Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI Tyres

On this page you will find the best real world tyre reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre! After all, who knows what the best tyre for a Jetta 1.4 TSI better than the owners?

Tyre Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (149) 93% 93% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Hankook Ventus S1 Noble2 (28) 90% 85% 83% 81% 78% 90%
Continental UltraContact UC6 (29) 90% 88% 75% 80% 83% 88%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (231) 91% 89% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (88) 90% 83% 81% 79% 81% 80%
Nokian WR D4 (62) 84% 84% 80% 80% 67% 86%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (75) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (73) 87% 85% 80% 81% 74% 79%
Kumho Ecsta PS31 (46) 83% 80% 76% 79% 77% 78%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT (167) 89% 85% 83% 82% 60% 82%
Rovelo Sport A1 (12) 81% 71% 73% 78% 74% 78%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (198) 87% 83% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (57) 78% 73% 72% 70% 68% 71%
Pirelli P 7 (82) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Nexen N1000 (19) 78% 66% 66% 66% 67% 63%

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI Tyre Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 average miles
The Hankook K125 tyres replaced a set of Bridgestone RE003s. Initial impressions - really quite compared to the Bridgestone tyres. Now after 9000miles, the road noise is similarly loud when compared to the Bridgestone but still better than the OE GY tyres. Dry grip is really good (even when driving spiritedly), but when the surface is damp or wet, there is a lack of confidence in the tyres. The feedback from the tyres to the steering can become vague especially in the wet. It can go from talkative to a lack of feedback. You will need to slow down to get comfortable again. Wear rate is still good, but noticed that the tyre can wear away really quick if the alignment is not sufficiently good enough. It took only about 100km from new to wear away the alignment marks on one of the tyres due to a by the shop initially giving it a tad more toe on one side (but still inside specifications). By far, the Ventus Prime 3 is the most comfortable tyres put on the car yet. It absolutely loves tyre pressures that are around 28-32psi, and absolutely hates higher tyre pressures. There is a tendency to bounce the occupants around if you even dare to inflate beyond 34psi. Was told by the tyre shop, that this tyre was suppose to help with the fuel economy when compared to the Bridgestone. Yes and no is an answer that I have. If you travel long distances (over 100kms in a single trip) then yes, fuel economy is realised. Otherwise, there is no differences.
tyre reviewed on 2021-04-12 14:52:21
Writing about the Nokian WR D4 given 74% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15500 average miles
I've fitted these tyres now for the forth season. Firs 3 seasons they were great. In the dry - good as any other winter tyre, wet - ok, stable enough so that you don't understear in every corner, snow grip was just excelant! I've driven them through a heavy snow storm, about 10-20cm of snow on the highway and no problems. The problems started this year, I've noticed problems with wet grip. I have to be verry careful how fast I come into a corner (especially if the toad is already old and slipary as it is) on a wet road, because the tyres break lose verry fast and u end up understearing. Wear after about 25K km is verey good, in my opiniom. On front tyres (now feeted on the back) I have a bit less than 6 mm of thread left and on the back tyres (now on the front) I have about 6,5mm. Verry confortable tyre, quiet, as a winter tyre can be haha, and deals with bumps in the road verry well. Generaly verry good tyres, but I won't buy them again because of the lack of wet grip. And another "problem" that I find is that I have to balance them every year when I fit them for the winter. That's probably because of the softer compond.
tyre reviewed on 2020-11-14 15:16:10
Writing about the Dunlop SportMaxx RT given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30447 easy going miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-29 09:33:29
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS31 given 69% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 10000 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-10-07 01:34:06
Writing about the Rovelo Sport A1 given 78% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 miles
Been using this for few months now..value for money
tyre reviewed on 2020-09-07 14:21:52
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 given 81% (195-55-15-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Excellent hydroplaning resistance, good in dry, numb handling feel, comfortable, soft sidewalls. As long as you're not the type that pushes the car to the limit, this is an excellent tyre. Perfect for family car. I drive a proton waja fitted with coilovers and stiffen anti roll bars. Needless to say, road feedback is determined mostly by the tyre due to stiff characteristics of the suspension setup. I touge my car up Fraser's hill, Ulu yam,...etc occasionally. Driven on these tyres until it reaches the markers Here's my opinion, the sidewalls are too soft and causes a delayed response for corner entry or sudden lane changes. This gives the impression of losing control but it's actually all fine. Therefore it's not as predictable at the limits in the dry. The grip on these are superb and it can almost match semi slicks when it's warmed up. In the wet is where these tyre shine, it gives you full confidence in the wet. Never once hydroplaned in these tyres even after accidentally hitting puddles on highway speeds. In terms of comfort, it made my car feel very comfortable even though I'm on coilovers, some of my friends and family didn't even notice I'm on stiffen suspension. Noise level is also very low. It tends to wear on the outside due to the sidewall flex. But running some negative camber managed to balanced it out. Overall an impressive tyre and would buy again for a family car. For car enthusiasts, you probably want some other tyres which has stiffer sidewalls.
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-22 04:31:36
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T005 given 61% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 0 easy going miles
Drove 2200 miles onlyand the tires start to wear out
tyre reviewed on 2020-07-20 11:23:47
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 given 76% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
Do note that the PS4 I got is the ST (silence-tuned) version, which apparently is made specifically for South East Asia region. It has ST indicated of left side of tyre sticker label before it was removed. Coming from Pirelli P7 the PS4 is in different league. Obviously P7 is designed for much higher mileage and additional run-flat features when compared to PS4, but other than that PS4 is simply better in almost every other aspects ... better dry grip and even better wet grip ( i drive almost like P7 speed in dry with PS4 on wet), WAY quieter, better bump absorption and more linear behavior at limit (P7 would just "snap" into understeer). Maybe another major drawback against P7 is the lack of feedback, which there really isn't much to offer from PS4 at softer pressures (e.g. 30psi at front on my FWD Jetta). PS4 ride is also more comfortable than PremiumContact 6 which was discovered when I sat in my friend's car, but cannot comment on performance difference between these 2.
tyre reviewed on 2020-06-14 03:49:15
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 97% (225-40-18-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 620 spirited miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-05-08 17:45:11
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 71% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 19391 spirited miles
RE003 was a revelation after having been on the original GY Assurance that came with the car. It had loads of grip both in wet and dry from the very start compared with the GY. It initially took about 3 trips back to the tyre shop for alignment and realignment to get the center tracking back inline due to a quirk in the initial setup when the GY was still on, after which it was fantastic to drive on. The tyres didn't like lower psi and needed at least 36/38psi to be happy. After 7k miles, the tyres did get slightly louder road noise and also started being a nail magnet. Had to change the tyres out as one of the patched nail holes that happened to be on the shoulder of the tyre started leaking badly and nothing could be done to get it to stop. Overall, good tyres. However, wouldn't go back to it, as the nail magnetism was beyond my comfort zone.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-24 17:23:58
Writing about the Continental UltraContact UC6 given 87% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 3500 spirited miles
changed to UC6 tyres 2 months ago. excellent grip in dry and wet conditions. low noise and great handling. amazing tyres overall. did a fair bit of city roads and highway driving. tyres did not disappoint in melbourne’s ever changing weather. highly recommended for regular and everyday drivers looking for good tyres without blowing the budget. too early to talk about wear, will be happy if i can get 40k to 50k.
tyre reviewed on 2020-03-20 11:00:46
Writing about the Pirelli P 7 given 89% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
No comments left
tyre reviewed on 2020-01-15 08:05:44
Drive this car? Why not add your own tyre review and help other owners pick the right tyre