Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews - Page 2

Given 85% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (215/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,300 average miles
Been driving these about 2000km's in a Mazda 3 1.5 120hp, drove in heavy rain, high speeds and both rough and smooth roads and some spirited action. In short, they feel like a true premium tyre, especially on B type of roads with some rough bits, they make the car feel very controlled and connected, offers excellent bump absorbation and feels never crashy. In terms of sidewall rigidness, they are absolutely spot-on in terms of comfort and sportiness balance and they are always ready from the get go, no need for heat to build up to generate grip like other sports tyres. These are the best aspects of S3 Evo's. If you push them hard in dry mid-corner or try to make some quick direction changes, you can feel bit vagueness or latency from steering (my previous PS3's were sharper and a bit more connected) but nowhere near bad or loose as a "efficient-energy" oriented type tyres. But the worse thing is, they shift the cornering balance of the car from neutral to slightly understeery. Rear end was bit more playful with my PS3's, offering some lift-off action with pointy front end, these one's a bit more safety oriented thus less fun above the limit. In wet S3 Evo's are simply incredible, stick the tarmac like glue, both in brakes and lateral grip. I am amazed how grippy they are in the wet (at least when they are new). My problem with these are excessive road noise in some surfaces. Sometimes they are exceptionally quiet, but in some surfaces they drone like hell. I think this sound fluctuation disrupts comfort more than a steady sound, since the Mazda 3 is a poorly soundproofed car, this problem may well be escalated more. It may not be problem in a premium german car. In summary, S3 Evo's are not the most dynamic tyre in nature, not a true Potenza sport like tyre, but they feel like quality rubber, with great daily ride capabilites and some added sporty flavours. They will fit great in low to mid powered cars for mildly demanding drivers. Sorry for my english by the way. Ps: mines are 45"ZR"18 ones, i presume 45R18 ones offers softer tyrewall therefore are more comfort oriented.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2022
Given 67% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
comfortable tires, good grip on dry surfaces, but the tires are very soft, the sides are soft, the direction of the car is inaccurate, the car feels unstable at high speed. They are not performance tires, they are rather car tires without sporting pretensions. tire noise is high at low speeds. I switched to bridgestone potenza, which are just as comfortable, but the steering response has become much more precise. very small rim protection.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207 (255/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 800 spirited miles
I have recently put these on to my W207FL AMG. previous set was conti sc5. the difference is like day and night; considering the early days with contis. really good dry and wet grip. braking and accelerating is also way better. the aids are not kicking in as they used to do. the tread seems a bit soft and deep so that it makes you lean to sides a little bit while tight moves.
Helpful 7 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
What to know the BEST tyres for 2023? Click to find out!
Given 92% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 350 (285/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
My Mercedes CLS had the 'MO' PIRELLI P ZERO fitted when I bought it last summer, in the dry they were great but in the wet they were dreadful, roundabouts had to be navigated with caution, the P ZERO has been around donkeys years and in my opinion, it shows. I had Hankook ventus S1 Evo 3 fitted a couple of weeks ago and they have transformed the way the car handles, they are quiet too, wet handling is vastly improved, no breakaway from the rear or wash out from front. The steering response seems much sharper. It's understandable why this tyre is becoming standard fit on several premium high performance cars. I would consider my driving style to be 'average', I like to push on when conditions allow but doubt if I'll ever reach the limit of the tyres potential. These tyres are notibly cheaper than the more top regarded brands too. I'd highly recommend them. It's early days do I can't comment on wear.
Helpful 9 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022
Given 71% while driving a Nissan Juke (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Overall a good tyre - came fitted to my Nissan Juke as standard - wet grip seems to be an issue AQUAPLANING alot.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on April 6, 2022
Given 60% while driving a Audi Q7 (/45 R17) on mostly town for 30 easy going miles
I purchased a 2021 Audi Q7 which came with the HANKOOK VENTUS S1 EVO3 EV (K127E) and the tread did not last 6 months! I went for an oil change and the dealer pointed out that the tread is at 2! My mileage is only 18,000! My wife drives this and it is horrible in the snow! We purchased it around March of 2021. She is a comfort driver. I asked the dealer why they would sell me summer tires that last only 18,000 miles and was told that Audi can't find good tires and this was all they run with? If you are buying a new Audi - be careful! You may be getting tires that need to be replaced in a year, and they are not cheap. If the dealer you are considering buying from fails to mention the mileage you should expect form the new car, find another dealer, and one who will put that in writing! Would have been nice if my sales rep mentioned this. I feel ripped off and let down by the dealer and Audi!
Helpful 12 - tyre reviewed on March 21, 2022
Given 86% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent tyres for sporty drivers! My coworker has a E46 328i BMW with these Hankooks, 225/40R19 (93Y) Extra Load. Just a word of caution, these tyres are meant for the front of a E46 M3, not the "standard" E46's, it rubs in the wheel wells, especially when lowered!!! A 225/35R19 or 215/35R19 fits a lot better! Ok, with that out of the way, how good are these Hankooks? Dry grip, incredible! Wet grip, well above average! Wear, excellent for UUHP tyres! Noise, average Road feedback and handling, very good Comfort, average I highly recommend the Ventus S1 Evo3's, and don't just take my word for it, even big car companies choose these tyres! For example: Tesla Model 3 19" rims Skoda Enyaq iV Porsche Panamera And many more! Even Tyre Reviews themselves recommend this tyre!
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on March 20, 2022
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.6 FSI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15 spirited miles
Great tyre for a car where you don't necessarily the sportiest tyre but still like to drive quite ambitious. I have a set of these on my 2006 1.6 Jetta. The car really is not capable of pushing the limits of any more performance oriented tyre, that being said I do enjoy flicking the car around roundabouts and even through mountain passes every now and then. What I really like is that the tyre gives you alot of confidence all the time. It feels very safe, even when you get to the limit of its grip it doesn't just let go but gives you progressive feedback that it is at its limit. Braking is all around excellent, especially in the wet. I have driven loads of different tyres and have a set of Goodyear Eagle F1 A5 on my BMW for example, and when it is rainy braking feels heaps better on the Hankook. I only have two complaints about this tyre. While ride comfort is excellent, the soft sidewalls really do not transmit alot of feedback through the wheel. Steering can feel quite vague at times. The other drawback is the noise. One of the loudest tyres I have driven so far. This is the only thing about it that would make me consider buying something else. All in all a very good purchase, especially at the price. The value for money is outstanding and the tyre never feels budgety. For a more powerful or performance oriented car I would want something else, but for a daily average car this is a great choice, with the main point being that it feels safe and gives you loads of confidence in all conditions.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 21, 2021
Given 95% while driving a Opel MOKKA X 1.6D CDTI (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,600 average miles
So yeah . Here I am again. Hankook s1 evo 3 is really good Felt really grippy every corner and straights . The faster I go the more gripper it gets .
Helpful 5 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2021
Given 55% while driving a MINI Cooper SD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,000 easy going miles
Dry grip is good, wet grip less so - slow corners when the tyres are cold can be tricky if you're not paying attention. They're as noisy and comfortable as any other run flat I've used. Previous tyres were Primacy 3 - they are still on the rear, and still have 5mm left after 25k miles, 5k of which the spent on the front. The Hankook's, which are on the front, are down to 4mm after 7k, all of which has been motorway school run. I am quite forgiving on the tyres, due to their cost, and the price of fuel, and the car is always in 'green' mode - that moderates acceleration, and I'd expect them to last much longer than they have. I had hoped for 20k, but expect 10k now.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 18, 2021
Given 87% while driving a Skoda (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
Wear rate seems very acceptable. Don't tend to go out of shape like the k120 hankook is prone to do. Leaps and bounds ahead of the k120 in wet and dry handling.
Helpful 4 - tyre reviewed on November 8, 2021
Given 95% while driving a Opel MOKKA X 1.6D CDTI (245/40 R19) on mostly town for 312 average miles
I bought these 5 days ago. It’s pretty good . Unique thread pattern too :)
Helpful 3 - tyre reviewed on November 3, 2021