Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews - Page 2

Given 59% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
Had these tires for around 5.000km already on the front and I already swapped them for others better than these.
These Hankook are too soft on corners, doesn't give any feedback of the road and don't induce you to drive fast, although when I tried to push them hard, they behaved well, with good grip in dry and relatively better in the wet, with an awesome behaviour in heavy braking with heavy rain, felt like dry. Cornering in the wet is the same story as in the dry, sensory wise, (not good), but the limits are closer (logically). I just think they are not a good fit for any sporty car, because of the lack of confidence they transmit to the steering wheel.
Noise-wise, they tend to not be too rumorous. In fact, depending of the surface, they can be mostly silent even at a high speed, but run into a not-so-good asphalt and they resonate a lot in the car, which I don't think is reasonable.
Tire sidewall is not good. They look a bit deflated when inflated to the recommended pressures (even though my tires are rated XL) and I just think they need a better lateral reinforcement to be considered a decent basic sport tyre.
By the way, I mounted these with new stock suspension, alignment, rubbers, etc. After swapping to other tires, the car improved a lot. Saab 9-5 Aero 2002
Helpful 25 - tyre reviewed on March 3, 2023
BMW i4 e40 (255/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 11,000 easy going miles
This is an update on previous review. Wonderful tyre. Travelled in rain, ice, dry, no issues at all at least for my lazy driving. Quiet, comfortable, breaks and corners as well as I would like. Wear not too good, down to 5 mm from 8 mm in 11k miles, I guess I am lucky to get 20k miles. Overall I d absolutely buy again unless another tyre is equally good but with better wear
Helpful 23 - tyre reviewed on January 4, 2023
Given 43% while driving a BMW 320i (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
Performance wise it is a good tire, BUT.... This tires come as OEM on my BMW 3 series. Less than 10k km, the inner steel wires protruded at the sidewall, like an inch long of 10-20 wires. Went to Hankook to lodge a complaint and apparently they were 4 other BMWs came with issues. Hankook insisted its not factory defect but normal wear and tear. I rest my case. My first and last using Hankook.
Helpful 26 - tyre reviewed on December 1, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 94% while driving a Skoda (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
Initially had the evo2 fitted and upgraded to these. Not disappointed, travel a lot of open road on roads that are coarse chip and windy. Wearing well and expect to get 30,000km out of them. Pricing compared with other top end tyres is very competitive. Would recommend for any vehicle. Recently I did some hot laps in a Lamborghini Huracan ... hitting 240kph in straight, no holding back on corners .... fitted with the Hankook S1 evo3 !! Never felt like they were going to let go.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on October 18, 2022
Given 88% while driving a Skoda (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 15,000 miles
Bought these after using the evo2. Instantly impressed with the tyres. Drive on a lot of windy roads and in all conditions have handled what I have asked them to do. Some road noise but nothing untoward. Wear looks to be within my expectations for the roads I drive on.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on June 17, 2022
Given 100% while driving a BMW i4 e40 (245/45 R18) on mostly motorways for 1,200 easy going miles
1200 miles in a BMW i4 e40. Quite impressed, I like this tyre a lot. Quiet tyres, some noise only on really rough tarmac. Motorway cruising and no spirited driving, so far solid grip in dry and wet, solid braking. Soft, cushioned, comfortable ride. Overall a great tyre, seems rolling resistance is pretty low as well. Cannot comment on wear yet.
Helpful 28 - tyre reviewed on May 31, 2022
Given 56% while driving a Porsche Boxster 987.2 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
As I bought the Boxster as my new car back in the summer of 2020, it needed new tyres and I decided to switch old N-rated Pilot Sports for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3. Had some experience with the evo 2 and liked them, so I gave these a shot. I would not ever buy it as a UHP tyre although it grips very well both dry and wet. The steering feel is just terrible and soft, you don't feel much through the tyre and the rear end had a wobbly behaviour. I could not trust it. The grip is excellent, but sportiness is hardly there. Later, I put Goodyear Super Sports and I could instantly trust them. I could send it into a corner with more confidence.
Helpful 27 - tyre reviewed on May 25, 2022
Given 70% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought these three years ago, and they've held up pretty nicely to some spirited street and club drives. Using them confidently in the rain, they have some noise and a bit of harsh road but, mine are run-flats. Now swapping wheels to something a bit wider and ditching run-flats, I'd like to try something else. I'll be keeping these on the 17" OEM wheels and in the shed in case.
Helpful 21 - tyre reviewed on May 21, 2022
Given 85% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (215/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,300 average miles
Been driving these about 2000km's in a Mazda 3 1.5 120hp, drove in heavy rain, high speeds and both rough and smooth roads and some spirited action. In short, they feel like a true premium tyre, especially on B type of roads with some rough bits, they make the car feel very controlled and connected, offers excellent bump absorbation and feels never crashy. In terms of sidewall rigidness, they are absolutely spot-on in terms of comfort and sportiness balance and they are always ready from the get go, no need for heat to build up to generate grip like other sports tyres. These are the best aspects of S3 Evo's. If you push them hard in dry mid-corner or try to make some quick direction changes, you can feel bit vagueness or latency from steering (my previous PS3's were sharper and a bit more connected) but nowhere near bad or loose as a "efficient-energy" oriented type tyres. But the worse thing is, they shift the cornering balance of the car from neutral to slightly understeery. Rear end was bit more playful with my PS3's, offering some lift-off action with pointy front end, these one's a bit more safety oriented thus less fun above the limit. In wet S3 Evo's are simply incredible, stick the tarmac like glue, both in brakes and lateral grip. I am amazed how grippy they are in the wet (at least when they are new). My problem with these are excessive road noise in some surfaces. Sometimes they are exceptionally quiet, but in some surfaces they drone like hell. I think this sound fluctuation disrupts comfort more than a steady sound, since the Mazda 3 is a poorly soundproofed car, this problem may well be escalated more. It may not be problem in a premium german car. In summary, S3 Evo's are not the most dynamic tyre in nature, not a true Potenza sport like tyre, but they feel like quality rubber, with great daily ride capabilites and some added sporty flavours. They will fit great in low to mid powered cars for mildly demanding drivers. Sorry for my english by the way. Ps: mines are 45"ZR"18 ones, i presume 45R18 ones offers softer tyrewall therefore are more comfort oriented.
Helpful 18 - tyre reviewed on May 20, 2022
Given 67% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
comfortable tires, good grip on dry surfaces, but the tires are very soft, the sides are soft, the direction of the car is inaccurate, the car feels unstable at high speed. They are not performance tires, they are rather car tires without sporting pretensions. tire noise is high at low speeds. I switched to bridgestone potenza, which are just as comfortable, but the steering response has become much more precise. very small rim protection.
Helpful 22 - tyre reviewed on May 10, 2022
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207 (255/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 800 spirited miles
I have recently put these on to my W207FL AMG. previous set was conti sc5. the difference is like day and night; considering the early days with contis. really good dry and wet grip. braking and accelerating is also way better. the aids are not kicking in as they used to do. the tread seems a bit soft and deep so that it makes you lean to sides a little bit while tight moves.
Helpful 20 - tyre reviewed on April 23, 2022
Given 92% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 350 (285/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
My Mercedes CLS had the 'MO' PIRELLI P ZERO fitted when I bought it last summer, in the dry they were great but in the wet they were dreadful, roundabouts had to be navigated with caution, the P ZERO has been around donkeys years and in my opinion, it shows. I had Hankook ventus S1 Evo 3 fitted a couple of weeks ago and they have transformed the way the car handles, they are quiet too, wet handling is vastly improved, no breakaway from the rear or wash out from front. The steering response seems much sharper. It's understandable why this tyre is becoming standard fit on several premium high performance cars. I would consider my driving style to be 'average', I like to push on when conditions allow but doubt if I'll ever reach the limit of the tyres potential. These tyres are notibly cheaper than the more top regarded brands too. I'd highly recommend them. It's early days do I can't comment on wear.
Helpful 24 - tyre reviewed on April 16, 2022