Pirelli P 7

The Pirelli P 7 is a Premium Touring Summer tyre designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tyre review data from 85 tyre reviews averaging 69% over 1,806,159 miles driven, and 1 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 79%
Wet Grip 69%
Road Feedback 71%
Handling 68%
Wear 73%
Comfort 65%
Buy again 56%

First On MarketMay 2010
Wheel Size16 - 18"
Width205 - 225mm
Profile45 - 60
Rolling ResistanceD - D
Wet GripB - C
Noise (dB)71 - 71
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The P 7 is ranked 106th of 149 Summer Premium Touring tyres.

Tests Included

1

Best Result

6th

Worst Result

6th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tyre Test Results

2009 Tyre Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
16 inch
205/55R16 91 VDB71
17 inch
225/45R17 91 WDB71
18 inch
225/60R18 100 WDC71
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Pirelli P 7 >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Pirelli P 7. Why not submit a question to our tyre experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Pirelli P 7 Reviews

Given 47% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 5 Aero Saloon (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Bought 4 secondhand, 7mm left and fairly new. They wore out quickly, but the car had several alignment problems and lots of camber. And I know these are known to ware out quickly on the inside, so yeah terrible combo for my car. After 2 tires shot I got a pair of new Michelin primacy 4, the difference is huge. The Michelins have way more grip and ware much slower, if given the chance to really pick out a tire I would never ever pick a Pirelli P7 again, especially not for my tuned and lowered 9-5.
Helpful 30 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2023
Given 67% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
This is for p7 seal inside , the fuel consumption dropped 10mpg and they are noisy compared to the previous Michelin , overall I don't like them wet/dry grip is not as good as before on previous tires and the same price... I will try hankook next time as they have great reviews
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on December 26, 2022
Given 89% while driving a Mercedes Benz 220 cdi advantgarde (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Excellent tyre. Those that report problems should carefully check their tyre pressures. Have had mine nitrogen filled which helps to stop loss of pressure ( all tyres). Oxygen from normal air filled leaks through carcass. Nitrogen molecules larger and do not pass readily through carcass.
Helpful 99 - tyre reviewed on January 1, 2014
Have you driven on the Pirelli P 7 tyre?

Have YOU got experience with the Pirelli P 7? Help millions of other tyre buyers

Review your Pirelli P 7 >

Latest Pirelli P 7 Reviews

Given 54% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 600 easy going miles
Had four new P7 Pirelli tyres fitted in December 2023 to my Vitara as first replacements since new. I chose them on brand name and that they were in the premium range at my tyre fitting dealer.
The tyres look the business and seem ok but the biggest gripe has been the road noise inside.
I know our roads are poor but even on new tarmac the noise is greater than the worn original Continentals that were fitted from new.
I feel very disappointed from such a famous brand.
As I do low mileage per year I shall have to grin and bear it for the time being until I can bear it no longer and bite the bullet and change them well before their normal life.
Helpful 8 - tyre reviewed on February 15, 2024
Given 33% while driving a Audi A3 1.8T sport (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
This tire has terrible tire roll. I’m almost tempted to post a video review of these tire. P7 centurato. Would not recommend these to anyone for any purpose. Poor lifespan, weak side wall, tires have bubble effect on side wall appearance as it only has 1 lip on the side wall. The profile of the p7’s vs my previous Dunlop’s sp6060’s are chalk and cheese. The p7 is has a huge “bubble” design. Great for straight road comfort. But that’s about it. Very poor handling around bends and corners.
Helpful 29 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2020
What to know the BEST All Season Tyres for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 80% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class Estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 6 easy going miles
Just bought 4 Pirelli p7 Cinturato MO - Immediate comments as I drive back from tyre fitters :- Road Noise greater than previous Continentals Suspension seems harder and not such soft ride. Grip seems excellent (dry) Hope they will soften down over next few months as others have said.
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on June 15, 2020
Given 70% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 45,000 spirited miles
These tyres wear rate is amazing, have 3mm tread left and they have done 45k miles (72km). They are the original OE tyres that came with my 2014 Seat Ibiza FT ST. Dry grip is good, they need to be pressurised to 36psi, car manual states 28psi for single occupant however this makes the tyres feel like jelly. With the FR having stiffer spring rates and damping, you'd want lower tyre pressure to compensate - with a rear torsion beam the ride is very harsh if you sit in the back. The tyres do not skip over bumps when cornering even at high air pressures. Wet grip is good - I have also been driving another Ibiza FR with Kumho Ecsta LE Sport and they are scary in the wet, the Pirellis tyres are predictable and confident.

I'm about to switch tyres, looking at Continental Premium Contact 6. Will review them soon.
Helpful 35 - tyre reviewed on August 18, 2019
Given 63% while driving a Skoda Octavia Scout (225/50 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 45,000 easy going miles
I bought a Skoda Octavia Scout from new (2016) and today it was due its first MOT...and failed! Why? because the two back tyres (which both have loads of tread left and show no signs of uneven wear after 45000 miles) have split along the tread, revealing the cables/wires! Both tyres came with the car. If you have a car which has had these tyres from 2/3 years i would thoroughly recommend checking them very carefully. This is not easy to do at ground level.
There have been no indications of any problems but then again, I'm a safe driver who doesn't race around country lanes. Most of the mileage has been done on motorways.
I'll be contacting Pirelli and Skoda about this. Neither the mechanics at the testing station or the tyre fitters had seen similar damage on such a 'new' tyre.
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on June 25, 2019
Given 84% while driving a Peugeot 407 sw (215/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 28,000 average miles
On the Portuguese roads we have a lot of type of floor, different kind of tar, etc. ( 10c to 45c )
I confess that I do many kms, in mixed circuit ... sometimes I have a more sporty, sometimes more relaxed driving. At the moment more relaxed ... because the amount of speed radar ... so demands ... and they are more and more. Originally when I acquired the car, it brought pirelli p7 ... and lasted more than 70,000 km.
Always excellent adhesion in dry as wet. By the way... ​​my SW weighs almost 2 tons, and even in wet driving, have always proved excellent.
Later I experienced other brands ... such as continental (weak performance in this measure) Achiles (excellent performance both dry and wet ... but reached the end of useful life with 20,000 km (remembering the Yokohama) however very satisfied. I have already used AVON zv7 and although the durability is small too (not as small as the yokohama or achiles) have proven to be excellent on wet as well as dry.
In my sw, both 94 and 98w can be used. I have used 94. In pirelli, negative note for its use from 35%. They are prone to holes ... many holes. If hitting a hole can tear easily. Above 35% are excellent ... but it is certainly not a tire to use until the end of life. Eventually on a German, Swedish or Norwegian road, this pirelli p7 will last longer .... I got 2 tires for the rear in the seal inside version recently for my van. They are apparently softer and more comfortable (in addition to less noisy) than the normal version ... we will see how they behave. Soon I will buy 2 tires ... and I am undecided between Dunlop, Vredestein, Avon (being + inclined for AVON)
Helpful 33 - tyre reviewed on June 18, 2019
Given 41% while driving a Ford Focus (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
Terrible tyre if you ever inted to drive on wet roads. This will lose grip if someone throws a cup of water in front of your car, even at slow speeds.
They don't wear too fast, but they are so crappy that I am throwing them away and replacing them with Michelin's Primacy 4 (probably). I just spun my car going 20 mph on slightly wet tarmac (it was raining before, but it wasn't raining anymore when I spun)
Helpful 40 - tyre reviewed on December 20, 2018
Given 86% while driving a Skoda Superb MK3 (2015 Present) (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 22,400 spirited miles
Had these on my car since new. Its a 2016 2 litre Skoda superb MK3. They have covered 22,400 miles and the fronts are now at 3mm and the rears at 5mm. Which i think is excellent wear rate. These are a very comfortable tyre . And quiet on the road . They feel very safe regardless of the weather . They are not a high performance tyre for a sports car so i dont feel it is fair to compare them . I have a bmw M5 aswell where i use michlin PS 4s which of course are a better handling tyre ,but the Pirelli P7 is an excellent tyre for an everyday car and normal driving , they have good wet and dry grip and are comfortable . I will probably switch to Michelin Primacy 4 when they are worn out but that is purely a personal preferance for michelin tyres. There is nothing wrong with these P7 they are an excellent tyre .
Helpful 38 - tyre reviewed on September 10, 2018
Given 46% while driving a (215/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Worst tyres I've ever owned, all four cracked right around tread. Uncomfortable dangerous rubbish which I had to change. I now have Uniroyal Rainsport 3 fitted all round and the car has been transformed . No more Pirelli rubbish for me.
Helpful 43 - tyre reviewed on July 28, 2018
Given 60% while driving a Audi A4 Avant (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 2,000 average miles
Shocked in Pirreli as always used the tyres now face serious problems on my Audi kept getting flat tyres and air loss changed three tyres in one year and on all three had over 7mm threat left will never ever buy or trust Pirrelli tyres again
Helpful 37 - tyre reviewed on June 4, 2018
Given 40% while driving a Skoda Octavia (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Only positive comment right now on 5000 kilometres might be; they seem tougher than my previous tyres. (Cinturato p7's)
Helpful 32 - tyre reviewed on September 29, 2017
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Auris (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Had P7s on the front of my auris for 5000 miles now and am impressed. Great dry grip, good under braking and have never managed to lock the front wheels up in the wet. These tyres track very well steering-wise and instil confidence. They're not the quietest tyres on the motorway, but my Auris isn't the quietest car either, so...

These tyres are obviously a class act and I will be fitting them on the back axle also, as soon as my current Michelin Primacy wear out.
Helpful 31 - tyre reviewed on April 11, 2017