18 £134.74 - £141.42 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/40 R19 £157.12 - £179.59 (5 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 71 tyre sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of these to my Mazda3 Sport Nav. I’ve always been a fan of Hankook tyres but have had various on different cars, Michelin to Budget.

First thing you notice with these tyres is just how much they improve the ride. The car had stock Dunlop Sport Maxx TT tyres and whilst these gave a sharper steering feel you felt every little ripple in the road. The Hankooks certainly smoothed things out, with only a small trade off in steering feel. Next is the grip. In both wet and dry I’ve been known to do some pretty stupid things, but I’ve yet to trigger the ABS or lose grip with these tyres. They grip and go. Aqua planing isn’t any more of an issue than any other wider tyre.

Downside to this tyre is wear - front tyres down to 2mm after just 19k but expected with a 2.2d fwd car. Even then no noticeable loss in grip. Regarding noise it seemed quieter when I first put the tyres on, however these Mazda3’s aren’t the quietest and there is a lot of road noise coming through. Unsure if this is the tyre itself or the actual car, but on a previous vehicle (Seat Ibiza) I noticed a similar intermittent droning noise when switching from the Ventus V12 Evo to the Ventus V12 Evo2. Will be trying the Michelin PS4 now that it’s available in this size, as had on an A3 S Line Saloon, found I got around 30k on the front tyres and they’re only £10 per tyre more.
Helpful 164 - tyre reviewed on April 17, 2019
Given 93% while driving a Audi S3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Fitted as standard to Audi S3, I was bit worried as never considered the brand before but to my surprise the tyres have good grip wet and dry, reasonably quiet and been 11000 miles and still 4mm tread. I have had various tyres before Pirelli, Dunlop and Michelins and the Hankooks come out as good if not better than more expensive tyres. ....would have no hesitation buying again.
Helpful 93 - tyre reviewed on September 17, 2020
Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 300 spirited miles
I replaced 4 Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 tyres with these Hankooks, after much research online (thanks Tyre Reviews website!). I have bought mainly Michelin or Dunlop tyres in the past, so Hankook was a new company to me. The Hankooks are excellent. A particular positive is the excellent ride quality and lower noise (compared to the Dunlops, and the Bridgestone Potenzas that preceded them). They have made my Golf R a dream to drive...
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on September 6, 2023
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 >

Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews

Given 43% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Keep skidding when slightly accelerate even on dry road when install at rear, after swapping with front michelin primacy 3st DOT18 has better grip than new tyre, anyone knows what happen?
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on January 19, 2024
Given 77% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 5,000 average miles
OEM for the i4e40. The tyre has very obvious priorities. Rolling resistance and noise. It really excels in these two areas. But thankfully it is not useless in all other key aspects. Dry, wet, braking, feedback, they are all ok. Not great, but not mediocre either. Great choice for this car, but I will choose something better for the next round, even if I give away a couple of dozen miles of range
Helpful 11 - tyre reviewed on December 2, 2023
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 87% while driving a Tesla Model 3 LR (235/40 R19) on mostly motorways for 34,000 spirited miles
I've been thoroughly impressed with the Hancook Ventus S1 Evo 3 tyres that came supplied on my Tesla Model 3, Long Range, Dual Motor. As a high-performance car enthusiast, I always purchase high performance tyres, and these have exceeded my expectations.

They had slightly less grip in wet conditions than dry, but overall these tyres have demonstrated outstanding performance on the road.

What truly surprised me is their durability. Reaching 34,000 miles before needing replacement is quite an achievement. It's a testament to their quality and longevity.

Before trying these tyres, I hadn't considered the Hancook brand, but now I'm replacing them with the same model without hesitation. They've proven to be a perfect fit for my Tesla Model 3, and I highly recommend them to anyone seeking a combination of efficiency, performance, and longevity in their tyres.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 220 (255/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
255 front, 285 back

I've mixed feelings.
GOODs: The grip in wet is pure magic, astonishing. Grip in Dry is very good
AVERAGE: Noise is fine at the front, but the back...285 wide feels a bit loud. Fuel cons is not bad, but not outstanding, Comfort is okayish but should be better according to the soft sidewall.
BAD: The move of the car. The steering is dead and wobbly like hell. Anything but agile. And the back is the same. It makes me really unconfident whether its just wobbling a bit, or the grip is lost. Makes the drive totally unenjoyable. My 245 wide Sottozero II winter tire is like a slick supersport tire compared to this, the steering feeling is superagile compared to this summer UUHP. And generally, this tire design just not working above 255 widths. The major issue is the 285 wide back.
As an UUHP, it fails. As a fairly priced grand tourer, one of the bests.
Moving on, thinking about the Assymetric 6 as a much more sport oriented traveling tire, or the SprotContact7 if I'm willing to sacrifice more silence/comfort/fuel for even better agility. (but both lacks the 285 width :( )
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on May 15, 2023
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Bought these to replace the previous Hankook Ventus Prime 3 that had worn out. The initial impression were good until I took the car for a nice long drive out of town. The good points of the tyres: relatively quite compared to Prime 3. Had good feel in wet conditions but I didn't go fast. Prime 3 was squirreling all over in the wet even when new - never had confidence in the wet.

I went on a trip was about +700kms all in. 1 week prior I had a similar prior trip with the Prime 3 and it allowed me to go right up to ~740kms without the fuel light showing up. When I took the same route with the S1 Evo3, I struggled to get it to 710kms with the fuel light glowing at around 705kms, this was with a slower pace with the new tyres. When I drove with the Prime 3, I had qualms with flooring the pedal quite hard. So, it came as a surprise when the new set of S1 Evo3 didn't quite make the mark with gentle driving. I also found out that the 225/45/17 is quite a bit smaller that the Prime 3. It is about 1% smaller diameter. I also carried out a GPS test with a 100km/h speedo check and found that driving at 100km/h (as indicated on the speedo )only to find out that it was 93km/h on the GPS. This is no small margin - this is huge. it is a 7% error. I had noticed the Prime 3 with a 6% error on the speedo before, so it wasn't so bad, but 7% for the S1 Evo3 is not acceptable.

This is by far the most disappointing set of tyres that I have ever used - disappointing that it is smaller in diameter, causes higher fuel consumption overall. With the prices of petrol ever increasing, it is better to give this tyre a full miss. If you're thinking about it for daily use, don't. If you plan for other purposes, then by all means go ahead.
Helpful 13 - tyre reviewed on May 8, 2023
Given 93% while driving a BMW 330i (225/35 R18) on mostly town for 100 average miles
These Hankooks have replaced some Goodyear Asymmetric 5's and have improved my car dramatically. I only replaced the rear tyres on my BMW 330i and it has made the car handle better, the car feels more balanced and flows through corners better. They are quieter and more comfortable too. I have found my tyres for sure here, I am very impressed.
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on April 14, 2023
Given 51% while driving a Audi A3 s3 2.0 tfsi (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 14,000 average miles
Present car came with these tyres so comparison is going by previous car .. previous car also A3,S3 had a set of Avon and a set of Conti-sport 5 .. Conti-sports far outclassed Hankook and Avon tyres in all areas. Avon were better than Hankook's for wet grip but wear was poor .. the rest of the scores were pretty much similar accress the board.
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 7, 2023
Given 59% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Had these tires for around 5.000km already on the front and I already swapped them for others better than these.
These Hankook are too soft on corners, doesn't give any feedback of the road and don't induce you to drive fast, although when I tried to push them hard, they behaved well, with good grip in dry and relatively better in the wet, with an awesome behaviour in heavy braking with heavy rain, felt like dry. Cornering in the wet is the same story as in the dry, sensory wise, (not good), but the limits are closer (logically). I just think they are not a good fit for any sporty car, because of the lack of confidence they transmit to the steering wheel.
Noise-wise, they tend to not be too rumorous. In fact, depending of the surface, they can be mostly silent even at a high speed, but run into a not-so-good asphalt and they resonate a lot in the car, which I don't think is reasonable.
Tire sidewall is not good. They look a bit deflated when inflated to the recommended pressures (even though my tires are rated XL) and I just think they need a better lateral reinforcement to be considered a decent basic sport tyre.
By the way, I mounted these with new stock suspension, alignment, rubbers, etc. After swapping to other tires, the car improved a lot. Saab 9-5 Aero 2002
Helpful 17 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2023
BMW i4 e40 (255/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 11,000 easy going miles
This is an update on previous review. Wonderful tyre. Travelled in rain, ice, dry, no issues at all at least for my lazy driving. Quiet, comfortable, breaks and corners as well as I would like. Wear not too good, down to 5 mm from 8 mm in 11k miles, I guess I am lucky to get 20k miles. Overall I d absolutely buy again unless another tyre is equally good but with better wear
Helpful 19 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2023
Given 43% while driving a BMW 320i (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Performance wise it is a good tire, BUT.... This tires come as OEM on my BMW 3 series. Less than 10k km, the inner steel wires protruded at the sidewall, like an inch long of 10-20 wires. Went to Hankook to lodge a complaint and apparently they were 4 other BMWs came with issues. Hankook insisted its not factory defect but normal wear and tear. I rest my case. My first and last using Hankook.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2022
Given 94% while driving a Skoda (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Initially had the evo2 fitted and upgraded to these. Not disappointed, travel a lot of open road on roads that are coarse chip and windy. Wearing well and expect to get 30,000km out of them. Pricing compared with other top end tyres is very competitive. Would recommend for any vehicle. Recently I did some hot laps in a Lamborghini Huracan ... hitting 240kph in straight, no holding back on corners .... fitted with the Hankook S1 evo3 !! Never felt like they were going to let go.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
Bought these after using the evo2. Instantly impressed with the tyres. Drive on a lot of windy roads and in all conditions have handled what I have asked them to do. Some road noise but nothing untoward. Wear looks to be within my expectations for the roads I drive on.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2022